If AFL was any good....

MVFC_NMFC

Jul 13, 2007
it would have taken off already globally.

Discuss.

Actually, dont discuss. It hasnt taken off. But it continues to pump itself to the viewers back home. Pretty pathetic actually. Why hasn't it taken off? If it was the sport everyone claimed it was here...it would have exploded in South Africa by now? So where is the success? No where.

Stop watching C7, and reading the Herald Sun, because this joke a sport will never expand beyond these shores....wait did I say shores? I meant state borders. Remember, Sydney hates your sport, even "soccer" gets better coverage. Lol. And they call it football. Its the most read paper in Australia if you havent heard. Lol. Oh lol, oh lol, oh lol.

You know what I love? That the AFL is spending money on a project thats going to fail miserably, I hope they pump 10s of millions into it.

I heard Labor cut funding for codes like Union and League aswell.....didnt cut it for soccer. You know why? I could tell, but make your own mind up.

More importantly, the AFL needs to stop pretending its something its not. You, and your cronies might think that because you tackle people, everyone is going to be clamouring to watch this special sport. Newsflash guys, they're not. No one really cares.

No one really cares. Just let that sink in. I mentioned in another post that we have almost every continent cornered, and you have nothing. A country of 20 million people, of which only 4-5 million know, or care about the sport. Very sad. Very, very sad.

Enjoy Dubai aswell, I hear that soccer is by far the most popular sport in the UAE. Maybe Collingwood freshman Dale Thomas can win the hearts and minds of the Middle East, and convert them all from extremists to extreme AFL fans. That would be something hey?

I just cant believe how seriously you take yourselves in your world domination plans....it really is, as I said, pathetic. Did I mention no one really likes the sport, otherwise it would be the Worlds Number 1 sport? Sadly, its not, far from it.

Learn to play a real game. Even the major American sports are ALL better than this tripe.

Man I love real football. This *** s*** invented here is an abomination, as evidenced by the worlds "what the f*** is that" attitude towards the sport.

Anyway, good day, and go team soccer/football. Much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much better sport.

And ps, apparently ethnic wogs take Australian women aswell from the born and bred Aussie Rules blokes. Ethnics are what make this country great, without them, you'd be in a bad state. Cheerio and go Dees

I'll counter this (rather well written, if somewhat glossed over thoughts), with a question of my own...

why is soccer so huge on a global scale?

1. Anyone can play. At elite levels it takes elite skill, fitness, etc, etc. But anyone from age 2-62 can pick up and play. Why? the basic skills of kicking a spherical ball are exactly that, basic.

2. It is cheap/free to start. Being a round 'ball', it can literally be made out of anything, including 'fabricated' from materials found in local alleyways...

3. You can play with any numbers. As soon as you have two people you have a 'game'

4. You can play by yourself. Mini-games (like hackysack) mean you don't need friends to play - indeed the world's best players show off their skills using these games.

5. You can play anywhere. Mark out some goals (or just keepings off), and you have a soccer pitch.

6. If you are poor (and I mean destitute ala 3rd world countries, not aussie 'poverty'), but good at soccer, you can become incredibly rich. I've read stories of children as young as five taken from family to develop into soccer players, then providing for 3 or more generations if they come on.

7. Time. It's been established in some form or another for a LONG time.

So there's my answer to why Soccer is so huge = It essentially caters to the lowest denominator in each step. Least number of requirements to play (in terms of people, location, equipment, specialist skills, $$$). Maximum exposure (idolisation of country stars, 'way out' of financial misery, 'the world game').

So how does AFL compare? (they are marketing around the world as AFL, as even after 100 years we STILL don't have a good name to spread the word).

There is very little you can do by yourself. Even two players gets a bit boring.
The ball is oddly shaped, and (at least initially) you cannot predict the bounce.
The game is based around much larger distances than soccer, therefore very difficult to play in streets/alleyways. Remember kick-to-kick in the backyard when you were a kid? that had to stop when you were 5-6 as you kicked it into the neighbours yard all the time.
The ball spends much more time in the air, and further (faster?) in the air than soccer.
The game has really only been run 'professionally' for the last 20 or so years.
The game has never been marketed properly on an international scale. Personal experience has been that anyone who has ever watched it (admittadly US/Canadian/Irish/Scottish only) has been captured by the game's beauty, but it's purely a lack of exposure.

It's not a matter of being any good, it's a matter of being suitable for the people to play, and being marketed correctly.

At least AFL fans don't riot before or after games like soccer fans do.Dopey soccer fans think a 0-0 game is exciting.Watching the grass grow is more exciting than watching some pansy arse ****s who dive and play dead anytime they get the slighest bit of contact.Hopefully the next time Melbourne Victoryless play Sydney a few of the ferals knife each other to death.Now that would be exciting.

Soccer players are the biggest bunch of ********s

Surely this puff piece for the lovers of the round ball game needs to be in here....

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=404979&page=21

You soccer fans have the right to enjoy your chosen sport....personally I think it is played by a bunch of pillow biters and supported by the same.

What you don't have the right to do however is to come on to an AFL board and attempt to shove your crap game down our throat!!!

We don't care you morons!!

paula011_sk1n.jpg

I heard Labor cut funding for codes like Union and League aswell.....didnt cut it for soccer. You know why?

Yep.

The bloke running the show wants a trip to the World Cup & he wants to stitch up the vote of people who can't count into double digits.

Fancy thinking government policy would be related to anything other than self-interest.

I can tell you're a soccer fan.

Discuss.

Actually, dont discuss. It hasnt taken off. But it continues to pump itself to the viewers back home. Pretty pathetic actually. Why hasn't it taken off? If it was the sport everyone claimed it was here...it would have exploded in South Africa by now? So where is the success? No where.

