If Carlton begin to dominate the comp, will anybody but Blues fans respect them ?

Threads like these are a good example of how sooky-la-la modern football fans have become.

There is only one thing that people respect: success.

It doesn't matter how it is attained.

Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond used to buy their way to premierships, pinching good young footballers from rival clubs.
In the 1970's, North milked the short-lived "10 year rule" to buy their first two flags, while Hawthorn cleaned up with their country recruitment zones.

Later on these five clubs (plus Essendon) were the leading Victorian clubs at plundering the talent from WA and SA.

Geelong always had the natural advantage of their semi-rural environment in attracting country boys who found the pace of Melbourne too difficult. They also had a goldmine of talent to draw upon from the Western Districts.

The "socialism" of the AFL/VFL (draft and salary cap) undermined these advantages to the top clubs and helped poor clubs like Melbourne, Footscray and St Kilda to compete with the big boys. They have received numerous top 5 draft picks and priority picks.

St Kilda's under Malcolm Blight and Tim Watson were massive under-achievers from 2000-2002. They should've been in the hunt for a top 8 finish in those years. Instead, they finished 16th, 15th and 15th and received great assistance at the draft table, plus they were able to use Butters' cash and their position in the Pre-Season draft to leverage themselves advantageous trades (Hamill, Gehrig, Lawrence, Powell, Gram, etc)

West Coast were gift-wrapped their flags in 1992 and 1994 when the VFL admin handed them the WA state team.
Both Adelaide and Port Adelaide hid a number of players away from their rivals when they first entered the competition - their flags of 1997, 1998 and 2004 were full of players from their initial lists from their inaugural season.

Brisbane received their pick of Fitzroy's list in 1997, plus they given extra salary cap space.
Sydney was also given extra salary cap space - the spuriously named "cost of living" allowance - which they used to recruit a number of good recruits as well as hold onto their stars.

People have said that Geelong have proved you don't need top draft picks to succeed, but this gives a false picture. As many people have said, Geelong have hit paydirt with the father son rule. Imagine their list without Gary Ablett, Nathan Ablett, Matthew Scarlett, Tom Hawkins and Mark Blake. Then throw in all of their top 8 picks: Jim Bartel, Joel Selwood, Andrew Mackie, Joel Corey and Steven King from the Supplementary Draft of 1994. Geelong have profited from the rules and bottom 8 finishes more than most people think.

Good luck to them and every other premiership side. I don't bring this up because I'm jealous or because I'm trying to detract from their successes.

To achieve the ultimate success, clubs have to build their list in whatever way they can.

Whether they have the "respect" of a handful of peanuts or sooks on Big Footy is irrelevant.

I would respect them for being the dominant team, what exactly is your point? Is this a trick question??

I mean fair dinkum, Chris Judd, concessions, first draft picks every year, tanking, salary cap rorts, lamentable performances.

Unfortunately, the flaws in the system are there for all to see. It isnt Carlton's fault they have exposed them and utilised all seemingly legal methods to use the system to their advantage.

Good luck to them, I suppose.

I've seen on other threads that their supporters are happy to support their mediocrity if it is all in the name of rebuilding the team for the future. And thats fine too.

But if they were to give up early draft selections for a certain high profile player thats currently uncontracted, it throws all the rebuilding out the door and stinks of cutting corners. If it all blows up on them, then after all they have been through and been guilty of, they deserve everything they get.

I wouldnt want to see the Pies early draft picks or promising youngsters going west for that man, and am pleased Carlton have attracted him to play for them. But at what cost?

They have sold their souls before, so why not now?

West Coast got Judd wih a priority pick - do we respect their success??

Yeah but unless you call hiring Ken Judge tanking, they didn't tank their way to it.

Carlton are still a ways off though. Anyone who thinks Kreuzer is going to be a good ruckman from day 1 is on some good shit and they have absolutely no ruckman elsewhere. Not AFL calibre ones anyway. They dont have a decent CHF, they dont have a FB or CHB. They don't have most positions covered. Judd isn't that good, they probably dont get close to a flag during his first contract. They really needed another year of tanking.

Also... proof they are tanking... they keep a coach who doesn't come close to winning a game? You can't fire the guy for doing what he is told, so you keep him.

Threads like these are a good example of how sooky-la-la modern football fans have become.

Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond used to buy their way to premierships, pinching good young footballers from rival clubs.
In the 1970's, North milked the short-lived "10 year rule" to buy their first two flags, while Hawthorn cleaned up with their country recruitment zones.

Later on these five clubs (plus Essendon) were the leading Victorian clubs at plundering the talent from WA and SA.

Geelong always had the natural advantage of their semi-rural environment in attracting country boys who found the pace of Melbourne too difficult. They also had a goldmine of talent to draw upon from the Western Districts.

The "socialism" of the AFL/VFL (draft and salary cap) undermined these advantages to the top clubs and helped poor clubs like Melbourne, Footscray and St Kilda to compete with the big boys. They have received numerous top 5 draft picks and priority picks.

