Analysis Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

2 Years in, Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

I have said that for the last few years. Others have told me it's the angle of the camera at the Gabba - however, this was never an issue when Voss was coach, you would always see Harvey and others around him. I would assume, from what we see at almost every ground, he only has DD and that stats kid with him in the Box, with Blacky and others on the bench - I am led to believe however - there is a raft of people around him, we just don't see them for one reason or another. Other teams there is always 7 or people communicating in the box, you never see this with leppa - he just sits there. It is my most troubling element of his tenure - Vossy was always on the phone or talking, asking questions.

That's what I thought the case was when at the Gabba, but the footage of Buckley also from the Gabba showed a whole team.

Also, it is the same picture from opposition grounds, Leppa and maybe one or two others, yet the opposition's box is stacked.

It can't just be the camera angle.

As for your comment regarding Leppa and him just sitting there with this dumbfounded look; I can't help but think even he knows he is so far out of his depths it isn't funny. Senior coaching gigs aren't for everybody and whilst prior to accepting the top job Leppa would have no doubt thought he could be a senior coach, but I think the stark realisation has hit him between the eyes and even he probably knows deep down that he isn't cut out for it, particularly as under resourced as what his coaching panel is.

My other concern is the lack of a secondary plan or bringing something completely new to the game as a lot of other coaches have done. Leppa doesn't strike me as having a modicum of innovation, which is concerning.

We should have hired ZOB as an assistant coach so Leppa could show some emotion. :D
He probably wishes he could put the choker hold on a few this year. Who knows, if things keep going the way they are, Lethal might do it for him.

Another thing which I wanted to share on here in relation to development that I have been thinking lately.

Usually when I see a 'potentially elite' draftee playing for us It would fill me with pride they had been handed the jumper, I knew they would have to craft a unique path to stardom up in Brisbane, but was always happy and relieved we had the chance to add them to our list.

This yeah with Schache I just feel a sense of disappointment and almost guilt for him and his family having him land at the Lions. Being completely honest, I look at him and think there's a good chance we will never get to see what this amazing young bloke is capable of, part of me thinks 'this is his one shot, he should have landed at the Cat's or at a big club with resources, he is such a great kid'. I've never felt that before.

I am sure he doesen't share my bleak view of the world ATM, but that feeling is testament to the complete lack of faith in our club providing anything close to a professional enough environment required to allow young players to thrive at AFL level.

The Carlton players I've heard have been glowing about Bolton's ability to communicate. It's about both approach and content. I don't really know how good Leppa is at communicating with his players although the signs (and recent history) would indicate he isn't very good. He actually comes across as a bit of an introvert and, perhaps understandably given our performances, lacking confidence and self belief. Hardly the base on which you would be looking to rebuild a footy club.

I was watching that doco on Bolton arriving at the club that was on Foxtel.

They were in the freezing waters off Tassie on a leadership camp, the group consisted of the new draftee's for 2016 - including Weitering.

They had parked two boats about 100 metres apart and they did a small challenge on the boat, the loser had to jump in the ice cold water and swim across to the other boat as they had failed the challenge.

The kid, shivering jumped up and into the water.. swimming wildly across to the other boat while the other boys laughed and jeered, relieved it wasn't them that was forced to swim across.

Bolton turned around and barked at them that they had all now instantly failed and the swimmer had automatically won - even though he actually failed the test initially. he then demanded 'what should have you done, you think it's fun and games watching your team mate suffer and fail a challenge'?

The whole test was to see if the others could get over their ego, their pride in beating their team mate, their one-up-manship and their childish propensity to laugh at their mates misfortune - and step up and say 'Mate even though you failed, I'm swimming with you across the other boat' and to encourage the others to join in too..

He then went on to explain the being a 'team' is engrained, and that if they didn't think to do that now, and were happy to watch their mate suffer without offering support, what was their mindset going to be lining up along side them in an AFL game?. It highlighted, that attitude has to be absolute second nature and present in every single action you make - that one little thing he did with them on the boat would have changed their view on being a 'team mate' for the rest of the career.. in that it would have taught them to look for the not so obvious angle when it comes to support and leadership.

anyway.. long post, but as soon as I watched that, I knew that Bolton was going to go well in his first year at the Blues.

I was watching that doco on Bolton arriving at the club that was on Foxtel.

They were in the freezing waters off Tassie on a leadership camp, the group consisted of the new draftee's for 2016 - including Weitering.

They had parked two boats about 100 metres apart and they did a small challenge on the boat, the loser had to jump in the ice cold water and swim across to the other boat as they had failed the challenge.

The kid, shivering jumped up and into the water.. swimming wildly across to the other boat while the other boys laughed and jeered, relieved it wasn't them that was forced to swim across.

Bolton turned around and barked at them that they had all now instantly failed and the swimmer had automatically won - even though he actually failed the test initially. he then demanded 'what should have you done, you think it's fun and games watching your team mate suffer and fail a challenge'?

The whole test was to see if the others could get over their ego, their pride in beating their team mate, their one-up-manship and their childish propensity to laugh at their mates misfortune - and step up and say 'Mate even though you failed, I'm swimming with you across the other boat' and to encourage the others to join in too..

