News Insightful and Inciteful - 2022 Media Thread

If it stays in the current timeslot the MCG will be being used by cricket.

So it'll be Marvel
That's another issue they can't figure out - when to play the AFLW season. You raise a good point that the MCG isn't available unless it lines up with the AFL season (but that would make finals schedules a real challenge to fit 8 finals in wk 1).

That's probably why they let it float now: Optus and Adelaide Oval fit more than Marvel and the Gabba and SCG are pretty close.

That's another issue they can't figure out - when to play the AFLW season. You raise a good point that the MCG isn't available unless it lines up with the AFL season (but that would make finals schedules a real challenge to fit 8 finals in wk 1).

That's probably why they let it float now: Optus and Adelaide Oval fit more than Marvel and the Gabba and SCG are pretty close.
The switch to play it August-November has worked really well I think. Having the big stadiums unavailable for the second half of the tournament is unfortunate but AFLW works better at smaller grounds anyway imo.

Maybe it’s just me, but I feel as though after the men’s Grand Final, fans are a little exhausted from footy, especially those who have a casual interest in the AFLW like myself.

Anyhow, if the goal is to eventually get to 17 games I don’t see how it won’t move to a predominately winter season with the GF in July-August

Might appear like I've been spruiking this book like I own shares in it, but it's actually a great read:

images (5).jpeg

I fell out of love with the AFL about midway (sadly) of 2018 due to the way it is run purely for profit and its blatant disregard for anything west of Victoria. Despite what I thought I knew about shady dealings of the AFL admin they have their snouts in much more than you can imagine - including the Essendon drugs saga that spans at least 3 more clubs than is common knowledge.

Lastly it shines a light on one particular individual that wouldn't take Demetriou's and Gill's shit and his career paid for it - Grant Thomas. Ironically I always disliked the campaigner for being loud and critical - however it turns out that he just refused to be an AFL puppet and ended up getting sacked from SEN and Footy Classified for not towing the company line - take a guess which fat bald campaigner has a controlling influence in both those things that has also ruined the Perth Wildcats.

Anyway, do yourself a favour (Hey Hey), definitely worth a read.

Might appear like I've been spruiking this book like I own shares in it, but it's actually a great read:

View attachment 1549925

I fell out of love with the AFL about midway (sadly) of 2018 due to the way it is run purely for profit and its blatant disregard for anything west of Victoria. Despite what I thought I knew about shady dealings of the AFL admin they have their snouts in much more than you can imagine - including the Essendon drugs saga that spans at least 3 more clubs than is common knowledge.

Lastly it shines a light on one particular individual that wouldn't take Demetriou's and Gill's s**t and his career paid for it - Grant Thomas. Ironically I always disliked the campaigner for being loud and critical - however it turns out that he just refused to be an AFL puppet and ended up getting sacked from SEN and Footy Classified for not towing the company line - take a guess which fat bald campaigner has a controlling influence in both those things that has also ruined the Perth Wildcats.

Anyway, do yourself a favour (Hey Hey), definitely worth a read.
Did you at least watch enough games on 2018 to see us win the flag?

I stopped going to home games mid 2018.

My rant is this:

1: Naitanui gets reported by Michael Christian for rough conduct for his tackle on Amon. Okay, whatever. What incensed me was on the Monday Christian does his "easiest decision I've ever made" world tour. How is the AFL supposed to over-turn the result now without embarrassing their employee? Perhaps he should just shut the **** up and let it run its due course. The result was basically a fait acompli after that.
2: Gil signs the 50 year MCG deal (covered in the book) to allow for millions of dollars in upgrades to Marvel Stadium without consulting the non-Victorian clubs - basically pissing on the face of WA and SA clubs for another half century. And what do we get in compensation? A ****ing chartered flight to Melbourne the week of the GF if we make it. Makes me want to vomit.
3: Hocking tests the extended kick in rule and 666 positioning in 2 VFL games before declaring it a success. AFL cronies pat him on the back for ingenuity. It gets guaranteed for season 2019 for the standard minimum 3 rule changes we see each year in the name of keeping the game more attractive. Which basically means more goals. Which basically means more advertising revenue. Which basically also means casual footy supporters with an attention span that can only be measured in nanoseconds are also kept engaged. **** footy fans that see no problem with the game! We need that revenue!

