In Harry O'Brien's defence..

I dont do Twitter but love when anyone posts the dribble he writes, I heard he was even "tweeting" during the Brownlow...lol seriously Harry cant you give it a rest for 5 mins you'll get blisters

So from what i can gather, harry has broken the NUMBER ONE RULE of being australian.
Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, show any signs of an "ego"

I can see what you're all on about now. What a complete prick of a bloke.

Harry cares about the world and his fellow man,and is not afraid of speaking his mind about issues beyond the mundane events of the football world. What a despicable creature he is!How dare he not fit the stereotype of your typical Aussie footballer.Perhaps people would warm to him if he acted more like the uber bogans of the A.F.L like Fevola.Now that's someone we can all look up to and respect,isn't it?.:rolleyes:

So from what i can gather, harry has broken the NUMBER ONE RULE of being australian.
Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, show any signs of an "ego"

I can see what you're all on about now. What a complete prick of a bloke.
That's why Warney was so hated.

That marto twitter bloke is bagging the shit out of them; lulz. Yet for somebody who doesn't really care, he sure tweets a lot about irrelevant shit.

It's because the stupid little man seems to think that being a good footballer makes him some kind of intellectual giant, and ponces around giving his Junior School prefect type observations on the state of the world and actually thinks he's being profound. The same embarrassing assumption that compels braindead celebrities in the USA to publicly scream advice to world leaders.

The most shocking part of this thread is that some people have actually suggested that Harry is a victim of being smarter than the average bear.

Yup.

He just brings stuff up that we have all thought but not mentioned as it's too depressing and sparks nothing but eyebrow. He just reminds me of the women we have all deleted from Facebook because all they do is whine about something.

People need to relax and accept people for the variety they offer.

Seriously, BF is sometimes like some weird extremist cult where people give wild views about everything without giving it much consideration. There wouldn't be a thread where somebody is universally acclaimed. There's always somebody chiming in with "he's a spud/moron/w***er/flog/useless. etc." Do we really need to completely write people off for not being perfect?

Look at your own friends. Are they all better people than Harry O-Brien? Are they perfect? Look at yourself. Are you perfect? Would you like people to sum up your entire character with one or two simplistic statements? Or could it be that people are complex and have a variety of traits that make such simplistic judgements rather foolish?

I just don't see the need some people have for just completely writing off a person as though they have no redeeming value at all. Guess it makes people feel better about themselves to say these things...

Its probably because 90% of the people that frequent this website are sad losers. You summed it up perfectly, it does make people feel better about themselves. It is pretty easy to self justify when you have the protection of the computer screen as an anonymous contributor to the website. Fair dinkum i would love to meet some of the people on bigfooty, jealous at the world and jealous at the successful people out there.

Go ahead, bag someone out, use your anonymous persona to fire a broadside at people you do not even know and justify your medoicre existence in the process. Oh, i am sorry, Harry O'brien offends you? Why? because he does not have an opinion you understand? Because he has an opinion on matters outside of something that is pretty meaningless in life called AFL? Because he is not insecure and you are? Or because he is black??

Its probably because 90% of the people that frequent this website are sad losers. You summed it up perfectly, it does make people feel better about themselves. It is pretty easy to self justify when you have the protection of the computer screen as an anonymous contributor to the website. Fair dinkum i would love to meet some of the people on bigfooty, jealous at the world and jealous at the successful people out there.

Go ahead, bag someone out, use your anonymous persona to fire a broadside at people you do not even know and justify your medoicre existence in the process. Oh, i am sorry, Harry O'brien offends you? Why? because he does not have an opinion you understand? Because he has an opinion on matters outside of something that is pretty meaningless in life called AFL? Because he is not insecure and you are? Or because he is black??

and there's your real agenda.

If we don't agree with HOB we're racists are we?

I couldn't give a **** WHAT skin colour he is, he's still an over-exposed w***er.

can_i_borrow_a_feeling.jpg

Also, don't be racist.

and there's your real agenda.

If we don't agree with HOB we're racists are we?

