Heathcote District FL

Off the Bench said:
HJ
Any news on the Tills saga. just caught the news after reading earlier posts.

Was anyone at the game when this happened? and actually saw it? whats the full story? From the papers it sounds like 2 very different sides of the story. did tilly just lose it and go nuts, or did he really spit on him?

Bodzy_13 said:
Hey just heard bout this site, dunno if its been said but i couldn b bothered goin back through the pages but I heard from my mate up Hills way that Eddie Dickens has left not sure why or if in fact he has, any truth to the rumor? Is Walsh still coaching?

None at all. Has a job in Bendigo, has just built a house in Bendigo...so wont be going anywhere.

Walsh will be coaching in 2007.

Bodzy_13 said:
Hey just heard bout this site, dunno if its been said but i couldn b bothered goin back through the pages but I heard from my mate up Hills way that Eddie Dickens has left not sure why or if in fact he has, any truth to the rumor? Is Walsh still coaching?

Would of been a massive blow for the Hills as he his easily their best player

heard elmore a very close to if not have already signed marty o'riley from e/hawke.

surely if youve just lost a granny or finished in the top three a decent coach could improve his side with the list he's got over summer without having to recruit every gun around.
look at the afl for example , teams that finish 5-10 dont have the luxury to be able to splash some cash around and pick up 6-7 guns to give them a chance for a flag. they have to develop and improve what they've got with the inclusion of mayber 1-2 quality players.
local footy is becoming a joke by trying to fix a sides deficiency from recruits instead of having the coaching stafff with the ability to seek the talent and develop it from within the club, and how can you give a coach any credibility anymore for their success infact nowadays there more like managers rather than a coach.

ablett said:
heard elmore a very close to if not have already signed marty o'riley from e/hawke.

surely if youve just lost a granny or finished in the top three a decent coach could improve his side with the list he's got over summer without having to recruit every gun around.
look at the afl for example , teams that finish 5-10 dont have the luxury to be able to splash some cash around and pick up 6-7 guns to give them a chance for a flag. they have to develop and improve what they've got with the inclusion of mayber 1-2 quality players.
local footy is becoming a joke by trying to fix a sides deficiency from recruits instead of having the coaching stafff with the ability to seek the talent and develop it from within the club, and how can you give a coach any credibility anymore for their success infact nowadays there more like managers rather than a coach.

country footy has been that way forever and so was the afl/vlf before the introduction of the salary cap. even after the introduction of the salary cap afl clubs rorted it to achieve the ultimate prize. that's the way footy is. the only way to stop it is to stop all player payments which is never going to happen.

the role of the coach is to make sure he moulds his team of champions into a champion team.

Off the Bench said:
HJ
Any news on the Tills saga. just caught the news after reading earlier posts.

Dissapointing to see Tilley get 6 months holiday. I am by no means condoning his actions and believe what he did was commpletly unnessesary and stupid (I might add that I have never met the man).
But on any given saturday night in any regional center there are countless acts of similiar and quite often more serious offences that go unnoticed or ignored. If the culprits are aprehended and have to front the Judge they generally are given some piss weak community based service order and a fine and these people are repeat offenders.
This bloke has been around long enough to know that what he did was out of line but it was a first offence. Surly the sentence handed down was far too excessive for such an incident.
Perhaps the judge was making a statement about Football and the repercussions in the community or maybe his heamaroids were just playing up....who Knowns. Either way I think a precedent has been set that could have ramafications in all country football leagues around the country. This could spell the end of the Biff!!!

ablett said:

very good post Ablett:thumbsu:
it makes for interesting reading. Would i be right in saying that Elmore's coach did a simliar thing at a now defunct club during the 1980's? they won 3 in a row but now they don't exist. Not saying that Elmore is heading down the same path, but i suppose a club such as elmore who have been starved of the ultimate success for 21 years are thinking that the time is right to recruit as many guns as they can as the premiership window is open. On the positive it's great for the competition with host of good players, but i suppose there's always the local player factor too.

i'll give the clock a run for some clubs for 2007

Elmore 11.39 - if they're to win one it has to be in the next year or two, they have a couple of players on the other side of 30, and one gets the feeling that a few blokes will shift if it don't happen next year.

