Irritating people/things that annoy you in the gym

Busy periods are the worst. Love going early in the morning before the day starts. Don't have to deal with anyone other than a few people.

Also hate it when idiots leave their equipment around even though there are signs every where stating to replace your equipment "where they belong."

Love it... GR working out. Good work mate!

Only thing is it leaves less time for North Melbourne uploads :D

Also agree nothing worse than putting other people weights away, especially when you see said person using incorrect form to try and smash 40kg dumbell shoulder press.

People who have their I-Pods up full bore so anyone nearby can hear them.

Especially annoying if it's a bloke in his forties, listening to Keisha's Tik Tok.

People who have their I-Pods up full bore so anyone nearby can hear them.

Especially annoying if it's a bloke in his forties, listening to Keisha's Tik Tok.

hahaha lol. if it gets his motor running then all the power to him

something ive noticed lately. as its getting slightly warmer (aka spring is coming), more and more people are hitting the treadmill. females are starting to wear less (gym clothes). thus, more males are starting to take positions on treadmills behind said female patrons.

just saying.

anyway, all in all i love the gym!!! even better cause me trainers a good bloke

At my gym there are heaps of places to do unassisted chinups on. I'm a weak **** so I need to set up one of only two machines to do assisted chinups. Why then do unassisted chinups on that machine? :(

I'm guilty of this ... I like the little steps the machine has. It saves me from jumping up.

Love it... GR working out. Good work mate!

Only thing is it leaves less time for North Melbourne uploads :D

Also agree nothing worse than putting other people weights away, especially when you see said person using incorrect form to try and smash 40kg dumbell shoulder press.

Haha no worries. 5 days a week including a day with PT to push it further.:)

Yeh dont worry I manage to do it well somehow. work, uni, gym, sleep, eat, woman, family and footy etc... don't know how, but I manage..lol

I see similar things at my gym. As well as strength training, they also train people for improved balance and overall fitness, etc.

By standing on 1 leg and or holding a weight up you have to concentrate on your balance as well as the exercise.

You might find someone who can squat 200kg, but might not be able to do a bodyweight 1 legged squat without falling over.

For general health you probably need a balance of all aspects of fitness - strength, cardiovascular health, balance and flexibility.

I see similar things at my gym. As well as strength training, they also train people for improved balance and overall fitness, etc.

By standing on 1 leg and or holding a weight up you have to concentrate on your balance as well as the exercise.

You might find someone who can squat 200kg, but might not be able to do a bodyweight 1 legged squat without falling over.

For general health you probably need a balance of all aspects of fitness - strength, cardiovascular health, balance and flexibility.
Most people want a personal trainer to get them in shape (ie attractive physique). These exercises are total bollocks.

Heavy compound exercises and diet will achieve more than 1 legged bosu ball squat presses ever will.

Most people want a personal trainer to get them in shape (ie attractive physique). These exercises are total bollocks.

Heavy compound exercises and diet will achieve more than 1 legged bosu ball squat presses ever will.

I agree - I'm of the camp of hard and heavy.

But i also believe that people need to be treated differently.

If you scare certain people off (ie. often older and/or larger) with the standard lifts, they may not come back.

Running a program that's 50% effective that someone sticks to for 6 months is better than one that would be 90% effective that they quit after a week or two.

---

Also people have different goals too. Mine is aesthetics, but also general fitness too. Some people might be huge but get puffed after 30 seconds of running. I like being able to run 5k in 21:40 mins, which is a secondary goal of mine.

I see a lot of that in sports training. I remember being perplexed at some of the exercises I've seen done for even basketball players, something like this:

push_pull_large.jpg

Apparently some of these things are pretty effective at achieving whatever it is they want achieved.. or I guess they wouldn't be done.

I wouldn't do them without research, nor do I see them performed at my local gym. But the fact they're being done under the guidance of professionals at least leads me to believe there's some basis for a lot of lifts that are a bit odd.

I see a lot of that in sports training. I remember being perplexed at some of the exercises I've seen done for even basketball players, something like this:

push_pull_large.jpg

Apparently some of these things are pretty effective at achieving whatever it is they want achieved.. or I guess they wouldn't be done.

I wouldn't do them without research, nor do I see them performed at my local gym. But the fact they're being done under the guidance of professionals at least leads me to believe there's some basis for a lot of lifts that are a bit odd.

I've done loads of exercises like that one you've posted with cables, but what that FF flog is doing is basically "lets make it more complicated to make it impressive". There's little functionality there.

Trust me, they throw in random shit as part of the selling point "oooh, it's sooo complicated, I'd better buy PT".

Hahahaha, crisp.

When did you get Mod plates?
Long time ago now mate. Last year maybe.

Not a fan of a lot of people in a gym and am lucky enought o have a PT mate with a home gym. Either at his, or he comes to me and brings gear. Can get most of your main stuff down with minimal gear, using the right leverage etc.

I also have multiple doors at home.

Not a fan of a lot of people in a gym and am lucky enought o have a PT mate with a home gym. Either at his, or he comes to me and brings gear. Can get most of your main stuff down with minimal gear, using the right leverage etc.

Slight homo?

Was at the gym few days ago, around 8 o clock and it was still quite busy. There were two girls that were probably 7 or 8s if i needed to guess who were doing cardio and what not. There was this guy and his mates, he was about 165 cm, 13 inch arms, had a really bad sleeve and whom i thought was on roids. Actually reminded me alot of a mini jake king. Anyway, he kept hassling these girls like and they were clearly not interested.

So he finally goes back and does his set and what not. He makes eye contact with them and gives them the finger :confused: He then goes back and tries again and obviously fails.

The girls feel pretty awkward and just leave. I felt pretty sorry for them since they were there just to work out and probably won't be coming back for a while.

Was at the gym few days ago, around 8 o clock and it was still quite busy. There were two girls that were probably 7 or 8s if i needed to guess who were doing cardio and what not. There was this guy and his mates, he was about 165 cm, 13 inch arms, had a really bad sleeve and whom i thought was on roids. Actually reminded me alot of a mini jake king. Anyway, he kept hassling these girls like and they were clearly not interested.

So he finally goes back and does his set and what not. He makes eye contact with them and gives them the finger :confused: He then goes back and tries again and obviously fails.

The girls feel pretty awkward and just leave. I felt pretty sorry for them since they were there just to work out and probably won't be coming back for a while.

I've got no time for people trying to pick up in the gym, shut up and train ffs

13 inch arms on the juice?

Did you tell him he was a failure on every imaginable level?

****in lol

Irritating people/things that annoy you in the gym