He then went on to explain the being a 'team' is engrained, and that if they didn't think to do that now, and were happy to watch their mate suffer without offering support, what was their mindset going to be lining up along side them in an AFL game?. It highlighted, that attitude has to be absolute second nature and present in every single action you make - that one little thing he did with them on the boat would have changed their view on being a 'team mate' for the rest of the career.. in that it would have taught them to look for the not so obvious angle when it comes to support and leadership.

anyway.. long post, but as soon as I watched that, I knew that Bolton was going to go well in his first year at the Blues.

That's what I thought the case was when at the Gabba, but the footage of Buckley also from the Gabba showed a whole team.

Also, it is the same picture from opposition grounds, Leppa and maybe one or two others, yet the opposition's box is stacked.

It can't just be the camera angle.

As for your comment regarding Leppa and him just sitting there with this dumbfounded look; I can't help but think even he knows he is so far out of his depths it isn't funny. Senior coaching gigs aren't for everybody and whilst prior to accepting the top job Leppa would have no doubt thought he could be a senior coach, but I think the stark realisation has hit him between the eyes and even he probably knows deep down that he isn't cut out for it, particularly as under resourced as what his coaching panel is.

My other concern is the lack of a secondary plan or bringing something completely new to the game as a lot of other coaches have done. Leppa doesn't strike me as having a modicum of innovation, which is concerning.

Its two fold. 1) at the gabba the reason the opposition box looks fuller is because they take the shot from the same angle as the home box, however the opposition box is further away therefore you get the whole lot.

2) no we probably don't have the same number of staff which isn't surprising given we're a few million under the spending cap for footy related staff.

Wow, Bolton is amazing! You can see those kids hang off every word he says

He's something special isn't he? Wish we had someone like that at our club.

Its two fold. 1) at the gabba the reason the opposition box looks fuller is because they take the shot from the same angle as the home box, however the opposition box is further away therefore you get the whole lot.

2) no we probably don't have the same number of staff which isn't surprising given we're a few million under the spending cap for footy related staff.

I took this picture at quarter-time.

Collingwood on the right, us on the left. Check out the numbers of black-clothes people ... and this is for an away game!

CiaJZosU4AE5Xvn.jpg

The thing I noticed about that Carlton video was the carrying around of the footies. For army recruits, you carry your weapon everywhere. It shares some value. For soldiers it's a lot about learning to have it always with you, but it is also about familiarity.
I have raised this before, in relation to skills; Aker (for all his whacky faults) had a footy in his hand more often than not, around the home, watching telly, just walking around the house.
The way our boys play sometimes is like the football is a foreign object. Hyper-familiarity with the tool of your trade is a good thing.

Bit jealous watching that video of Bolton. Love what he is instilling in that group and they are clearly taking on board what he's saying. Far from the most talented team but they are winning games because they are having a crack and playing for each other. Think a lot of our blokes are very selfish, they could learn a lot by watching the way Carlton are going about it.

The thing I noticed about that Carlton video was the carrying around of the footies. For army recruits, you carry your weapon everywhere. It shares some value. For soldiers it's a lot about learning to have it always with you, but it is also about familiarity.
I have raised this before, in relation to skills; Aker (for all his whacky faults) had a footy in his hand more often than not, around the home, watching telly, just walking around the house.
The way our boys play sometimes is like the football is a foreign object. Hyper-familiarity with the tool of your trade is a good thing.

Chalres Barkley slept with a ball under his arm for his entire career, so his body grew to feel it was an extension of his being haha

I've also liked the idea of camping or living on your home ground in tents for a w eek or so in the offseason, and doing stuff like having to protect as flag from being captured with overnight watches and other little military games, to install that 'this ground is home' in the offseason in true Psychological sense, sleeping eating and waking up there for a week on end would make it feel like home.

Chalres Barkley slept with a ball under his arm for his entire career, so his body grew to feel it was an extension of his being haha

I've also liked the idea of camping or living on your home ground in tents for a w eek or so in the offseason, and doing stuff like having to protect as flag from being captured with overnight watches and other little military games, to install that 'this ground is home' in the offseason in true Psychological sense, sleeping eating and waking up there for a week on end would make it feel like home.
Of course many of us slept with two balls and never made it.

Reckon Gabba security could be an issue there.
29F9EC3000000578-3139621-image-a-2_1435276064828.jpg

Not just the basic skills but as of the last two games the effort has not been there and that is what everybody is so concerned about.

Seriously, ...if the basic skills aren't there there is no f'n effort....Like going to a dance with your sister..You can go through the motions but you know you ain't going to score...

Yeah I've slept with a pillow my entire life I've never thought of it as a bodily appendage sleeping with a ball won't do shit.

Not sure if this is the right thread.. but can anyone comfirm training loads each week? We only trained for 35 minutes last week and we are only doing 90 minutes over 8 days this week? WTF!? It must be industry standard but i would have thought there would be at least 4-5 hours of training each week?

Nah I don't believe that they must at least run a few kms every week and lift weights and shit. Maybe 90 minutes of drills and simulations but even that is too low to be believed unless leppa has absolutely given up and subconciously trying to get fired now.

I would think 90 minutes skills one day, just line kicking / handballing and ground work would be expected, maybe on a tuesday. Then a 2 hour main session witn stoppage work, a bit of match sim and line work? So 3.5 hours min.. would allow 3 × 1 hour gym sessions eeeeaasy. Not saying thats right just thats what i'd expect.