Here we go, here we go one more time: Kangaroos All Set for Hobart

I think it'll be great as long as we get a similar deal to the hawks. Money from the tassie government and a chance to build a supporter base in an afl state. This is different from Sydney, Canberra, gold coast as they were all rugby states.

I'm hoping for 5000-7000 members and games against the gold coast, Fremantle, port Adelaide and greater western Sydney to be held there.

It's not that expensive to go to Hobart. I go to every game in Melbourne and get to at least one interstate, so I'll have to save my pennies for Hobart trips!

30bucks or something. Most people spend that much on beer at the footy, Bellerive serves Carlton Draught so im sure going without beer isnt the worst option >_<

I'm hoping for 5000-7000 members and games against the gold coast, Fremantle, port Adelaide and greater western Sydney to be held there.

I'm hoping me and RoyalBlue will be able to get simeltaneous gobbles off Miss Tassie in the social club afterwards too.

Reckon both scenarios are equally likely.

Can't say it's a surprise...
Sounds like we get 2.5-3 mill per year, essentially Fed Govt money via the TCA.
The AFL doesn't appear to want a full-time team in Tassie and we're in a new facility in Melb, so relocation is clearly not on the agenda...although I understand our history makes people very sensitive to this.
I think we need to back JB and Eugene to do the rightie, then we need to make a success of it and use the breathing space to fortify our position, especially through working on solid membership increases.

Good post Scotty :thumbsu:

Dibs on the couch DP!!! :D

Good post Scotty :thumbsu:

Dibs on the couch DP!!! :D

My queenbeds open to all...

On a serious note. Membership is going to be a huge issue over the next couple of years, there is an absolute plethora of north supporters down here, always see north caps and shirts, but rarely member caps/scarves. This may get people signing up down here, hopefully more than those who rip up their memberships. Its also going to wipe out our debt in 2 years. Once the three year contracts up we can assess whether its worth signing another.

JB did say we may have to sell a few games to get up and going. Its dissapointing its as many a year it is (for victorian members at the very least), people may buy a couple of 3 game memberships rather than an 11 game, dont know how negatively that will affect income, sure to be offset by the money brought in from the govt here.

On one hand im glad our debt will be gone, and I also get to see the team play more, on the other hand im dissheartened by how many members feel annoyed/betrayed.

An sms sent in to SEN brings up a good pont. Guess who can do all our publicity down there. ??? Plus, the timing is impecable, our young team is on the rise and will be very attractive to new supporters.

This could be awesome for us. Financial security will take away a massively overused way to attack our club. Another one is membership numbers. If handled correctly this will definitly see an increase in membership.

F*** yeah GO NORTH MELBOURNE!!!!

I mentioned a while back about Bulldog's presence in the Western Suburbs. Hopefully we can increase our presence locally at the same time through a higher marketing budget with our surpluss bags of cash!!!

HERE TO STAY HERE TO STAY HERE TO STAY!!!!!!!

EDIT: Everyone sms the heraldsun to show support for our club. We will have critics and it's up to us to provide a pro North sentiment. ofcourse wether they get published or not is out of our hands.
herald sun text number is 1977 2948
www.heraldsun.com.au/opinion
SEN is 0433 981 116

It's time to face facts with only 29,000 members and 16,000 of them who turn up to our games who need to be poactive . Tassie is a football market and its not like Canberra and the Gold Coast , i see posted on here so many ideas on how to increase our membership but most are gimmicks , give aways and not realistic . If somebody wants to be a member they will be of their own choice not having players phone you while your watching Pimp my Ride , we need lifetime membners not people who join for 1 year then disappear .

Hobart>Launceston. I have seen every North game in Launceston and it is without doubt the most boring place to spend a weekend with the boys ever.
I Dunno what the grounds like (whenever i think of footy in Tassie I always think of that footy ground where they play on gravel :eek:). But Hobart is definitely a great place to stay for a weekend :thumbsu:

In regards to the decision well I guess we will just have to have faith in JB and Co. I would rather see us playing games in Ballarat, but that may not ever happen so second best will do for now I suppose.

perhaps things were more serious than we realised with the new teams coming in and an extra 2 low drawing games.

