Heathcote District FL

Joeyboy said:
A little better??? Obviously your not familiar with the HDFL mate, you should research alot better before you go posting waffle like that again. The HDFL is by far a superior league to the Riddell, alaways has been always will be, end of story.

Because it boasts some drop out Bendigo and AFL players? I watched a handful of Broadford games this year and there are a players on those sides who wouldn't get a run at a lot of Riddell League sides. In terms of evenness, perhaps Heathcote is slightly better, but if you had a round-robin playoff between the top five Riddell FL sides (Riddell, Diggers Rest, Sunbury Kangaroos, Romsey, Woodend-Hesket) against the top five Heathote FL sides (Mt Pleasant, Elmore, LBU, Heathcote, Colbinabbin) - I think you would find that four of the top six spots would be taken by RDFL sides.

matt_nicholls said:
Because it boasts some drop out Bendigo and AFL players? I watched a handful of Broadford games this year and there are a players on those sides who wouldn't get a run at a lot of Riddell League sides. In terms of evenness, perhaps Heathcote is slightly better, but if you had a round-robin playoff between the top five Riddell FL sides (Riddell, Diggers Rest, Sunbury Kangaroos, Romsey, Woodend-Hesket) against the top five Heathote FL sides (Mt Pleasant, Elmore, LBU, Heathcote, Colbinabbin) - I think you would find that four of the top six spots would be taken by RDFL sides.

Does the top 4 or 5 teams in a league determine its strength ??? or is it that say 7th can play 2nd and have a good hitout, instead of getting flogged by 42 goals. Evenness is an indication of strength.

Joeyboy said:
Does the top 4 or 5 teams in a league determine its strength ??? or is it that say 7th can play 2nd and have a good hitout, instead of getting flogged by 42 goals. Evenness is an indication of strength.

The Riddell League was very even this year, apart from Rockbank. But I believe that they, given time, will be a competitive side (perhaps five years). Lancefield had a terrible year and will bounce back, Macedon showed terrific signs of becoming a good side, Kilmore will play finals next year and Melton Central were a tad unlucky in a few games. All four sides were competitive.
I'm only arguing my opinion, and its ok to be wrong sometimes. But I think the RDFL is currently better (only just) than the HDFL. The Under 17s comp and reserves comp are of less quality. While a year younger, the U17s competition is no where near any sort of standard of the RDFL 18s.

Doona2 said:
Just copped a pay out on the RDFL 2007 thread lads by the Free Press sports reporter - seems some people think the RDFL is a better standard than the Heathcote league :(
Nothing like a newbie Donna
And lm sure the Free Press would love him spending all his time on Bigfooty

matt_nicholls said:
The Riddell League was very even this year, apart from Rockbank. But I believe that they, given time, will be a competitive side (perhaps five years). Lancefield had a terrible year and will bounce back, Macedon showed terrific signs of becoming a good side, Kilmore will play finals next year and Melton Central were a tad unlucky in a few games. All four sides were competitive.
I'm only arguing my opinion, and its ok to be wrong sometimes. But I think the RDFL is currently better (only just) than the HDFL. The Under 17s comp and reserves comp are of less quality. While a year younger, the U17s competition is no where near any sort of standard of the RDFL 18s.

Just been talking to a Stalwart of the Lancefield Footy Club/Cricket Club in W Brew, who gets around to watch a lot of different football comps and reckons your off the mark my friend. HDFL ahead of RDFL by 5 or 6 goals. Does Westy or Wally no how you have spent your day???? Surely you dont get all your info off big footy.

blackbeard said:
Hey HJ or Sars, Any news on tills sentencing? Brought the Addy today and couldn't find anything. Do you know when it is?

Doon said at smoko he was found guilty but no word on a sentence yet, reckons he will be right.

Joeyboy said:
Just been talking to a Stalwart of the Lancefield Footy Club/Cricket Club in W Brew, who gets around to watch a lot of different football comps and reckons your off the mark my friend. HDFL ahead of RDFL by 5 or 6 goals. Does Westy or Wally no how you have spent your day???? Surely you dont get all your info off big footy.

