Heritage Round

Well its not really heritage round this year but the same concept and its not far away.
Anyone aware of the clubs plans for our guernsey. Personally i want to buy one again so am interested in which one we will be wearing.

Obviously it wont be the Red and White Fremantle one as we are playing Sydney which makes me think we will go the old Easts one again unfortunately.
Would love to see the predominently green come back out of the closet from our frist few seasons.

Anyone have any idea??

I want us to wear the gold & black State of Origin jumper from the 70's.

I am worried that a lot of kids out there with no knowledge of football history will mistakenly think it's an eagle jumper.

We must reclaim that iconic jumper away from the slimy clutches of the Toast for the good of WA football.:thumbsu:

I want us to wear the gold & black State of Origin jumper from the 70's.

I am worried that a lot of kids out there with no knowledge of football history will mistakenly think it's an eagle jumper.

We must reclaim that iconic jumper away from the slimy clutches of the Toast for the good of WA football.:thumbsu:

I hated when the Eagles wore it and I would hate it if Freo wore it, state jumpers should be kept for the state games. I like the OP would like to see us run out in the all green jumper!

I'd like to see the club just outright ignore it and wear our normal strip. It's a completely pointless concept and the fact they insist on fixturing us to play against the one team our heritage jumper clashes with shows they really don't care what we wear.

Like chook I have to wonder why the AFL keep fixturing us against the only team our 'traditional' heritage jumper clashes against. There's only three possible explanations.

i) AFL heritage round is nothing to do with history but merely a money making exercise. Hence by us wearing the same jumper every year the AFL are not making enough money from their cut of our jumper sales.

ii) AFL heritage round is actually VFL heritage round and the AFL (aka VFL) is offended that an interstate intruder dares to insinuate that non-Victorian footy has an equally long and glorious history.

iii) the AFL are just being assholes for the sake of being assholes.

Like chook I have to wonder why the AFL keep fixturing us against the only team our 'traditional' heritage jumper clashes against. There's only three possible explanations.

i) AFL heritage round is nothing to do with history but merely a money making exercise. Hence by us wearing the same jumper every year the AFL are not making enough money from their cut of our jumper sales.

ii) AFL heritage round is actually VFL heritage round and the AFL (aka VFL) is offended that an interstate intruder dares to insinuate that non-Victorian footy has an equally long and glorious history.

iii) the AFL are just being assholes for the sake of being assholes.

Its made worse by the fact we've been fixtured to play Sydney in Sydney again for the umpteenth time in a row - and now twice in a row on heritage round.

In fact, we should do a Collingwood and say that we won't play heritage round in anything other than our heritage jumper and force Sydney to come up with a heritage clash strip.

Then Sydney might complain about the fixturing too...

The Sowfs bias in this thread sickens me. :rolleyes: Horrible, horrible supporters.

In case you didn't realise... Fremantle had 2 teams prior to us joining the AFL.

We don't wear the Sowfs jumper Chops - it's the original FFC jumper.

But I'm sure you already knew that.

Sydney can wear the clash jumper which they wore against South Fremantle in the Escort Cup back in 1979.

South-PS-1979.gif

Though I'd love to see this sucker again.

Fremantle-Away-1995.gif

Courtesy www.footyjumpers.com

We don't wear the Sowfs jumper Chops - it's the original FFC jumper.

But I'm sure you already knew that.
Yes, yes yes...

And the red V on white... so neutral. :rolleyes:

But we all know who is the better Fremantle team. :p

Seriously though... being that bright ray of sunshine I am :rolleyes:, has anyone thought about the positives with this? At least we have a ready made clash jumper for heritage round! Personally, I reckon that's awesome. Unlike that mob up the road who can't find 1 true heritage jumper. :thumbsu:

Well its not really heritage round this year but the same concept and its not far away.
Anyone aware of the clubs plans for our guernsey. Personally i want to buy one again so am interested in which one we will be wearing.

Obviously it wont be the Red and White Fremantle one as we are playing Sydney which makes me think we will go the old Easts one again unfortunately.
Would love to see the predominently green come back out of the closet from our frist few seasons.

Anyone have any idea??

I dont get it :eek:

Unfortunate for who?

Go out and buy one wiz, you will be amazed at how good you look in it. :D

Perhaps we should give the North Freo jumper a run this year just to piss off Eddie.

All of the existing and former Fremantle-based clubs -- Souths, Easts, originals and Unions -- have an equal stake in Fremantle's football heritage and both need to be brought out into the open, despite the fact that the formers didn't last very long. Whether you're a Bulldog or a Shark supporter, the Dockers represents all of Fremantle in the national comp and were born because of what South Fremantle and East Fremantle are and to a lesser extent, what Unions and Originals were.

But with that said, red and white has had its turn three years running, now its blue and whites turn for a run.

In fact if they dig out another heritage strip, I'm interested in acquiring one myself to add to my collection of footy memorabilia.

Perhaps we should give the North Freo jumper a run this year just to piss off Eddie.

:D:thumbsu:

Could you imagine what heels they would look like if Eddie had a bitch about that? Don't count on ever being able to do that... you'd probably have to cut a deal like Port Adelaide did. Biggest mistake they ever made, although the AFL have shot themselves in the foot too because isn't this heritage round thing not just about celebrating history but to make the clubs and the league money?

I dont get it :eek:

Unfortunate for who?

Go out and buy one wiz, you will be amazed at how good you look in it. :D

I have one mate, i bought Des Headland game worn one last year.
Hence why i want something different this year because i want to buy a worn one again but dont want the same guernsey. :thumbsu:

Heritage Round