Intraclub match, Wednesday 3rd Feb

Ok, my first report and only scribbled down. Didnt really pay much attention to certain players just tried to write what was actually happening around the ball

Warmup

Gee what a start. Shocking kicking for goal. Nikoski not with back/mids group staying with forward group during warmup. Adam Selwood doesnt make the distance from 40m out, didnt look to be a miss kick, just no depth. Kerr spent only a 2 or so mins talking to the mids group before hanging around the forward line group. Notte looking much more solid, not a whole lot bulkier but just more solid then last year if that makes sense haha. Can really notice the size differnece between the 2 teams. Ash Smith drills 1 from 55m during run throughs. Sheppard not missing a target. Is Luke Shuey left footed?!!? Nailed 2 in a row over 40m +.

Quarter 1.
2 Possies to Shuey in the first 3 seconds. Hardball get then the handball out, recieve and another dish off. Jordan Jones good grab and give. Sheppard good kick into the F50. Shap high tackle on Nic. Nic handballs off and then recieves back and goes for a bit of a run (very cox like :)) Ash Smith, good spoil and follow up handball. Blue team has the upperhand atm, attacking the corridor a lot more

Jordan Jones another good spoil - lookign a very competetant backman just in the first 5 or so mins. Dalziell, good follow up work but ruins it with the most terrible kick. Shuey AWESOME left foot from 40m out tight angle for goal...remind me again he's right footed isnt he??! Shuey = all over a selwood during the next bounce...very tough already. Rosa does well tog et the hardball but then hanballs to a non moving Priddis, not much run xoming from the whites. Glass is pushing Notte all the way up the ground, notte not keeping up. Not much happening from Lynch or Hansen. Leccras and Kerr both quiet. Hurn giving a bit of run off the backline. Shuey, Shep & Jones good for the royals.

10mins break

Not 2 good grabs up the wings. Masten a spearing 40m+ pass to McKinley on the lead. Misses from 40. Not presenting well up the ground. Rosa some good tackles and hardball gets but disposal is close to shocking. Priddis and Dalziell both quiet. Ash Smith lays a good tackle but doesnt follow up - Looks stuffed. Whites getting on top of the royals with Embley and Hurn providing some dash. Noone else really doign a whole lot to tear the game open. Great courage shown by Sullivan. Schoefiled playing well in the backline with a couple of nice grabs.

2nd quarter

Leccras drops a sitter. Masto looks over his OP, great depth on his kicking. Great defensive pressure by Krakour (hoping one of the new draftees can provide something similar) Ash Smith - nice pick up on the wing infront of 2 whites. finishes it off with a very neat kick around the corner to Jordan Jones. Butler - nice kick and handball in the middle. Hansen doesnt make the distance from 45 out. Stevenson turns it over 30m out from a kick in. hansen goals from 30 out. Hard running and good delivery from embley to mckilnley who marks infront of billings I think it was. Mckinley starting to show some. Embley getting busy and showing plenty of run. Great delivery from A Selwood to Nikoski who misses from 45m out. Good kick from Dalziell. Hams wraps up Rosa, holding the ball. Jordan Jones providing great run from the backline - LOOKS THE GOODS! Sullivan & Wilson look to be lumbering. Great switch by the young royals in the back 50 - JJ & Shep I think it was. Nice mark and KICK from Wilkies. Way to much handball in a passage of play that takes 5 mins to get from back 50 to forward 50 by the whites. McKinley loses billings deep in f50 and goals - to easy, gets shown up when a non wafl player is on him, no defensive pressure. Kerr starting to get busy and proving some run, looking good this qtr! Great Spoil from Ash Smith on Leccras. Mckinley starts on the HFF for the next centre bounce. Jones getting sucked up the ground and loses his player (cant remember who it was) Smith playing well, Jones providing run, Hurn playing well as qtr back, kerr on fire. Ebert has been struggling all game, looks disinteretsed and disposal is off in a BIG way, caught holding the ball

Royals much keener on going through the corridor. good signs! Rosa poor disposal out of the backline - out on the full. Embley and Kerr linking up well. Leccras getting on top of Smith. Shuey on empty, def needs a good run in the NAB.

