Heathcote District FL

no doubting what part of town you are from mighty mouse, was intersting to see he was named best on ground, considering in the write up in the local rag, troy auld didnt give him a mention. hope poor old hayesy form is hitting second gear and he can figure in a few moer bests for the saints. maybe he is starting to come good at the right part of the season

Just had a look on the HDFL website and Hayes got a mention saty against North didn't see the paper monday so not sure if that bit had been edited out.

Rumour doing the rounds that Broadford had 17 players on the ground in the last quarter and the Coach didn't realise.

Set to be a big crowd saty could hit the $3,500 mark I reckon with no big games in the BFL. It was $3,000 plus at Elmore the first time.

Mobbenfuhrer said:
Any price LBU?

What is the damn story with them. They more or less owned the NEFL ... would be it be that the HDFL is that much a better league than the NEFL was, or is LBU a lesser side, perhaps players finding other local clubs now that they travel so far.

After a few years not getting a flag, why wouldn't they be on the blower the CMFL fixturers? Even Golden Rivers, for that matter?

They had a stint in the Bendigo league, but wasn't competitive enough. I think it would be the same if the joined the CMFL. Golden Rivers would be ideal if they moved. Give the league more depth thats for sure. Teams like Nully, Murrabit, Wandella and now Wakool are dominating. LBU would fit in nicely.

Catter said:
They had a stint in the Bendigo league, but wasn't competitive enough. I think it would be the same if the joined the CMFL. Golden Rivers would be ideal if they moved. Give the league more depth thats for sure. Teams like Nully, Murrabit, Wandella and now Wakool are dominating. LBU would fit in nicely.

I think the LBU Cats fit nicely in the Heathcote League. It's their ideal league playing against Elmore, Mounts, Colbo and always attract big crowds for those games. Don't see how they could be linked with either of those leagues.

I don't see how Lockington would want to play Nullawil, Murrabit etc....I would think the HDFL is perfect for them.

I think the Nth Bendigo FC is just about stuffed. They merged with Huntly in the Bendigo Cricket Association a couple of years back, and the same may have to happen in footy.

Funny how teams go to crap when the money runs out.....W.H.F.C. Although, they could spend some cash on their clubrooms if they get a chance. They are the worst I have ever seen, and I hope they plough some water into their ground before the prelim, as it was as hard as a rock a couple of weeks back.

Big games this week between Mounts and Elmore in both ones and twos, especially after a week off and the fattest runner in the reserves comp is raring to go.......

mousey75 said:
As for your comment on Hayes you should choke on it as he got BOG on the weekend against North B'go.
Yeah it might have something to do with the mates he has there and that he lived there for 18 years!:mad:

I agree gibby hmmmm, i think i know you mousey75, are you trying to impersonate the real and one and only mousey? You must know Han on moon and me and all the half normal people we know

BAR FRIDGE said:
Should be argueably one of the biggest home and away games the HDFL has seen for a number of years down at the tin shed this weekend! Even though Mounts would have to win by a bit to take top spot she is going to be on for young and old! Big Dalts should be back this week and with Elmore a couple of ruckmen down i would slightly lean towards the mountain men at home. Going to be a cracker though! Looking forward to reading the preview and your thoughts OTM!

Heard Ryan Hayes was not far off, a surprise late inclusion perhaps?
Also, another interesting story out of a fine Elmore watering hole, some money may be changing hands to see who has first crack at the back of Big Dalts scone, knowing that he will not retaliate coming back from suspension.:eek:
Might have to pull a sicky from footy duties in Benders and sneak out for a look.

I think there must have been more than money changing hands at that watering hole......

You would need to take a sledgehammer onto the field to take Dalton on. Have the Elmore guys actually seen how big he actually is?

Bit of a problem with the computer there....submitted about 10 times....sorry guys.

Da Cwub said:

I've heard that if Hayes does play it will only be through the aid of a jab in the leg. The kid's only 19-20 and looks like he's got a pretty good future. Would you risk doing more damage just to get out there? As good as the footy is out here it is only the Heathcote League and we're not playing for sheep stations. It will be interesting to see...

