Autopsy Hawthorn v the great pretenders

They should have won by 5 goals. A number of players had poor games or just weren't up for the physicality and pressure North applied.

Bad
- Gunston was unsighted for most of the game. He gets a pass because it's a rarity he ever plays poorly.
- Bruest was really targeted by their backs and was found wanting on a number of occasions.
- Brad Hill should be dropped. If he's not running the lines and providing the elite disposal to team mates we know he's capable of, he provides little value because he really has no defensive side to his game. Maybe an extended run down in the back half to find form. He's been struggling for a long time dating back to last year.
- Ceglar needs to play with more presence. I thought he was OK but he needs to work harder! McEvoy may not be elite but he is a workhorse and provides a contest.

Good
- Burgoyne was Burgoyne. He is our best player and turned things in our favor.
- Cyril stood tall and was able to apply the physical pressure that was sorely missing from many of our players.
- Stratton should be our next captain. He just kept going all night. ('Chris Mew like' in the way he goes about it.)
- O'Brien was outshone by Sicily but he could seriously be as good as Roughy. Liked his game. He is starting to believe in himself. (I also liked Sicily's flare and passion. 5 goals in a game as hotly contested like that is a mighty effort.) If we win the flag I think these two guys will be key and have to continue there upward trajectory. We may have found something!

In addition to Hodge, I'd like to see O'Rourke given a sustained opportunity. We need a contested mid with a mature body. We know what Langford has to offer so why not?

We're not as good as we were last year but we don't need to be. Cats, Swans & Roos are very beatable...
The Cats of Saturday night will be very hard to beat; will need to exceptional to beat them in their current form, and they are such a well balanced at present. I agree about all the others though.

Don't understand people cracking it that none of our boys went the knuckle, it was the smart move, no suspension for starters, north couldn't let it go and it cost them, not as much as it should but it did.
We have to play them again in a few weeks best we didn't start any fires, best response to North's niggle in years

Don't understand people cracking it that none of our boys went the knuckle, it was the smart move, no suspension for starters, north couldn't let it go and it cost them, not as much as it should but it did.
We have to play them again in a few weeks best we didn't start any fires, best response to North's niggle in years

All eyes are on us in games like this. You reckon the shit NM got away with would have been applied to us? We would have been hammered.

We know and knew what NM were bringing. We just get on with playing the ball and let them waste their energy.............with a few subtle reminders that they are pretenders every now and then.

Was wondering the same thing, they were happy to talk it up pre-game. Can't say I miss them.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

The way their team played. The sniping antics from the majority of their players ALL game only indicates to me that they knew they were going to lose. What a mentality you have to have as a coach and a club to do that ALL game and not play on talent alone..they probably would have had a better chance to win if they had of done the latter. But no, they are North and a fairly stupid club at that! This sniping tactic will not be lost on the Hawthorn Football Club.
Also the fact that their little squib of a coach who has called the game into disrepute with his attack on the umpires. Never in the history of watching footy except for that scum of the earth HIRD when he had a go at the umpires have I heard anything like that. For him (lip quiverer Scott no brains) to not come out personally and apologise indicates a lack of character by a coach also never seen before! All in all a sh*t weekend for North and it will only get better for them when they have to travel to Adelaide.

We look forward to meeting them again!

Just Listened to the incident where Thomas hits Gibson high and then spends 5minutes complaining to the ump
He must have yelled WHY, WHY about 15 times and then cursed at the umpire - giving away 50
from the next play Sicily kicks a goal.
Their lack of discipline and coach who encourages them.
Makes me smile :)

Did anyone else notice that Norf. had a cup on the back of their jumper during fir day nights game ?
Whats the story ?
Is Harvey the only Norf. player played in a premiership (1999) ? Maybe the only one to have played in a GF?

Did anyone else notice that Norf. had a cup on the back of their jumper during fir day nights game ?
Whats the story ?
Is Harvey the only Norf. player played in a premiership (1999) ? Maybe the only one to have played in a GF?
Was the 20th anniversary of their 1996 premiership.

Whats the story ?

They were celebrating the 20th anniversary of their 1996 premiership.

Don't know why they picked our game. I think they think we are their big rivals, and we would appreciate it. Unfortunately, most Hawthorn supporters don't even know where North Melbourne is.