Mounts 10:30 - you can't count them out, although they have heaps of old blokes still able to get the job done, it would be in Carters mind to give some more younger ones a go at senior level. Mounts have never been to 3 oclock yet!

LBU 9 OClock - Possible new coach, good players coming thru the ressies, but question marks remain in finals. 9 bells is probably a good one for them, however if they don't get a flag soon, they'll head back to about 4 oclock

Colbo 10:25 Oclock - Majority are young Locals and made big steps in 2006 after bottoming out to about half 2 in 2005! add a couple of key recruits to the side and the hoppers may be starring in a premiership window.

Heathcote 11:20 - the saints must strike now while they have the list. Id say they're in the hunt for a quality gun midfielder and a strong Key backman. there's a few rumors going around that they're cash strapped after big spending last year. interesting times at the coaters.

HJ32 said:
it makes for interesting reading. Would i be right in saying that Elmore's coach did a simliar thing at a now defunct club during the 1980's? they won 3 in a row but now they don't exist. Not saying that Elmore is heading down the same path, but i suppose a club such as elmore who have been starved of the ultimate success for 21 years are thinking that the time is right to recruit as many guns as they can as the premiership window is open. On the positive it's great for the competition with host of good players, but i suppose there's always the local player factor too.

Elmore 11.39 - if they're to win one it has to be in the next year or two, they have a couple of players on the other side of 30, and one gets the feeling that a few blokes will shift if it don't happen next year.

Mounts 10:30 - you can't count them out, although they have heaps of old blokes still able to get the job done, it would be in Carters mind to give some more younger ones a go at senior level. Mounts have never been to 3 oclock yet!

LBU 9 OClock - Possible new coach, good players coming thru the ressies, but question marks remain in finals. 9 bells is probably a good one for them, however if they don't get a flag soon, they'll head back to about 4 oclock

Colbo 10:25 Oclock - Majority are young Locals and made big steps in 2006 after bottoming out to about half 2 in 2005! add a couple of key recruits to the side and the hoppers may be starring in a premiership window.

Heathcote 11:20 - the saints must strike now while they have the list. Id say they're in the hunt for a quality gun midfielder and a strong Key backman. there's a few rumors going around that they're cash strapped after big spending last year. interesting times at the coaters.
ITS TRUE ALLRIGHT SAME EVERY YEAR NO MONEY MANAGEMENT. WITH PLAYERS MOVING ON NEXT YEAR THERE BACK IN THE WILDERNESS.

HJ32 said:

Just wondering who the heaps of old blokes are at Mounts???

6 players are in their 30's that I know of. The Gee boys are going strong, Denis Ryan kicked 100, Grints has retired, and Rob Roy and Nort played small roles so the need for young blokes is not necessary. There is plenty of youth in this double premiership team. eg. King, Webb, East, Douglas, Johansen, Kerr, Johnson and McLeary are under 25 so plenty of youth.

The value of the coach and the money with player payments are always rife this time of the year. year in year out the same clubs seem to waste money on one year wonders and others pay for quality. mounts have two flags with astute recruiting of carter as coach and when a chf was needed this year they recruited dalton. other teams continually pay for guys who are too old or talk themselves up and get nowhere.

i think the role of the coach is important in knowing what he needs and doing whats best for the club. youll know how long a coach intends to play for you depending on how quick he wants to go and pay for d**kheads. astute recruiting by the coach usually means success over a two or three year tenure. i dont think the quick fix works personally.

ringo1 said:
The value of the coach and the money with player payments are always rife this time of the year. year in year out the same clubs seem to waste money on one year wonders and others pay for quality. mounts have two flags with astute recruiting of carter as coach and when a chf was needed this year they recruited dalton. other teams continually pay for guys who are too old or talk themselves up and get nowhere.

i think the role of the coach is important in knowing what he needs and doing whats best for the club. youll know how long a coach intends to play for you depending on how quick he wants to go and pay for d**kheads. astute recruiting by the coach usually means success over a two or three year tenure. i dont think the quick fix works personally.

You sound pretty passionate about this topic Ringo, do you coach at a club?

:thumbsu:
Doona2 said:
You sound pretty passionate about this topic Ringo, do you coach at a club?

