Is every others teams supporters hatred of Eddie McGuire justified?

Eddie's ok, never bothered me, I didn't mind his commentary on 9 either.

This is the reason why I can't stand him, I found his commentary to be unbelievably biased. After the Port V Pies Football Park semi a comparison was made on his commentary when Pies kicked one to when Port got one, poles apart.

Tim Lane was right in not wanting to work with him on Pies games I think.

But as much as I disliked his commentary and the "Eddie Everywhere" of the time I think he would be a fantastic president. The comment he made after the Beach Hotel & Diamond Tav write-downs in that "...I will work to get every dollar lost in this deal back to the Collingwood FC" sticks in my mind because you know he is someone that will do just that.

Also forgot to add, being a total flog with regard to clash jumpers and carrying on life an ever bigger flog when Jeff Kennett refused to come onto The Footy Show when Ed was host as he said it was "a vehicle to promote the Collingwood football brand" and JK was spot on.

This is the reason why I can't stand him, I found his commentary to be unbelievably biased. After the Port V Pies Football Park semi a comparison was made on his commentary when Pies kicked one to when Port got one, poles apart.

Tim Lane was right in not wanting to work with him on Pies games I think.

But as much as I disliked his commentary and the "Eddie Everywhere" of the time I think he would be a fantastic president. The comment he made after the Beach Hotel & Diamond Tav write-downs in that "...I will work to get every dollar lost in this deal back to the Collingwood FC" sticks in my mind because you know he is someone that will do just that.

Also forgot to add, being a total flog with regard to clash jumpers and carrying on life an ever bigger flog when Jeff Kennett refused to come onto The Footy Show when Ed was host as he said it was "a vehicle to promote the Collingwood football brand" and JK was spot on.

You want biased, listen to Tim Lane any time Carlton are playing, he even mentioned the 1970 GF last time Pies & Blues played, BEAT THAT!!!

lol, what's hilarious is how pathetic your actions were and how lowly you see yourself if him ringing you back made you feel more important. you need a self help course urgently.

what a load of crap. If some tosser rang and abused me and i had their number I'd give them a serve back. Just coz he is well known doesn't diminish his right to respond to some absolute wank-stain acting like a d***head.

Woah, relax mate, it was a joke. Is that you Edward? :D
In all seriousness I love Eddie's passion for his club, I was just trying to point out how easily baited he can be.

Eddie is much better these days and I think that is related to the fact that he has learnt some humility after his failure as CEO at 9. A man's gotta know his limitations and Eddie found his. prior to that he had grown extremely arrogant and dismissive to others views, but the humble pie has helped to tone him down. No one should ever question his love for Collingwood firstly and football secondly and that is what makes him a great president that any club would love to emulate.

Eddie does a great job for Collingwood. He's a smart bloke and easily one of the top presidents in the league. No hatred here. Small issue I have with him is feeling the need to take the odd cheap shot at other clubs in interviews any chance he gets e.g. on SEN this week talking with Bowden and saying if full free agency came in clubs would be rorting the salary cap "but there's already clubs doing that..." and then he has a chuckle to himself. Unnecessary. I almost felt like when Sally Capp (I think that was her name) landed a spot on the Collingwood board, it was just so Eddie could make a "salary cap" pun at the press conference...

On the other hand, that conversation with Bowden was great stuff. Two blokes disagreeing on a point (mid-season transfers and contract deadlines), nothing personal, both made good points and had their say. Top marks to both of them.

Eddie represents what's great about Australia. He is a excellent example of how a fat, ugly, poorly spoken, bogan from the outer suburbs can brown nose, squirm and stomp over people to get himself to the top. And once at the top, not only hoodwink the ruling classes into giving him some sort of soapbox as he speaks "like the man on the street", the dim witted public at large falls for his "working class charm" whilst the fat man counts his money.

What a grand country we live in.

Gee that sounds like the last two Carlton presidents who ripped off $millions from the public & should have spent time in the clink for it!!!! At least Eddie is honest & has integrity & a love of the game, not just his own club or pocket.

You don't have to like Ed, but you have to admire Ed from coming from Broadmeadows to being head of Channel 9 for some time, Collingwood President and significant TV personality.

His passion towards his club is unparallel.

Eddie is much better these days and I think that is related to the fact that he has learnt some humility after his failure as CEO at 9. A man's gotta know his limitations and Eddie found his. prior to that he had grown extremely arrogant and dismissive to others views, but the humble pie has helped to tone him down. No one should ever question his love for Collingwood firstly and football secondly and that is what makes him a great president that any club would love to emulate.

Pretty much this.

When he was everywhere, especially in the commentary box, I just couldn't stand him. Hell, the whole salary cap bull that he kept harping on about still bugs me because he's used that to try and cheapen an incredible achievement.

Aside from that though, right now I don't mind him at all.

i dont hate him. infact, his passion for the pies should be commended. only thing i dont like is when he gets on his high horse over minor issues (such as the "we are collingwood and wear black and white. they are not collingwood and cant wear black and white")

i want to know why there is a hatred for Jeff Kennett, even by the hawks fans.

Woah, relax mate, it was a joke. Is that you Edward? :D
In all seriousness I love Eddie's passion for his club, I was just trying to point out how easily baited he can be.

joke, it wasn't a joke when you rang me you prick. :mad:

You interrupted bucks foot massage and he got angry at me for ringing you back rather than finishing.

You nearly single-handedly bought down the next Collingwood dynasty. I had to do some pretty unspeakable but quite enjoyable things to sure it up. :)

Is every others teams supporters hatred of Eddie McGuire justified?