Heathcote DFL part 2

Interesting to see the finals venues. Very strange decisions there in my opinion. Although they have yet to decide the grand final venue, I think its pretty poor that North Bendigo get a final and Mount Pleasant, Lockington or Colbinabbin may miss out. Those grounds are conducive for good footy, while no more than 40 players should ever grace the fields at any given time at the Zoo.

Qualifying Final (Saturday 16th August): BROADFORD
Elimination Final (Sunday 17th August): HEATHCOTE
2nd Semi Final (Saturday 23rd August): WHITE HILLS
1st Semi Final (Sunday 24th August): NORTH BENDIGO
Preliminary Final (Saturday 30th August): HUNTLY

Lets just hope that Doona and Al have back up plans for thier runners on the weekend (Blackie and RWB) because last time Heathcote played Broadford the runners weighed a combined weight of 295kg surely an acciedent waiting to happen :):):)
so rwb weighs 210 kgs, big effort to still run at all.:D

Would be terrible form if Doona wasn't afforded the respect and some honesty if any of this shit is true. I dont think he's in the dark about the talk if the quote in today's Review is anything to go by. "I had a few mates in the crowd Saturday and I too have now heard the rumours. I guess it depends on what I'm to be assessed on, but I have indicated to the boys that at this stage I'd love to carry our work on next season."

Interesting to see the finals venues. Very strange decisions there in my opinion. Although they have yet to decide the grand final venue, I think its pretty poor that North Bendigo get a final and Mount Pleasant, Lockington or Colbinabbin may miss out. Those grounds are conducive for good footy, while no more than 40 players should ever grace the fields at any given time at the Zoo.

A fairly naive and irresponsible comment and statement in total in my opinion Matt. The three Bendigo grounds mentioned have not been given finals (or have had finals taken off them) in recent years because of lack of condition. This lack of condition has been caused mainly by lack of water (water restrictions) and the heavy traffic of many games of football played on them. These grounds, on top of the HDFL workload, have been subject to thousands of girls and boys footy boots playing all ages of junior and girls football (perhaps if these activities were banned the venues may be a little more "conducive" to "good footy"). This year despite the heavy workload the grounds are holding up fairly well and I take my hat off to the league for recognising this and acting responsibly in this years finals allocations (After all there are nine teams in this competition). If you are serious with your concern on venue conditions may I suggest you start campaigning to keep the kids off these grounds.:mad:

Fantom

This ws always on the cards following last aeason where some grounds such as ours and Elmores hosted multiple finals because of the impact of the lack of water on the other grounds in the league

Must agree with you Matt. I understand the rights of all clubs to benefit financially from the finals but playing games at the zoo and probably even at white hills is ordinary. Play your finals at the best grounds. The grand final will depend on who gets there i guess.

Lets just hope that Doona and Al have back up plans for thier runners on the weekend (Blackie and RWB) because last time Heathcote played Broadford the runners weighed a combined weight of 295kg surely an acciedent waiting to happen :):):)
Just letting your good self and phantom know that I won't be there come Saturday. You've hurt my feelings and there isn't enough of the orange to go around for both myself and Blacky, so I'm taking a bullet this week.;):D

Double Bubble Im guessing???

A great intiative by the Huntly FNC is reported on www.********************** saying that the Hawks will admit anyone with a club membership from the HDFL, LVFL, BFL & MCDFL into their match against North Bendigo at half price on Sunday :thumbsu:

Double Bubble Im guessing???

A great intiative by the Huntly FNC is reported on www.********************** saying that the Hawks will admit anyone with a club membership from the HDFL, LVFL, BFL & MCDFL into their match against North Bendigo at half price on Sunday :thumbsu:
Nope, just your run of the mill Saturday dealing with crooks.:(

Who do you think will win the league medal as B&F? Seems to be wide open this year

Ian Kay - best for Elmore nearly every week
Cam Carter/ Troy Shannon - Same as above although may not win enough games to get 3 votes
Nick Knight /Paddy Obrien- Consistently in the best for Colbo each week
Brydan Morgan or Damien King - Heathcote - Only seen once this year but everyone tells me they usually go pretty well.

Dont think Andy Grant is a chance this year,as he was dominate last year and expectation may be higher than he is delivering but will miss a few games either way.

Anyone else with a realistic chance?

Is there any North bendigo bloggers out there who would like to jump online and give us a brief on proceedings that occured last night at the tribunal between a Heathcote player and a North Player?

Id have to say those boys from Colbo will be the faves!!!
What about that Thompson I think his name is from Heathcote!!

Is there any North bendigo bloggers out there who would like to jump online and give us a brief on proceedings that occured last night at the tribunal between a Heathcote player and a North Player?

