Is Nic Naitanui ridiculously overrated?

I thought he looked slow and cumbersome today. Being such a young player perhaps he needs a break to freshen up as the vigours of AFL footy are tough on young bodies.

easily the best ruckman from his draft atm
Vickery beat him today though.

The biggest issue with Naitanui is he is a very dumb footballer. At one point when we had a kickout Graham was on his own and Naitanui was in the centre square and an Eagles player had to scream out to him to get on Graham. The kick went to Graham and Graham too the mark.

He should be learning a ton under Cox, but at the moment Naitanui just isn't a smart footballer. Heaps of talent, but will go wasting if he doesn't smarten up and learn where to run, when to run, where he needs to be, etc.

I don't think he will ever be a 20-possession type ruckman like Cox etc. However, if he gets 10 touches, inevitably, 7 or 8 very good things happen.
Too early to make a call on him. Will be a keeper and a good player. Will he be a star? Too early.

Ryder did an amazing tap last night and the commentators didn't even blink an eye lid. I guess it's not his fault he gets all the extra attention though.

What duds McEvoy and STanley are - only 29 dreamteam points between them and it's 3/4 time.

Reckon saints got those both wrong and should delist them at the end of the season.......

Stephen Hill had a blinder so far. :rolleyes:

Nicnat needs time and the media have cursed him to an extent with the extended wankfest everytime he touches the ball or takes 1 good mark a game and just let the kid play FFS. It is to much pressure on a kid to expect them to dominate the hardest position on the ground for a 20 year old. We have had the same sort of problems with Kruezer early on but i am rapt with the way he is coming along now and what he has shown so far but sadly the know all trolls on BF who know best fail to realise this and like to take pot shots at any player who was a high draft pick and does not dominate from the get go.

NicNat and Kruezer will be the premier ruckman in the AFL in 3 years time and both will be great players. :thumbsu:

Stephen Hill had a blinder so far. :rolleyes:

Yeah a quiet game by Hill's standards - 14 possies and 6 tackles. Although if Nic Nat put those numbers together with a couple of taps he's be praised as the 2nd coming of Christ... again.

Don't even try bring up Hill to make yourself feel better about Naitanui's form. Hill has completely outperformed Nic Nat in every department this season.

Yeah a quiet game by Hill's standards - 14 possies and 6 tackles. Although if Nic Nat put those numbers together with a couple of taps he's be praised as the 2nd coming of Christ... again.

Don't even try compare Hill to Naitanui to try make yourself feel better. Hill has completely outperformed Nic Nat in every department this season.

Ones a midfielder/half back flanker and the others a ruckman, so yes comparing them would be foolish.

If you want a comparison compare it to freo's second year ruckman in Clarke who played his first game for the year and was underwhelming which again just highlights it does take big men longer to develop.

Naitanui is overhyped at this stage due to his flashes of brilliance, but he's still ahead of other rucks at the same age and has scope for improvement so you can see where the hype is coming from.

Watts has played worse over the last 2-3 weeks yet Nic is always the first to be trolled/bagged as soon as he has a bad game.

We keep hearing that we need to be patient with Watts as he is a young KPP (fair enough) yet Nic gets labelled a spud and a hack by some clueless flogs everytime he has a quiet game.

WCE and its fans can't be blamed for the media going OTT consistently when it comes to Naitanui.

People continously forget he was picked as a project player and plays in a position that historically takes time to grow into.

He is a 'victim' of his own good performances where people expect him to dominate week in week out. If you looked at his very short career to date I think hes done very, very well for a young ruckman.

I don't think, atleast in the short term, he will be a player that has an even high possession game over four quarters.. he is the type of player that will turn the game with a completely dominant quarter or half.

Unfortunately silly threads like this will be bumped everytime Nic has a quiet game, though I think WCE fans might just be the ones who have the last laugh on this topic.

i don't really like the way he's being played.

today for example.... start as ruck rover, then go forward, then to the bench, and finally get a ruck when we're already 4 down.

he's a confidence player. must take the first few centre bounces to get him into it.

personally i think he should take all the centre bounces and cox just help out around the ground.

You just can't help yourself, can you?

:rolleyes:

Simply making a point. MFC posters consistently use the 'he is a young KPP' excuse for Watts' poor performances yet the same latitude isn't allowed for Naitanui?

Don't worry, you guys are in a win/win on the Naitanui vs Watts topic going into tomorrow.

Watts plays shit - "Watts is a young KPP, he needs time"

Watts plays ok/good - *multiple threads bumped* "Watts >>>> Naitanui, Watts is going to be the best player in the AFL, etc"