I'll Kill You -Goodwin article

sworc36 said:
Rebekah Devlin a nice girl maybe, but she damn well has it in for the crows.
Hi everyone, been hanging around BF for some time reading your comments and as a full on Crows supporter enjoying what you guys have to say.
Now back to Rebekah. let me give everyone a little insight into what she is about. I have read quite a few articles that she has written about the Crows all of which are very opinionated and anti. She is a self-confessed Essendon wanna be Port Power supporter, lives in the Port and hangs around the Crows Tavern for any grimey little stories on the Crows. So I was not surprised she was the one that wrote the story. Every chance she gets she sticks the knife in.
You know I don't condone what Simon did for one moment,and yes he is a public figure but its because of who he is that he gets so much attention. These players do lots for charity so they certainly put back into the community, but I suppose those are pretty boring stories. Anyway thats my opinion for what its worth.
Welcome aboard mate :) :thumbsu:

Anyone thats been on a footy trip would have a fair idea what was happening.

Probably biggest mistake made by Goodwin was going outside and confronting the reporter.... turned a probable couple photos and a couple lines in paper into "apparently" a couple pages and the lead story.

outback jack said:
anyone who says 'is that a threat' deserves to be killed really. You could just imagine how he said it too.

He could've been depressed and on the verge of suicide. So he may have said it like, 'Is that a threat or a promise?'.

Stiffy_18 said:
I don't buy the rag tiser. We get a few copies at work that circulate the offices. I only buy sunday mail. Thats in.

On the whole issue what a ********ing beat up. Thats New Idea / Women's weekly standards.

The 2 things that got a chuckle from a few people at work this morning were Huddo's and Craigy's comments. Those are classics :D

What did Huddo say?
From previous interviews he seems like a pretty funny bloke.

I know a bloke who works at the Craptiser ... not a journo - who tells me the story has caused some grief inside the Advertiser building. He says plenty of reporters thought the coverage was ridiculous and that the editor had lost the plot. And apparently there were other witnesses at the scene who saw the incident but they were ignored in the story. Obviously didn't fit the lopsided slant of the story. I'd love to be a fly on the wall the next time the Advertiser asks the Crows to interview a player. :p

GERVAIS said:
This affair smells of opportunism. The Advertiser have taken advantage of a slow news day to wring every last drop out of a small story.

well put. there is a story here, but it's a small one.

frankly how small would the story have been if Goody didn't get fed up?

"Crows stars out for a drink before christmas!" - NEWSFLASH

Oh, and by the way. If Goodwin was as sozzled as the Advertiser claimed, surely the Crows wouldn't have rolled him out a few hours later for a press conference in front of all the camera and an Advertiser reporter.

Blind Fred said:
I know a bloke who works at the Craptiser ... not a journo - who tells me the story has caused some grief inside the Advertiser building. He says plenty of reporters thought the coverage was ridiculous and that the editor had lost the plot. And apparently there were other witnesses at the scene who saw the incident but they were ignored in the story. Obviously didn't fit the lopsided slant of the story. I'd love to be a fly on the wall the next time the Advertiser asks the Crows to interview a player. :p
G'day Fred, I've heard the same stories from inside the Advertiser walls. Apparently a LOT of the reporters are really embarrassed by the coverage and are very worried the Crows (and a few other high-profile sporting types) are going to ban them. The only ones who thought it was a good idea was the editor and a few of his stooges, led by the totally talentless Bek Devlin.
the next time the ADvertiser asks to interview a Crows player they'll tell them to f..k off ... and rightly so.
Their treatment of the story was a disgrace - but we shouldn't be surprised by now, I guess.

Blind Fred said:
The incident itself has caused some short term damage, publicity, angst or whatever but will be forgotten in a few days as it looks as though no legal action is pending (much to Port supporters disappointment), nor should it.

The longer term result, as you suggest, will be relations between SA's number one AFL side and number one newspaper (sic) which will be frosty to say the least. Get ready for even more favourable Port Power stories next year. As for the AFC and individual players - give 'em nothing.

Ford Fairlane said:
Taking into account all his actions, what Goodwin did would appear to constitute an assault on the photographer. This makes him liable both criminally and civilly. There are witnesses to both the verbal and physical acts (and Goodwin as much as admits the physical response in his apology). So maybe you should consider him lucky that he's not facing a magistrate and this isn't hanging over his head for the season (given the time these things can take to resolve).

what rubbish. the same is technically true everytime someone curses a bouncer or parking inspector, or whatever it is drunk people do.

step outside the fishbowl and into the real world.

outbackjack said:
anyone who says 'is that a threat' deserves to be killed really. You could just imagine how he said it too.

Well said Jacky Boy!

Honestly in Simon's posistion who among us wouldn't of done the same thing?

The photographers can't seem to help themselves! Can you imagine being a celebrity, having the media watch your every move, follow you to the beach, on family outings, during celebrations where you want to let your hair down while they are in your face snap, snap, snapping away with their sly cheeky grins wondering how much the shots will earn them. Seriously, if i was a celebrity in such a position, i would have decked numerous photographers, and im a chick!

thepowerwithin_30 said:
The photographers can't seem to help themselves! Can you imagine being a celebrity, having the media watch your every move, follow you to the beach, on family outings, during celebrations where you want to let your hair down while they are in your face snap, snap, snapping away with their sly cheeky grins wondering how much the shots will earn them. Seriously, if i was a celebrity in such a position, i would have decked numerous photographers, and im a chick!

thats the bigest problem here- the media/celebrity cult. We live in very dumbed downed society today . if noone read this stuff - no demand - then thered be no reason for the print media supplying this

unfortunately adelaide is percieved as the most dumb downed major city in oz and the local paper is a big part of it. its a fact. its a shame :thumbsdown:

The Crows Truth said:
thats the bigest problem here- the media/celebrity cult. We live in very dumbed downed society today . if noone read this stuff - no demand - then thered be no reason for the print media supplying this

unfortunately adelaide is percieved as the most dumb downed major city in oz and the local paper is a big part of it. its a fact. its a shame :thumbsdown:

exactly, i hope the bloody Advertiser goes out of business, before it does, im writing a letter to the editor about all this, not that it will be published. The Advertiser only ever publishes fabricated rumours and hear say anyway.

