Hume FL

Going back to Howlong - I see they played Brunner and Jamie Almond - both been good players but one lives in Melbourne doesn't he? and the other is 44 or something and my guess would be wouldn't train with the club. At the same time both would get a few bucks is my guess. Obviously close relationships with the coach but I am just not sure it is the way to go. Any thoughts?

Nudge (Jamie) has the gym in Yarrawonga. He is spending time in Melbourne, looking to get another gym going down there. Fitness isn't a problem and was still good enough to play seniors for Yarra a few years ago. Plenty of local clubs would love to have him - he's worth a bit of $ no worries. Brunner is a freak. He'll get plenty of kicks at 54 if he still wants to play. Very fit, but doesn't have as much muscle these days. Don't know what he's worth but if he was fair dinkum committed (which I don't think he is) plenty of clubs would part with decent coin (reckon he's worth $600- a game in this comp, maybe more).

Agree that it may not be the right thing having these blokes unless they are training with the club (at least once a fortnight). But the professionalism they would bring to the club would be sensational, particularly for young blokes just to train with them and watch how they prepare for a game. But who can blame the Howlong coach for enticing them? Howlong are a bit short I hear so who wouldn't take the opportunity to top up with some quality such as these 2. Good luck to them and I am looking forward to seeing these guys go around hopefully.

Good thing the other local battling country clubs don't have that pi55weak, defeatist attitude isn't it?Otherwise we'd have a lot less clubs. Billabong Crows equals sh!t culture and club.

get the f**k over your over yourself mate.. all you do is talk shit about the crows and theres no point who gives a sh!t im sick or reading everytime i come on... crows are dogs, crows have shit attidude.... your not a hand grenade your a tosser grow up for once you muppet....

Where do all the kids from the 4ths go to once they they are too old? Oaklands never seemed to have 3rds and the Crows don`t have them this year?They always seem capable of feilding more than competitive 4ths

oaklands lose a lot of kids from the 4ths to boarding school... as soon as the hit yr7 there of to boarding school.... the crows cant do nothing about it if the parents want there kids to go to boarding school.... but i agree that they do need a under 17s....

Brown is a big strong full back from North Albury - I think he is out with a broken leg at the moment. Be an early appointment if it is the case. Also why would Clinton Gilson not coach Rand Walbundrie this year when he has supposedly got the job already for next year? I find that odd.

Going back to Howlong - I see they played Brunner and Jamie Almond - both been good players but one lives in Melbourne doesn't he? and the other is 44 or something and my guess would be wouldn't train with the club. At the same time both would get a few bucks is my guess. Obviously close relationships with the coach but I am just not sure it is the way to go. Any thoughts?

Dont htink Gilly was ready 2 coach thats why R/W appointed Rat 2 guide him along a bit this season and hope that he learns a bit from Rat this season

Daicos - you say stop posting crap and in the same sentance state "piss off back to whatever league you came from". What sort of statement is that? Who are you? Where are you from to tell other posters to piss off. What do you mean by that? Do you have a problem with some of us hooking in to the Billabong Crows or the fact that we came from the Coreen League.

Show some intestinal fortitude Daicos and quantify that statement.

Are you going to answer the question or quantify your statement Daicos?

Asking you to stop talking crap or piss off to where ever you came from is more of a request, than a statement. But you obviousy want the statement quantified so here it is - I want you to stop talking crap VERY VERY much!!

Pull the pin on yourself hand grenade.

Dont htink Gilly was ready 2 coach thats why R/W appointed Rat 2 guide him along a bit this season and hope that he learns a bit from Rat this season
Gilly progressing very well as a senior coach has the respect of the group and keeping them keen in trying times. Rat has been great for him to learn off and i think it has been a smart move of the club. They will benifit in the long run, gilso has been working very hard on players for next year along with bull he has sighned his twin brother remsie for next season has not played this year due to a comitment on channel ten but is a little pocket rocket!;)

get the f**k over your over yourself mate.. all you do is talk shit about the crows and theres no point who gives a sh!t im sick or reading everytime i come on... crows are dogs, crows have shit attidude.... your not a hand grenade your a tosser grow up for once you muppet....

Don't tell me you blokes (that's you HG and Footy Mad) are going to start at each other again. Don't want to read the same shit as last year. Send each other personal messages please. HG - you've made your point. You don't like the Crows. Now leave it alone. Footy Mad - just don't start mate. Enough.

Well there is you issue isn't it?

Mate, until you guys realise that through your juniors is where you future seniors come from you club may not have a future in 5 years. If you don't do all you can to keep them alive and playing footy then you are going to loose those kids from your club and possibly footy all together.

As an outsider who doesn't know anything from the club, I havn't been inclined to say anything throughout the previous banter, but when comments like...