From what i am told spud the players "code of conduct" no longer exists. Stitched up worse than a knife wound. Me thinks a square up for earlier goings on in the season:cool:

Coach keen to stay

by Matt Nicholls

DESPITE false rumours circulating that Broadford Football Club is on the lookout for a new senior coach for next season, current leader Chris Nolan says at this stage he doesn't have plans to be anywhere else but his home club in 2009.
With the Roos needing to win their remaining three matches to make the finals – a near impossible task – thoughts at Harley Hammond Reserve are already turning towards next season.
Although there were whispers going around saying Nolan would not be reappointed, club president Wayne Fisher said they were untrue, and that he was happy with what the coach has achieved.
At training last week, Nolan brought the players into the changerooms before they hit the track and stamped out rumours that he was joining a rival club.
In doing so, he also pointed out that he was planning on reapplying for the position next season once the club holds its annual general meeting.
It would be a move in the right direction for the football club, which is starting to show signs of improvement and consistency.
Despite losing over half-a-dozen quality senior footballers in the pre-season, Nolan, reserves coach John Boulton and their match committee have been able to steer their list in the right direction and have been competitive in all but a couple matches.
Of the 21 players who took the field last Saturday against
Mount Pleasant, 20 of those had previously played under age football for Broadford.
The only player who wasn’t is their best -- John Taylor.
Assuming the club can retain its local players this summer and recruit as well as they have in previous seasons, it wouldn’t take much to catapult the Roos back into the top-five.
What’s more, Broadford may be playing in the more southern Riddell District Football League, which would likely bolster the club’s recruiting options.
Nolan indicated there would be some conditions should he be appointed for a third season.
"This stuff (rumours) is beyond my control and is getting pretty tiring to be honest. “Once the
AGM takes place and a new committee is voted in I will apply and offer my services. It's then up to those in charge to decide whether I'm the right bloke for the job or not."
Nolan understands a finish outside the finals opens the door for rival applicants, and has always said he wouldn't stand in the way of a more credentialed coach if it meant the club continues to go forward with its current "home grown” policies.
"It would be an insult to the list if there weren't coaches out there excited about what we're doing and the possibilities that lie ahead. I'd be very surprised if the (Broadford) gig isn't much sought after when the club calls for applicants."
GALLANT IN DEFEAT
In front of a big home crowd, Broadford struggled to cover its midfield losses against former HDFL powerhouse Mount Pleasant
With Lindsay Black, Wayne Myers, Matt Coomans and Nick Redenbach all unavailable, the Roos were forced to play Grant Wearne, Justin Webb, Bill Neilson and John Taylor through the centre for most of the day, virtually killing Broadford’s planned rotations.
Broadford was right in the game heading into the final term, but ran out of legs against the determined visitors.
Mount Pleasant was not only fighting for a finals place, but had the extra incentive in that club legend Justin Gee was playing his 300th game.
Following the final siren, and in an admirable display of sportsmanship, Nolan and his team manager Robert Chapman forwarded the game ball onto Gee as a keepsake of the milestone.
Gee kicked three goals for the match in a spirited display, but the show was stolen by playing coach Cam Carter, who stood tall in the final term to lead his side home.
Leading by just eight points at the last break, Carter presented well up forward to kick a couple of crucial goals and break the Roos’ spirits.
Broadford’s loss virtually eliminates them from making the finals. Even if they win their remaining three matches, it is still possible they’ll miss the top-five, with Mounts starting to put some good form together.
SAINTS AWAIT
Tomorrow the Roos will have to travel to Heathcote in what has become the most feared road trip in the competition.
Although the Saints are second on the ladder, they are the clear premiership favourites and have won their last 10 matches in a row – most by big margins.
They have beaten every team on at least one occasion thus far.
Despite being rated the favourite, Heathcote coach Alistair Meldrum – a former Romsey captain – said he expected the Roos to push his side immensely.
"They are a young side who run hard and have a fair few attacking options. We won’t be taking them lightly," he said.
Although the playing coach was reluctant to give out selection information, he said skipper Joel Condon may miss with a knee injury.
Broadford should take a strong side to Barrack Reserve and Nolan anticipates a good contest.
"Everyone is tipping Heathcote as a moral for the flag but we got reasonably close last time without several key players, and there's still a bit for us to play for so hopefully we can slip under their guards," he said.

did Sonny get any weeks

Nesko,

he got 4 weeks....quite possibly one of the longer susp. handed out for a strike, if in fact it was a strike. In the eyes of the 2's coach at north it was a strike on the button of the nose rated 8/10.

Thats what I think streaker was referring to when he suggested that the players unwritten law was broken.

Nesko,

he got 4 weeks....quite possibly one of the longer susp. handed out for a strike, if in fact it was a strike. In the eyes of the 2's coach at north it was a strike on the button of the nose rated 8/10.