Da Cwub said:
Also, another interesting story out of a fine Elmore watering hole, some money may be changing hands to see who has first crack at the back of Big Dalts scone, knowing that he will not retaliate coming back from suspension.:eek:
Might have to pull a sicky from footy duties in Benders and sneak out for a look.
Sounds unlikely but I'll bite.
Any chance of framing a market as to who would be favourite DCwub?
There's a couple Elmore blokes I'd lay a fiver on, cos they might just be silly enough to try...
I'm with you Re: the Hayes thing Wildcard, not worth a jab for the final game of the season - finals maybe... Geez they will miss him AND big Zeb.

oldmanemu said:
I don't see how Lockington would want to play Nullawil, Murrabit etc....I would think the HDFL is perfect for them.

I think the Nth Bendigo FC is just about stuffed. They merged with Huntly in the Bendigo Cricket Association a couple of years back, and the same may have to happen in footy.

Funny how teams go to crap when the money runs out.....W.H.F.C. Although, they could spend some cash on their clubrooms if they get a chance. They are the worst I have ever seen, and I hope they plough some water into their ground before the prelim, as it was as hard as a rock a couple of weeks back.

Big games this week between Mounts and Elmore in both ones and twos, especially after a week off and the fattest runner in the reserves comp is raring to go.......

I think you better have a look over your own back fence there emu. Mounts ARE the worst rooms I have ever encountered......Bar none!!! The joint leaks, the wind blows straight thru and it's as cold as a witches t i t when it rains, If it's a good still day it reaks of p i s s due to the prehistoric and substandard facilities. Not sure if it's even on a slab, I think they may have just rolled carpet out over some flattened dirt. They probably should have looked into relocating White Hills' old away rooms when they pulled it down cause even that had em covered!!!

On the footy side of things, it'd be shocked if North showed up without a Magoo's side and it would ruin what has been an interesting little tussel for 5th for those of us involved. We'll play there 1st side and give them a run if they like. I'd prefer the oppurtunity to compete for the spot than having no chance at all. That said I recon they would have to be able to rally enough players to hit the park. All the best on the weekend lads.

blackbeard said:
I think you better have a look over your own back fence there emu. Mounts ARE the worst rooms I have ever encountered......Bar none!!! The joint leaks, the wind blows straight thru and it's as cold as a witches t i t when it rains, If it's a good still day it reaks of p i s s due to the prehistoric and substandard facilities. Not sure if it's even on a slab, I think they may have just rolled carpet out over some flattened dirt. They probably should have looked into relocating White Hills' old away rooms when they pulled it down cause even that had em covered!!!

On the footy side of things, it'd be shocked if North showed up without a Magoo's side and it would ruin what has been an interesting little tussel for 5th for those of us involved. We'll play there 1st side and give them a run if they like. I'd prefer the oppurtunity to compete for the spot than having no chance at all. That said I recon they would have to be able to rally enough players to hit the park. All the best on the weekend lads.

While we are on the subject, what is going on in the elmore away rooms?everytime you touch the metal taps you get a 50,000 volt shock!!! its **** funny watching blokes get zapped, but having water and electricity around is surely dangerous.

does anyone know if they have fixed them ?

The Snortch said:
While we are on the subject, what is going on in the elmore away rooms?everytime you touch the metal taps you get a 50,000 volt shock!!! its **** funny watching blokes get zapped, but having water and electricity around is surely dangerous.

does anyone know if they have fixed them ?

heck it is funny!! Not sure what the go is specifically but i'm told( by a sparkie in the side) that one of the earth wires must be earthed onto the water lines and so you get a bit of a sap. Nothing too dangerous he reconned but I was given them a wide berth. :rolleyes:

Changes beard? Trotty went to the rooms but as usual was too drunk to remember for me

Doona2 said:
Changes beard? Trotty went to the rooms but as usual was too drunk to remember for me

Aint heard too many, although there is a few blokes playing the double games. skip, dog, scats and james. Not sure that farmer was involved to much in selection as he may have exited early from training. Not too clear on reasons although I believe there was only a handful who turned up for a run.

blackbeard said:
Aint heard too many, although there is a few blokes playing the double games. skip, dog, scats and james. Not sure that farmer was involved to much in selection as he may have exited early from training. Not too clear on reasons although I believe there was only a handful who turned up for a run.