It just makes you wonder could that attitude have been what killed the two clubs previously and caused the merger in the first place?

agree with gobbles, he comes from henty who had a five year period of dominating the junior grades and these locals stay around out there, dont think any other club in the league is as loyal to locals as henty, nor would any other team have as many locals in there sides,the only exception been maybe osborne.

Nudge (Jamie) has the gym in Yarrawonga. He is spending time in Melbourne, looking to get another gym going down there. Fitness isn't a problem and was still good enough to play seniors for Yarra a few years ago. Plenty of local clubs would love to have him - he's worth a bit of $ no worries. Brunner is a freak. He'll get plenty of kicks at 54 if he still wants to play. Very fit, but doesn't have as much muscle these days. Don't know what he's worth but if he was fair dinkum committed (which I don't think he is) plenty of clubs would part with decent coin (reckon he's worth $600- a game in this comp, maybe more).

Agree that it may not be the right thing having these blokes unless they are training with the club (at least once a fortnight). But the professionalism they would bring to the club would be sensational, particularly for young blokes just to train with them and watch how they prepare for a game. But who can blame the Howlong coach for enticing them? Howlong are a bit short I hear so who wouldn't take the opportunity to top up with some quality such as these 2. Good luck to them and I am looking forward to seeing these guys go around hopefully.

If Howlong are paying anywhere near that sort of money for 2 older guys who aren't training I can see why the locals are not that happy and they don't have a seconds side. I presume that was just a guess - and a very bad one. If they get more than a couple a hundred a game I'd be very surprised. I wonder are they doing a favour for the coach or are they just taking cash? On that figure I'd be playing for the cash only, hard not to.

Seriously, there would only be 1 or 2 blokes on that money in the league wouldn't there??? I am thinking Whitrod (8 foot ruckman so fair enough).....actually I can't think of any others that would or SHOULD be close to that figure.

agree with gobbles, he comes from henty who had a five year period of dominating the junior grades and these locals stay around out there, dont think any other club in the league is as loyal to locals as henty, nor would any other team have as many locals in there sides,the only exception been maybe osborne.

lockhart has a team full of locals.. only two new players at the club who haven't been there before

Don't tell me you blokes (that's you HG and Footy Mad) are going to start at each other again. Don't want to read the same shit as last year. Send each other personal messages please. HG - you've made your point. You don't like the Crows. Now leave it alone. Footy Mad - just don't start mate. Enough.

yeh fair call doobie... just saying that every1s over his bullsh!t....

If Howlong are paying anywhere near that sort of money for 2 older guys who aren't training I can see why the locals are not that happy and they don't have a seconds side. I presume that was just a guess - and a very bad one. If they get more than a couple a hundred a game I'd be very surprised. I wonder are they doing a favour for the coach or are they just taking cash? On that figure I'd be playing for the cash only, hard not to.

Seriously, there would only be 1 or 2 blokes on that money in the league wouldn't there??? I am thinking Whitrod (8 foot ruckman so fair enough).....actually I can't think of any others that would or SHOULD be close to that figure.

Yeah mate I am only guessing on Brunner and Nudge's paypackets. I don't know what Howlong do as far as the $ goes. But my info on what other players are getting at a few clubs (on the western side of the league) is spot on the mark. And those two blokes (provided they did some training and were committed enough) would have no worries raking that in at any number of clubs over this side. Hate to break your heart FP but that sort of money is pretty common. Yes it is bu!!sh#t but that is how it is and most clubs are to blame. I know of some blokes getting $300- a game and they would be Murray League 2nds players at best. Most of us are willing to pay the dough so we're all at fault. I'm told that to play finals in this comp clubs need to spend up to 100k. Do your sums on that. Even if only 10 players are being paid that is at 10k a head - $500- a game. I believe a couple of crows are being paid over 15k a year.

yeh fair call doobie... just saying that every1s over his bullsh!t....

Good to see you back on the thread little footy mad! Obviously the power has been switched back on at the trailer park. Mum needs to stop spending all the pension on the ciggies and wine doesn't she. Otherwise, you could have gone off to boarding school with the rest of the kiddies. It must be getting cooooollllllldddd out in that annexe now. Off to bed now little fella - Prime Possum said so!:)

Asking you to stop talking crap or piss off to where ever you came from is more of a request, than a statement. But you obviousy want the statement quantified so here it is - I want you to stop talking crap VERY VERY much!!

Pull the pin on yourself hand grenade.

Kaboom!!!!!