Thats what I think streaker was referring to when he suggested that the players unwritten law was broken.
An 8/10 would probably, in fact most certainly, require assistance from the ground, wouldn't you think. Don't think he deserved to get off but four weeks for a retaliatory slap was over the top. Heard that the tribunal had made their minds up before he had the chance to present any evidence, and then to get lagged in makes it worse. What goes around, comes around and the occasion will present itself one day. :thumbsdown::mad:

Nesko,

How many weeks has he racked up? Is he far off following Jamesy?

Nev told me your not doing the running 2morrow,he now calls you med....in for 1 out for 4:D

Couple of big games this week boys! Colbo and Mounts should be a ripper I would think as Mounts need the win and Colbo I am sure would want that top spot!
Elmore and Locky will be another cracker! Interesting to see two names in the Elmore side playing this week? Heard on the grapevine that one of Elmores Ruckman was on the gas all night before last weeks big game and also that both the senior and reserves coach had quite a large verbal stoush with each other leading up to last weeks game. Maybe they could be falling apart there at Elmore land?? Who knows but obviously didnt help last weeks performance.
Good luck to all teams!

I think phantom hit the nail on the head. matt, open your eyes mate. There are 9 teams in the HDFL, not 3. The finals have consistently been played at Elmore, Colbo and Toolleen. Last year I am sure that there were 3 finals at Toolleen, with 2 of them, the money going straight into the coffers of MPFC, and finals can be worth $8-$10,000.

Whilst some of these grounds aren't the best, it is a chance for all to showcase their ability to host finals, and try to get their grounds right.

I know that at Huntly, our ground is in good shape, and with a couple of weeks in between the last game of the season and the prelim final, the ground will be just right. We have busted our backsides to ensure Trickey's Diesel Oval is approved by the league for a final after missing out for a few years.

Finally, I think doona pointed it out, anyone who produces a membership card at the Huntly v North game on Sunday, from any footy club in the region (bar the participating clubs), is entitled to half-price entry. That is $4 for 4 games of footy if you get there early enough. (8.45am).

Our undefeated under 15s take on the 2nd side, South Bendigo, in a curtain-raiser type game as we continue to bring the junior and senior footy clubs together, then the senior club action starts with our thirds looking for their first win, the reserves needing to win to stay in the hunt for the 5 and the battle in the ones, the loser most likely to finish last, so both will be keen to avoid that, as there are no draft concessions in the HDFL. :D

GO HAWKS!!!!!

edit: Good luck to Doona too. Considering he lost most of his best players from 2007, and has no thirds, he has done a mighty job. If the committee dump him, I think they need to have a good hard look at how they are running their club.

I think phantom hit the nail on the head. matt, open your eyes mate. There are 9 teams in the HDFL, not 3. The finals have consistently been played at Elmore, Colbo and Toolleen. Last year I am sure that there were 3 finals at Toolleen, with 2 of them, the money going straight into the coffers of MPFC, and finals can be worth $8-$10,000.

Whilst some of these grounds aren't the best, it is a chance for all to showcase their ability to host finals, and try to get their grounds right.

I know that at Huntly, our ground is in good shape, and with a couple of weeks in between the last game of the season and the prelim final, the ground will be just right. We have busted our backsides to ensure Trickey's Diesel Oval is approved by the league for a final after missing out for a few years.

Finally, I think doona pointed it out, anyone who produces a membership card at the Huntly v North game on Sunday, from any footy club in the region (bar the participating clubs), is entitled to half-price entry. That is $4 for 4 games of footy if you get there early enough. (8.45am).

Our undefeated under 15s take on the 2nd side, South Bendigo, in a curtain-raiser type game as we continue to bring the junior and senior footy clubs together, then the senior club action starts with our thirds looking for their first win, the reserves needing to win to stay in the hunt for the 5 and the battle in the ones, the loser most likely to finish last, so both will be keen to avoid that, as there are no draft concessions in the HDFL. :D

GO HAWKS!!!!!

edit: Good luck to Doona too. Considering he lost most of his best players from 2007, and has no thirds, he has done a mighty job. If the committee dump him, I think they need to have a good hard look at how they are running their club.
good to see mounts put this money to good use like updating there away changerooms.:eek:

The money from the gates for finals goes into the league coffers and then divided up (hopefully) at the end of the year once all the league bills are paid. The money from the bbq's, kiosk, bar etc. goes to the clubs except for grand final day where again, it goes into the league coffers as part of the dividend back to the clubs. For memory, we would clear around 3000 to 4000 for hosting a final, not 8 to 10 as previously mentioned. The host club for the GF gets about 3000 I think.

I was led to believe that for all final, bar the GF, the club got all the money. However, I was reading the HDFL booklet Sat night, and did see that it says the league gets the gate receipts, and man the gate themselves. I will have to find out more about this one.