Opinion If we lose the Prelim....

Not achieving the ultimate is a failure in the pure sense of the intent.Not making the grannie would be a major disappointment because of the hard work and home final.

But we have had a very successful year, made massive inroads into future success, our respect etc etc etc.

You could not but be incredibly happy with our achievements this year and for once be expecting we give a Premiership a massive shake next year\s.
and we will have a massive increase in membership...I hope. We will gradually creep up to the WCE.

You would be wrong. You have to consider what failure means. There is ultimately only one success, to attain that success, you have to treat all instances where you did not achieve it as failures.

Bullshit. If you treat every unsuccessful attempt at something as failure, you will never ever be a success, you will never ever succeed. The difference between winners and losers is winners take the positives from things that don't go there way, they consolidate their knowledge of what it requires to succeed, and use it as a foundation to build upon and set higher standards.

If you only ever focus on the negatives, or failures,you will never have the belief that what you do is good enough.

Simple improvement can't be called a success, because it isn't.

It absolutely is. It's a success or a failure at achieving or coming closer to achieving goals. Is kicking a goal unsuccessful because you don't win the game? Is winning one game unsuccessful because you don't win the flag? No, it's not.

The very ****ing idea that there is only one absolute success is ****ing r3tarded. Success isn't ****ing binary, it's not made up of succeed or fail, it's made up of succeeding here, failing there, succeeding again. It's getting to the point where it's not even worth arguing about it now, because some people are just so ****ing stupid, but I'll say it one last time. Failing at one goal, does not detract from the fact that you succeeded at many others.

If Fremantle don't make the grand final, Sandilands, Pavlich, and McPharlin won't be saying to themselves "oh well, earning a home prelim is better than we expected, pretty good season overall".

Disappointment is a different topic than success, which is where I think most of the dildos in here are getting caught up. Every single one of us would be disappointed if we didn't win a flag, especially now that we are so close, but winning one ****ing game does not detract from the fact that we went from 8th-3rd, had the best record in our history, knocked off arguably the best team in the modern era in an away Qualifying Final, and played off in a Prelim/GF. These are all successes. Those things are ****ing set in stone, and forever will be, losing a prelim/GF will never ever change that.

Ultimately, it all boils down to the fact that there are a myriad of challenges and hurdles to win a game, make the 9, make the 4, win a QF, make/win a Prelim, make/win a GF, there are a lot of smaller successes needed for a bigger success. Not succeeding at one of those challenges, by logic/fat/whatever way you want to look at it, renders the other a failure.

People need to be able to put their ****ing emotions aside regarding whether or not they think we can/should win the flag, and look at it analyitcally.

Anyway, I'm done wasting my time with dumb people, enjoy the thread folks, that's my last reply here.

This argument about Failure and success is pretty ridiculous. If we don't win the flag, of course it's a failure, we are every realistic chance of doing so. But so what? Doesn't mean the team didn't do bloody well regardless. You learn and build from failing, that's life.

Why would anyone call losing a success?

The H&A season was success as we finished top 4 and put ourselves in with a chance. The finals "new season that counts" would be considered a failure now after earning a home PF if we didn't make the GF.

Indeed. I would argue that there is no point in the preseason where goals such as "make top four" or "make finals" are defined. The language from all clubs is fairly similar - "we're focused on round 1", "you're only as good as your last game", "we're taking it one week at a time", "play each game as if it's your last" etc. They may sound like empty cliches, but they give a fair insight into how clubs think. The benchmarks are probably no more than the following:

1. Win your next game (excluding unique situations like the St Kilda game)
2. Win more games than you lose overall
3. Go out on a win - win your last game

There really isn't any time the context of the entire season is considered, aside from each player desiring to win the ultimate prize. If your last game is a loss, or you've spent the season losing as often as you've won, then there is no "success".

If Port lose tomorrow, they won't consider 2013 a success.

Ripper - that's the distinction isn't it. The OP asked if we thought the *season* would be a success if we lost the prelim. Holistically - i'd still say yes, on the proviso that should we lose the prelim, it is only because we threw everything at it and couldn't quite get up, lost players, were r*ped by the umps, suffered an Act of God, or another reason that mitigates all the positive probabilities that point towards us winning. If we win the prelim and lose to Hawthorn in the final - the answer for me would still be yes.