Stop watching C7, and reading the Herald Sun, because this joke a sport will never expand beyond these shores....wait did I say shores? I meant state borders. Remember, Sydney hates your sport, even "soccer" gets better coverage. Lol. And they call it football. Its the most read paper in Australia if you havent heard. Lol. Oh lol, oh lol, oh lol.

You know what I love? That the AFL is spending money on a project thats going to fail miserably, I hope they pump 10s of millions into it.

I heard Labor cut funding for codes like Union and League aswell.....didnt cut it for soccer. You know why? I could tell, but make your own mind up.

More importantly, the AFL needs to stop pretending its something its not. You, and your cronies might think that because you tackle people, everyone is going to be clamouring to watch this special sport. Newsflash guys, they're not. No one really cares.

No one really cares. Just let that sink in. I mentioned in another post that we have almost every continent cornered, and you have nothing. A country of 20 million people, of which only 4-5 million know, or care about the sport. Very sad. Very, very sad.

Enjoy Dubai aswell, I hear that soccer is by far the most popular sport in the UAE. Maybe Collingwood freshman Dale Thomas can win the hearts and minds of the Middle East, and convert them all from extremists to extreme AFL fans. That would be something hey?

I just cant believe how seriously you take yourselves in your world domination plans....it really is, as I said, pathetic. Did I mention no one really likes the sport, otherwise it would be the Worlds Number 1 sport? Sadly, its not, far from it.

Learn to play a real game. Even the major American sports are ALL better than this tripe.

Man I love real football. This *** s*** invented here is an abomination, as evidenced by the worlds "what the f*** is that" attitude towards the sport.

Anyway, good day, and go team soccer/football. Much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much, much better sport.

And ps, apparently ethnic wogs take Australian women aswell from the born and bred Aussie Rules blokes. Ethnics are what make this country great, without them, you'd be in a bad state. Cheerio and go Dees

what an sbsolute douchbag!!!!

You soccer fans have the right to enjoy your chosen sport....personally I think it is played by a bunch of pillow biters and supported by the same.

Be very careful with that generalistaion. I happen to love AFL but I also happen to love soccer too. Does that make me a pillow biter?

Believe it or not people love both soccer and AFL so don't classify supporters as pillow biters for loving soccer.

Discuss.

Aside from the fact you don't even make sense half the time, you have the writing skills of a 2 year old.

Soccer may be #1 in terms of participation, but then again Ford sells more cars than Mercedes each year but it doesn't make it a better product!

If soccer is great why doesn't the A-League re-scheduled it season to winter up against the AFL and see how far it gets? The only reason soccer has nice stadiums such as Stadium Australia and Tesltra Dome is because they are paid for by AFL football being played there on a regular basis.

Be very careful with that generalistaion. I happen to love AFL but I also happen to love soccer too. Does that make me a pillow biter?

Believe it or not people love both soccer and AFL so don't classify supporters as pillow biters for loving soccer.

If the cap fits wear it!!

I have seen plenty of footy threads overrun by EPL dribble.

Take it to the soccer board.

If the cap fits wear it!!

I have seen plenty of footy threads overrun by EPL dribble.

Take it to the soccer board.

I happen to talk AFL on here so don't tell me to take anything to the soccer board. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Surely this puff piece for the lovers of the round ball game needs to be in here....

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=404979&page=21

What you don't have the right to do however is to come on to an AFL board and attempt to shove your crap game down our throat!!!

We don't care you morons!!
We only defend the world game when it is attacked by ignorant one-eyed bogans like yourself ****.
We have been coping shit for far too long by all media. Now it's time to get some respect back. If big footy posters didnt always waste their time bagging soccer then we wouldn't need to comment. As soon it's given back you cry.
I bet if you saw Muscat, Gascoigne, Roy Keane, Dennis Wise or Vinnie Jones done the street you wouldn't be telling them they are pillow biters, you would be cleaned and you would be the pillow biter.

We only defend the world game when it is attacked by ignorant one-eyed bogans like yourself ****.
We have been coping shit for far too long by all media. Now it's time to get some respect back. If big footy posters didnt always waste their time bagging soccer then we wouldn't need to comment. As soon it's given back you cry.
I bet if you saw Muscat, Gascoigne, Roy Keane, Dennis Wise or Vinnie Jones done the street you wouldn't be telling them they are pillow biters, you would be cleaned and you would be the pillow biter.

who they **** are they

dont bother answering i've already lost interest

This wasn't a defence tool!!

It was an open and blatant troll by one of your mob!!

I pointed out that there was already a thread about your game on here and that is where this crap should go.

It is an AFL board after all!!

Kevin Muscat!! Cheap two foot tackling thug!!

Gazza.....hahahahaha...Gazza:rolleyes:

Keane: Reknowned nutter and thug.

Wise: The only wise thing in him is his surname.

Vinnie: Cheap wanna be gangster who can't act!

:rolleyes:

I happen to talk AFL on here so don't tell me to take anything to the soccer board. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
Finally some sanity. I am with you mate. I love soccer and Aussie Rules but it's all these bogans who start ringing/writing etc when there is some positive soccer news released that offend me and piss me off. They dont realise they are offending people who love both games.

I hate cricket but I dont waste my time talking about it.

If Aussie Rules fans who hate soccer stopped their whinging or comparing of the two games then that would stop most soccer fans getting pissed off and retaliating.

Um, interesting poster. Let me get this right.

The original poster has Kangaroos as nominated club of support and then says "go dees" at the end of a sook about soccer being better than footy.

You are a very confused lad....were you born as a woman?

Oh keep your bloody knickers on.

Just because you support Freo doesn't mean that we have to agree on everything.

And believe me, we won't agree on everything either. That's just the way it is, difference in opinion.

If AFL was any good....