Been around a bit mate and coached but have been out of it for a few years now-not involved at a club in any capacity but would love to be. I just think that coaches and clubs have a responsibility to attract quality footballers and quality people that are going to stay at the club for a few seasons. I see that you are going back to Broadford and I wish you luck

ringo1 said:
:thumbsu:

Been around a bit mate and coached but have been out of it for a few years now-not involved at a club in any capacity but would love to be. I just think that coaches and clubs have a responsibility to attract quality footballers and quality people that are going to stay at the club for a few seasons. I see that you are going back to Broadford and I wish you luck

Thanks ringo, would be lying in saying it's a big challenge and one Im truly excited to sink me teeth into - Surround yaself with good people and good things will happen in time is a fave phrase of mine :thumbsu:

Doona2 said:
Thanks ringo, would be lying in saying it's a big challenge and one Im truly excited to sink me teeth into - Surround yaself with good people and good things will happen in time is a fave phrase of mine :thumbsu:

I like that Doona and it is true-people that you can trust are vital -players,committee,support staff,if you have all of that then you are on the way to success.

nesko_25 said:
So Doonz how do you think u'll go about getting the roo's into finals? Recruit big of just recruit a few experianced players and bring up the younger boys?

Open to suggestions so what do think mate?

Must say Im pretty happy with the look of the youngsters so maybe your 2nd option may be preferred but as I said some input from some knowledgable BF people would be appreciated :p

Doona2 said:

Must say Im pretty happy with the look of the youngsters so maybe your 2nd option may be preferred but as I said some input from some knowledgable BF people would be appreciated :p

Well I think you have a good young list Doona, will plenty of up and comers e.g Coomans, Williams and Gillard. Along with Morgan, Littlewood and Duggan. I think if you can retain Dunne, Fletcher Neilson and Angwin and gain a recognised ruckman to free Angwin and mayb a very good CHB itmay be enough to get you into finals. Well thats at first glance anyway.

Doona2 said:

Any truth in the rumour that Billy Nielson may be heading back to Broady Doona or will he be staying at Yea? It would be great for the club if he was to return! Now as coach Doona do you get to decide on who your coaching panel will be ie chairman of selectors, ass/coach etc, or will the committee make that decision! Like you said earlier it makes a big differnce if you have the right people around you! Good luck on the upcoming season from the Fridge, except when you play us!:thumbsu:

BAR FRIDGE said:
Any truth in the rumour that Billy Nielson may be heading back to Broady Doona or will he be staying at Yea? It would be great for the club if he was to return! Now as coach Doona do you get to decide on who your coaching panel will be ie chairman of selectors, ass/coach etc, or will the committee make that decision! Like you said earlier it makes a big differnce if you have the right people around you! Good luck on the upcoming season from the Fridge, except when you play us!:thumbsu:

I dunno who 'us" is fridge but I promise you'll b the first 2 know when I have appointed my coaching team ;)

Billy Neilson aint talking footy at all, he's too busy with work and the upcoming Xmas card frenzy to even want 2 talk footy

Just read on the GV site that Mark Watson from Nth and Brad Major (LBU) will be heading back to Majorville, (Rochy) to play under Dirty. Can any1 shed any light, very big loss for both sides.

RFCtigers_07 said:
Just read on the GV site that Mark Watson from Nth and Brad Major (LBU) will be heading back to Majorville, (Rochy) to play under Dirty. Can any1 shed any light, very big loss for both sides.

Majorville... very nice. Why would major leave LBU? he has alot of mates out there and loves it. Only reason he'd be goin back to rochy would be for money and rochy have got stuff all $$, Rochy only pay a handfull of players decent money and major isnt to their calibre, so i doubt he'd get money. Brady is very laid back towards preseason because of work commitments and that wouldnt suit dirty very well.

Watto needs to do wateva he can to get out of Nth. He can play and has proved himseld at rochy when younger.

ablett said:
heard elmore a very close to if not have already signed marty o'riley from e/hawke.]

I very much doubt marty o'riley will be at elmore next year.. he's a very proud borough boy and will be doing the running for pios next year. If he did play th elmore it would be a joke, no one in the league would be able to run with him cos he's fitness freak and he gets 40+ touches when he occasionally goes back to eaglehawk, imagine him in the HDFL.