• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Hume FL

Also they have signed a full forward from melbourne who looked good.hopefully can play a few more games so the saints can win a senior game or two.
The dude kicked 7.1, not a bad effort for a guy that hasn't played in a couple of years but that was in the Eastern FL in Melbourne which is O and M standard. They've also signed another key position player from the Yarra Valley comp who is a CHF or FF. A former Tallangatta league asst. coach who's moved back to the area looks like playing with them later in the year.:)

what a result on the weekend. noone wished to see that margin with cul but hopefully now a few of the coreen pple on this thread will keep their head pulled in and stop talking shit. welcome to the big time boys!

I agree with your first comment that noone expected such a big margin in the Cul - CDHBU game. I predicted the game would be a lot closer and now have to eat a bit of humble pie. My Rennie mates and I got to see first hand the lift in standard up in this comp at Osborne on Saturday. We knew this would be the case.

But I fail to see where or why Coreen people (as you say) should pull their head in and stop talking shit. Noone has predicted that any Coreen team would win the flag. Most of us have predicted that (thanks to the draw) CDHBU and the Crows should make the finals. I think that will still be the case.

Following on from your comments of talking shit, your "welcome to the big time boys" is comic gold. I thought the big time was at AFL level. Hume League is good country footy (in my opinion) but to put things into a bit of perspective, many in this region would rate it as the next weakest comp after the Upper Murray FL. Maybe you should pull your head in a bit biggles.

I think people are being a bit harsh on CDHBU, although flogged in the ones, they went very well in the lower grades, and are good additions to the HFL.
They will be more consistent year in year out than all of the other CDFL clubs, and have more scope for further improvement.
The Crows appear to be performing better in the ones than CDHBU, but their 2nds are poor, and long term success is less likely than CDHBU, especially as the Crows are likely to have very bad years mixed in with good. ( At present they are probably as good as they will ever be)
Coleambally is just too far away.
Rennie went better against Osborne than many thought, but is an honourable 100 point loss really a good outcome, where are the players going to come from to challenge for a flag?

I agree with your first comment that noone expected such a big margin in the Cul - CDHBU game. I predicted the game would be a lot closer and now have to eat a bit of humble pie. My Rennie mates and I got to see first hand the lift in standard up in this comp at Osborne on Saturday. We knew this would be the case.

But I fail to see where or why Coreen people (as you say) should pull their head in and stop talking shit. Noone has predicted that any Coreen team would win the flag. Most of us have predicted that (thanks to the draw) CDHBU and the Crows should make the finals. I think that will still be the case.

Following on from your comments of talking shit, your "welcome to the big time boys" is comic gold. I thought the big time was at AFL level. Hume League is good country footy (in my opinion) but to put things into a bit of perspective, many in this region would rate it as the next weakest comp after the Upper Murray FL. Maybe you should pull your head in a bit biggles.

What area do you regard as this region doobie because that comment can either be true or a load a shit. Most regard this region as hume league, tallangatta league and upper murray. Or if you go by the border mail you could regard this 'region' alot bigger than just these 3 leagues. To compare the hume league and the upper murray is just ridiculous. Im prepared to say that at full strength the hume league rep team would beat the tallangatta rep team; and also that at full strength that Culcairn would beat Mitta.
So doobie, if your saying the hume league is weak and your old league clubs cant even compete then is that sayng that they have made the league weaker and not stronger by coming in ?

Fair summary that walla did play well they really had the pressure on all day but cant be using injuries as an excuse for losing the game Pearse is there best loss as for hill he got dropped and was struggling in the twos. But now they have got a tough run if they drop the next 2 to 4 games i reckon the finals prediction for them is stuffed. injuries do play a part but at the and of the day every club gets them look at walla in the last 2 seasons all the best to both sides though lot of good players in both sides...

Agreed Lochart can't make excuse about injuries walla have had shit loads of injuries over the last few years its what happens in football every team gets them it those clubs/teams what have good depth in their twos what come through with the goods.. Wallas twos looking strong also only losing 1 game to date.....
Walla V Lochart game was a great game of footy!!! both teams had so much pressure on each other it was played with great pace and toughness one of the better hume league games i have seen and its the first time in about 4 years i have seen walla defeat a side which people rank higher then them so i'm sure the club would be very happy with the win.. Lochart did seem to have a few injuries with blokes caring them on field as well that is not a good sign if you have to play blokes injuried in front of 2nd players who are fully fit

What area do you regard as this region doobie because that comment can either be true or a load a shit. Most regard this region as hume league, tallangatta league and upper murray. Or if you go by the border mail you could regard this 'region' alot bigger than just these 3 leagues. To compare the hume league and the upper murray is just ridiculous. Im prepared to say that at full strength the hume league rep team would beat the tallangatta rep team; and also that at full strength that Culcairn would beat Mitta.
So doobie, if your saying the hume league is weak and your old league clubs cant even compete then is that sayng that they have made the league weaker and not stronger by coming in ?

