News Hawthorn Racism Review - No player name speculation - opposition posters tread very carefully

Wrong. Hawks did what they had to do by the rules of the AFL.
Correct. For reference below, once the HFC had the report outlining serious allegations they were duty bound by the AFL’s protocol to hand over the report to the AFL integrity unit.

I will pin this post, as it seems to be a constant query.

3FB2C172-49CC-4619-8AE6-C93597A89870.jpeg

What does Phil Egan have to do with this? The only Egan associated with this is Leon Egan who Caro sort of hinted at on Classifieds as being denied a playing career at Hawks during the 80's because of his skin colour. No mention of the fact that the Hawks were a powerhouse team that was impossible to crack. (Note Leon Egan so far as my searches show never went on to a footy career of note at any lower level so wasn't that good a player).

Think I made my point pretty clearly.

I could tell you the outcome of an ICC report before it’s even written.

Its called bias.

And QC means Queens council [which may now be a Kings Council] someone trained and experienced in weighing evidence.

these things are pretty important you know, like the ability to not just hear one side of the story.
The ability to challenge and rebuke accusations. put forward other evidence.

Something we afford to accused murderers, rapists and pedos.

But apparently, just not accused racists…..
You don’t actually understand how this all works, and you’re angry that the side of the victim has come out first. Unfortunately that is how these this work, allegations are made, investigated then refuted.

A QC\KC\SC\former high court judge who specialises in what?! I‘d love to see what Julian Burnside KC recommended if he was to do a review.

Rejoice in the fact we have a highly litigious court system when it comes to media and reporting, and I’m sure that there will be big penalties for any journalist who publishes bollocks.

Maybe it shouldn’t have been police to investigate Wayne Carey given his issues with them in the past.

How did Jackson know which players were involved in the review and which ones to talk to?

Really? There aren't many canditates to choose from AND does it bloody matter?!?

One thing that really bugs me about things like this is that people try to shoot the messenger.

I reckon Andrew Bolt often likes to shoot the messenger. Do the maths.

You don’t actually understand how this all works, and you’re angry that the side of the victim has come out first. Unfortunately that is how these this work, allegations are made, investigated then refuted.

A QC\KC\SC\former high court judge who specialises in what?! I‘d love to see what Julian Burnside KC recommended if he was to do a review.

Rejoice in the fact we have a highly litigious court system when it comes to media and reporting, and I’m sure that there will be big penalties for any journalist who publishes bollocks.

Maybe it shouldn’t have been police to investigate Wayne Carey given his issues with them in the past.

Jussie Smollet is spewin he didn’t have you in his corner.

FFS. All I am saying is Let. This. Play. Out.

How did Jackson know which players were involved in the review and which ones to talk to?
I presume Mr. Jackson contacted ALL 20 former Hawthorn listed indigenous players, going back to Batemen. He's had plenty of time to undertake this given the report was commissioned in late April. Of the former players, 3 disclosed their experience outlining related issues which formed the basis of his ABC article...

Watching Gil on 360.

Whilst he’s playing a straight bat you can see he would have preferred to have both sides before this went public.

It wouldn’t surprise me if the AFL were contacted at the same time as the coaches prior to publication.

Wow mods.

Deleted my post asking for calm, reasoned skepticism.
What our entire legal system is based on.

You should be ashamed.
Calm reasoned skepticism?

You literally made a post saying "we can't trust this report because a black man wrote it about black people. I'll wait for someone else to do a review"

**** off.

that’s not what I’m doing at all mate
You completely mischaracterised the report that was provided to the club and invoked terrible arguments to justify it. Have you even read the article? Do you understand the context in which the report was commissioned? Do you understand why the club needed someone specialised in investigating treatment of indigenous people to interview past players?

Because there is a short list of indigenous players that have been recruited by hawthorn in the last twenty years and it is all public information. Doesn’t take a genius to just try calling all of them and ask them if they had reason to be upset at their treatment.

Really? There aren't many canditates to choose from AND does it bloody matter?!?

One thing that really bugs me about things like this is that people try to shoot the messenger.

I reckon Andrew Bolt often likes to shoot the messenger. Do the maths.

Not hard to make a list of ex-Hawks and reach out to them.

I presume Mr. Jackson contacted ALL 20 former Hawthorn listed indigenous players, going back to Batemen. He's had plenty of time to undertake this given the report was commissioned in late April. Of the former players, 3 disclosed their experience outlining related issues which formed the basis of his ABC article...

Yes, of course.

I'm just wondering whether Jackson ever thought to also reach out to other non-indigenous ex-Hawthorn players to understand if any of them were upset by similar treatment.

I'm not questioning the acts but whether they were racist. Either way what's been reported is abhorrent and inhuman irrespective of racism.

"Families retain legal counsel". I assume Clarkson, Fagin and Burt will also lawyer up. Courts, not the AFL could make the final call.
Yes, given the details that have been shared it is clearly human rights related, which obviously trumps sporting codes and commissions.

Whether it’s Courts or mediation, lots of lawyers and legal shit-****ery will ensue.

Reading that report, it is not pleasant reading. The allegations made are quite disturbing. All people have a basic human right to be treated humanely, which that article goes into detail that at least three couples and their families were not.

However the article is heavily biased by only presenting the view of the accusers, so we are only hearing one side of the story. The reporter has stated that he tried to make contact with Clarkson, Fagan, Burt and the club by leaving emails and phone calls. As is their right, they chose not to respond. I don’t blame them for not responding, because as the article is written it does set out to vilify them, rather than look for a balanced view it wants to sensationalise.

There are always two sides to a story and in between is the truth. I am proud and pleased that Hawthorn has taken the steps to bring this to the integrity unit, rather than try to sweep it under the rug. With the findings of the AFL external investigation, even if it isn’t made public, I’m hoping that everyone involved gets to tell their story without prejudice and some semblance comes out of it.

From this report I’d like to see as a whole all of the AFL clubs look at their past culture of handling everyone on their lists. Hopefully this report will see more positive changes on player welfare.

I just can't believe how hard you have gone at this. Esp as a mod which really means nothing but you would think as someone who has to sit back and find balance and reason you would understand the concerns around where this whole thing is at. Your form stinks.
My form stinks?

You’re “disagreeing” with posts calling out racism. Strange hill to die on.

News Hawthorn Racism Review - No player name speculation - opposition posters tread very carefully