I couldn't give a **** WHAT skin colour he is, he's still an over-exposed w***er.

lolzas I missed that little gem.

demondavey i'm colourblind so his race doesn't come into the equation when I made up my mind he's a w***er.

I think you need to come to terms with your racism though because your intense defense of him because he's black indicates self aversion to your own racism. It's as obvious as "omg, you're indian, i have lots of indian friends".

A trait shared too by the OP it seems ...

To the OP ...

I too have had guns pointed in my face under threat ... scary freaking machine guns held by wild-eyed Paki nutters while the country declared martial law.

I've worked at the coal face of international development in poorer countries than Brazil and have been exposed to some heart-wrenching existences.

I've lived in never-sleep cities of 16 million people and dusty semi-lawless hovels of just a few thousand.

I dare suggest my understanding of some of the subjects Harry speaks on is deeper than both he and you; which makes this attitude you've both got even more distasteful.

If you really have experienced all that, I would expect more understanding from you of a young man who only wants to better themselves and the world they live regardless of how naive they may be!

What is it you want me to understand about Harry? I have said that having an attitude thinking you know better than others is distasteful - applied both to the OP and Harry. The more I experience in life, the greater validity I find this to have; and regardless of best intentions, it doesn't make the world a better place.

I once thought as much about Chris Judd and the way he used to speak as though he had rare insight and that his opinion was somehow elevated beyond that of others. Maturity seems to have straightened him somewhat, hopefully it can help round off Harry's character and he can move forward in acting on some of his spoken ideals.

Dear Everyone,

I sometimes think of things apart from football.

While I am not actually on a 'mission to bring hope to the world', I certainly wouldn't mind if it happened.

When do I meet the Prez?

Yours totally unselfconsciously,

Eldorado

What is it you want me to understand about Harry? I have said that having an attitude thinking you know better than others is distasteful - applied both to the OP and Harry. The more I experience in life, the greater validity I find this to have; and regardless of best intentions, it doesn't make the world a better place.

I once thought as much about Chris Judd and the way he used to speak as though he had rare insight and that his opinion was somehow elevated beyond that of others. Maturity seems to have straightened him somewhat, hopefully it can help round off Harry's character and he can move forward in acting on some of his spoken ideals.

LOL... and a dog can lick it nutsack.:thumbsu:
I'm sure Harry gives a toss about what you have to say....
Off your bum and do something about it possibly.

I can only assume this changed around the first time he slipped on the navy blue jumper.

Why do people feel the need to bag this guy whenever he mentions something that is outside the square of comprehension for the average football supporter? Yes, the majority of the rank and file that support AFL exist in a very narrow little square where they only see issues that exist in the world of AFL. Just because he is different, he has an opinion and is not afraid to express it and he comments on things that people do not understand, people feel the need to have a go at him. Why? Because they feel threatened. It is simple. People feel threatened by him commenting on things where he has a strong opinion.

Comments directed at him are nothing short of ignorant. People struggle to understand him because he is not like the 95% of AFL players who are media robots who exist and can only fill their sentences with cliches and poor grammar, yet this guy can string a sentence together as easy as tying up his shoelace and comment on matters that are wordly and relevant, and people feel the need to bag him because he is different?? No he is not different, he just understands matters other than those related to football.

This just goes to show that the great unwashed who support AFL are incredibly intolerant and red neck. It is sad that these people get to vote in our Country. To all the Harry O knockers - get a life, and stop feeling so insecure and threatened when he mentions something outside your basic sphere of existence.

Keep up the good work Harry!

I don't like Harry because he encourages the media to write stories about how intelligent and worldly he is. "I have a thinking chair", "I want to meet Barack Obama because I like to network with other great minds", rubbish like that. To paraphrase Margaret Thatcher:

Being intelligent and worldly is like being a lady. If you have to say you are, then you aren't.

His posts are either simple, or make no sense at all. For some reason since he dresses them up with 3 syllable + words people take him seriously, & nod along as if he is saying something profound.

"Live for hope" is no different to the power balance "harmonizing our bodies frequency"... just empty, meaningless words. I tend to think he's just trolling half the time to be honest.

In Harry O'Brien's defence..