About a minute after the siren blew in the 2018 GF I turned to my sister and said "and in the year I finally decided I'd had enough of the AFL's bullshit". I still watch now, but my heart just ain't in it like it was a decade ago.

I bet you got more than you bargained for with your question.

Same here to be honest.

I was footy obsessed from my early teens through to my late 20's.

Its not the same anymore
I was the same from early 90s to mid 00s then slowly fading away.

Been to under 10 games in the last decade and rarely watch a full game and hardly watch oppo sides but always hope we win.

Used to LOVE travelling to Melb for random weekends of footy,( did it multiple times a year, not hard from SA) now I hate the thought of going to Vic really (other than to see my family)

*AFL media the no.1 reason I've dropped off rapidly. Can't stand listening to anything anyone says it has a negative vibe towards anything non vic

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep agree with those previous post's, Bender you nailed it.
Don't watch anywhere near the amount of footy I used to, ZERO media either. Bunch of crooks high jacking our game for profit and their own gain.
Cricket has gone the same way and not fussed one little bit that the Aussies are out. To be honest they deserve it.

Yep agree with those previous post's, Bender you nailed it.
Don't watch anywhere near the amount of footy I used to, ZERO media either. Bunch of crooks high jacking our game for profit and their own gain.
Cricket has gone the same way and not fussed one little bit that the Aussies are out. To be honest they deserve it.
same thoughts here bout the cricket.

Bring on the tests

I was the same from early 90s to mid 00s then slowly fading away.

Been to under 10 games in the last decade and rarely watch a full game and hardly watch oppo sides but always hope we win.

Used to LOVE travelling to Melb for random weekends of footy,( did it multiple times a year, not hard from SA) now I hate the thought of going to Vic really (other than to see my family)

*AFL media the no.1 reason I've dropped off rapidly. Can't stand listening to anything anyone says it has a negative vibe towards anything non vic

Agree with the general sentiment. I know lots of footy mad people now more interested in their local footy - including previous members.

Be really interested to know what the combined non-Vic market is c.f. the Vic market. Seems all the 'VFL' stuff is based on Victoria being a bigger market than any one of the other states but collectively ... ?

Wonder if we'll ever see a day where the non-Vic clubs all gang up on the AFL to demand more equitable treatment? (Or 'tell him he's dreamin'?)

I was probably least interested in footy during my mid-late teens. Hate everything VFL but it doesn't make me stop being an absolute West Coast nutter, even when we're shit and the VFL continue to shit on everything outside of Victoria (and the smaller Vic clubs, but those supporters are too ****ing stupid to notice or care).

Me and footy:

sick homer simpson GIF

I was probably least interested in footy during my mid-late teens. Hate everything VFL but it doesn't make me stop being an absolute West Coast nutter, even when we're s*t and the VFL continue to s*t on everything outside of Victoria (and the smaller Vic clubs, but those supporters are too ***** stupid to notice or care).

Me and footy:

sick homer simpson GIF
I stopped following footy altogether in high school and only got back into it during late uni (thanks to the run and gun style of the 05/06 teams).

I only really watch Eagles games now and maybe a bit of Friday footy before going out. I think part of the change is being older with less time on my hands. In my 20s, I would watch 3 or 4 games each weekend and would closely follow the top teams each season. Now I have more stuff on and find it hard enough to dedicate 5 or so hours every second weekend to attend a live match as a member.

I stopped following footy altogether in high school and only got back into it during late uni (thanks to the run and gun style of the 05/06 teams).

I only really watch Eagles games now and maybe a bit of Friday footy before going out. I think part of the change is being older with less time on my hands. In my 20s, I would watch 3 or 4 games each weekend and would closely follow the top teams each season. Now I have more stuff on and find it hard enough to dedicate 5 or so hours every second weekend to attend a live match as a member.

Oh yeah I only watch Eagles games and the finals.

I stopped going to home games mid 2018.

