Review How will Mark Neeld be Remembered?

No. But you used to bag Bailey, until Neeld came along. Just like you used to bag Daniher, until Bailey came along.

We do, that's because in relative terms, Daniher was a better coach than Bailey who was in turn a better coach then Neeld. Not hard to work out. Daniher had his ups and downs, and perhaps should've done more with the list he had, but the same can be said of Bailey and Neeld. Daniher occasionally made finals; Bailey occasionally coached the team to wins but Neeld constantly coached the team to drubbings, beltings, thrashings; whatever you want to call it. He underachieved massively and was a terrible coach. It's not hard to work out.

No. But you used to bag Bailey, until Neeld came along. Just like you used to bag Daniher, until Bailey came along.

Do you have a slightly simple Dees supporting mate and you assume we're all alike? Everyone has their own opinion, some liked Bailey, some not, some Daniher, some not, etc. Can you find a wider brush to paint with?

The 2008/09 list is far worse than the 12/13 list. Not to mention the fact that Neeld didn't just talk tough to players, he downright abused them.
I agree with this, 08/09 was our true rebuild, we may of still had great players in the team like yze Neitz robbo ect but they were coming to an end. Compared to the potential we have now and the players we have brought in this year. Not to mention Clark is virtually a new recruit. On paper we look all right just need to get them on the park. Also on this note I reckon stkilda are what we were in 08. Some ageing stars with little youth coming through.

I reckon if we gave Neelds job back after all the drafts are done. With a healthy list we would still be shit. He can't coach.

Do you have a slightly simple Dees supporting mate and you assume we're all alike? Everyone has their own opinion, some liked Bailey, some not, some Daniher, some not, etc. Can you find a wider brush to paint with?

No. My brother is a long-suffering Dees supporter. He has followed them since 1988, and got to see constant finals the first few years, but much frustration since. He is also the most knowledgable people I know about many sports (football lover, cricket tragic, watched all of Bathurst, watches all the F1s, and knows a bit about tennis as well). So, I think he knows what he is talking about.

He hated Daniher's constant "They didn't come to play" excuse, and annoyed how they made finals, missed finals,(the yo-you effect) etc. Wooden spoons make him angry, so he has threatened to hold off getting a membership many a season. He didn't rate Bailey, and hated the tanking affair (he was livid after the 2009 game against Richmond). He was down on Neeld too, but gave him a fair go, and liked him more than Daniher (who he sees as a country hick and nice to players, and gave a spud like Alastair Nicholson too many chances) and Bailey (who he considers too feeble and soft on players).He also felt like the players are constantly let off the hook, and have excuses made for them, by the club and the media. Bad performances are never blamed on those who are doing the performing. He is currently upset that Paul Roos only wants to coach Melbourne for two years, feels that it will take more than two years to turn things around, and thinks that Roos is unethusiatic about the job, and has likened it to Malcolm Blight at St. Kilda, where he only do it for money. He sees Jack Watts as overrated, thought Sylvia was lazy, but is enthusiastic about Jesse Hogan, and is happy the club landed Bernie Vince.

So, yes, I rate highly my brother's thoughts on Melbourne. But I have gone to games myself, and seen how they have played. So, some of my knowledge is what I have observed with my own two eyes. I also listen to footy talk shows, and Neeld failing would have brought much gladness to the hearts of many footy journos. I don't think Neeld should have kept his job (he wasn't getting results), but I didn't like the unashamed glee some in the media seemed to have sticking the knife in.

No. My brother is a long-suffering Dees supporter. He has followed them since 1988, and got to see constant finals the first few years, but much frustration since. He is also the most knowledgable people I know about many sports (football lover, cricket tragic, watched all of Bathurst, watches all the F1s, and knows a bit about tennis as well). So, I think he knows what he is talking about.

He hated Daniher's constant "They didn't come to play" excuse, and annoyed how they made finals, missed finals,(the yo-you effect) etc. Wooden spoons make him angry, so he has threatened to hold off getting a membership many a season. He didn't rate Bailey, and hated the tanking affair (he was livid after the 2009 game against Richmond). He was down on Neeld too, but gave him a fair go, and liked him more than Daniher (who he sees as a country hick and nice to players, and gave a spud like Alastair Nicholson too many chances) and Bailey (who he considers too feeble and soft on players).He also felt like the players are constantly let off the hook, and have excuses made for them, by the club and the media. Bad performances are never blamed on those who are doing the performing. He is currently upset that Paul Roos only wants to coach Melbourne for two years, feels that it will take more than two years to turn things around, and thinks that Roos is unethusiatic about the job, and has likened it to Malcolm Blight at St. Kilda, where he only do it for money. He sees Jack Watts as overrated, thought Sylvia was lazy, but is enthusiastic about Jesse Hogan, and is happy the club landed Bernie Vince.

So, yes, I rate highly my brother's thoughts on Melbourne. But I have gone to games myself, and seen how they have played. So, some of my knowledge is what I have observed with my own two eyes. I also listen to footy talk shows, and Neeld failing would have brought much gladness to the hearts of many footy journos. I don't think Neeld should have kept his job (he wasn't getting results), but I didn't like the unashamed glee some in the media seemed to have sticking the knife in.

