Heathcote District FL

hey doona, i have just been reading an article about laurence angwin playing in cairns. see link below. this wouldnt be good for you surely, i would imagine he would be hard to replace.

I have been kept in the know about Laurie's movements from South Cairns via their coach Steve Daniel whom I formed a friendship with during his time at Seymour. Steve rang me outa repsect and has kept me in the loop since day one of talks.

The times I spoke to Laurie b4 Xmas he was honest in saying he doubted he'd remain living here, and I know he looks up to Steve and being the great fella Steve is he's giving him an opportunity and we all wish him well :thumbsu:

Hard to replace onfield indeed, but he was injured a lot during his time at the club Im told, and off the field wasn't around a hell of a lot. Like I said we have been basing our plans around a team not having Laurie since we knew of his plans, and again Steve's respect to me and professionalism in all this has been first class.

Angwin seeks second chance in Cairns

Former Adelaide and Carlton ruckman-forward Laurence Angwin will play in the AFL Cairns competition this season.

Angwin was a first round draft pick to Adelaide, but a series of off-field indiscretions saw him de-listed.

He was subsequently picked up by Carlton, but off-field troubles prematurely ended his career at the elite level.

Still only 24, Angwin will play for the strong South Cairns club, and will help out as an assistant coach.

At 200cm and with tremendous athleticism, Angwin should be a standout for his new club.

"I was a ratbag and now I want to be a leader,” Angwin told The Cairns Post at training last night. "I’ve grown a huge amount in myself. I know I made mistakes, but now its time to turn that around and just start afresh.``

Angwin played the last two seasons with country Victorian club Broadford

Didn't LBU have a major ******** up in their appointment of a Senior Coach a few years back. A bloke from up Kerang way - Morton (maybe). Heard he was pretty woeful and caused a lot of angst at the club. Talked himself way up and then couldnt deliver the goods. :thumbsdown:

Nothing to do with the coach ... Was more about LBU leaving the BFL.
Long story which I'm not going into right now.
Morto did a great job with a bunch of local players not wanting to be in the BFL. He and his wife ange travelled 1.25hrs each way to every training (including preseason 3 nights a week) after milking cows.
On top of that, Locky was his closest match.
Not a bad word to be said about the couple & commitment.

Apart from delaying the start of the season by two weeks has the league made any alternative plans for the season if grounds don’t come up.

I assume that Elmore, Colbinabbin, Broadford and White Hills(with the water from the new pipeline) will be ok.

But what about North Bendigo, Huntly, LBU, Mount Pleasant and Heathcote will their grounds be up and ready to go

Mounts have a bore which has been pumped into the dam on the far side of the oval for the last month or so the ground wont be any worse than last season maybe a little better.

i dont know mcreddin is over the line yet with w.hills, apparently g.square are in the mix for his services aswell.

Can confirm that McCredden has signed on for the Hillies, saw the paperwork and signature first hand. Good start for the club as far as recruiting goes, a tall who is agile and can play in most key position roles. At this stage not losing any from '06.

25 players and a few new faces at the first pre season run last night....couple from Golden Square who are a big chance to sign, with a couple more in the pipeline according to Walshy. As for the big Axe, alot depends on his work prospects there I would think, but the club is still hopeful he might head out Scott St way for "one more year" of footy!

If the first night is anything to go by, looks like being a bloody tough pre season! As they should be I guess!!

haven't heard anything about the saints since they signed their new coach. Does anybody know how they are shaping up?

A guy at work from Saintsville says they're gunna be pretty handy, Al Meldrum and the Carroll boys are very good players and if they can get Joffa Cunningham and Hirdy to commit they'll be alright I reckon

Plus a couple of others in the pipeline :thumbsu:

thanks for the update boys,
you don't happen to know if O'Bree and tweedle dee(wanga) and tweedle dum(youngy) are going around again? Have heard smithy is heading back to the city, any truth? On getting Hirdy back I think it is time to move on. He is a good bloke but goes missing when you need him most. Time to put those 3rd's flags of a couple of years ago into action. They should have a couple of decent 19-20 year olds that need some game time to develop.

Baz, Fridge, who is the ass. coach at LBU. Havint heard much these days. Few possible Elmore recruits in Elmore on saturday night, very very handy footballers.....

Disco18, went round to visit you on thursday and you wernt about, might see ya saturday night.

Baz, Fridge, who is the ass. coach at LBU. Havint heard much these days. Few possible Elmore recruits in Elmore on saturday night, very very handy footballers.....

Disco18, went round to visit you on thursday and you wernt about, might see ya saturday night.

not sure who you think this is but you will only be able to visit me if you fly about 10,000 miles, hahaha

Smith has family in Broadford and his cousin told me he's playing at West Preston back in the DVFL, was told at a family doo last Sunday.

Did you have another late night Nesko? I hope you weren't at one of those teeny bopper parties again?:D No ass coach at this stage mate, talking to plenty of blokes as every club is, hopefully have something for you in the next couple of weeks! Happy Australia Day everyone:thumbsu:

Thanks for the info Doona, how are you boys looking? Have heard that you boys are starting to move in the right direction. I remember a few young blokes starting to look alright a couple of years ago, any starting to come good?

When ya finish 6th the first thing you gota do is get competitve for the full 100-120 mins, things will be ok on that front if our recruiting efforts come thru . . . . but by the sounds all the talk is around Mounts and Elmore again.

In this league Mounts is a given. Pretty sure Mounts and Colbo have won the last 10 flags between them. The problem with Elmore is there's always plenty talk, they don't seem to be able to put all that talk into action come finals time. If Colbo get a few of they boys i have heard about I think it might be between them and Mounts. Just wondering how Mounts got roman abramovich (chelsea owner) to invest in there club. Always seem to have the cash to splash on a couple of big signings. I suppose success makes it easier to recruit as well. Not many are prepared to chance there arm with the butt ugly fat sister of the best looking bird in town.

Heathcote could be quite sharp not much has been said about them but they could easily finish top 3. I wouldn't imagine Cunningham and Hird would have any influence on the season

Did you have another late night Nesko? I hope you weren't at one of those teeny bopper parties again?:D No ass coach at this stage mate, talking to plenty of blokes as every club is, hopefully have something for you in the next couple of weeks! Happy Australia Day everyone:thumbsu:

No teeny bopper parties for me mate, bit old for those and yeah another late one.

Do you think mounts will be able to go back-to-back-to-back in the scoobies? Adi Cronin was saying the other day that the loose a few good handy players looking to get a game in the 1s out in the LVFL, also loose Milsom

No teeny bopper parties for me mate, bit old for those and yeah another late one.

Do you think mounts will be able to go back-to-back-to-back in the scoobies? Adi Cronin was saying the other day that the loose a few good handy players looking to get a game in the 1s out in the LVFL, also loose Milsom

Word on the grapevine is that Mounts will be losing quite a few handy players this year. With Webby gone i also here Grinton, shannon and that guy they call crackers are also departing. 4 big losses!

With Webby gone i also here Grinton, shannon and that guy they call crackers are also departing. 4 big losses!

plus the big unit who played CHF - although they've replaced that one just nicely with Brown's signing.