My rant is this:

1: Naitanui gets reported by Michael Christian for rough conduct for his tackle on Amon. Okay, whatever. What incensed me was on the Monday Christian does his "easiest decision I've ever made" world tour. How is the AFL supposed to over-turn the result now without embarrassing their employee? Perhaps he should just shut the * up and let it run its due course. The result was basically a fait acompli after that.
2: Gil signs the 50 year MCG deal (covered in the book) to allow for millions of dollars in upgrades to Marvel Stadium without consulting the non-Victorian clubs - basically pissing on the face of WA and SA clubs for another half century. And what do we get in compensation? A ******* chartered flight to Melbourne the week of the GF if we make it. Makes me want to vomit.
3: Hocking tests the extended kick in rule and 666 positioning in 2 VFL games before declaring it a success. AFL cronies pat him on the back for ingenuity. It gets guaranteed for season 2019 for the standard minimum 3 rule changes we see each year in the name of keeping the game more attractive. Which basically means more goals. Which basically means more advertising revenue. Which basically also means casual footy supporters with an attention span that can only be measured in nanoseconds are also kept engaged. * footy fans that see no problem with the game! We need that revenue!

About a minute after the siren blew in the 2018 GF I turned to my sister and said "and in the year I finally decided I'd had enough of the AFL's bullshit". I still watch now, but my heart just ain't in it like it was a decade ago.

I bet you got more than you bargained for with your question.
This is actually very similar to my situation. If we never won in 2018 I probably would have disappeared by now. This year I only watched about 60% of Eagles games and maybe 1 or 2 non eagles games. If the AFL actually got their head out of their arses they could have a really good national product but it will never change.

echo a lot of the sentiments on those here

I never watched too much footy growing up but have been obsessed since the early 2000s... fly over regularly to Melb for games and even made it to the '15 granny.
Peaked for me in 2018 but just have had enough of the bs from both the footy media and the way the game is administered. Not just the bias but the clear incompetence. I'm also a little disappointed in the way the club is run and the sheer contempt for members and the way we are treated but I'll always love the club.

I've slowly wound back since '18 and between life getting busier with work and family and a disappearing interest i barely watched any footy all year.

I'm a seated member (got my seats in 18 with the new stadium) and to be honest i'm very tempted to hand my membership in. Only reason I haven't is because my little one is getting to the age where I think I can start taking him - he's just turned 3. If by 4 or 5 he doesn't enjoy the footy I may hand my membership back.

I never watched too much footy growing up but have been obsessed since the early 2000s... fly over regularly to Melb for games and even made it to the '15 granny.
Peaked for me in 2018 but just have had enough of the bs from both the footy media and the way the game is administered. Not just the bias but the clear incompetence. I'm also a little disappointed in the way the club is run and the sheer contempt for members and the way we are treated but I'll always love the club.

I've slowly wound back since '18 and between life getting busier with work and family and a disappearing interest i barely watched any footy all year.

I'm a seated member (got my seats in 18 with the new stadium) and to be honest i'm very tempted to hand my membership in. Only reason I haven't is because my little one is getting to the age where I think I can start taking him - he's just turned 3. If by 4 or 5 he doesn't enjoy the footy I may hand my membership back.
Mate I almost guarantee your young fella won't sit through a game at 4 or 5 years old. Very very few kids that age will sit through 2.5 hours of footy that they can't see as they are so small without a steady stream of food being shoved into their gob.
Dare I say it... temper your expectations. Stick it out and by the time he is 8 he will be engaged and you two will be watching a flag favourite flat tracking teams every second week and he will love it.

Mate I almost guarantee your young fella won't sit through a game at 4 or 5 years old. Very very few kids that age will sit through 2.5 hours of footy that they can't see as they are so small without a steady stream of food being shoved into their gob.
Dare I say it... temper your expectations. Stick it out and by the time he is 8 he will be engaged and you two will be watching a flag favourite flat tracking teams every second week and he will love it.

Agree with this. Ask my 4 year old son which team he supports and it's the Eagles, ask him his favourite player and it's "Little Nic" (from Nic Nat's kid's book), no way he'll sit and watch a full game at home, let alone pay attention and not get bored at Optus.

I was probably about 8 or 9 when I went to my first game, and that's probably the age I'll take my boy too (if he's still interested).

Second this.

I live opposite the gabba and my kid always wanted to go. Went to the WCE game this year with a mate and we took the kids. Happy for the novelty but she wanted to leave at half time.

Was happy to take her home as I was sick of her asking "Daddy, why does your team always lose?"

Smart arse little shit.

I'm not sure how long the waiting list is now-a-days but you may want to consider that too. Is there a way you could reduce your membership (say, to a five game a season one) instead of handing it in entirely?