How would you have dealt with the St.Kilda schoolgirl if you were in charge at St.Kilda?

I think both the AFL and St.Kilda have to share responsibility for the farce that has erupted, mostly through inaction to the situation.

After the GF, word was released by the AFL that an investigation had taken place into alleged allegations and no player had anything to answer for. IMO this investigation should have been more in depth by both the AFL and St.Kilda. I would have asked more questions to the players involved, rather than the standard "Did you do it?". "Yeah. Na, mate. She was gagging for it". "No worries then. You're all sweet". In the age of sport we are in with corporate sponsors, brands and relationships.....this should have been key on both counts.

If I was St.Kilda, I wouldn't have let Roo hold a press conference. It came across as cheap and selfish. It didn't offer anything new to the situation other than "I didn't know the girl". It implied "but I know who did".

I would have told Ross Lyon to STFU. The only line he should have been delivering at any stage from him mono-tone drawl should have been " The administrators of the club are handling the situation, my job is to concentrate on football". Nothing more.

I would not have hired a PR company to steer the ship out of the poo. Seriously. If a board of company directors did not have the nous on how to keep the situation in house and clean, they must be in the wrong game. I can believe that no one wants to come out of this with dirt on their hands, but someone needs to stand up and show direction for the clubs sake.

Same goes for the VP stating on the steps of the court that he would be chasing her for damages for the next 15 years. Uncalled for, uneducated and made the club look very under prepared even at that stage.

Who ever has advised Gilbert and Del Santo to keep quite deserves a medal right now. I was critical of both being quiet at the time, but I now think their silence has been the only constant throughout the whole mess. No statements means no innuendo.

If I was a St.Kilda board member, I would have been putting pressure back onto the AFL after the first images were released. If so much was known about the girl, her identity and the company she kept then there should have been alarm bells ringing at headquarters, not only at Linton Street. Basically the injunctions should have been handled by the AFL, as she was seen to be an AFL girl, not just a St.Kilda one.

I would have made the AFL issue restraining orders to stay away from the club, its training venues and its players. Having the AFL offer police to escort her to Seaford for their first training session to hand out flyers came across as the girl could do anything she wanted, without penalty.

With Nixon now involved and such damning proof available, as St.Kilda, I would be advising all players on contract with Ricky as their manager to plan exit strategies ASAP.

As the AFL, I'd be very cautious. With depression, drugs and sex romps at the fore.......Ricky's in a real bad place right now. One one side you have the girl learning her lessons and recording anything as evidence. On the other you have a guy with no place to go, marriage you think would be over, his good football life finished and possibly unemployable in Australia.

That's one situation I wouldn't want to be handling.

If I was St.Kilda, I wouldn't have let Roo hold a press conference. It came across as cheap and selfish. It didn't offer anything new to the situation other than "I didn't know the girl". It implied "but I know who did".

what you forget is that SHE said SHE took the pic of nude roo and the presser was him stating that it wasn't her who took the photo.

people criticising the presser forget that it was accepted by the media that she took the picture of Nick and Zac in a melbourne hotel with the obvious sexual connotations. that was her initial story.

what you forget is that SHE said SHE took the pic of nude roo and the presser was him stating that it wasn't her who took the photo.

people criticising the presser forget that it was accepted by the media that she took the picture of Nick and Zac in a melbourne hotel with the obvious sexual connotations. that was her initial story.

Still should never have been run with Roo in the chair. Put a board member face or head of operations in the spotlight and have Nick in the background with his stern face nodding. Nothing more.

I think I would have done exactly what St Kilda did do, after a month of furore.
They played it completely the wrong way at the start, vilifying her and giving her perfect opportunity for Caro et al. to jump on the 'double standard attitude to females' particularly the recent run with Bingle and Fev.

Right at the start they should have put that girl up in a hotel on the proviso she shut her mouth for a few days, spend some time with the girl and mediate a successful solution that would probably involve some sort of payout/scholarship etc.

The initial carry-on 'she said/he said' did St Kilda no good, and ultimately created a 'Powerful Footy Club vs. poor defenseless 17 year old girl' issue.