Crow-mosone said:
what rubbish. the same is technically true everytime someone curses a bouncer or parking inspector, or whatever it is drunk people do.

Get over yourself Cro-Mo, it was just an opinion based on a legal interpretation. As usual of course it's only you who responds so vitriolically and just as usual without substance. Nothing surprising there I suppose. if you actually paid attention, Goodwin admitted 'physically mishandling' the photographer, while denying the threat. You're right about one thing - the same is technically true, so the photographer, like anyone else, has the opportunity for recourse thru legal or civil means if he so chooses. And that, my friend, is the real world. Check what Russell Crowe's skirmish with the real world cost him.

However, before I get further misinterpreted here, I agree with what most people are saying ... this has been blown incredibly out of proportion by the tiser and I wonder if they might be regretting it now.

Ford Fairlane said:
Get over yourself Cro-Mo, it was just an opinion based on a legal interpretation.

i think you just got the point. well done :thumbsu:

perhaps in the new year you can regale us with other boorish legal technicalities, is it still illegal to wear yellow on the sabbath?

Crow-mosone said:

Actually he's right as one time i grabbed someone by the throat and the security men told me that i was lucky as i could be up for assault if the other guy wanted to press charges.

Mr Magoo said:
Actually he's right as one time i grabbed someone by the throat and the security men told me that i was lucky as i could be up for assault if the other guy wanted to press charges.

that's what a technicality is, something that strictly could be pursued.
it is also the local domaine of the obsequious.

after all why stop there, did Goodwin cross the road against the lights, perhaps he could have been charged with a traffic violation as well???

You will all be pleased to know that Adelaide Confidential ran a very pleasant family friendly article on the Port leadership group wishing members and supporters a Merry Christmas, with a group shot of the guys sipping Cibo coffee decked out in red Santa hats. Very wholesome.

Not that I'd want to feed your paranoia or anything ... ;)

Crow-mosone said:
i think you just got the point. well done :thumbsu:

perhaps in the new year you can regale us with other boorish legal technicalities, is it still illegal to wear yellow on the sabbath?

Boorish? You might want to check your Funk and Wagnalls on that .. unless it was a Freudian slip self-reflection ... ;)

I'm not sure about the yellow on the Sabbath thing, but given your interest in the topic the following may be of some assistance:

Laura Schlessinger is a US radio personality who dispenses advice to
people who call in to her radio show. Recently, she said that
homosexuality is an abomination according to Leviticus 18:22 and cannot
be condoned in any circumstance. The following is an open letter to
Dr.Laura penned by a US resident and also posted on the Internet:

Dear Dr. Laura:

Thank you for doing so much to educate people regarding God's Law. I
have learned a great deal from your show, and I try to share that
knowledge with as many people as I can. When someone tries to defend the
homosexual lifestyle, for example, I simply remind them that Leviticus
18:22 clearly states it to be an abomination. End of debate. I do need
some advice from you, however, regarding some of the laws and how to
follow them.

a) When I burn a bull on the altar as a sacrifice, I know it creates a
pleasing odor for the Lord (Lev. 1:9). The problem is my neighbors. They
claim the odor is not pleasing to them. Should I smite them?

b) I would like to sell my daughter into slavery, as sanctioned in
Exodus 21:7. In this day and age, what do you think would be a fair
price for her?

c) Lev. 25:44 states that I may indeed possess slaves, both male and
female, provided they are purchased from neighboring nations. A friend
of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans, but not Canadians. Can you
clarify? Why can't I own Canadians?

d) I have a neighbor who insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2
learly states he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill
him myself?

e) A friend of mine feels that even though eating shellfish is an
abomination (Lev. 11:10), it is a lesser abomination than homosexuality.
I don't agree. Can you settle this?

f) Lev. 21:20 states that I may not approach the altar of God if I have
a defect in my sight. I have to admit that I wear reading glasses. Does
my vision have to be 20/20, or is there some wiggle room here?

g) Most of my male friends get their hair trimmed, including the hair
around their temples, even though this is expressly forbidden by
Lev.19:27. How should they die?

h) I know from Lev. 11:6-8 that touching the skin of a dead pig makes me
unclean, but may I still play football if I wear gloves?

i) My uncle has a farm. He violates Lev. 19:19 by planting two different
crops in the same field, as does his wife by wearing garments made of
two different kinds of thread (cotton/polyester blend). He also tends to
curse and blaspheme a lot. Is it really necessary that we go to all the
trouble of getting the whole town together to stone them?
(Lev.24:10-16). Couldn't we just burn them to death at a private family
affair like we do with people who sleep with their in-laws? (Lev. 20:14)

I know you have studied these things extensively, so I am confident you
can help. Thank you again for reminding us that God's word is eternal
and unchanging. Your devoted disciple and adoring fan.