Irish Papers bragging about beating us but they dont mention they played a 3rd rate Australian team

Re: Irish Papers bragging about beating us but they dont mention they played a 3rd rate Australian t

if we aren't going to field a side made up of at least half all australians and the rest top 50 or very close to top 50 players then it's just a waste of time.

and for what it's worth the game is much more resembling of gaelic football than aussie rules. not even close.

to someone who doesn't follow either code much you could show them that game and they would know it's not australian rules. but you could definately make them believe that it's gaelic football.

the only skill bought over from aussie rules is tackling.... don't tell me marking cause i'm sure irish footballs know how to catch. they're not exactly learning a new skill. nor does a kicking a behind take much to adapt to.

we have to have a goalkeeper. why can't we use a soccer player??

gotta learn to kick a round ball.

field is played on their size so can't use the fitness our guys have... in saying that the irish guys are much fitter than our media gave them credit for.

and they totally eliminate our ruckmen by just about getting rid of hit outs.

play the field on a pitch about 15 metres longer at each end and 15 metres wider on each side, and have hit outs after an over and goal and you'd have a game that is closer to a 50/50 split.

i can cop the round ball because it is much much harder to adapat from kicking a round ball to an oval ball (as the irish would have to do) then to go from kicking an oval ball to a round ball (as we do).

Re: Irish Papers bragging about beating us but they dont mention they played a 3rd rate Australian t

Quite clearly IR advantages the Irish and this usually provides for a balanced result which is desirable. The Irish always perform well because one would argue that they have to adapt less. Australia nearly always has a problem with accuracy and adapting to the round. When we do put it the effort in preparing we are usually rewarded.

Another facet of the "gaelicness" of the IR games came out when Australia was repeatedly penalised for being in the box.

This kind of sums up why Australians as a whole don't seem to understand the actual game of Gaelic football.

Having played both codes for many years I'll tell you what in my opinion is the great evener outer of the hybrid game.

The biggest thing to have to adapt to of the hybrid game isnt the ball, it's the tackling aspect.

In Gaelic you can use your body to shield the ball and give yourself far more time to dispose of it to a team mate.

In the hybrid game that time is next to nothing if an opponent plays tight and is on your hammer as soon as you hget the ball.

That actually changes the way you play the Gaelic game normally vastly.

In Gaelic players hardly ever try to hit a team mate on the chest with a pass. They play it along the deck just out in front of the team mate so they can run onto it.

So the skill of hitting players on the chest isn't something that's practised regulalry in training.

The AFL players work on tackling all the time, they work on avoiding it, they work on laying it and they work on distributing the ball when under that tackling pressure.

To underestimate that aspect of the game is complete folly.

Which is why I don't understand why a tackling game plan isn't implemented by Australian coaching staff.

Doesn't have to be dirty either, just relentless tackling that leads to the irish turning over the ball.

Another tactic also is checking an opponents run. This aussie team just allowed the Irish player who distributed the ball to keep running through the lines without being impeded in any way at times.

i can cop the round ball because it is much much harder to adapat from kicking a round ball to an oval ball (as the irish would have to do) then to go from kicking an oval ball to a round ball (as we do).

this bit is where all those sooking that we would smash em with our ball need to take note..

Am I the only one who actually enjoyed the game? I love ALL live sports especially when I was getting a bit footy starved. I think alot of people are only up on arms coz they have nothing new to whine about from AFL on Bigfooty at this time of year.

if we aren't going to field a side made up of at least half all australians and the rest top 50 or very close to top 50 players then it's just a waste of time.

A bunch of WAFL players could beat the Irish if they trained hard enough.

and for what it's worth the game is much more resembling of gaelic football than aussie rules. not even close.

We accept that. It makes for a balanced game.

WTF for ? Easier just to get rid of the goalkeeper , the box and all those other lines that have no meaning on an oval.

the only skill bought over from aussie rules is tackling.... don't tell me marking cause i'm sure irish footballs know how to catch. they're not exactly learning a new skill. nor does a kicking a behind take much to adapt to.

Actually high balls in Gaelic football aren't that common. There's no point in bombing it long to a tall forward when marking it still means play on anyway.

gotta learn to kick a round ball.

Because the keeper needs to come outside his box, and once he does he can get flattened. Most soccer goal keepers would struggle to get back up again if an outfield player ran through them with a big bump.

