How will you remember Ben Cousins

As an amazing footballer, who set the bar in terms of work ethic. One of the better on field leaders, who improved those around him.

Unfortunately, the modernisation of the game may be a concept he never got his head around, as I don't think he understood the broad scale his actions affected, or was too arrogant to care.

Sadly with his footy career coming to an end Ben will return to his old lifestyle while he can afford it and then do sports mans nights when he is broke...

Just how the cycle goes....
hope not.

I'll remember him as the champion he was.

But I'll never forget him as the bloke who screamed at his little sister, who he was meant to be a rolemodel to, to give him back his glass bong so he could smoke it up with a mate in the family home.

Hope he reads these comments and realises that maybe he should do some honest work/charity work instead of seeing them and being so depressed he returns to drugs

I remember watching Collingwood touch up the Eagles in 2001 to the tune of 15 goals. It got to the end of the match and I thought 'Ben Cousins is so far best on ground in this game it isn't funny.'

Sure enough, 3 Brownlow votes - B. Cousins.

How often has that happened? I do not recall it happening since.

As probably the most honest indivdual i have seen talk about himself and his issues. It would have been easier for him to sugar coat his story, and pretend he is a forever remorseful drug user struggling with his moral obligation to be a role model.
Instead he told the true story of how he was a ego-maniac, self obbsessed, selfish individual who took the privillage afforded to him to an extreme.This is either rarely seen or more likely rarely admitted.

He now knows who he was/is, he is still figuring out wether he is comfortable with it or not, but he is honest enough to admit it.

The documentary was not what most wanted to see, and for that i applaud him.

Life needs real characters, the problem with the world these days is kids will see a cliche person telling them what to do and what not to do, yet they are smart enought to see straight through it. Today's youth is smart enough to watch that documentary and realise excessive drug use is not a good idea. If only the dinosaurs could see the same.

I remember watching Collingwood touch up the Eagles in 2001 to the tune of 15 goals. It got to the end of the match and I thought 'Ben Cousins is so far best on ground in this game it isn't funny.'

Sure enough, 3 Brownlow votes - B. Cousins.

How often has that happened? I do not recall it happening since.

Cousins received one vote for that game, margin 81 points.

Since game-by-game records began in 1984, the greatest losing margin for a player receiving three votes is 65 points by Greg Williams for Geelong v Footscray, R3 1985.

As probably the most honest indivdual i have seen talk about himself and his issues. It would have been easier for him to sugar coat his story, and pretend he is a forever remorseful drug user struggling with his moral obligation to be a role model.
Instead he told the true story of how he was a ego-maniac, self obbsessed, selfish individual who took the privillage afforded to him to an extreme.This is either rarely seen or more likely rarely admitted.

He now knows who he was/is, he is still figuring out wether he is comfortable with it or not, but he is honest enough to admit it.

The documentary was not what most wanted to see, and for that i applaud him.

Life needs real characters, the problem with the world these days is kids will see a cliche person telling them what to do and what not to do, yet they are smart enought to see straight through it. Today's youth is smart enough to watch that documentary and realise excessive drug use is not a good idea. If only the dinosaurs could see the same.

pity hes not a rapist..the Sydney bandwagoners would worship him:rolleyes:

there was a famous pyschology experiment done back in the 70's where a group of students were engaged in a two week role play of criminals and jail wardens - 1 group were the criminals, locked up in a pretend jail and the other group (both groups were all undergrad pysch students) were the wardens - the teacher had to call off the experiment after 5 days because of the pyhsical, sexual and emotional abuse the 'wardens' were dishing out to the 'criminals'...many other experiments have produced similar results - the lesson being that humans will act in highly unusual, unexpected and dysfunctional ways (violent, depraved, cruel, selfish etc) if placed in certain circumstances

here is an experiment - take a young man / boy, give him all his dreams on a plate, make him believe he is a god like figure with a god like body and looks, introduce him to drugs, show him that he can still perform at an elite level regardless and see what happens

it is easy to sit back and judge

That same argument could be used to excuse Michael Jackson of his peccadilloes.

Cousins' situation is a result of his own actions and decisions. Ultimately, he is the one who is responsible regardless of the good fortune he may have "suffered" prior to derailing.

What I took from the doco was that Ben is a narcissistic bogan blessed with fortunate genetics.

Brought a bit of stardust to Richmond. Gave us a glimpse in the run up to 2009 of what an up and running Richmond will mean. If anyone remenbers the 37,000 who turned up for a NAB Cup early round game V the Pies including at least 22,000 tiges when we were in the grip of Cuzmania....shame he wasn't with us in his pomp and shame we were not going at the time. Cuz in his prime and the Tigers if up and about would have been made for each other.

Various things come to mind.
Not being the gullible type i cant help remembering him for what he truly is and was.

Dammit ..i wish i was 12 years old again and needed a superhero.
That ability to cut through and ignore all the reality and just enjoy a good story. An amazing story of one man's incredible fight against adversity using just a winning smile and a bit of bullshit artistry as weapons of choice.

Nothing beats a winning smile...hey i've got one too :thumbsu:

How will you remember Ben Cousins