I consider this region to take in the Upper Murray, Tallangatta, Hume, Ovens & King, Ovens & Murray, Murray and Picola Leagues (I probably live to your west). I didn't compare the Hume and Upper Murray Leagues as at the similar levels. I was chipping that poster for the stupid comment of "welcome to the big time". Mate I think the Hume is a very very good league. But if it is the big time then what do you call the O&M? With the exception of CDHBU, I can't see the old Coreen Clubs lasting in the HFL - it's too strong. I wouldn't have thought the inclusion of the CDFL Clubs has overly strengthened the comp, but you would probably agree there are too many teams in this league now? I would have thought that the Tallangatta, O&K, Picola and Hume Leagues were about the same but others tell me that is not the case.

I Think Billabong Crows VS Culcairn will be a massive test to see where the crows are at..........after CDHBU getten flogged by Culcairn really would of given alot of people a good wake up call.

Get your hand off it kage, heard a few boys might be crossing to new clubs next year from walla - can you confirm

the walla twos are looking strong at the minute but they havnt played much, beating burrum/brock, henty, howlong and lockhart isnt much to go by, lockhart at full strength would have been something to get excited about but they had a few old timers playing and only ran out with 14, when they beat an osbrone, culcairn or jindera then i would say they look strong, good luck to them though

Wallas twos looking strong also only losing 1 game to date.....[/quote]

i would think jinders are best 2's side going around.walla only beat the saints by 16 points.after leading by 6 goals at quarter time.i would keep an eye out for the saints winning a few more or at least pushing teams.

just a little thing to doobie.after coming from the upper murray i would think hume league is second worst.the hfl is very strong.i think they should play tallangatta league instead of going to wagga.Both leagues are very similar in where they draw players from.for example magpies and wodonga saints are very similar with both being in town but can't draw good players etc. the upper murray is slowly falling apart and the 2's comp is a joke.i have been very impressed with the hume league so far and can't wait to see the corren teams play.

I would think they are best 2's side going around.only beat the saints by 16 points.after leading by 6 goals at quarter time.i would keep on eyes out for the saints winning a few more or at least pushing teams.The upper murray is slowly falling apart and the 2's comp is a joke.i have been very impressed with the hume league so far and can't wait to see the corren teams play.
From what i have seen i think Jindera have the best 2's by an absolute mile, who will also be serious challengers' out there outside of Walla? True, the Upper Murray has some serious issues confronting them at the moment but each club has to take responsibility for their long term future and if they want to run their club in an unprofessional manner then they only have themselves to blame:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Reading the HFL interleague squad and read Leigh Bakers name. Hasn't he only played 1 game for Cul???? Surely a OM 2nd player doesn't walk up to squad after only 1 game. Realise squad is 67 but even still wouldn't o thought he would be in that. Maybe the rumour he was offered a spt in the squad by the Cul ass./interleague coach if he went to the lions was true, and if so surely that would be an unfair recruiting tool :confused:.

Can confirm this was the case. You can look at it two ways I guess - was it an unfair recruiting tool or is he good enough to be in the squad. Maybe someone from Holbrook can voice their opinion on Leigh Baker as I beleive they were close to getting him and maybe this interleague handout by the interleague coach (and teamate) of Baker got him over the line to Culcairn.

think your clutching at straws a bit mate,think u will find Leigh baker went to culcairn cause he thought they were better chance of winning premiership than holbrook,dnt think it had anything 2 do with interleague,if it did then well done to Shan Gilson,smart recruiting i believe!!:)

hook, line and sinker doobie. obviously its not the big time. but now we might talk bout the teams that really matter. heres an outsiders opinion

Cul.
deservedly favourites. not to sure bout the training once a week. What will happen come finals, surely back to the 2 nights but will this unsettle their preperation?
Osb.
always round the mark, usually good for a few quality mid season recruits. dangerous come finals. enough said
Jind.
Great list, but do they need another year to gel? hilton in the forward line? big mistake if you have castles, piltz and callanan running around, more than enough firepower i think. should settle their team early to be a genuine contender.
Holb.
Good depth now with a few extra additions, coutts would be good for 3-4 goals a game sitting in fp. strong local contingent. well drilled. very dangerous
Loc.
Need a good run with injuries but first 20 are more than capable. Harper, nimmo, pokey, pearse. well coached. need everyone firing but make a great TEAM
Howl.
Brunner will add extra but not real challengers unless they can pick up 2 or 3 more.

dont really see anyone else challenging. havent seen it as open in many years, great for the comp. any thoughts?

what a result on the weekend. noone wished to see that margin with cul but hopefully now a few of the coreen pple on this thread will keep their head pulled in and stop talking shit. welcome to the big time boys!

