Is North Melbourne passing on Logan McDonald going to be the 2021 version of the Bulldogs passing on Buddy for Ryan Griffin

There is little doubt Will Phillips will be a terrific player. The major doubt is whether he will stay at North. He was looking forward to going to Sydney. I expect Melbourne based Clubs without good young midfielders will be circling, notably Collingwood and Hawthorn.

“I didn’t plan the celebration, I just grabbed the jumper to show how proud I am to play for this football club”

Lol you are a sad sack alright.

And yet he has better stats in his first two games than Dangerfield or Bontempelli. Bont, for example, had 2 touches in his second game. LOL.

Phillips has more to him than just disposals even though he can rack them up.

I was hoping Cunnington would get suspended and see Will play more from the centre.

Looking forward to OP's next thread.

Suggestions;

- Is Tarryn Thomas a bust?
- how long until Jaidyn Stephenson gets caught placing another multi?
- is jack ziebell the worst captain in the league
- *generic thread about Norf being pov/moving to Tasmania/having no fans*
- Norf got the shit McKay, #lolNorf
- Cunnington is bald and not as good as "The Bont"
- 2016 wasn't a fluke

Phillips has more to him than just disposals even though he can rack them up.

I was hoping Cunnington would get suspended and see Will play more from the centre.
If Christian gets his way then you probably will.

But you can't suspend someone for that hit under those criteria.

Suggestions;

- Norf got the sh*t McKay, #lolNorf
- 2016 wasn't a fluke

All very valid threads.

North made the right call with Phillips..
McDonald could well be the next Buddy Franklin.. But North couldn't take the chance
In the last 10 years, look how many top 10 picks, so called once in a generation KPF there has been and many were flops or better defenders...

2011 Pick 1 - Jonathan Patton - Injury riddled, less flop in his pictures than at football.. FLOP

2012 Pick 10 - Joe Daniher - Injury riddled player, great player when on song... PASS

2013 Pick 1 - Tom Boyd - Played 2 good games, at different club.. 2 game hero, Bulldogs would love him though... FLOP

2014 Pick 1 - Paddy McCartin - Concussion riddled, couldn't take the next step... FLOP
2014 Pick 8 - Peter Wright - Flop at two clubs now, only claim to fame is he is 2 meters... FLOP
2014 Pick 9 - Darcy More -Average forward who went to backline and become a star of the competition... PASS

2015 Pick 2 - Josh Schache - Major flop at 2 clubs... FLOP
2015 Pick 9 - Sam Weiderman - Done bugger all at Melbourne, but still young.. PASS
2015 Pick 10 - Harry Mckay - Lethargic looking at times.. But projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS

2017 Pick 8 - Aaron Naughton - Ticks all the boxes excellent player... PASS

2018 Pick 2 - Jack Lukosius - Average start to career forward, went to backline and become a decent player... PASS
2018 Pick 4 - Max King - Projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS
2018 Pick 6 - Ben King - Projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS

2019 Pick 3 - Luke Jackson - Projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS
So you’re saying the elite talls since 2015 have all been successful. You’re not selling Phillips to me based on your stats here buddy.

And?

Look its a shame that you bring the state down with your existence but what is your point? Youse want to flog Tassie games as well, the way you lot steal every idea we come up with?
Yeah mate. We steal every idea your club comes up with. Just like how we stole your idea of having your stand alone VFL side. And I guess you’re claiming your club are the ones who were the pioneers for AFLW as well? 😂😂😂

So you’re saying the elite talls since 2015 have all been successful.
The more common element there is the monster KPFs tend to fail, the more agile types tend to thrive.
McCartin an outlier with concussion, Schache an outlier due to an allergy to body contact.

Obviously not if you took that long to reply.

No shame in Logan being worse than Will. Plus Swans have plenty of other good rookies. Good times.

So you associate the time it takes someone to reply to a meaningless BigFooty message with how they’re doing? Oh my. Now I just feel bad for you.

As you were.

If clubs are willing to rate players based off their first 3 matches the Swans are happy to field enquiries about Ben Ronke. Will be willing to trade for 1 top 10 pick

Who knows, Phillips and Powell don't exactly have the same teammates as McDonald just yet.

What I do find to be incredibly wrong is the outdated "you draft your keys first, then your midfielders 2nd".

