Society/Culture Horse racing is cruel

What sort of logical midgetry is this?

Somebody makes claims and it’s up to somebody else to disprove them?

If people want to make a claim they can back it up with independent facts.

In the absence of that I’m more than happy to say the 40% figure is absolute bullshit. And no, it’s not up to me to disprove some utterly baseless claim like that.

And hint - when I say I “independent” I mean independent, as in an independently-run study. Not one carried out by a racing authority, or equally, by an anti-racing body. If there’s been an independent body commissioned by anybody to get the facts, I’d be happy to look at it. There’s none in your google link though, for starters.
I posted journal articles which reveal cruelty in the industry too. Guess those aren't independent enough either.

I love when someone pretends to be objective but proceeds to only attack the side of the argument that has bothered to post evidence.

I have provided you very, very reasonable points for you to rebut.
Your bleeder nonsense is crap.
Your ulcer nonsense is crap.
The whipping is crap.
The overall mis-treatment of race horses is crap.

Here's the thing my little 'I hate everything to the right of Chairman Mao" activist.

Race horse owners and trainers are just like farmers.
We are all getting very unfairly targeted because in the minds of people, such as yourself, we just MUST be being cruel to our animals...because...you know....they all end up dying.

Meanwhile, in non-activist, common sense land, we all spend millions and millions of dollars in ensuring that our animals are in the very, very best of health and condition possible.
Why?
Because it's our livelihoods at stake and we have placed a huge personal investment in ensuring the best quality of life possible for our animals.
That point is always conveniently overlooked.
You, and others from both sides of this argument, are trying to pretend that this issue is about horses. It's not. It's about the vile professional crooks who run the industry. The trainers are, in most cases, willing participants, but not major players. Rather, they are willing, gormless, self-destructive, yet self-serving puppets.

For anyone to posit that there is any effective legislative control over any form of gambling in this country is risible. Australia was founded under the influence of convicts. Nothing has changed.

It is instructive that Victoria's police force is the only one in the country which has never endured a Royal Commission into its dubious activities as a whole.

I never claimed that. When I used to bet I expected the jockey on the 🐎 I backed to whip the fu** out of him. These days I realise that this isn’t right but the whips feel like a feather to horses.

What does a horse feel when it is struck with a whip?

There is no evidence to suggest that whipping does not hurt. Whips can cause bruising and inflammation, however, horses do have resilient skin. That is not to say that their skin is insensitive. Indeed, a horse can easily feel a fly landing on its skin. Repeated striking with a whip (of any type) in the same area of the body has the potential to cause localised trauma and tissue damage, the extent of which will increase with the force of the strike and the number of repetitions.

What does a horse feel when it is struck with a whip?

There is no evidence to suggest that whipping does not hurt. Whips can cause bruising and inflammation, however, horses do have resilient skin. That is not to say that their skin is insensitive. Indeed, a horse can easily feel a fly landing on its skin. Repeated striking with a whip (of any type) in the same area of the body has the potential to cause localised trauma and tissue damage, the extent of which will increase with the force of the strike and the number of repetitions.
Looks like it tickles...
images

Let’s not forget the same people who complain about horses being put down support euthanasia. We can kill our elderly, but not the poor horses...

Anyway now the Cup is done, the unemployed dole bludgers can have a couple of weeks holiday before they start protesting about Christmas then they’re favourite time of the year, Invasion Day!!!

Let’s not forget the same people who complain about horses being put down support euthanasia. We can kill our elderly, but not the poor horses...
Do you think there might be a slight difference between a human making a conscious decision to end their life and the decision to kill another animal?

Is anyone arguing for non-voluntary euthanasia for old people who fall over and break a hip? I don't think so...

Anyway now the Cup is done, the unemployed dole bludgers can have a couple of weeks holiday before they start protesting about Christmas then they’re favourite time of the year, Invasion Day!!!
False equivalence. We don't euthanise our elderly when we perceive they aren't going to make us any more money.

I posted journal articles which reveal cruelty in the industry too. Guess those aren't independent enough either.

I love when someone pretends to be objective but proceeds to only attack the side of the argument that has bothered to post evidence.

You can love what you want. I laughed off the stupid claim that “40% of racehorses end up abattoirs” and you replied to me with your equally stupid “post evidence that says otherwise”.

I've only read the last two pages of this thread but have seen two people that are posting articles and evidence to support their claims and then two people on the other side of the argument saying "its bullshit" without actually supporting the stance with any evidence and one of them outright refusing to post any evidence.

If I was undecided going into this thread I know which side I'd be on now.

I've only read the last two pages of this thread but have seen two people that are posting articles and evidence to support their claims and then two people on the other side of the argument saying "its bullshit" without actually supporting the stance with any evidence and one of them outright refusing to post any evidence.

If I was undecided going into this thread I know which side I'd be on now.

A Ranvet advertisement is not proof of anything.
Go read up on a number of Stewards reports from any race meeting around the country to ACTUALLY see how many horses bleed.

A Ranvet advertisement is not proof of anything.
Go read up on a number of Stewards reports from any race meeting around the country to ACTUALLY see how many horses bleed.

Stewards reports say that over a hundred die on the track each year.

And over 3,000 human beings, mostly young men commit suicide in this country . Yet here you are outraged over a sport.
Problem gamblers have a 15% higher risk of being one of those suicide statistics. The industry exploits animals and it exploits humans in order to channel more and more money into the hands of a few.

Think most problem gambling comes from pokies. Probably not the best hill to die on for this cause.

Take your issue up with Crown etc and Poker machine operators instead of conflating the argument as you always do.

That poker machines are worse does not mean that those that serious numbers of people who gamble on horse racing d so at problematic levels.

No the sport does not kill animals.
Animals die as a result of natural attrition.

Yes it does. They usually die from a gunshot wound on the track because they were injured in the act of being raced, or from a bolt in an abattoir because they are surplus to needs. Either way it's the sport that is killing these animals.

Don’t bring up mental health issues to support your argument then bag someone who has them.

that is ******* weak.

I was unaware that you were the adjudicator of what people can say and think.

There is shit here that you have no idea about, but, as usual, you want to pick a fight.

F*** off, I'm not interested.

That poker machines are worse does not mean that those that serious numbers of people who gamble on horse racing d so at problematic levels.
It’s about 10% of gambling losses in Australia. It’s not the one to go after mate.

Yes it does. They usually die from a gunshot wound on the track because they were injured in the act of being raced, or from a bolt in an abattoir because they are surplus to needs. Either way it's the sport that is killing these animals.

I don't answer selectively answered quotes.

Lift Hodgepodge.
Lift.

Society/Culture Horse racing is cruel