Analysis Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

2 Years in, Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

But why exclude them and the ones just before... one of the constant criticisms is that we can't develop players...

Andrew goes alright.
Reckon Lewy went alright too until he started worrying about a contract.
Gardner goes well.
Cutler look good.
Paps has grown hugely in his game.
Dawson has promise.
Beasley was developing well.

The players right now giving everyone heartache are players who have played longer under other coaches than they have under Leppa. I suppose any bad habits they picked up along the way are his fault too? ;)

I think that players progressing as they play games and grow older is one thing, looking here for genuine improvement.

I don't give that tick to any of the above in terms of young players - none have 'broken out' yet which you would hope for for at least half of them HOWEVER . . that does not include Mr Harris Andrews - for which our development needs to be given a huge tick, can't believe I forgot him.

If the club does decide that Leppa is not the man for the job there are plenty of options out there outside of Ratten and Dew which are the 2 names that have popped up the most in this thread. Let's take a look at some of the options:

Leigh Tudor is one I quite like as a more experienced option. Spent time as an assistant with the Swans during their 2005-2006 era at the top, the Saints during their 2009-2010 era at the top, and he is now with North so he has spent time as an assistant at some successful sides.

Peter Sumich has served a 15 year apprenticeship as an assistant at the WA clubs. Not sure if he would be my favourite option though and I doubt he'll want to leave WA.

Brett Montgomery almost got the Blues job. Has experience as an assistant at the Dogs and Power.

Matthew Nicks has been an assistant at Port Adelaide since 2011 and is supposedly very popular among the playing group and rated very highly by Ken Hinkley.

Adam Kingsley assistant at the Saints was in contention for the Blues job. Has completed a coaches course and has been credited with the quality development of quite a few of the Saints youngsters.

Nathan Bassett coached an SANFL side to back to back flags before moving to the Bombers as an assistant.

Scott Burns has been in the top 2-3 candidates for the West Coast, Adelaide(Twice) and Blues jobs. Has probably been unlucky to not get a gig. Has a lot of experience as an assistant.

So yeah there are a lot of options out there if we end up on the hunt.

I'd love to get a couple of these blokes onto our coaching staff to support Leppa. Tudor as a senior assistant and someone like Nicks or Kingsley as well. Unrealistic but would be so handy.

If the club does decide that Leppa is not the man for the job there are plenty of options out there outside of Ratten and Dew which are the 2 names that have popped up the most in this thread. Let's take a look at some of the options:

Leigh Tudor is one I quite like as a more experienced option. Spent time as an assistant with the Swans during their 2005-2006 era at the top, the Saints during their 2009-2010 era at the top, and he is now with North so he has spent time as an assistant at some successful sides.

Peter Sumich has served a 15 year apprenticeship as an assistant at the WA clubs. Not sure if he would be my favourite option though and I doubt he'll want to leave WA.

Brett Montgomery almost got the Blues job. Has experience as an assistant at the Dogs and Power.

Matthew Nicks has been an assistant at Port Adelaide since 2011 and is supposedly very popular among the playing group and rated very highly by Ken Hinkley.

Adam Kingsley assistant at the Saints was in contention for the Blues job. Has completed a coaches course and has been credited with the quality development of quite a few of the Saints youngsters.

Nathan Bassett coached an SANFL side to back to back flags before moving to the Bombers as an assistant.

Scott Burns has been in the top 2-3 candidates for the West Coast, Adelaide(Twice) and Blues jobs. Has probably been unlucky to not get a gig. Has a lot of experience as an assistant.

So yeah there are a lot of options out there if we end up on the hunt.

Dew strikes me as fairly personable - has a bit of that 'down to earth' .. bevvo style about him. also as good of a assistant resume as one could compile. also, if it comes to that - I hope we go a young option - with modern ideals.

My god I feel like not many people watched this. Super impressive, exactly the type of coach we need at our footy club.

Pretty sure Luke Beveridge pushes the same messages with the same sort of coaching style, it's no fluke - that's why Sawn saying 'A new coach wouldn't change anything on field' (not that I would expect him to say the opposite) - is utter crap - to say the coach has zero impact on our diabolical on-field state is a joke and that psychology of unaccountability is half our problem.

You could really see how the teaching background came out when he communicated with players. Reminded me a lot of the really good teachers at school that just knew how to handle young men and get the best out of them.