Called in to watch a bit of training and both seniors and thirds were al together - but there seemed to be a few faces missing including yaself from memory.

blackbeard said:

I must say in 3 years I haven't actually been in the visitors rooms at Toolleen, but there is room to warm up at least isn't there. The Hillies have no room to do anything.

WildcardQuote:
Originally Posted by Da Cwub

I've heard that if Hayes does play it will only be through the aid of a jab in the leg. The kid's only 19-20 and looks like he's got a pretty good future.

The Elmore rooms have been looked at and nothin serious. Ryan Hayes is a gun but if any of u new him personally u'd no he's very injury prone. Woulda had bot 10 ops and hes only 20. 2 stuffed ankles, knee, elbow, shoulder and back but is a gun and great bloke. Was out on the town with him last weekend and he's not 2 far off. Has played pios, east vs west and bombers but likes playing with his mates.

Mounts rooms are not that bad as long as there is no breeze, the dirts not that flat either lol. Hills is way 2 small, once u have the trainers tables and 2 teams bags there aint much room for stretching. I never used 2 mind it cos the change rooms were behind the canteen and the pie warmer would heat the wall. would ever happened 2 the old visters rooms, how come they were pulled down?

I reckon there is a few elmore boys they wouldnt mind having a crack at dalton; Longford, Pedretti, Westly, Bennett they may even promote Mark Butler or Adam McInerny. Will b game of the year!

nesko_25 said:
WildcardQuote:
Originally Posted by Da Cwub

I've heard that if Hayes does play it will only be through the aid of a jab in the leg. The kid's only 19-20 and looks like he's got a pretty good future.

The Elmore rooms have been looked at and nothin serious. Ryan Hayes is a gun but if any of u new him personally u'd no he's very injury prone. Woulda had bot 10 ops and hes only 20. 2 stuffed ankles, knee, elbow, shoulder and back but is a gun and great bloke. Was out on the town with him last weekend and he's not 2 far off. Has played pios, east vs west and bombers but likes playing with his mates.

Mounts rooms are not that bad as long as there is no breeze, the dirts not that flat either lol. Hills is way 2 small, once u have the trainers tables and 2 teams bags there aint much room for stretching. I never used 2 mind it cos the change rooms were behind the canteen and the pie warmer would heat the wall. would ever happened 2 the old visters rooms, how come they were pulled down?

I reckon there is a few elmore boys they wouldnt mind having a crack at dalton; Longford, Pedretti, Westly, Bennett they may even promote Mark Butler or Adam McInerny. Will b game of the year!

Gee - I hope they promote Butler to play on Dalton. I would back him in for a lazy 12.

nesko_25 said:
Just read that Nic Cail may b sent down back 2 play on him

That wouldn't be a bad move by Elmore. Nic Cail is always solid in any position he plays. The match-ups for this game will be interesting. If Zeb and Hayes are out I am guessing that big Stevie Warner is going to have to play ones. Both forward lines are pretty potent but I think Mounts will win at home. As for other games Colbo over Hillies, Broadford to beat North and Heathcote over Huntly.
Twos should also be interesting. I hope North field a side because the way Colbo and Broady have played in the twos this year they both deserve an equal crack at the fifth spot.

Frankenreiter said:
Gee - I hope they promote Butler to play on Dalton. I would back him in for a lazy 12.

Yer I don't think Butler would be a wise option to play on big Dalty.
Longford is likely to play in the ruck put up a very good performance last week against W/hills who has been amongst the best big men in the comp this season.
Frankie boy do Mounts have a few out? Is Fidler playing seniors?

On The Money said:
Yer I don't think Butler would be a wise option to play on big Dalty.
Longford is likely to play in the ruck put up a very good performance last week against W/hills who has been amongst the best big men in the comp this season.
Frankie boy do Mounts have a few out? Is Fidler playing seniors?

There is still a couple out who will be definites come the following week. The 'Fidler' is playing seniors. Been playing really well in the twos and has been unlucky not to be playing earlier. Just goes to show that there is always room in the Mounts sides for blokes who want to play footy after finishing their commitments within league publicity.