Schoefield looks bigger and some good grabs
Shuey looks a star, Shep & JJ looking great as well
Embley playing well
Hansen surley giving false signs - still looks to turn like a truck
Kerr looking good & fit
McKinley working into the game, lookigng ood albeit mostly against wafl players

quarter 3

Hansen presenting well early. not taking 1 grab marks though. bit fumbly. Roser kicks a floater that he manages to mark. JJ great attcking play, always looks so positive. switchers from outside the point post. 1 of the harder plays. Glass getting on top in ther backline making some good spoils and running it out of the b50. Great run down on embley, whoever it was was bloody quick. Could have been Hams? Hurn starting to fire in that qtrback role. A Selwood getting a bit. Kerr gone quiet. Nicknat and Kerr link up through the middle, awesome tap by nic. Shep has changed teams and gets a bit in the last qtr, Nicoski a couple of blastaways. Where is Dalziell. Priddis doesnt have an awesome game but smashes him. Shuey on Masten for a bit during the 2nd.

Kerr v Shuey - Shuey good early. Moved off Kerr for a bit and Kerr started getting a lot mroe of the ball> Shuey tires early.

Notte v Glass - Looked like Notte either beat glass for pace or Glass let him mrk up on the wings. Had him controlled deep forward. Showed some sticky hands at times. Times his jumps well as well.

Sullivan v Nat - Sullivan never gave up but nic nat had him covered most of the game. Sullivan doesnt look very nimble. Nic Nat great pressure around stoppages some big tackles

Smith v Leccras - Both busy, smith probably more so early with leccras getting on top as the game wore on. quite a good game by smith but needs to keep working on fitness.

SHep v Nik - Some good spoils by shep and great run out of the backline early. Nik got some posessions late but not very effective.

JJ v Mkinley - JJ had a very good 1st quarters. Really wasnt expecting anywhere near as much as he showed. Showed great leadership cotrolling the zone and shouting orders mckinley improved as the game wore on but jj wasnt on him. think c billings was.

Sorry about spelling and grammer!!! trying to get it out asap

Masten and Hurn two best by a long shot!!

Masten is def going to be the rolls royce of the midfield - going to be easily as good as a Marc Murphy!! Hurny has to be AA this year if stays fit!

Natanui has one of the quickest set of hands i have ever seen. Yeah it's true his kicking is sub-standard, but I'll take a good handball out of trouble every time.

Easy to see that kracker (spelling?) is a past AFL player. Still got the skills someone should pick him up.

Anyone ever wondered why that Wolfenden guy never got drafted. He's a prob a bit old, but i like his dash and toughness for a twig. Bit more muscle and has potential to play with big guys IMO.

Who impressed you swannies?

Mentioned a few in the post just above but would go Naita, Embley, Hurn (getting better :eek:), Masten, Schofield, Ebert, Smith, Shuey.

I forgot to mention, Masten is incredible in the amount of running he does. He's like perpetual motion. He tackles, fights for the ball at ground level, shovels out a handball and before you know it, he's off running to the next contest and laying another tackle. I don't think I've seen a player follow the ball so persistently.

That's exactly what he was like in junior levels and even when he debuted in the WAFL as a 17 yo. A lot of his running goes unnoticed though.

Those who have questioned Masten's pace and ability for the past 2 years...shame. Hate to say it but I told you he had the pace to find space and break away from congestion in traffic. You don't have State and National sprint titles for nothing. Masten is quick, quite xplosive over the first few metres.

You obviously watched him as a junior? Not a smart arse question, just if you made that call you saw him play juniors. People on here listen to too much BF gibberish, but if you'd seen this kid play juniors you wouldn't have had much of a doubt when he was drafted.

Don't "hate to say I told you so" Prem87, enjoy rubbing noses in it!:D

Pav/Mundy/Woosh24 where were you sitting ?

Hams wasn't always on nicoski he kept swapping with another player, I thought he was quite good.

Sorry RE, but i agree with PP here, Hams needed to play a lot tighter. He played like a rebounding defender, but I know he can play tighter, against Swans he always does!

One thing I will also mention is the obvious full court press the white side employed at the opposition kick ins.

4 rows of four basically choking the corridor which shifted side to side as the ball was transferred.