St Kilda's under Malcolm Blight and Tim Watson were massive under-achievers from 2000-2002. They should've been in the hunt for a top 8 finish in those years. Instead, they finished 16th, 15th and 15th and received great assistance at the draft table, plus they were able to use Butters' cash and their position in the Pre-Season draft to leverage themselves advantageous trades (Hamill, Gehrig, Lawrence, Powell, Gram, etc)

West Coast were gift-wrapped their flags in 1992 and 1994 when the VFL admin handed them the WA state team.
Both Adelaide and Port Adelaide hid a number of players away from their rivals when they first entered the competition - their flags of 1997, 1998 and 2004 were full of players from their initial lists from their inaugural season.

Brisbane received their pick of Fitzroy's list in 1997, plus they given extra salary cap space.
Sydney was also given extra salary cap space - the spuriously named "cost of living" allowance - which they used to recruit a number of good recruits as well as hold onto their stars.

People have said that Geelong have proved you don't need top draft picks to succeed, but this gives a false picture. As many people have said, Geelong have hit paydirt with the father son rule. Imagine their list without Gary Ablett, Nathan Ablett, Matthew Scarlett, Tom Hawkins and Mark Blake. Then throw in all of their top 8 picks: Jim Bartel, Joel Selwood, Andrew Mackie, Joel Corey and Steven King from the Supplementary Draft of 1994. Geelong have profited from the rules and bottom 8 finishes more than most people think.

Good luck to them and every other premiership side. I don't bring this up because I'm jealous or because I'm trying to detract from their successes.

To achieve the ultimate success, clubs have to build their list in whatever way they can.

Whether they have the "respect" of a handful of peanuts or sooks on Big Footy is irrelevant.
Outstanding post.:thumbsu:

Chewy, very good post. I agree with most of what you say.

Whichever way you look at it premiership teams overcome hurdles to win, some have had advantages given to them- such as Brisbane and Sydney - but they still had to recruit well, (Goodes was at pick 40? something), they still needed good coaching staff, and they still needed everything to fall into place at the right time.

Threads like these are a good example of how sooky-la-la modern football fans have become...

Gram was traded for pick 23 in the National Draft - not the pre-season draft. Further, don't recall Butterss dolling out the cash in the same sense that Pratt is.

But back to the issue at hand - will be very interested to see whether Juddy lands a job at Visy for $1 million per year. Outside the salary cap of course.

Bitter opposition supporters will always find a way to discredit another teams achievements.
That's it in a nutshell. Lions won three flags and we keep hearing about concessions and Lynchy's steroids and cooling vests and saline drips and whatever else the Lions had the guts to pioneer. Cousins drug problem is supposed to take away from the awesome football that the Eagles have played for a few years. Sydney - AFL love child, tribunal favouritism, concessions ... and so the story goes.

Most supporters are not magnanimous enough to acknowledge anyone else unless there is something in it for them.

I dare say if we were to win another flag after the past 6 seasons we have gone through, we wouldn't be turning to others for validation anyway.

West Coast got Judd wih a priority pick - do we respect their success??

Actually not a great point...in reality we got Sampi with a priority pick. If priorities didn't exist, we would have got Judd with plain old pick 3 and missed out on Sampi.

And to your second point, many don't respect West Coast's success, but not because of picks. ;)

That's it in a nutshell. Lions won three flags and we keep hearing about concessions and Lynchy's steroids and cooling vests and saline drips and whatever else the Lions had the guts to pioneer. Cousins drug problem is supposed to take away from the awesome football that the Eagles have played for a few years. Sydney - AFL love child, tribunal favouritism, concessions ... and so the story goes.

Most supporters are not magnanimous enough to acknowledge anyone else unless there is something in it for them.

I dare say if we were to win another flag after the past 6 seasons we have gone through, we wouldn't be turning to others for validation anyway.

Great post. :thumbsu:

Even when we were dominating the comp, opposition supporters weren't giving us much respect (unless you think that rating a team is a sign of respect). I don't expect too many of them to show any if we manage to have some good on-field results. And why should we care? If we manage to come good, the lack of respect some opposition supporters will be showing us will not mean much.

I used to respect Carlton, especially in the years they dominated, had some great players and were the club with all the money. That has all changed now, the cheating was bad enough but to see a side tank as they did and have their supporters condoning it was enough for me to lose any respect I had for them ,
add to that the fact that Carlton wanted to see the demise of a few Vic clubs.
The club has even welcomed the main cheat Elliot back.
And why should you care? To say you don't is just a throw away line, a snub if you like but I think it would be abnormal not to care , people say they don't respect the Saints because of their lack of success, I can live with that, not much a financially battling , low number supporter base club like StKilda could do about it really but if it was for the reasons stated earlier then I would be concerned.
People have long memories.

PS I know "you" didn't condone the tanking.

I used to respect Carlton, especially in the years they dominated, had some great players and were the club with all the money. That has all changed now, the cheating was bad enough but to see a side tank as they did and have their supporters condoning it was enough for me to lose any respect I had for them ,
add to that the the fact that Carlton wanted to see the demise of a few Vic clubs.
The club has even welcomed the main cheat Elliot back.
And why should you care? To say you don't is just a throw away line, a snub if you like but I think it would be abnormal not to care , people say they don't respect the Saints because of their lack of success, I can live with that, not much a financially battling , low number supporter base club like StKilda could do about it really but if it was for the reasons stated earlier then I would be concerned.
People have long memories.

PS I know you didn't condone the tanking.
you are full of shit!!!

Because you know you wouldn't get it. You have gone through what you have deserved to go through .

If Carlton begin to dominate the comp, will anybody but Blues fans respect them ?