Well he certainly sounds like a Melbourne supporter.

I agree with this, 08/09 was our true rebuild, we may of still had great players in the team like yze Neitz robbo ect but they were coming to an end. Compared to the potential we have now and the players we have brought in this year. Not to mention Clark is virtually a new recruit. On paper we look all right just need to get them on the park. Also on this note I reckon stkilda are what we were in 08. Some ageing stars with little youth coming through.

I reckon if we gave Neelds job back after all the drafts are done. With a healthy list we would still be shit. He can't coach.

Maybe the players deserved some abuse. They weren't delivering. How should he have been? Touchy-feely.

For too long these players were told how good they were by Daniher, Bailey and other apologists. Jack Watts has been at the club five years. How long before he plays like a No.1 pick? Many in that draft have gone past him. He has talent, but little heart.

The fact is, the players don't hurt enough. It doesn't eat at them when they lose. They probably feel bad and lack confidence, and then get some back-slapper patronising them and giving flattery like "It doesn't matter" (it does matter).

The fact is, Melbourne players need a rocket up them, and need to be told that maybe they are not as good as they think they are. Everything I have seen of Colin Sylvia, and his swagger, comes across to me that he thinks that being a No. 3 pick (in a weak draft) means he is a superstar, and doesn't have to chase.

There are some players who will never be superstars, but are valuable because they work very hard and never give up, someone like a Max Rooke was for us. A few more of those players are needed at Melbourne. They need players to HATE losing, and will do whatever it takes on the field to win. No coach can teach a player to hate losing. The player must decide that themselves.

Look, Neeld went too hard too soon, and didn't deliver results. But Melbourne players need a fire-up. Ron Barassi would have been good for this,or Malthouse, as they can tear down and build up their players. Good thing most of these Dees players aren't in the army. They would cop abuse from their commanding officer, and sulk about it, because they can't handle criticism.

If you are talking about Brent Moloney, well, he comes across to me like a prick. He was a prick at Geelong too, and thought he was too good, so I was glad when we traded him out in the Ottens deal. There must have been a reason Richmond didn't accept a direct swap of Moloney for Ottens, but we had to include you in the deal as well, since Richmond didn't want him either. The ungracious tweet Moloney sent about Neeld shows what a nasty piece of work the guy is, and he did little to make Melbourne climb the ladder.

The innovation and creativity has hit me like nobody's business :thumbsu:

I get a Ghost of Christmas Past vibe. We did the various topics to death at the time when the various events went down - now we're having an opposition supporter recap session.

i love the whole "my bro is a dees supporter so i can mock melbourne" thing

He's not mocking, just sharing an opinion and treading over old ground.

Do opposition supporters have nothing to offer? Why can't people come on here and share their opinion, regardless of what team they go for, provided that they are respectful and don't say anything worthy of being modded. Sometimes it is good to have an outside view, or the board starts becoming too "insular".

I have a dream.
I dream of a world where a man's BF posts can be judged by the strength of his opinion and not by the colours of his team.

I dream of a world where my four little children will be judged by the content of their posts, and not by the affiliation they have with a certain team. Then they can say:-
"FREE AT LAST! FREE AT LAST! GOOD GOD ALMIGHTY, WE ARE FREE AT LAST!"

Do opposition supporters have nothing to offer? Why can't people come on here and share their opinion, regardless of what team they go for, provided that they are respectful and don't say anything worthy of being modded. Sometimes it is good to have an outside view, or the board starts becoming too "insular".

I have a dream.
I dream of a world where a man's BF posts can be judged by the strength of his opinion and not by the colours of his team.

I dream of a world where my four little children will be judged by the content of their posts, and not by the affiliation they have with a certain team. Then they can say:-
"FREE AT LAST! FREE AT LAST! GOOD GOD ALMIGHTY, WE ARE FREE AT LAST!"
stop talking crap, youve made your post and defended it (pat on the back)

He's not mocking, just sharing an opinion and treading over old ground.

That's right mate.

Incidentally, I have a brother who supports Geelong who thinks Tom Hawkins is the AFL's answer to Porky Pig and loves watching Chris Scott melt down several times a game.

Really and truly I do.

Don't you pull that face at me.

That's right mate.

Incidentally, I have a brother who supports Geelong who thinks Tom Hawkins is the AFL's answer to Porky Pig and loves watching Chris Scott melt down several times a game.

Really and truly I do.

Don't you pull that face at me.

My brother also barracks for Geelong. He seriously reckons they should be stripped of their premierships on account of Cameron Ling's atrocious hair.

My brother has actually said every criticism I posted, so is he then mocking Melbourne?

I use him as a reference for all things Melbourne, so these are criticisms he has made.

FWIW I agree with pretty much everything you've posted.

However I think we all just now want to move on from the crap we've had to tolerate for the last God-knows how many years. Feels like we've done 'Who was worse; Neeld or Bailey?' topic to death about 1000 times. Answer - they were both crap in their own, special ways.

Having said that, this is a thread entitled 'How will Mark Neeld be Remembered?' so I guess the whole point is to look back at what has transpired...

Anyhoo, good times and rainbows ahead. Or something like that.

:rainbow::rainbow::rainbow:

Review How will Mark Neeld be Remembered?