A bunch of WAFL players could beat the Irish if they trained hard enough.

What rubbish.

Are you suggesting that the highest level of Gaelic footballers atheletic wise are incapable of being considered high class athletes to the level of AFL players?

If you hadn't notcied the Irish team had players that actually have made the AFL. Unlike those WAFL players.

It might be considered cheating - the game is an agreement between the AFL and the GAA -bringing in non-AFL registered players goes against the spirit of it.

Besides, I'm not sure any A-League club would release a quality goal-keeper to play in a meaningless tournament for a competing sport. The only sort of player available would be Billy Bob from the Sunday league amateurs, and you might be better off just getting an AFL defender and giving him some practice sessions.

the hybrid game that time is next to nothing if an opponent plays tight and is on your hammer as soon as you get the ball.

That's the crux of your argument - that the ball carrier is under more pressure. That really doesn't compare to not being able to kick the ball.

As for why don't the Aussies Tackle and block more - isn't it obvious - you bleat when and physicality is introduced .

You don't seem to understand that the Aussie players as well as trying to master a new kicking style he has to remember all these things that he's not allowed to do or has to modify.That's - running, handballing, tackling, bumping, shepherding, picking the ball up and a host of goalie rules.

That's the crux of your argument - that the ball carrier is under more pressure. That really doesn't compare to not being able to kick the ball.

It equates well.

if you're being tackled it doesn't matter how good a kick you are it's still going to massively effect your ability to hit a target.

Same in AFL.

As for why don't the Aussies Tackle and block more - isn't it obvious - you bleat when and physicality is introduced .

It's nothing to do with the bumps.

You seem to have forgotten the AFL itself has been trying to have tackling made so that players arent injured. Trengrove incident forgotten?

When Robinson cannoned over the top of the Irish lad in the first game there was no mass remonstration from the irish players towards him.

It's as if no AFL players have ever remonstrated with opponents over how a player was tackled or what was done in the tackle.

You don't seem to understand that the Aussie players as well as trying to master a new kicking style he has to remember all these things that he's not allowed to do or has to modify.That's - running, handballing, tackling, bumping, shepherding, picking the ball up and a host of goalie rules.

New kicking style?

You know how it's so common place there days for AFL players to kick goals on tight angles using the outstep of the boot?

Exactly the same principle is used to kick a Gaelic football.

So it's not a new kicking style, its the same one players are already using in the AFL.

Picking up a round ball is as simple a thing as you can do, as is hand balling it :confused:

I don't give a flying rats bumhole about IR and as such don't give the same about what the Irish Press are saying about the series. Good luck to them.

Given the abysmal crowds at both games (haven't heard a peep about ratings either), I'm not on my Pat Malone.

I'd seriously go see an exhibition match of real Gaelic football between two top Irish teams over this stupid hybrid.

Are you suggesting that the highest level of Gaelic footballers atheletic wise are incapable of being considered high class athletes to the level of AFL players?

Where do I suggest that ?
I'm saying WAFL players if suffieciently trained would beat an GAA side.

If you hadn't notcied the Irish team had players that actually have made the AFL. Unlike those WAFL players.

AFL is full of WAFL players .

You seem to think a you can put the label "Irish" on a team of amateurs coming from a country of 4.4 million you are instantly capable of beating true professionals from a country of 22 million. That's why the rules fall so heavily in your favour otherwise it would be no contest. If AR is little removed from GAA why doesn't your Irish AFL team struggle so much ?

take ur medicine ladys!!! the killkenny u14s would beat that australian side with what ever shaped ball u like. i like the afl game but it would be a much better game with the round ball. hope the keep the ir comp it has a future if the australians take it seriously

Don't worry about it too much ..the OP is a petty individual who enjoys starting misleading threads and then running for cover .

There was not one ounce of bragging in the Irish newspaper reports that i read ..they just stated the facts .

The Irish had a much better team than the Aussies and the result reflected that .

How do you know that?

You're knowledge of Gaelic Football is almost 0 from what you've been saying.

You seem to think a you can put the label "Irish" on a team of amateurs coming from a country of 4.4 million you are instantly capable of beating true professionals from a country of 22 million. That's why the rules fall so heavily in your favour otherwise it would be no contest. If AR is little removed from GAA why doesn't your Irish AFL team struggle so much ?

