Heathcote District FL

You are one f u c ked up emu!!!
Hey Emu you are an absolute goose! As if walking in with the bowler and then back to your psoition would be difficult. I am sure if you exerted yourself fully in both cricket and football then football would twice as demanding.

A lot more demanding Id reckon - no news from Heathcote yet, spoke with their number one trainer over lunch who said a decision aint be made yet.

Re heathcote , very interesing no coach as yet, incoming president quoted during week that things have to change at heathcote as they have spent $3,000 per week to have a side on the park. he is keen to cut back on this figure.

Heard that byrne all but reappointed at lbu.

Re heathcote , very interesing no coach as yet, incoming president quoted during week that things have to change at heathcote as they have spent $3,000 per week to have a side on the park. he is keen to cut back on this figure.

Heard that byrne all but reappointed at lbu.
Would be very suprised by that GPOOL as things were not good at the end of the year. Perhaps they have mended their bridges. Milligan was the hot tip for that job a few days ago.

OK I concede emu i had forgotten how physically intense walking was........what do you weigh mate coz i reckon that would be why you quit cricket if walking was getting too physically demanding:D
I was actually a keeper but i did have a bowl occasionally and because i wasnt an opener i didnt bat all day. GET ON THE TREADMILL EMU!!

anyway thats enough of that fun and games whats happening in the footy world?? Anybody started training yet?

hahaha. do you know me or something?????

I quit cricket though when I was 20, due to moving to Bendigo, as well as being bored with the game. Was fit, weighed about 75kg back then. I would guarantee none of you are quick, opening bowlers, that have had to bowl 20 or more overs. If you haven't, then you don't know what you are talking about. In footy if you are tired, you can come off and sit down. Can't do that in cricket.

To TruthHurts, who didn't answer my question about where he played footy or cricket - I played cricket at Tallangatta and played in an A grade premiership when I was 16 and was a bowler. Played footy at Calivil but that was 12/13 years ago. Since I sit on my arse all day at work I have hit triple figures on the scales, but have still been able to fill in over the past couple of years at Mounts for a quarter or two!!

To the others who have bagged me as well - footy is demanding, I have no qualms about that, but cricket at a decent level is as well. I'm not talking about just fielding, and probably didn't make this clear so that is my fault, but being a bowler you need to be as fit as any footballer running around.

If you don't like it, this is my opinion, which I am entitled to. You are also entitled to yours, but to go around calling people soft and a goose on the internet is a bit childish. I can take it and have put up with more ******** that anyone here can dish up.

I quit cricket though when I was 20, due to moving to Bendigo, as well as being bored with the game. Was fit, weighed about 75kg back then. I would guarantee none of you are quick, opening bowlers, that have had to bowl 20 or more overs. If you haven't, then you don't know what you are talking about. In footy if you are tired, you can come off and sit down. Can't do that in cricket.

To TruthHurts, who didn't answer my question about where he played footy or cricket - I played cricket at Tallangatta and played in an A grade premiership when I was 16 and was a bowler. Played footy at Calivil but that was 12/13 years ago. Since I sit on my arse all day at work I have hit triple figures on the scales, but have still been able to fill in over the past couple of years at Mounts for a quarter or two!!

To the others who have bagged me as well - footy is demanding, I have no qualms about that, but cricket at a decent level is as well. I'm not talking about just fielding, and probably didn't make this clear so that is my fault, but being a bowler you need to be as fit as any footballer running around.

If you don't like it, this is my opinion, which I am entitled to. You are also entitled to yours, but to go around calling people soft and a goose on the internet is a bit childish. I can take it and have put up with more ******** that anyone here can dish up.

Fair enough emu good stuff there retaliating with a bit of a bouncer! we are all entitled to our opinions but i just dont ever remember Merv Hughes looking that fit or like he could run out a quarter of footy in any position;)
You've got me worried now tho because i have a desk job and really dont want to get into triple figures:eek:

You're fighting a losing battle emu.

Everyone's entitled to their opinion, but I'm afraid the vast majority aren't going to agree with you on this one, especially when as an example you say a football player can have a rest if he's tired whereas a cricketer can't. I'd argue he can - as a cricketer you've obviously heard of fine leg, it's hardly strenuous down there. Not many bowlers I know of ever bowl even 10 overs in a row, especially in local cricket.

You're simply wasting your time comparing the two, just leave it.

Back to football.

You're fighting a losing battle emu.

Everyone's entitled to their opinion, but I'm afraid the vast majority aren't going to agree with you on this one, especially when as an example you say a football player can have a rest if he's tired whereas a cricketer can't. I'd argue he can - as a cricketer you've obviously heard of fine leg, it's hardly strenuous down there. Not many bowlers I know of ever bowl even 10 overs in a row, especially in local cricket.

You're simply wasting your time comparing the two, just leave it.