Last year they were celebrating their 1975 premiership.

See how that turned out!

Don't know why they picked our game. I think they think we are their big rivals, and we would appreciate it. Unfortunately, most Hawthorn supporters don't even know where North Melbourne is.

See how that turned out!
You are right, they did celebrate the 1975 cup against us last year. And we dropped big turds in that one as we did on Friday.

See how that turned out!

Was it North who wheeled them out against us last year? In May!

What is with teams celebrating anniversaries in Autumn and Winter against us of all clubs?

Less care couldn't be given with our record of actually winning premierships since whatever anniversary you are celebrating....yep we've dominated the comp since your 15 minutes many moons ago, whatever club your are we've got you covered...easily.:D

Was the 20th anniversary of their 1996 premiership.
great work by norf and its shit stain coach to honour the 96 premiership team...archer and co must have been cringing watching the pretend toughman shit served up...followed by the sooking from a scott sister

Just Listened to the incident where Thomas hits Gibson high and then spends 5minutes complaining to the ump
He must have yelled WHY, WHY about 15 times and then cursed at the umpire - giving away 50
from the next play Sicily kicks a goal.
Their lack of discipline and coach who encourages them.
Makes me smile :)

There's a fine line between playing on the edge and playing like you are hard done by. Playing on the edge generally means you accept all consequences from bringing that mindset. Where as playing like you are hard done by generally means you think you deserve something for trying to play like that.

It's there a reason they've celebrated the anniversary against us twice in two years?
I mean last year made some sense since they played against us but this one just seemed strange. They play Sydney as a home game on round 22, why not celebrate then?

It's there a reason they've celebrated the anniversary against us twice in two years?
I mean last year made some sense since they played against us but this one just seemed strange. They play Sydney as a home game on round 22, why not celebrate then?
Maybe they think the milestone/anniversary will inspire the players enough to get them over the line against the Hawks. North are 0/2 if this is the case...

There's a fine line between playing on the edge and playing like you are hard done by. Playing on the edge generally means you accept all consequences from bringing that mindset. Where as playing like you are hard done by generally means you think you deserve something for trying to play like that.

It's called a victims mentality.

How many times after games have the Scott brothers made reference to the umpiring ? Do they feel it may have an impact ? Maybe they're right -- at one stage the free kicks were 19-3 , many frees that were there were not paid to Hawthorn - perhaps the media lead in showing Lewis & Hodge & Lake all striking the Kangaroos in previous matches did have an impact and the umps were going to stamp it out early.

I think the Hawks play the card they're dealt and move on to the next play. Much better mindset.

Petrie's goal in the first quarter was definitely touched by Burgoyne, should have been a point. No goal review ? You could go over almost every contest in a game of footy and come up with a different interpretation, this unhealthy obsession with reviewing some ad nauseam and not others is just silly.

Loved the lead up to the last goal where the North player rather than taking the game on - throws his head back anticipating high contact from Cyril and goes down like a bag of potatoes - and drops the ball. Holding the ball - Pop goals - Game Over.

That's just Karma saying the AFL and umpires may screw you over, but I've got your back. ;)

The way Clarko handled Buddy not getting frees is instructive. Mention it if asked and say you'll talk to the AFL. If I remember correctly, it didn't even come out that Evans had gone there with his video of the missed frees until well after he had done so.

At the end of the day, blaming umpires gets you nowhere as a team.

The way Clarko handled Buddy not getting frees is instructive. Mention it if asked and say you'll talk to the AFL. If I remember correctly, it didn't even come out that Evans had gone there with his video of the missed frees until well after he had done so.

At the end of the day, blaming umpires gets you nowhere as a team.

But the righteous indignation makes you feel so good. Just ask the clowns that spend their lives hating on the main board.

They will be able to for the next 2 years - 40 yr of 1977, 20 yr of 1998.

Maybe a little less time fantasising about the past and a little more time concentrating on current would have seen them kick straight under pressure.

Fast running out of flags too!
Not a problem we share. Wonder if we'll have a match to commemorate the 40th anniversary of our 1976 flag. Just need to make sure it doesn't clash with the 30th anniversary of our 1986 flag! #hawthornproblems

Well just have to honour them both with the 2016 flag.

#hawthornproblems

Autopsy Hawthorn v the great pretenders