In defence of Caroline Wilson

Adz

Aug 17, 2003
Make no mistake, I'm not a Wilson apologist but feel the need to say something.
The abuse she has been copping over the past few days (and year in general) is pretty disgraceful.
I don't get it when people say "does she even watch the game?" or "why doesn't she write about a game?".
Well that's not her position. She watches plenty of footy and is found giving her opinion on a game when need be.

Also, the memes made about her are pretty poor. Seen some pretty vile stuff shared.
Why doesn't Barrett cop this treatment? Or Patrick Smith who borders on crazy at times
Wilson is a much better journalist and writer than him.

She breaks big stories and is usually pretty measured in her views.
In regards to her Swan comment, it is her role to be a bit controversial.
If Hutchy had said this I've no doubt it would have been dismissed as a flippant comment.

She is one of the few female footy jounos and should be lauded, not insulted.

She's doing a great job at reporting on Essendon scandal and because she is outspoken people label her a troll etc.

Even if you don't agree with her commentary pieces "Hird must go" etc you have to respect her point, which more than often provides a valid argument.

The calling her a 'witch' and some of the terrible stuff I've seen needs to stop.
It's not on.

Have to agree with your post. There is no need for vicious memes and all the other vile stuff. People don't get it - Caro/Smith etc can write everyday that Essendon should get rid of Hird and Collingwood should get rid of Swan, but their opinions have no influence on the decision-makers at Collingwood and Essendon.

In my experience people who attack people's appearance have a pretty weak argument. Hence the ad hominem attacks.

It's not that she's controversial it's that she talks so much bullshit.

The latest north rubbish a prime example.

Her role is to report not set an agenda she should simply write an article state the facts that's it. The Hird saga a prime example.

She should simply detail what's going on not be calling for his head, that should be left to us anonymous Internet experts on bigfooty.

I agree the flack she cop's is over the top, and unnecessary but that's no defence for her being a hack.

The abuse she has been copping over the past few days (and year in general) is pretty disgraceful.
I don't get it when people say "does she even watch the game?" or "why doesn't she write about a game?".
Well that's not her position. She watches plenty of footy and is found giving her opinion on a game when need be.

Also, the memes made about her are pretty poor. Seen some pretty vile stuff shared.
Why doesn't Barrett cop this treatment? Or Patrick Smith who borders on crazy at times

If Hutchy had said this I've no doubt it would have been dismissed as a flippant comment.

She's doing a great job at reporting on Essendon scandal and because she is outspoken people label her a troll etc.

Even if you don't agree with her commentary pieces "Hird must go" etc you have to respect her point, which more than often provides a valid argument.

The calling her a 'witch' and some of the terrible stuff I've seen needs to stop.
It's not on.

Very funny post, mate, but sarcasm is not apparent on the internet.

Still found it very amusing, though, so keep it up!

The bit about "he'd heard the rumour too" as some sort of justification or evidence for the Swan thing was pretty flimsy.

Think she does a good job in general but reckon she's got these ones wrong and will cop a bit.

As is always the case, when someone who has put lots of people offside makes a mistake, every jilted party will take the opportunity to go to town on her to make up for all the times when her criticisms were valid and they couldn't say anything.

Edit - Brayshaw has called her on it. Basically demanding an apology "or else" with the threat implied, not said.

Will be interesting to see what happens.

NM would want to have their house in order. They might get their "apology" but she'll be digging for something to hit back with.

I dont mind Caro stirring the pot a bit, and she cops an absolute belting from pretty much everyone, including those on Footy Classified, but she keeps coming back for more. Now I'm not like some on here who read every article by every journalist on everything and anything to do with football, but yeh I reckon there are too many people who take her comments extremely personal and to heart. She's a journo and tv personality, her job isn't just to report facts, it's also to form an opinion and to say what she has or has not heard, that's what she is on tv for. People just really need to relax a little.

Edit - Brayshaw has called her on it. Basically demanding an apology "or else" with the threat implied, not said.

Will be interesting to see what happens.

NM would want to have their house in order. They might get their "apology" but she'll be digging for something to hit back with.

She would be there sifting through our garbage looking for something to pin on Brayshaw regardless. She can't give us more attention than she already is.

She will probably write an article on how Lindsay Thomas is corrupting the rest of the small forwards causing them to dive or something.

Its not just what she says, its the way she says it. Her body language is just disgraceful and it's like she portrays hate within everything degrading that she says, and people dont like that unfortunately for her. She wouldn't just cop everything she is getting for no reason, even the players are becoming fed up with it.

Ive got time for Emma Quayle. Best female journalist in the land no doubt. As for the other female journalist at that paper, not so much.

Caro got her gig on the back of her old man. Same way that other flog Sam Lane got a gig. These two have absolutely no respect for mine and its clear they get little recognition from the public due to the way they have entered and operated in the media. They werent doing time in the local paper or overnight radio, no. They got in on the back of Daddys name.
If you want to be respected and revered as a journalist you gotta do the hard yards. These two have come in and have tried sensationalist journalism from the get go.

After getting info fed like a fat pet by the AFL all of 2007 and going all out on North moving to GC, JB came in kept the club at Arden St and made her look like a fool. This after all the screen shots of her headlines with her name printed and image spluttered everywhere- made to look like an amateur show. Took it to heart as her agenda failed. Tough luck.

If you want to base yourself as an opinionated and radical writer your going to get it wrong sometimes and if you want to mix it with the big boys youve gotta cop it on the chin and move on. No professional would engage in a vendetta, surely. A vendetta or 3 perhaps.

Just like she called for Eddie to give it up in 2009, his mob won the flag in 2010.
And since her boy had a blew with Swanny at the races- surely she wouldnt persue him also. Just a list of what a clown she really is.

The sooner she puts the pen down and fades away into irrelevance it will be a great day for football.

I really enjoy her work on Footy Classified.

Yes while she is in the spotlight her errors would be amplified, but the vast majority of the time she is accurate, interesting, and she always has a valid argument (even if I sometimes doubt a premise or two, but you'll often get that in journalism). If I disagree with her, I can always understand where she is coming from.

I notice people seem to direct their disappointment of afl media culture at her. Possibly her gender makes this process easier to trigger.

She's quality at what she does IMO and one the more enjoyable media personalities on TV. And I don't mind if it's an unpopular opinion either!

Have to agree with your post. There is no need for vicious memes and all the other vile stuff. People don't get it - Caro/Smith etc can write everyday that Essendon should get rid of Hird and Collingwood should get rid of Swan, but their opinions have no influence on the decision-makers at Collingwood and Essendon.

+1
Lets not forget her prime focus is to generate paper sales and web hits, if you don`t like her opinion then don`t read her articles, people go way overboard with their reactions, some of the memes i`ve seen are just terrible.

Good OP. I agree with all of it.

She gets a disproportionate amount of angst on both this forum and in the public one.

Im not really interested in the aspects of the game she reports on but if it weren't her busting the controversy and raking the muck, it would be someone else.

It is what it is, I have no particular issue with her

It's not on.
Sorry but Caro has dug herself a big hole falsly reporting various issues that are untrue and her views on the Essendon saga are pretty ordinary with most sections of the football community disagreeing with her calls for Hird to stand down based on nothing being prooven yet. She is a disgraceful journalist who needs to think about standing down herself before pre emting anyone else to stand down. I am good friends with a certain AFL footballer who i wont name and the general consensus amonsgt players, clubs, administration dept etc is that Caro has no credibility amongst the AFL community because not only of her views but her constant ill reporting of the truth in a lot of her articles

In defence of Caroline Wilson