Yep I made the same comparison last week, some teachers try hard, are lovely people, have good credentials and skills but never win the students over, then the next teacher.. for what ever reason, is lorded and loved by them - comes down to the ability to communicate and get on their level, some have it.. some don't.

There's a reason Leppa banned media access last year.

You've obviously never seen him in action other than the media press conferences he does - he's actually a pretty magnetic guy.

Whether he can coach is independent of this.

I think if the club recorded videos of him interacting with the group and edited it favourably, it'd have a similar effect.

Where did you hear that Leppa 'banned media access'?

You've obviously never seen him in action other than the media press conferences he does - he's actually a pretty magnetic guy.

I think if the club recorded videos of him interacting with the group and edited it favourably, it'd have a similar effect.

He looks quite personable when introducing the debutants in those videos.

Yeah he can be good in videos I agree, I was just tongue in cheek in response to your tongue in cheek remark. Clearly player relations are a well documented issue for our coach, so not having video evidence is not really required to validate our conversation IMO.

I heard from a very high ranking person at Fox Footy, face to face - that Leppa totally lost his cool about round 8 last year and started denying all media access and stopped interacting with the media and AFL, that the attitude amongst the AFL and others was he had gone AWOL on his duties as coach and had virtually 'pulled down the shutters' because he was too stressed and kinder paranoid. Said that Fox footy and the AFL were really pissed off about Brisbane's attitude and they were the worst team in the league to deal with. The Fact he wasn't on the couch, wasn't on 360 and had no presence in the media (which was documented here) lead me to believe this was true, it coincided with a whole bunch of other turmoil too. However, obviously part of his 'revival' was to do more 'all access' stuff, over the off season, which was great to see and long over due and he was good in that stuff too.

My god I feel like not many people watched this. Super impressive, exactly the type of coach we need at our footy club.
just watched the journey on your recommendation Leemas, couldn't agree more on bolton. if you only went by his superficial media persona you would say he was a happy go lucky easy going fella but in this he comes across as a steely, hungry for success, will not tolerate nonsense man who is highly confident in his own ability and also a great leader of boys and men.

loved his statement "you are not entitled to anything"

Carlton are in good hands.

Yeah Leigh Tudor has really left his stamp where ever he's been& could be a real shot for a position in the near future with a senior coaching position,Stewie Dew has been impressive as well,Sumich who's been an assistant for years now as well could be also ready to step up.Brett Ratten not because I'm a Blues fan but really will be worth a shot he's been so important at the Hawks since joining them as well;).

Yep, not enough Robert Walls teaching background/Strempel educational communication going on any more... :D

Yeah Leigh Tudor has really left his stamp where ever he's been& could be a real shot for a position in the near future with a senior coaching position,Stewie Dew has been impressive as well,Sumich who's been an assistant for years now as well could be also ready to step up.Brett Ratten not because I'm a Blues fan but really will be worth a shot he's been so important at the Hawks since joining them as well;).

Leigh Tudor... ummm, yeah. ya know arrrmmm... I'm sure he's got a lot to like regarding qualifications and experience but not sure he is even up to Leppa levels as far as media work goes. Not a north fan but how often is he used by them in front of the camera?

Thanks for your reply bf:thumbsu:, I've never heard of Leigh in front of the camera so thanks a lot for that one:thumbsu:;).

What was wrong with that? He spoke pretty well I thought. He said "um" a fair bit,but seemed like a pretty relatable guy

just watched the journey on your recommendation Leemas, couldn't agree more on bolton. if you only went by his superficial media persona you would say he was a happy go lucky easy going fella but in this he comes across as a steely, hungry for success, will not tolerate nonsense man who is highly confident in his own ability and also a great leader of boys and men.

loved his statement "you are not entitled to anything"

Carlton are in good hands.
watched it as well. Was like "I'm only going to watch the first few minutes to see what the fuss is about"... got sucked in and watched the whole segment. He seems like a great man that inspires the players, but at the same time demands hard work and respect.

Can't see anyone comparing here mate.

Well it's hard to get a read on what people think of how Leppa interacts with the players because there is no favourable video edited like the ones on Hinkley/Bolton/etc that have gone through the media in the last few years.

Like, without a cool video, how do we know Leppa isn't the same or better with his players?

Well it's hard to get a read on what people think of how Leppa interacts with the players because there is no favourable video edited like the ones on Hinkley/Bolton/etc that have gone through the media in the last few years.

Like, without a cool video, how do we know Leppa isn't the same or better with his players?
He even himself acknowledged that he fails with player relationships.