Heathcote District FL

Sorry Doon, no i find your posts both informative and knowledgable with no big brash statements. Spot on really, you can tell your a good journo mate. You have coached a senior flag, right? I doubt if young matty has ;)

So because I have no football coaching aspirations that makes me no good as a journo? And because I like to know who thinks which league is better that makes me no good either? Sometimes I don't know why I even bother trying to get a friendly discussion happening.

I'm still trying to learn as much about the HDFL as I can, having come from a very strong background in the Riddell and Bendigo leagues. I love my footy, and it's good to see that Heathcote league fans are so passionate.

Sorry Doon, no i find your posts both informative and knowledgable with no big brash statements. Spot on really, you can tell your a good journo mate. You have coached a senior flag, right? I doubt if young matty has ;)

Dont stress Mylo I was never any good anyway:thumbsu: Both of our local sports journo's Matt and Lauren Henry do a good job, Matt still strying to establish himself with some contacts from the local clubs, and Lauren goes real good for someone who has no support from her organisation.

Enjoy reading both styles, Laurens interview with Robbie Douglas today was a ripper, and Matt's willingness to be honest in his assessments should be praised, as long as you can back yourself up there's nothing wrong with calling it as you see i.

Im currently outa the sports loop, had an interview recently, but the $$$ just aint there for the hours and weekend required to do the job justice, but if you have a contact in the media industry hook me up champ ;)

Dont stress Mylo I was never any good anyway:thumbsu: Both of our local sports journo's Matt and Lauren Henry do a good job, Matt still strying to establish himself with some contacts from the local clubs, and Lauren goes real good for someone who has no support from her organisation.

Enjoy reading both styles, Laurens interview with Robbie Douglas today was a ripper, and Matt's willingness to be honest in his assessments should be praised, as long as you can back yourself up there's nothing wrong with calling it as you see i.

Im currently outa the sports loop, had an interview recently, but the $$$ just aint there for the hours and weekend required to do the job justice, but if you have a contact in the media industry hook me up champ ;)

Good post Doon, you're right about the $$$. Lauren did a good job in today's paper, I decided to do a different style game report (which you'll see tomorrow). Media contacts? Ring the Bendigo Addy, they have a massive staff turnover. Lukey West will look after you up there for sure.

Ben has been appointed assistant coach at Bambill FC, in the millewa league. I had the pleasure of meeting him yesterday and I'm looking real forward to playing under him next season and hopefully longer.
He'll be assisting Rob Morgan who has similar accolades to Ben.

I would reckon the fact that he drove from Kilmore to Bambill for a meet the coaches day shows his dedication to the club and job.

How is everyones grounds fairing at the moment? drove past heathcote's ground today and it's starting to look a bit brown, colbos ground was looking ok last week and mounts ground always looks bad this time of the year, but with no rain elmore may be the only ground fit to play on!

I would reckon the fact that he drove from Kilmore to Bambill for a meet the coaches day shows his dedication to the club and job.

Not being a smart arse her emu but i wouldn't have thought that an assistant coach going to a meet the coach's day was that big of a deal. He is doing what he is supposed to do isn't he??

How is everyones grounds fairing at the moment? drove past heathcote's ground today and it's starting to look a bit brown, colbos ground was looking ok last week and mounts ground always looks bad this time of the year, but with no rain elmore may be the only ground fit to play on!

Elmore is looking O.K the out field still needs some water and still very firm. Colbo always looks good and hills will be good once the pipeline goes through. Can mounts use their bore? I know your not alowed to use 1 for farm use up around these parts.

Not being a smart arse her emu but i wouldn't have thought that an assistant coach going to a meet the coach's day was that big of a deal. He is doing what he is supposed to do isn't he??

I understand mate, but he is still living in Kilmore at the minute and has two young children, and driving to Mildura for the day is about a 5 hour drive, shows that bit extra dedication I thought. :thumbsu:

Bit different if he only had to drive to Broadford from Kilmore....

I understand mate, but he is still living in Kilmore at the minute and has two young children, and driving to Mildura for the day is about a 5 hour drive, shows that bit extra dedication I thought. :thumbsu:

Bit different if he only had to drive to Broadford from Kilmore....

Obviously had no interest in wanting to drive to Kilmore of Broadford or he woulda put in for jobs there :D

Im sure everyone wishes Ben well with the move, and dont get sucked in oldmanemu reckon a few are just fishing for some lively debate coz things are pretty boring on the HDFL front.

Any changes at the AGM last Wednesday, any comment on the draw etc, new motions put in place . . . . . anything???

Elmore is looking O.K the out field still needs some water and still very firm. Colbo always looks good and hills will be good once the pipeline goes through. Can mounts use their bore? I know your not alowed to use 1 for farm use up around these parts.