The likes of Wilkes, Smith and Jordan Jones had alot of trouble puncturing the zone, seemed very effective.

schofield real promising stuff. looks the goods
shep looked to have injured himself. talked to trainers heaps at out half way. returned for a quarter and then nothing.
masto showed the pace and arrogance that he showed when he dominated in juniors which is good. will have a quality year
kerr was good without trying to much it seemed
jojo and ash smith good in back
impressed with scooter
naita dominated ruck taps and if didnt win got a free for being jumped into. also did well round packs just reaches in his arm and scoops the ball and handpasses it. if he could learn to mark he would b unbelievable dangerous.
ebert was steady and shows poise
stevenson showed a bit at the end as well. maybe a confidence thing
lynch has slimmed down heaps, in fact the whole squad looks really fit. kerr has also lost some of his unneccessary bulk

OK, was sitting pretty much on the wing on the Subi side and this is what I saw!!

Firstly agree totally with what has been said about Shuey. 3 or 4 very nice clearances early plus the goal. A. Slewood was moved onto him in the 2nd quarter to try and shut him down and did somewhat. Saw him look very tired at the end of the 2nd quarter and a trainer go to him but neither looked at his arm at that point so I'm guessing the ise was precautionary.

Kerr got better and better. Him and Shuey in the same side will give us the ball winners we have needed to release the likes of Swift and Masten.

JJ was close to the Royals best I thought. Got plenty of the ball, fought hard and hit targets.

Nicnat was dominat around the packs. Hit Embley on the chest from 50m after a centre free.

Dalziell was quiet but looked good a couple of times when linked up with Ebert.

Ebert best of the Royals.

Hams has a very good kick on him but as said was unaccountable.

Not sure what everyone else saw in Scooter but I saw him turn the ball over in defence way too easliy on atelast 2 occasions, Ebert much better in the 22 for mine.

Overall, had Dalziell, Nicnat, Shuey and Hurn in my DT, now will have Kerr, Nicnat, Hurn and Shuey!!!

Mez

Anyone ever wondered why that Wolfenden guy never got drafted. He's a prob a bit old, but i like his dash and toughness for a twig. Bit more muscle and has potential to play with big guys IMO.

I wonder why.....
Remember the WAFL GF a couple of years back, everyone was looking at Naitanui & Rich, but Cockie & Wolfenden were the 2 that I remember standing out just for their hardness.
Cockie's bigger, probably why he got drafted instead of wolfman....

OK, was sitting pretty much on the wing on the Subi side and this is what I saw!!

Firstly agree totally with what has been said about Shuey. 3 or 4 very nice clearances early plus the goal. A. Slewood was moved onto him in the 2nd quarter to try and shut him down and did somewhat. Saw him look very tired at the end of the 2nd quarter and a trainer go to him but neither looked at his arm at that point so I'm guessing the ise was precautionary.

Kerr got better and better. Him and Shuey in the same side will give us the ball winners we have needed to release the likes of Swift and Masten.

JJ was close to the Royals best I thought. Got plenty of the ball, fought hard and hit targets.

Nicnat was dominat around the packs. Hit Embley on the chest from 50m after a centre free.

Dalziell was quiet but looked good a couple of times when linked up with Ebert.

Ebert best of the Royals.

Hams has a very good kick on him but as said was unaccountable.

Overall, had Dalziell, Nicnat, Shuey and Hurn in my DT, now will have Kerr, Nicnat and Shuey!!!

Mez

Ebert was terrible

That's exactly what he was like in junior levels and even when he debuted in the WAFL as a 17 yo. A lot of his running goes unnoticed though.

Yeah, it's like he's getting teleported around the ground. I kept thinking to myself, "how did he get there? I just saw him at the other end of the ground."

He's going to be a real asset in getting numbers to contests I think.

Look I know you crack a fat any time Naita is mentioned but he has some serious flaws outside the contest.

In regards to his forward movements if he's going to play as an option at FF, you want him to provide a target. My issue stems from his leading, he leads deep to the pockets which then requires a precison kick to get to him, which then means he has to thread the eye of the needle.

He doesnt present well and the timing of his leads are dreadful.

Outstanding ruck prospect, absolutely outstanding in the contest.

Past that has some major deffiences to work on.

Mate, I've watched footy for a long time, so I can see players strengths and weaknesses, whether they're a favourite of mine or not. The rest of your first sentence is my point. He is outstanding in the ruck and in the contest. Why change that, is exactly the point I am making. Why turn him into a FF, CHF? It's not logical to me, so someone explain why. He is combative, that's his style, not free wheeling, running into space.

wow some pure dedication in this thread,
some good write ups.

It was good to see the boys out again,
for me Shannon Hurn played lovely as usual. Hits his targets and is just rock solid, as is Glassy.

Skills were low and scrappy at times, especially at the start .. but picked up as the game went on.

