Is it just me or... (Second title, Chris Judd in defense)

USAEagle

Feb 27, 2002
Huskies Seahawks Mariners
This is something I have been mulling over for a long time.

Why is it that Chris Judd can turn on these awesome bursts of speed and run through 2 or 3 tackles and kick a goal on his wrong foot on the run, but when he is within say 3 to 5 metres of an opponent running the ball out, he just sort of jogs? If he would use 90% of his speed he could tackle anyone in the comp before they knew what hit them.

Look at Fido. I have seen him run down people from 20 metres away. Where is Judd's effort? Why does it all seem to be concentrated on the offensive side of things? Is it just the game plan? What?

I am neither trolling nor calling for a trade here. But if he is going to be a liability in this area, and this is ongoing from last season too, then maybe Woosha needs to have a quiet word with him.

Ive noticed that too. Judd with the ball, balks, breaks tackles and runs away from anyone. But when chasing, he just looks slow?

I wondering if a good tactic might be to play him in the backline for a game or two and make his really chase and tackle a small forward. See if he can understand the defensive aspect of the game?

Originally posted by jod23
Ive noticed that too. Judd with the ball, balks, breaks tackles and runs away from anyone. But when chasing, he just looks slow?

I wondering if a good tactic might be to play him in the backline for a game or two and make his really chase and tackle a small forward. See if he can understand the defensive aspect of the game?

Oh Im sure he knows that he's supposed to chase/run hard! I think Woosha just needs to get into his ear and tell him: IF YOUR OPPONENT GETS THE BALL AND RUNS AWAY....YOU GOTTA RUN LIKE CRAZY, LIKE YOU CAN, AND TACKLE THE BASTARD!
Either than or you get one of the quicker guys on the team to take his wallet or mobile phone or keys to his car and run and get him to chase the guy down and get it back and when he does do it, say...see juddy, thats what you have to do in a game. You do that and you'll be fine! :D:D:D:D

yes, I've noticed it too and it is the weakest aspect of Chrissy Judd's game but I think its just part of the learning process for him. When he matures as an AFL footballer I think we'll seem him turn it on and be an absolute great of the game.

Originally posted by Black Thunder
yes, I've noticed it too and it is the weakest aspect of Chrissy Judd's game but I think its just part of the learning process for him. When he matures as an AFL footballer I think we'll seem him turn it on and be an absolute great of the game.

Yeah, he is only 19, doesnt turn 20 till September!

Yeah you gotta think about where this kid has come from.

If he can come into his first AFL game (RD 2 vs Collingwood) and raise some eyelids, imagine what he would have been doing in the VFA and colts footy?

I wouldn't be surprised to hear that he was getting 60+ disposals a game. When you've got that much of the footy, your defensive game is really weakened, because you have the ball so much, you aren't chasing all day.

I definitely agree that a few stints on a half back flank would be superb for his development.

He just needs to have a look at Chick and Fido.

His defensive game does need work. One of the possibilities that a commentator suggested a few weeks ago was that the double shoulder reconstruction means he's not much of a tackler. Whether its a physical or mental block, it just seems like he doesn't like laying tackles, which means he won't be chasing quite as hard.
I think Essendon had done their research, because it seemed that they were all very prepared to take Judd on.
Long term it not the end of the world, I think sometimes we lose sight of the fact that Judd is just a kid. He will improve.

Originally posted by Mead

I think sometimes we lose sight of the fact that Judd is just a kid. He will improve.

Thats very true - we do forget he's still only 19 because he's already in the best 20 or 30 footballers in the competition, and I reckon there are some areas were he is in the best 5 of the comp - such as change of pace, hands at ground level, ability to break a tackle.

I think maybe it is because he is tall and runs very upright. This means he has a high centre of gravity and a long stride.

The long stride and high centre of gravity means that it takes longer for him to react to an opponents change in direction. He can catch an opponent if they run in a straight line but is easily thrown of by a nippier swerving type of player who can wrong foot him. When he has the ball though it is a completely different matter as he is the one calling the shots and it is others who have to react to him.

I think this is also one of the reasons Phil Matera is so good at catching backmen. His low centre of gravity and short stride length enable him to react to an opponents counter measures super quick. In this way Phil is a bit like a patriot missile or sidewinder.

I think his shoulders have a lot to do with it. He probably would have been No1 pick if it wasn't for them. I don't know whether you've noticed or it's just me being one sided, but he cops a bit out on the field too. I cringe when he gets tackled sometimes. It's like the opposition is really trying to test his shoulders.

His shoulders do seem to me the reason why he cant tackle. Maybe its just a mental thing but he seems to get shrugged off pretty easily when going for the tackle.

Leave him in the midfield i say, or throw him at HF and let him chase the defenders - he's a great kick for goal so theres no reason to waste him at HB

Is it just me or... (Second title, Chris Judd in defense)