Hudghton or Dawson? Who should get the spot?

Lewie_8

Jul 2, 2008
Australia
Blackwood and Australia
This is battle that will go thorughout the finals series in who Ross Lyon will select. Hudghton in my opinion has more experience and in saints circumstances with a chance to take the premiership, it would almost be criminal to leave him out in what could be his last season.

Who would you pick?

Hudghton. Dawson looked like a headless chook in the 1st half yesterday. II'd lean towards having some more experience in the team but Dawson has had a very good year. Last month hasn't been too flash though.
Geelong selecting King over Blake in the 2007 GF worked well, so it might in this case as well.

The only issue with Max is having he, Blake, Blaker and Clarke all in the same area leaves no go to guy for disposal and the opposition tends to zone off. Zacs foot skills in general are pretty good.

Hudghton. Easily.

Dawson's been good this year but dropped off lately, and Hudghton is a proven, experience gun.

That said though, I think just about everyone would say Hudghton except the man who would (or should) know best which is Ross so as a saints fan we'll just have to trust him.

If we don't win the flag and someone kicks a bag on us though... I will be absolutely spewing.

I personally can't believe Max isnt in the team. I rate him so highly as a one on one stopper. Dawson had a great year but Max not only is a better defender but as a long term Saint and such a consistent player he deserves to be in the premiership team.

Zac, i hate it when they gift game to experience players because they feel they deserve it.

Zac has been playing all season, his form doesnt warrant being dropped so it shouldnt matter that Max is ready to come back into the team.

what if Zac never gets to play in a premiership again?

i dont believe in sentiment, its about who deserves it and has earned it this season!

It probably does though. Without Fisher yesterday, Dawson would have been smashed imo.

Hudghton. Dawson looked like a headless chook in the 1st half yesterday. II'd lean towards having some more experience in the team but Dawson has had a very good year. Last month hasn't been too flash though.
Geelong selecting King over Blake in the 2007 GF worked well, so it might in this case as well.

Your being way to harsh AuGun. Dawson has been magnificent all year. His form has been pretty consistent, and is one of the most improved players in recent years. He has been playing well, and did his job. I love Maxi, but I just can't pick him when we have a fit Dawson. Fisher marshalled the defence, but him and Gilbert (and Godds at times) have done that all year anyway. His last month has coincided with the whole sides average form. But he was good yesterday, playing his role in the team.
Dawson for me.
:confused:

Without a shadow of a doubt, Max. I reckon 100% of the ley forwards left in the comp would agree with me too. Dawson's improved out of sight, and has always had good pretty footskills, but his decision-making has been, and remains, a bit suspect. Plus after all he's been through with the club, would be great too see Max get a genuine tilt at a flag.

No contest IMO.

Why can't both play? It is not like Max can't play on a medium size opponent.
You tell me mate. There's also the fact that our entire backline can play small apart from dawson, so it's not like we'd be top heavy.

I think another good idea would be to switch one of our medium defenders (probably Raph) forward and drop Eddy, ensuring our backline isn't top heavy.

Lot's of options I just can't understand why Ross doesn't want Max in the side.

btw cradle of filth terrible call on blake. played every game this year and very reliable. is something like top 5in the afl for marks drifting around in the backline helping out.

It probably does though. Without Fisher yesterday, Dawson would have been smashed imo.

Gotta agree with that. When exposed Dawson was starting to look a bit shakey alongside the big unit.

Fisher was everywhere doing every job and took the heat off regularly.

The answer is you play Hudghton of course. Doesnt matter even if he's about to retire...if he's fit he is one of the games top 2 or 3 one on one defenders and that is golden in finals.

Both. Dawson is a good 3rd or fourth tall, but others have said, he was exposed on the weekend one on one, and it has been a common theme, he just doesnt have the strength to compete against the big units.

Dawson needs to be there to help hudgton and vice versa

Zac, i hate it when they gift game to experience players because they feel they deserve it.

Zac has been playing all season, his form doesnt warrant being dropped so it shouldnt matter that Max is ready to come back into the team.

what if Zac never gets to play in a premiership again?

i dont believe in sentiment, its about who deserves it and has earned it this season!

Why wouldn't Hudghton deserve it? He has been one of the best fullbacks in the game for the past decade and given St Kilda great, loyal service. It's not as if he is a washed up hack now either, he has still done a great job in the games he has played this year.

The only question mark on Hudghton is his fitness, he has been prone to breaking down with soft tissue injuries lately, which could be costly if it happened early on in a final. That said, I still think it is a risk worth taking when you are talking about one of the best fullbacks going around.

Dawson looked a bit out of his depth in the first half yesterday when Collingwood was really pressuring our defence. I would have felt a lot more confident with Max back there. We got away without him yesterday but we we might not be so lucky against the Bulldogs or Geelong, who are much better attacking sides. Hudghton really should be brought into the side, either with Dawson or replacing him, however Lyon will probably be reluctant to make too many changes to a winning line-up.

Hudghton or Dawson? Who should get the spot?