Shuey showed some good signs, great opening goal .. also impressed with Brad Ebert playing on the royals. Kerr worked hard all game, but still only found the ball in congested area's (well on my side of the ground at least), he needs more space to be his damaging self! But good to see him running and busting his gut though. He'll get back to his best soon i hope!

Hansen presented well, took some good marks, but some poor decisions in front of goal.

Embers found the ball ALOT in the first two quarters,
shame he can't steady in front of goal and at times possession was shakey. But he found it atleast and was running hard i found.

Also agree on Notte, didn't see him get a touch?

You dill.

He too 3 marks right in front of me on the flank Subi side. Hell he took a mark in the first minute right there.

Where were you sitting out of interest.

Notte definetly touched the ball, as i saw those 3 marks too.

ebert got better. just missed targets at the start. smith did real well to hold lecca. managed to get a closing fist in all the time and ran off him. very casual player tho. spinning the ball in his hand and stuff from a kickout and ended up turning it directly over. not something u wanna see from a fringe player

There was a good crowd in for a pre-season intraclub scratch match. I guess a lot of people are missing footy as much as me. Even some Dockers fans were there apparently ;)

I only saw the first half but there were some positives to come out of it. Kerr looked to be getting back to his best. Masten and Selwood were exceptional. Shuey looks like he's going to be another tough nut in the midfield as well. The forgotten men Schofield and Bones both looked good and desperate in defence too.

On the downside Hansen didn't do much to impress, McKinley got a couple of cheap goals but doesn't look to have developed any more of a tank than he had already.

Mate, I've watched footy for a long time, so I can see players strengths and weaknesses, whether they're a favourite of mine or not. The rest of your first sentence is my point. He is outstanding in the ruck and in the contest. Why change that, is exactly the point I am making. Why turn him into a FF, CHF? It's not logical to me, so someone explain why. He is combative, that's his style, not free wheeling, running into space.

Guess we have to agree to agree then eh? :)

He's a pure ruckman, much like Polly and Stephen Michael.

Best in the contest, if they continue to trial him as a forward or see him as a forward option somone needs to work with him to time his leads and show him where to run otherwise he'll be more harm than good resting forward.

I don't have a lot to add that hasn't alreay been said, but I was very impressed with Luke Shuey early on in the game, the first goal that he kicked was all class, very impressive.

IMO best on ground was my sponsored player, Chris Masten. Looked really good, got a lot of the ball and almost always used it well. Looks to be moving very nicely, and obviously has a very big tank. Stoked to see him play so well.

Naitanui I thought was quite impressive in the ruck, won a lot of the ruck duels and did pretty well when the ball hit the ground as well.

Hansen took a fair few marks on the lead but his kicking was poor. Still clearly behind Kennedy I'd say as our first choice CHF.

Plenty of turnovers, looked lazy and got caught holding the ball. I was really looking forward to him playing as I really rate him but though he was had a really average game tonight

Didnt think he was average at all, disposal was okish and he found alot of the footy in a side seriously outclassed by their opponent.

I was pretty impressed actually.

Best in the contest, if they continue to trial him as a forward or see him as a forward option somone needs to work with him to time his leads and show him where to run otherwise he'll be more harm than good resting forward.

When resting forward, his value is in applying defensive pressure, taking a decent defender and occasionally doing something mercurial. We shouldn't be using him as a marking target.

I don't really see NN as a leading forward. I think will will be lethal taking hangers in the goal square, but more commonly playing a more of a crumbing role, as silly as that sounds.

God I miss footy.

3 Direct turnovers eh? There was about 200 tonight, he found the ball, linked well with Dalziell and will improve IMO.

Geez, just threw up some carrot.

Ebert was very impressive, beat Priddis and then some. He had one poor kick that resulted in a point to the whites and was caught holding the ball once, (allot of holding the ball decisions went un-noticed, not a big deal).

Ebert pretty much captained the Royals btw.

yah ebert was five for royals and then swapped at the end to b 20 for whites. masto is the best player i have played against unbelievably fast and could kick 50m in under 13s. good to see him get both his pace and depth of kicking back. mind u it has been his first full pre season.
very scrappy game typical of a scratch match. no structure whatsoever, possibly because both sides were playing the same zoning tactic.
exciting stuff considering every fighting for possys and then u see the guys who werent playing just wandering out

Intraclub match, Wednesday 3rd Feb