Not to sure on the bore there looking in to it now, there is some water in the dam but we will lose some of that from evaporation, I don't think locky can water there ground either.

Obviously had no interest in wanting to drive to Kilmore of Broadford or he woulda put in for jobs there :D

Im sure everyone wishes Ben well with the move, and dont get sucked in oldmanemu reckon a few are just fishing for some lively debate coz things are pretty boring on the HDFL front.

Any changes at the AGM last Wednesday, any comment on the draw etc, new motions put in place . . . . . anything???[/quote]

No boundary ump's for u/17, 4 on seniors bench, player points system to be looked in to for 2008 hdfl season

i think 4 on the bench in the ones is the way to go. for as long as i can remember there has been 4 on the bench in the 2's yet only 3 allowed in the ones. anyone know whay???

probably coz most interchange areas in the comp were built in the day of playing coaches, 2-man bench and no trainers. I hope this drought continues or a couple of players each week might get the flu each week if it rains - especially at Broadford now that Ive asked for the roof to be taken off the already tiny opposition box after knocking my idea on the head to build a 5m x 5m shed for the opposition changerooms :D

I hear webby from mounts has signed as ass coach with YCW after mounts failed to increase his money.

Broadford's first training run tonight. Hopefully there's a big turn up for Doona's first session with his new club. Wondering whether Blackbeard will be in attendance.:D

I hear webby from mounts has signed as ass coach with YCW after mounts failed to increase his money.

Failed to increase his money? Webby hasn't been a paid player out at Mounts for about 2 years. As for signing with YC I can't confirm or deny it but as I've said before he is usually sniffing about this time of year to see what's on offer before committing to Mounts at the start of the new year.

Did Webb end up getting any weeks from the Grand Final? or did he not get reported?

Yeah he got reported and copped three weeks cos of his prior history due to being reported and suspended in the QF against Locky, despite having a clean tribunal record before then.

Failed to increase his money? Webby hasn't been a paid player out at Mounts for about 2 years. As for signing with YC I can't confirm or deny it but as I've said before he is usually sniffing about this time of year to see what's on offer before committing to Mounts at the start of the new year.

Haha as if Webb is not a paid player! Fcuking Mounts have truckloads of money and i bet he would have been getting his fair share over the years!!

How much are they paying you Wildcard?

Yeah he got reported and copped three weeks cos of his prior history due to being reported and suspended in the QF against Locky, despite having a clean tribunal record before then.
I no for a fact webby was getting paid at mounts and how much he is getting at ycw but dont think it is right to put it on this . I dont no why mounts always say they dont pay if you have got it spend it but dont bull********

I dont know where you get your facts from diesel but wildcard is right webby hasn't been paid for the last two seasons, infact there was only 5 paid players last year. And as for max mounts dont have truck loads of money, they depend on the farmimg community around them alot and because of the drought they a unable to do so as much this year.

Now this is one of the biggest loads of siht i have heard on this forum. Mounts annually make $50,000 (approx) a year from a farm that was bequethed to them by an older lady who unfortunately passed away.
You payed Adam Dalton $10,000 for 10 games UP FRONT and he missed 3. You are all the first people to mouth of about other clubs spending and you cant even admit to your own.
So your saying him and only 4 other people got paid at all????? BULL**********
The fact that you have the worst changerooms in the league is because you spend the money on players.
Stop crying poor no one believes it for a minute.

If they are struggling so much from the drought then why are they able to sign all these players? Brown from Flat would be on a packet, and these others from Melbourne that have been talked about on this thread wouldnt come up cheaply. I dont really think you know how it all works behind the scenes there Trigga. only 5 paid players???? bull********!

Now this is one of the biggest loads of siht i have heard on this forum. Mounts annually make $50,000 (approx) a year from a farm that was bequethed to them by an older lady who unfortunately passed away.

mary conroy was the lady who gave mounts her farm after she passed on.
donated decades of her life to the MPFC.

mary conroy was the lady who gave mounts her farm after she passed on.
donated decades of her life to the MPFC.

Wasnt actually sure of her name and no disrespect is inteaded to her in anyway in regards to this topic.

Boys dont deny it, there are some very very rich people out at tooleen. I know for a fact that you boys make a bit off the land, you and Elmore did have a comp on who could get the most bails. Of course mounts always won. Didnt you get water trucked in before the bore (broady aswell?)? So how much do you think your club paid all up for its players, if it was only 4 players you would think it would be around $30,000. Then carters coaching payments.....

If Webby wasnt getting paid by mounts why would he keep shopping around to see how much $$$ he was offered then sign up at mounts, seems pointless to me!