Back to football.
The mediator has arrived.....

You can smoke my poll before i answer any of your questions...

I'm a bowler also, have bowled more than 20 overs in a match on many occasions.... cricket = walk in the park, footy = hard if you aren't very fit, like myself.

Quit because its "too hot" = soft

Just my opinion.

both sports require different fitness levels.
for example, mark taylor and david boon had enough fitness to play at the highest level of cricket for a long time and were consistant scorers but their fitness levels would not of been high enough to play top level football(afl)
you have to be fit to be a car racing driver but i bet they cant run far at a decent speed.

top level cricket pre-season is hard compared lower level cricket but not comparitive with equal standard sports.

You can smoke my poll before i answer any of your questions...

I'm a bowler also, have bowled more than 20 overs in a match on many occasions.... cricket = walk in the park, footy = hard if you aren't very fit, like myself.

Quit because its "too hot" = soft

Just my opinion.

20 overs of spinners and in the bush leagues somewhere? People who say it is a rest at fine leg are mistaken. In the field you are in the game ALWAYS... Cricket is not a walk in the park at a decent standard eg. Bendigo A grade...

Is that what the captain tells you each week when he puts you down at fine leg is it graffy? ;)

anyone a chance out there in this leag now that mounts have snaffled brownie and a couple of other handy flat players elmore didn't give a yelp grand final day fevver was a big chubster who hardly fired a shot

bit of a rumour floating around is julian lake of south bendigo maybe on the move to elmore. best mates with macca mckern and has other good mates who play out there. if he does end up at elmore and is fit with no niggles he would be a great pick up for the bloods, hard at the nut which is what elmore need more of. go bloods:thumbsu:

Hi Weed,

Elmore have been the most dissapointing club in HDFL history. Weak, infighting pack of rodents the comp have ever seen. Had no chance of beating Colbo or Mounts in finals. HDFL league clubs must look hard at themselves. If you keep giving westley, lececk, cluff, cail, mckearn, longford money and any support, keeping handing the flags to mounts and colbo as they seem to be the only clubs with structure, get a life bloods

Players who are fair dinkum about footy, should be able to have the initiative and self-discipline to keep themselves fit over summer.

Mounts don't usually start proper training until mid-late January each year, with maybe one run before christmas for a family/meet the coaches day, so I think that's a pretty good guide.

@nesko - perhaps your quote outlines the thinking at LBU......
"Also I think players may burn out by round 1 and not have the hunger, they just get sick of footy. " ;)

Old Man

The most profesional combination in HDFL was the threepeat performance of Wilson @ Colbo. Manufactured 3 flags by managing the list. Remember public that white Hills were fav but lost due to be poorly coached ant the right time of the season in 04. Managing the list by a player manager wins the cup

@nesko - perhaps your quote outlines the thinking at LBU......
"Also I think players may burn out by round 1 and not have the hunger, they just get sick of footy. " ;)

Sorry guys I've just spent a couple of days down the coast. OME, I've played at a standard a lot higher than HDFL and we started pre-season in november and had 2 trainings a week. Hard trainings (also got a training guide for the break, running/swimming/riding or weights 3 times a week) and by the time of our first game majority of the players were mentally exausted.

That has nothing to do with LBU it was just my opinion O.K? You dont know anything about the club.

Also I'm sorry for bringing up the physical needs of cricket, it was a general comment but if any of you know anything about physical fitness or studied it you would have heard of the "Stages of change model". If somebody has done footy training 2 times a week (pre-season in late jan) and a game they would come under the "Maintenance" cateogory and to stay at this level all they have to do it do some sort of physical activity 3-5 times a week.

Old Man

The most profesional combination in HDFL was the threepeat performance of Wilson @ Colbo. Manufactured 3 flags by managing the list. Remember public that white Hills were fav but lost due to be poorly coached ant the right time of the season in 04. Managing the list by a player manager wins the cup

Takes a bit more than just player managment to win a grand final Row5 have you ever heard of Teamwork, displine, passion just to name a few?

I'd have to disagree with you on the most profesional combination as well mounts played in 6 grand finals in a row in the early 80's and lost 1.

That name Al Meldrum keeps getting brought up in the same sentences as the words Heathcote and coach . . . was told this morning that a Romsey guy that may have won their goalkicking has the job :confused:

Tell you now he does not want job as his two mates who heathcote wanted as well are not coming . Club is in diarray no coach as yet and smith is going back to Melb.

why are these 2 blokes not coming now, is it possible that meldrum will stay at romsey and these 2 might go there instead.

Is Smith the club's link to it's outa town players? Good club Heathcote lets hope an announcement is made shortly then if Meldrum is outa the equation. He did have an interview though???

alistar meldrum is on board at heathcote! spoke to 1 of their players last night! some people on this thread really have no idea whats going on they just speculate.. but i heard this from a player so id say its a done deal..