I do plenty of work my friend, today is a bit quiet on the news front. Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays is my working week. Wednesday and Thursdays are a bit of a weekend but I still get plenty done. Tell brewy to get off the bowling green and back on the park with a cricket bat in hand. As for getting info off BigFooty, you must be kidding. It's best to report just about the exact opposite of what gets said here. This is just good for a laugh.

matt_nicholls said:
I do plenty of work my friend, today is a bit quiet on the news front. Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays is my working week. Wednesday and Thursdays are a bit of a weekend but I still get plenty done. Tell brewy to get off the bowling green and back on the park with a cricket bat in hand. As for getting info off BigFooty, you must be kidding. It's best to report just about the exact opposite of what gets said here. This is just good for a laugh.

I'm glad you think so because you are providing us all with a good laugh. rdfl better the HDFL ha! maybe you should actually do some work or stick to your own thread.

nesko_25 said:
I'm glad you think so because you are providing us all with a good laugh. rdfl better the HDFL ha! maybe you should actually do some work or stick to your own thread.

Independently, 50% would favour RDFL, 50% HDFL. What's the difference champ? If put together the best players from both leagues and played a match against one another, perhaps HDFL would win. In my opinion, if Riddell played Mount Pleasant, Diggers Rest played Elmore and Romsey or Sunbury Kangaroos played LBU then the RDFL would win two of those three matches. It's great to see all of these people critisise me for not doing work (when they have no idea what my job involves) yet they are posting on BigFooty themselves. I love the banter boys, keep it up!

matt_nicholls said:
Independently, 50% would favour RDFL, 50% HDFL. What's the difference champ? If put together the best players from both leagues and played a match against one another, perhaps HDFL would win. In my opinion, if Riddell played Mount Pleasant, Diggers Rest played Elmore and Romsey or Sunbury Kangaroos played LBU then the RDFL would win two of those three matches. It's great to see all of these people critisise me for not doing work (when they have no idea what my job involves) yet they are posting on BigFooty themselves. I love the banter boys, keep it up!

Mate it sounds like you have no idea what your job involves! I hope your not a sports reporter i really do, you say you have seen a couple of games well you are the worst journo i have ever seen if thats what you base an entire opinion on who is a better league on, and im using the word journo very loosely in your case. Have you seen Mounts play? Have you seen Elmore play? Have you seen LBU play?
I know a bloke who played at sunbury and then went to harcourt in the mcdfl a couple of years ago and he said he found the MCDFL harder than the RDFL and as all of us on this thread know HDFL is a better league than MCDFL so i might go with go with him on that one and maybe you should go back to day dreaming of being the next mike sheehan.

matt_nicholls said:
It's great to see all of these people critisise me for not doing work (when they have no idea what my job involves) yet they are posting on BigFooty themselves. I love the banter boys, keep it up!

I know what ya do Matt and let me say in rapt Big Footy wasnt involved when I worked there otherwise not much woulda got done and old man Jim mighta had reason to yell and scream :p - in saying that if Big Footy got banned where I currently am then Id have to serious consider my options!!!

A few years ago the HDFL and RDFL played each other in Interleague matches with the HDFL winning each contest by a far margin and it wasn't just a one off. It would be fair to say that the fumes of passing traffic have effected your brain today there Matt, cause there wouldn't be one person (civilised) in the area who would agree with you. There wouldn't be one RDFL side who would come close to matching Mounts this year, or for that fact any other side in the top seven HDFL teams.

So let's just say you've filled in a quiet day at work by getting a crank out of the HDFL followers and allow you to slip back into your own little RDFL primitive existence.

Joeyboy said:
Doon said at smoko he was found guilty but no word on a sentence yet, reckons he will be right.

Have heard from a BFNC official that the sentence is to be handed down next week sometime.

And that was a fantastic little cameo on Saturday there Joeyboy. Thought you were a bit stiff, but thems the breaks.

Football Analysor said:
An Independent Panel of different Football Experts & Personalities was put together to thoroughly analyze the standards of our Competitions outside AFL. Players, Competitions were viewed to find out the Best Standard Competitions. Team Lists, profile players & Finals watched; were other key elements in our findings.