I'm backing the Board and Admin on this. We need to;
(i) Amend the Constitution to require a member vote on any relocation.
(ii) Have this as a long term strategy i.e. stay there until Tassie gets its own team (similar to the Hawks). No short term (3 years) venture which will only piss off the locals.

I am interested in the detail.
What are the dollars.
What are the additional costs.
Do we play interstate teams in Tassie i.e. low attendance melb games.
Will the club provide an 11 game member package. How much will this cost the club.

The marketing of ths will be critical. Must come out on the front foot.

I Dunno what the grounds like (whenever i think of footy in Tassie I always think of that footy ground where they play on gravel :eek:). But Hobart is definitely a great place to stay for a weekend :thumbsu:

Bellerive is often referred to as one of the best ovals in australia. They play a bit of footy on it, have never heard complaints.

The best ovals comment is in regard to cricket, make of it what you will

So if we play 4 Home games per year in Tas, and we get our usual 5 or 6 interstate away games (more in years to come with the new teams) and the annual trip down to Geelong, what does that leave for games in Melbourne... 10 or 11 games per year! Port and the Crows play 12 games in Adelaide every year.

How this is going to increase our supporter base in our HOME state.

this

But the debt will go

This is Brilliant...
It is Embarrassing playing Freo/Port/Crows/Bris in front of 15,000 at ES ....

Here we play them down there....Stay in Melb and finally get some $$$ into the club.

We stayed in Melb and have 28,000 members approx where others have 50,000 plus..Simple is we need more money to survive and here is the way.

Bring on Hobart but more important Bring on the $$$ and save us from those terrible 15,000 people at ES that looks frikken terrible.

JB & Euge :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I knew we re-signed Brady for a reason.

And if only we had kept our vfl alignment with the Tassie team.

Maybe a 3rd partial alignment from next year?

Can't say I'm happy about this at all. When will the club learn?

Yes we need cash but at what extent.. We have whored ourselves out to nearly every part of Australia, failed in all parts.

It nearly got us relocated to Gold Coast. At some point in time the AFL will want a club in Tassie, you guys think they'll give the 50k member strong hawthorn the hint to relocate? No it will be straight on us.

Piss the debt of then get out of there.

:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

**** YOU JB

**** YOU ROOGE

**** YOU NORTH
i

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, now num- As it stands our homes games in Vic will read .... Syd, Bris, GC, Freo, Wc, Adel, Port, GWS Melb, Bulldogs & Carlton- well until they improve anyway.

I've no issue with four games in Tassie, actually i applaud it! Gees we'll have player managers 10 deep trying to get their young stars to the Roos when we've money.

Its out of my hands but if the AFL are serious and JB and Euge push hard there is no reason why we can't play Freo and the Power, the small drawing games down there, which in turn leaves us with the high drawing teams in Melbourne.
Sensible pragmatic draw.

If the deal is as I suggested in the previous thread then I'm not too worried. The deal that I heard was that we would play 3 or 4 in Hobart, 7 or 8 home games in Melbourne at Etihad, and then have 3 or 4 share games in Melbourne, away games but where members have home privilages.
Lets face it guys - we are in the shit financially with little prospect of a quick recovery. If we can get up to $3 mil from this deal and still have 11 "home games" then I'm not too upset.
I trust Euge!

So if we play 4 Home games per year in Tas, and we get our usual 5 or 6 interstate away games (more in years to come with the new teams) and the annual trip down to Geelong, what does that leave for games in Melbourne... 10 or 11 games per year! Port and the Crows play 12 games in Adelaide every year.

How this is going to increase our supporter base in our HOME state.

It wont. Sure in the short term it will gain the extra 5k members, once we stop playing games in hobart the 5k will drop off.. It will fix money issues short term, but until we can fix our MELBOURNE attendances this is all just a short term fix.

Here we go, here we go one more time: Kangaroos All Set for Hobart