The other element that is often being forgotten is that while this young lady appears more than a little crackers, she's also allegedly had a miscarriage/stillbirth of twins to a St Kilda player, a very hushed affair (it was all over the news initially, but subsequently squashed, at least in SA). St Kilda players were involved in this and while the club itself is not responsible for the mess, they needed to be more proactive in the cleanup. Not saying they weren't, but they obviously didn't do enough for this girl to continue her vitriol towards St Kilda.

One thing's for sure - noone's talking about Travis Tuck in all this and that makes me happy!

Still should never have been run with Roo in the chair. Put a board member face or head of operations in the spotlight and have Nick in the background with his stern face nodding. Nothing more.

and then he would have been criticised for hiding from the truth.

Roo like the club was damned if he did and damned if he didn't.

He faced it head on.

and then he would have been criticised for hiding from the truth.

Roo like the club was damned if he did and damned if he didn't.

He faced it head on.

Absolute rubbish.

Take a look how Collingwood handles Didak, Shaw and the others.

They weren't front and center at the presser. The club was. They stated what had occurred, what the club wanted and the punishments administered.

10 out of 10 for Collingwood there. You'd think St.Kilda would have learnt from such presidents.

How would you have dealt with the St.Kilda schoolgirl if you were in charge at St.Kilda?

I would have fined/suspended all the involved players for bringing the club into disrepute, taken out an intervention order to keep her away from the club and all staff, and banned everyone from talking. They should have then ridden out the storm. The media will eventually give up.

We covered it up the best that we could..
Somebody tell me how S.Gilbert met this girl..
The official reports in December were that he met her in a nightclub interstate and didn't know her age.
Now it comes out that he met her at her Frankston high school when Sam and Armitage were doing a clinic for the kids. it was alleged(maybe from this girl) that he slept with her that night..
Dunno...Gilbert has done well to get out of this one..

Absolute rubbish.

Take a look how Collingwood handles Didak, Shaw and the others.

They weren't front and center at the presser. The club was. They stated what had occurred, what the club wanted and the punishments administered.

10 out of 10 for Collingwood there. You'd think St.Kilda would have learnt from such presidents.

Really?

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/08/05/2324113.htm

"Yesterday Shaw lied to the club and to reporters when he denied that Didak had been a passenger in his car when he crashed it into a parked vehicle in the Melbourne suburb of Kew on Sunday night"

oh wait, is that SHAW at the presser? in the picture?

that's right, there was an incident.

the CFC put shaw up.

Front and centre.

and 10 out of 10? seemed that shaw and his lying ways made it 0 out of 10.
Particularly considering the following presser where it was clear that Eddie wanted to beat the suitcase out of didak and shaw.

maybe you have another example you'd like to use :eek:

What exactly is her complaint? Nobody even knows other than her vague ramblings about getting back at the AFL and St Kilda for some percieved injustice and standing up for womens rights bullshit.

The fact is she is just pissed off that she was treated like the groupie slapper that she is by the players and she didn't like it so has decided to cause as much of a shitstorm as possible and is loving all the attention. I don't know how else St Kilda could have handled it short of hiring a hitman and knocking her off.

couldnt have said it better myself!

The fact is she is just pissed off that she was treated like the groupie slapper that she is by the players and she didn't like it so has decided to cause as much of a shitstorm as possible and is loving all the attention.

"... but everyone knows that if you're polite afterwards and pay her cab fare home you usually don't have any problems." - Anonymous NRL player.

I find it freaking hilarious that the NRL is light years ahead of St Kilda and its supporters in their treatment of women.:D

NRL: be polite, see her safely home.
St Kilda: treat her like the groupie slapper she is.

Really?

oh wait, is that SHAW at the presser? in the picture?

maybe you have another example you'd like to use :eek:

Yes you are correct. He is there.

My memories must have been only of the subsequent presser with Eddie popping off his lid.

Still doesn't change my opinion that the club should have run the whole shooting match from the start. Now, in both cases ;)