Hawthorn - nope - in terms of high value, they had Hodge, Mitchell & Ladson in 2001 (trading Croad and McPharlin OUT), Croad back in 2003, before filling out their list with Franklin, Roughead and Lewis in 2004. They had already gone hard on mids to allow Franklin and Roughead, also having Crawford on their list.

Richmond won a flag with 1 genuine key forward (Riewoldt) who was one of their earlier picks, but also took Cotchin before Rance, and Martin with their other top 3 pick. The next time they were in the top 10 they took Conca (mid), Vlastuin (medium defender), and then the next time a few years later they traded for Prestia. The whole time they didn't have a ruck or decent 2nd tall forward - they snatched Nankervis with a late pick, and Lynch once they were attractive through FA.

There's no one way to build a list. If Larkey can tackle and compete like he did v the Crows, we've got one tall forward spot locked (he's already got the goalkicking ability). McKay had the best performance all year on Tex so far - still a win to Tex but 1 was a Tex winning a holding the ball through a fantastic tackle, another a nicely weighted kick to Tex's advantage that McKay still spoiled but just made too much contact with Tex, but no defender was doing it cleanly.

So far Phillips is fighting a mountain, and Powell is showing amazing hands in close, his handballs to advantage are as good as a lace out kick in terms of moving the ball forwards cleanly and in an attacking manner. We definitely need 2 more talls minimum but I'd argue we need more smalls (Thomas and Zurhaar not kicking on as forwards, Turner and Mahony useless, Ziebell/Hall/Atley our best rebounding defenders, at 30/30/28, no defensive stopper really coming on, got a primary midfield young group in Simpkin/LDU/Phillips/Powell but Scott is a butcher, maybe Stephenson fills a wing spot, probably need to fill out 1 or 2 more though).
If we get the mids and flankers, you attract a key tall with star potential. And you will always get misses - even the dynasty teams like Richmond/Hawthorn/Geelong had plenty of shit first round picks, but it's weight of numbers of picks and keeping with those picks. In terms of attracting key talls once good - think Brisbane got Daniher, Port got Dixon, Richmond got Lynch, Sydney got Buddy, Hawks got Frawley, Lake and Gibson.
To a lesser extent, when you just need senior role players in key positions Dogs got Bruce, Keath (although he is very good) and Martin, Geelong got Henderson, Hawthorn got Hale.

Phillips over McDonald might be a howler for other reasons but I don't buy into it being a howler because it's a mid over a tall and there's "only 1 way to build a team".

North made the right call with Phillips..
McDonald could well be the next Buddy Franklin.. But North couldn't take the chance
In the last 10 years, look how many top 10 picks, so called once in a generation KPF there has been and many were flops or better defenders...

2011 Pick 1 - Jonathan Patton - Injury riddled, less flop in his pictures than at football.. FLOP

2012 Pick 10 - Joe Daniher - Injury riddled player, great player when on song... PASS

2013 Pick 1 - Tom Boyd - Played 2 good games, at different club.. 2 game hero, Bulldogs would love him though... FLOP

2014 Pick 1 - Paddy McCartin - Concussion riddled, couldn't take the next step... FLOP
2014 Pick 8 - Peter Wright - Flop at two clubs now, only claim to fame is he is 2 meters... FLOP
2014 Pick 9 - Darcy More -Average forward who went to backline and become a star of the competition... PASS

2015 Pick 2 - Josh Schache - Major flop at 2 clubs... FLOP
2015 Pick 9 - Sam Weiderman - Done bugger all at Melbourne, but still young.. PASS
2015 Pick 10 - Harry Mckay - Lethargic looking at times.. But projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS

2017 Pick 8 - Aaron Naughton - Ticks all the boxes excellent player... PASS

2018 Pick 2 - Jack Lukosius - Average start to career forward, went to backline and become a decent player... PASS
2018 Pick 4 - Max King - Projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS
2018 Pick 6 - Ben King - Projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS

2019 Pick 3 - Luke Jackson - Projects to be a potential star of the competition... PASS
The game really did lose a whole generation of key forwards from Kennedy, Riewoldt and Hawkins til the 2015 crop

Suggestions;

- Norf got the sh*t McKay, #lolNorf
- 2016 wasn't a fluke

"Bulldog succes isn't based off favourable umpiring"

Looking forward to watching Logan this week.

Does anyone know where Sydney seconds games are streamed?

Is North Melbourne passing on Logan McDonald going to be the 2021 version of the Bulldogs passing on Buddy for Ryan Griffin