Lets see how Hume league teams get towelled up by CUL! there will be a few.

Overheard the Osborne 3rds Coach in his pre game rev up telling the kids that they were getting $15- a game. Is that common in the HFL to pay kids?

Also heard stories that they have 2nds players on $100- per game. Don't know how true that is, perhaps someone could confirm. Heard the same thing about a few other clubs too. I suppose that is a good way to get good numbers and playing strength out to those clubs that aren't based from townships with decent enough populations. Geez that creates a precedent doesn't it (and gives 16 year old kids a very bad habit of expecting $ to play a game of footy for the rest of theor playing days). Perhaps that is what ol' biggles meant about the "big time".:)

think your clutching at straws a bit mate,think u will find Leigh baker went to culcairn cause he thought they were better chance of winning premiership than holbrook,dnt think it had anything 2 do with interleague,if it did then well done to Shan Gilson,smart recruiting i believe!!:)

Dont forget Leigh Baker played in Culcairns Gf team in 2005.
Played juniors at both Culcairn and Holbrook, as he lived in between at Morven.

Dont forget Leigh Baker played in Culcairns Gf team in 2005.
Played juniors at both Culcairn and Holbrook, as he lived in between at Morven.

Joining into this discussion I am confused?? So the coach of Culcairn is the coach of the Inter League squad?? Is it normal to have a team coach the inter league coach?? For me it should be an outsider who gets to alot of different games. Actually Culcairn wouldn't have played everyone and therefore the coach wouldn't have seen all 'his' players play - no wonder there is 67 players named - just take everyone!!!

Don't really see anyone else challenging. havent seen it as open in many years, great for the comp. any thoughts?
Who are the likely big improvers in the comp and who will disappoint this season? Can R/W, B/B, Rennie or Murray Magpies lift a few rungs on the ladder as the season progresses?:confused::confused::confused: There are other clubs in the league outside of Cul, Holbrook, Jindera or Osborne worth talking about:rolleyes:

Good point Toey, i'm sick of reading about the same old sides on this forum. Rand/Walbundrie copped another thumping at the weekend, the Saints are a better side than last year (that wasnt hard) esp. if they have these new signings but are still a long way of the mark. Rennie has been surprising, very compitive outfit, copped a hideing from Osborne on Sat. but that can happen to even good sides. Magpies look like they are in for a long season and without the finances of some of the other lower clubs (eg B/B) would find it hard to sign anyone of any quality. Henty are better than a lot of people predicted they would be and might still win 4 or 5 games.:thumbsu:

Joining into this discussion I am confused?? So the coach of Culcairn is the coach of the Inter League squad?? Is it normal to have a team coach the inter league coach?? For me it should be an outsider who gets to alot of different games. Actually Culcairn wouldn't have played everyone and therefore the coach wouldn't have seen all 'his' players play - no wonder there is 67 players named - just take everyone!!!

I think Gilson is the ass. coach of Cul to Matty Klemke isn't he? A very good player but would have thought an external coach, or a senior coach at the least would have been the way to go much like the TDFL did last year or the year before. They had Copley to coach and all the senior coaches from the league were 'assistants' who gave imput to player selections etc with all the coaches attending the 1st training / selection session. From all reports it worked well and was good to promote the game as well. This would also stop the potential of using selections as a recruiting tool by coaches involved in club sides e.g. the leigh baker one as discussed in previous posts.

Also heard stories that they have 2nds players on $100- per game. Don't know how true that is, perhaps someone could confirm. Heard the same thing about a few other clubs too. I suppose that is a good way to get good numbers and playing strength out to those clubs that aren't based from townships with decent enough populations. Geez that creates a precedent doesn't it (and gives 16 year old kids a very bad habit of expecting $ to play a game of footy for the rest of theor playing days). Perhaps that is what ol' biggles meant about the "big time".:)

Osborne has loads of money. Thanks to a deceased farmer (15 odd years ago) who left the club his entire estate.