Stop talking about the rules falling so heavily in favour of Ireland.

You know nothing about the game of Gaelic football and that is quite obvious.

It's obvious that you have no understanding of Australian Football let alone the laws.

I've played Aussie rules for 10 years, played Gaelic football for even longer.

I draw my knowledge from actually playing the games.

I just can't undesrtsand how you sit there waffling on about a game you've never seen let alone played.

I've played Aussie rules for 10 years, played Gaelic football for even longer.

Then you'd realise that the Aussie players as well as trying to master a new kicking style he has to remember all these things that he's not allowed to do or has to modify.That's - running, handballing, tackling, bumping, shepherding, picking the ball up and a host of goalie rules.

Your previous replies show you have absolutely no understanding of the challenges facing an Australian Football player and I do Follow Gaelic Football.

How do you know that?

You're knowledge of Gaelic Football is almost 0 from what you've been saying.

Stop talking about the rules falling so heavily in favour of Ireland.

You know nothing about the game of Gaelic football and that is quite obvious.

I'm not going to enter into the debate on rules etc. I played Gaelic footy a few times at High School and thought it was good.

The facts of the matter are that a) The AFL get exactly what they want from the series...exposure in Ireland and b) the side Australia fielded in this years series was a farce.

There are only 2 ways to make this series fair on both teams.

1. Play a two game series with 1 game of normal aussie rules and the second of normal gaelic. No odd rules thrown into either.

2. Play a two game series as above but altered slightly. Aussie rules game played with a oval ball and the Gaelic game played with a sherrin.

The Aussie's don't have the skills to play Gaelic football, the pick up, the solo. They'd get killed. And plenty of Irish have adapted to Aussie rules

I'm not going to enter into the debate on rules etc. I played Gaelic footy a few times at High School and thought it was good.

The facts of the matter are that a) The AFL get exactly what they want from the series...exposure in Ireland and b) the side Australia fielded in this years series was a farce.

thats pretty much it. The AFL has sent a clear message this year, whther it was from the top brass, or whether it was through Eade, but putting out a shit side more or less says F you to the series. And to be honest, there wont be many here crying over it either. With more and more players leaving to try AFL, if ties were cut, then a lot of GAA people wont be sorry to see the back of the series and the open shop window AFL clubs get at some of our top players. This series will have done nothing to help the AFL though. It looked haphazard, amatuerish and lacking quality. Putting out a third rate side and getting resoundly beat doesnt help recruiting.

We had no prob beating u in the rugby

Who cares if the Irish won ? it's not a big achievment and it's a boring game and boring series. We always field a poor side. I'd like to see a series where the Irish have to play our game, see how they go then, it would be a 200pt mauling.

Who cares if the It's a hybrid game both teams are playing.Irish won ? it's not a big achievment and it's a boring game and boring series. We always field a poor side. I'd like to see a series where the Irish have to play our game, see how they go then, it would be a 200pt mauling.

Both teams are playing a hybrid game.

What part of "you aren't playing Gaelic Football" don't you understand?

Then you'd realise that the Aussie players as well as trying to master a new kicking style he has to remember all these things that he's not allowed to do or has to modify.That's - running, handballing, tackling, bumping, shepherding, picking the ball up and a host of goalie rules.

Your previous replies show you have absolutely no understanding of the challenges facing an Australian Football player and I do Follow Gaelic Football.

It's not a new kicking style!

It's the same action that AFL players use to kick the oval ball all the time.

You seem completely devoid of any comprehension of the mechanics of the game.

My Gaelic Football team played a local Melbourne Aussie Rules team every preseason for 5 years. They took to the hybird rules piece of piss and some were very good at it.

The reason...

It's not that hard.

The Aussie's don't have the skills to play Gaelic football, the pick up, the solo. They'd get killed. And plenty of Irish have adapted to Aussie rules

Only a raw few could master Aussie rules ...the tough and aggressive nature of the game along with the skills required to master the oval ball would be beyond most Gaelic footballers.

Aussies would never feel the need to master gaelic football ..as it is a nothing sport ..whereas Aussie rules is a career ....the Irish come here to attempt to earn a decent living playing our game...so they throw everything they have at mastering it ...few out of the many that have tried actually succeed.