Now let's hear you talk footy oh genius macedonian marvel.;)

Yeah mate I am only guessing on Brunner and Nudge's paypackets. I don't know what Howlong do as far as the $ goes. But my info on what other players are getting at a few clubs (on the western side of the league) is spot on the mark. And those two blokes (provided they did some training and were committed enough) would have no worries raking that in at any number of clubs over this side. Hate to break your heart FP but that sort of money is pretty common. Yes it is bu!!sh#t but that is how it is and most clubs are to blame. I know of some blokes getting $300- a game and they would be Murray League 2nds players at best. Most of us are willing to pay the dough so we're all at fault. I'm told that to play finals in this comp clubs need to spend up to 100k. Do your sums on that. Even if only 10 players are being paid that is at 10k a head - $500- a game. I believe a couple of crows are being paid over 15k a year.

Thats one of many reasons why the Crows will fold in one to two years.

[/b]
Thats one of many reasons why the Crows will fold in one to two years.

Juddy - stop now. You are deliberately stirring me up to make nasty comments about the crows. Then I have to incur the wrath of little footy mad and his new mate from collingwood. Enough.

Your told wrong bud

Bloody well hope I am wrong kanga. Ok then, what sort of $ are clubs paying to make the Grand Final? Dispell the rumours for me!

I was told that Osborne (care of being generously left a farm) have 100k a year to spend. Any club that has wanted to match them over the last few years has had to match that to compete with them. I would suspect that some clubs that can draw on a decent enough local population (i.e. Holbrook, Culcairn) will occasionally have enough top local players agree to stick around for a season (on less coin than they could get elsewhere) to have a crack at a premiership. However, those clubs not so blessed with numbers supposedly need to come up with this amount to get close.

I'll go so far as to take a stab at what the old Coreen Clubs are forking out to "compete" in the Hume League (and I reckon I'll be close):
Coly - 20 - 25k
Rennie - 35 - 45k
CDHBU - 65 - 75k
Crows - 90 - 100k

Interested to hear the thoughts and figures from others.

Yeah true...wtf is your problem hand grenade...mate you must live one sad life...its pretty funny at the same time though u love to talk about under 14 yr old boys which is scary enough...mate u need a girl or something or a guy wat eva the f**k u r into and make sure their over the age of 14 cause i dunno bout anyone else but im startin to worry about all the 14 yr olds at the crows...good solution instead of coming on here and tlkin shit search "young boys" on google and im sure no 1 will have 2 put up with your shit on here anymore...other than that how are the crows going in seniors and who are some good young names to look for...(no not dor u hand grenade)

Must say this is a quality thread!!!! :eek::eek::eek:
Such well thought out opinions and in-depth discussion on a variety of topics.

Stop your bitching and find something worthwhile to dribble on about.

I notice there's not many comments on here from people associated with last years hume league clubs. Perhaps they've started another thread to avoid the embarrassment.

Bloody well hope I am wrong kanga. Ok then, what sort of $ are clubs paying to make the Grand Final? Dispell the rumours for me!

I was told that Osborne (care of being generously left a farm) have 100k a year to spend. Any club that has wanted to match them over the last few years has had to match that to compete with them. I would suspect that some clubs that can draw on a decent enough local population (i.e. Holbrook, Culcairn) will occasionally have enough top local players agree to stick around for a season (on less coin than they could get elsewhere) to have a crack at a premiership. However, those clubs not so blessed with numbers supposedly need to come up with this amount to get close.

I'll go so far as to take a stab at what the old Coreen Clubs are forking out to "compete" in the Hume League (and I reckon I'll be close):

Coly - 20 - 25k
Rennie - 35 - 45k
CDHBU - 65 - 75k
Crows - 90 - 100k

Interested to hear the thoughts and figures from others.

Ok, fair enough that the coreen league wasnt the greatest footy league of all time but it did seem to be a fairly even comp. Every league is gunna have its more wealthier clubs than others. However, ill put this to you Doobie, if many coreen league followers believe thier clubs need to spend big kanga to "compete" (as you put it) why the f*ck did they come over to the hume league ??
Surely the coin issue must of been discussed before a decison was made. I'll be frank, i dont know what the crows have spent, but if its in the ball park of 100 clams like being suggested, they are gunna be one sore and sorry footy club because come the business end they are gunna be no where near it, and will have nothing to show for season 08' except a huge player payment bill.

The hume league, yes some clubs are better off than others, but over the last 10 years (although osborne has won alot of flags) the majority of the clubs have competed in finals series. A problem many hume league clubs have is that they want success NOW, what happened to clubs building towards grand finals over a 3,4 or 5 year period ?
:thumbsu:

there are some clubs building for a 3-4 year plan,have a look at r-w tigers,will prob finish bottom 5 this year,but thru smart management and recruiting,will be a stronger club in the future years by playing there kids and by having sumone who there kids can respect and look up to.:thumbsu:

And who would that be ?