In my opinion, the club stated a goal at the start of the year that we needed to be top 4 to maximise our chances for the finals. We've achieved that - it's a tick there already. We're shooting above what I would have hoped the club could achieve, and overall I consider the season successful if we continue to give great effort through the finals. Should we lose having given great effort - I'll still be happy ;)

Does that make me wrong - that I don't measure success solely against a premiership? No - my benchmarks for how I gauge the teams performance are my own - and so my definition of success is my own. Which is something that other responders on this thread struggle to wrap their heads around.

I dont blame JungleMuffinFTW for bowing out - there's only so many times you can state a view and go around in circles bashing your head on a brick wall. People disagree. Move on.

In my opinion, the club stated a goal at the start of the year that we needed to be top 4 to maximise our chances for the finals. We've achieved that - it's a tick there already.

To me it seems like you misunderstood what the club has said. It is always expressed as "to win a premiership, you have to ..."

Whether that is make top four, have excellent defence, scoring ability, etc. The goal stated by the club is win a premiership. What comes next is the requirements necessary to achieve that.

You posting on the sauce again?

I agree with what your trying to say somewhere in that post, but that's the wrong way to go expressing it.

How's that? A couple of stars to add to the tone?

I'll leave the average gags to you, and seeing how that is all you are as a moderator and poster, you can leave the serious posts to the big boy posters.

Mod least capable of having a solid opinion and or discussion.

Cheers mate.

I think clogged broke Jungle Muffin :eek:

Hardly.

I kind of get that it's the entire point of talking to thick campaigners, which 99.9% of this forum comprises, but chosing to not waste my life butting heads with 2 short planks is hardly breaking anything. Better things to do than repeat myself 15 times to educate dunces.

I think it's fair to say he didn't understand what I was talking about, and his visceral reaction to the term suggests he quite deeply fears being considered a failure by himself and others.

Don't run your mouth son. I may be wrong, but from memory, you're the hot shot glamour poster offering to explain things for me, to which offer I wholeheartedly accepted.

Funny how you didn't reply after that, hey big boy?

Appears to me, only one of us was scared of failure, and it wasn't the poster who stepped up the the plate eh?

Everything you said in your post tells me the only things you know about winning, are what you read from Michael Jordan quotes. You aren't a winner.

Which responders, Arcassius?

You.

How's that? A couple of stars to add to the tone?

I'll leave the average gags to you, and seeing how that is all you are as a moderator and poster, you can leave the serious posts to the big boy posters.

Mod least capable of having a solid opinion and or discussion.

Cheers mate.
Leave the abuse out Jungle.

Have a day off to think about your behaviour...

Sorry I just can't understand this. I am predicting when Port lose tomorrow Hinkley and/or Boak will say they have had a successful season in their post match interviews. And I personally would agree with them.

Kochy already said as much during the footy show. They're proud as punch of what the guys have achieved this season - all they hoped for in the Collingwood game was that the boys put up a fight to win some respect from the competition and they achieved so much more than that.

Don't run your mouth son. I may be wrong, but from memory, you're the hot shot glamour poster offering to explain things for me, to which offer I wholeheartedly accepted.

Funny how you didn't reply after that, hey big boy?

Appears to me, only one of us was scared of failure, and it wasn't the poster who stepped up the the plate eh?

Everything you said in your post tells me the only things you know about winning, are what you read from Michael Jordan quotes. You aren't a winner.

I explained in other posts, to Arcassius. I am not sure why I had to directly address you.

clogged We obviously disagree on how we view things - if you didn't pick up on the hint at the bottom of my post - I'm moving on. It's all moot in the end since the OP was asking for personal opinions, and ours differ.

I have stated that fans may disagree on views. Any fan can enjoy the season as they please. The club however will see it differently if they lose the prelim. They will see the season as a failure.

If we lose I'm not sure ill consider it a success but, unlike 2006, I'll at least have that win in Geelong to keep me warm for years to come

Opinion If we lose the Prelim....