OFFICIAL RATINGS -

1. VFL Seniors
2. Eastern FL (A Grade)
3. VFL Reserves
4. Ovens & Murray FL
5. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
6. Goulburn Valley FL
7. Essendon District FL (A Grade)
8. Geelong FL
9. Bendigo FL
10. Diamond Valley FL (A Grade)
11. Ballarat FL
12. Western Region FL (A Grade)
13. B Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
14. Southern FL (A Grade)
15. Central Murray FL
16. Eastern FL (B Grade)
17. Riddell FL (A Grade)
18. Essendon District FL (B Grade)
19. Geelong District FL
20. Sunraysia FL

2000 RATINGS –
1. VFL Seniors 2. VFL Reserves 3. A Grade Amateurs (VAFA)
4. Ovens & Murray 5. Ballarat FL 6. Eastern FL
7. Diamond Valley 8. Geelong FL 9. Goulburn Valley
10. Bendigo FL

Check out the crap that somebody just posted on the GVFL thread. Seems Matt Nicholls was on the independent panel that was grading each competition through out the state.:confused:

Interesting to read VT #23's comments on yesterday's topic via the GVFL thread. Young Scotty began 2006 at Sunbury Kanga's then went home to Violet Town In June.
Now we all know that the KDFL is a rung back in standard from the Heathcote DFL so where does that leave our friends in the Riddell League?

"As a player who played in both the riddell and Ky DFL's this year i would have to say the the KDFL would kick the ***** out of the RDFL."

scotywok said:
Check out the crap that somebody just posted on the GVFL thread. Seems Matt Nicholls was on the independent panel that was grading each competition through out the state.:confused:

You blokes are the best. I try and start up a little controversy and you take it all so close to heart. Who cares which league is better? Both are of a good standard considering their geographics. There are blokes in the RDFL that would kill it in the HDFL and vice-verca. I have seen every side in the HDFL play at least once this year except North Bendigo, seen every RDFL club play at least once too. Both Mounts and Riddell were awesome this season, and we all know Mounts know how to step up in finals, particularly grand finals, but they didn't even finish on top of the ladder after 18 rounds. Mounts have a gun midfield, Riddell has a gun forward line. Love to see both sides have a full tilt game against each other. But it won't happen.

matt_nicholls said:
You blokes are the best. I try and start up a little controversy and you take it all so close to heart. Who cares which league is better? Both are of a good standard considering their geographics. There are blokes in the RDFL that would kill it in the HDFL and vice-verca. I have seen every side in the HDFL play at least once this year except North Bendigo, seen every RDFL club play at least once too. Both Mounts and Riddell were awesome this season, and we all know Mounts know how to step up in finals, particularly grand finals, but they didn't even finish on top of the ladder after 18 rounds. Mounts have a gun midfield, Riddell has a gun forward line. Love to see both sides have a full tilt game against each other. But it won't happen.

Hey Nicholls wake up to yourself and get a life mate, come back and speak to us when you have got your hand off your willy

i hear down at Locky the club wasnt to happy with senior coach Byrne trying to intervene in selections for the 2s grand final. Caused a storm, maybe thats why hes gone.......Maybe Nesko could shed some light on this one?

whats the story there with Deborah Byrne?
I woulda thought that after his finals games, particularly against Mounts where finally showed just what he can do, I'da thought LBU woulda kept him.

So are the catters hunting for a new coach?

HJ32 said:
whats the story there with Deborah Byrne?
I woulda thought that after his finals games, particularly against Mounts where finally showed just what he can do, I'da thought LBU woulda kept him.

So are the catters hunting for a new coach?

Seniors and seconds posistions r up grabs HJ, but both coaches from last year r welcome to re apply! What happened with the seconds was that the side was finalised on the thursday night end of story and then the seniors coach stept in on the friday and wanted a bloke that was left out of the twos side in so a player that was picked on the thursday night got rang up on friday and said that he was no longer in the side! Has caused a little bit of friction at the camp! Wether this player was in or out it should have been sorted out on the thursday night!