Analysis Is Rocky the Right Man for the Job?

Is Rocky the Right Man for the Job?

• Yes

Votes: 68 28.3%
  • No

Votes: 139 57.9%
  • I'm not sure...

Votes: 33 13.8%

Look out, you clearly don't get just how bad this is.

He objectified women, a minority in terms of participants in our game, what a way to make them feel welcome. Oh, don't forget this whole thing about setting an example for young kids, surely we are beyond this crap. Someone should also tell the new women's team to make sure they all look their best for Rockliff to ensure they're accepted as well...

YEP! Reckon there is more to this as the Club & Rocky go head to head on trade....Get the feeling he knows he has lost the captaincy..This outburst makes him almost impossible to trade for a high pick...No doubt he will be asked to sit a course on relationship between rigid gender roles and stereotypes, and gender equality. Disappointing action going against the "AFL's respect & responsibilty".

This, see this, this is the problem. Sometimes in life you just need to get out of your comfort zone and commit to the cause. Take ownership and really become involved in setting the course. This team belongs to Rich, Beams and Zorko now. This is their time, they just need to want to make it happen.

Who says he's not committed. But the worst thing you can do in any workplace is expect every one to act exactly the same. I can speak as someone who's tried leadership positions and found it doesn't suit me at all. However, just because one doesn't aspire to be a nominated leader doesn't mean they don't contribute it taking their organisation forward.

He certainly has showed he doesn't have the clubs best interests at heart for a while now. I agree some people are not meant to be leaders who are under scrutiny with everything you do BUT, you don't behave in a manner that is destructive or negative to your workplace without consequences. Rocky is a good footballer but not a leader. I hope the new coaching staff can turn him around quick, otherwise we need to move him on asap.

Schwab on SEN this morning.

Tom Rockliff- he will sit down with Chris, we told Tom Petoro a decision could be made that we part ways with Tom Rockliff, or he could stay.

Pearce Hanley- Pearce has losers fatigue, he's frustrated, interest has been expressed from a few clubs. pick 8 would be nice.

after listening to Schwab IMO it is almost certain that they will both be gone.

He certainly has showed he doesn't have the clubs best interests at heart for a while now. I agree some people are not meant to be leaders who are under scrutiny with everything you do BUT, you don't behave in a manner that is destructive or negative to your workplace without consequences. Rocky is a good footballer but not a leader. I hope the new coaching staff can turn him around quick, otherwise we need to move him on asap.
Are you talking about Rich or Rockliff?

I don't think a re-tweet from a musician when Rocky was 21 is totally relevant. I'm not trying to be a dick btw,just suggesting that that's a pretty harmless action by a young kid at the time.

That's not THE Drake. Pretty sure this guy is a mate of a few of the players.

My last tweets to him are what's relevant.

Timing is everything...the week before trade week and all the talk of the Club wanting to move him on...His value has diminished.

On the footy show when Leppa said that not all players aspired to win premierships, who was he referring to?

I think he was just making a statement that is generally true of all footy clubs. Leigh says basically the same thing in his book. You have your core players who buy in and drive culture and standards, and then your "contractors" who, if managed properly, can add a lot, but team success is not their biggest motivator.

Timing is everything...the week before trade week and all the talk of the Club wanting to move him on...His value has diminished.

Hopefully to the Lions only. It did't stop us back in '09 giving so much for Fev, hopefully other teams see his value. Rocky just needs stronger characters around him, setting the right example and holding him to account. We just don't have that. He is still a very valuable player.

I think he was just making a statement that is generally true of all footy clubs. Leigh says basically the same thing in his book. You have your core players who buy in and drive culture and standards, and then your "contractors" who, if managed properly, can add a lot, but team success is not their biggest motivator."

True, but he had just lost his job at the Lions, so he wouldn't have said it if he didn't see that as an considerable issue with the team. It marries up with the leadership void we have.

Hopefully to the Lions only. It did't stop us back in '09 giving so much for Fev, hopefully other teams see his value. Rocky just needs stronger characters around him, setting the right example and holding him to account. We just don't have that. He is still a very valuable player.
Exactly. Maybe that strong influence he needs is there now in Noble & Fagan. If there is anyone who could get the best out of him, it will be these 2 guys. Problem is....time is quickly running out for the club to make a decision on him. Gotta have confidence in Noble & Fagan to make that call either way.

Belgo was talking about Rich.

Sorry. My mistake. Rocky & Rich very different kettles of fish. Daniel has been good for the club and IMO always gives his best effort however struggles to perform in some games depending on his direct opponent. No problem with his attitude and I think he does lead the way for the younger boys. Additionally, I think Fagan & Noble will also help him with his problem with a tag or anything else he might struggle with. He should be excited about these new guys coming on board I would think and is a leader in the playing group.
Rocky a very different story to Richy Rich.

here's the audio of Schwab from this mornig-

Schwab on SEN this morning.

Tom Rockliff- he will sit down with Chris, we told Tom Petoro a decision could be made that we part ways with Tom Rockliff, or he could stay.

Pearce Hanley- Pearce has losers fatigue, he's frustrated, interest has been expressed from a few clubs. pick 8 would be nice.

after listening to Schwab IMO it is almost certain that they will both be gone.

That was kinda my read of it too.

Broadly glad to hear that while Pearce has been hanging around with Rocky, it may be that Pearces issues have more to being disillusioned than necessarily being a nob.

Going to make those "mummy boys" tweets look ordinary if Hanley decides he is sick of losing and ships off to the Gold Coast.

Couple of interesting comments made by Greg " venom" Denham this morning on KB's programme about Rockliff. probably the one that sticks out like a saw thumb is when on radio he said " he sounds like a d**khead"
Referring to all the past stuff and now the tweeter debacle. KB moved the conversation quick smart talking over Greg.

Geez journos have a free licence to thrill their audience with very little regard on ethics or the accused.

Going to make those "mummy boys" tweets look ordinary if Hanley decides he is sick of losing.
not unless he moves back to Ireland, or flys his family out and puts them up in the Marriott for a long term stay.

plenty of pubs down on the glitter strip where Pearce can show off his pugilistic skills for mum.

Going to make those "mummy boys" tweets look ordinary if Hanley decides he is sick of losing.

You reckon?
Hanley has been in the Brisbane Lions system for eight years. In that time he has never played in a team that won more than 10 matches. He has done that for the majority with no family here he can fall back on.

Leaving aside this year (which was a default placing), he has been top five in our b and F three of the last four years. So he has been one of our best and one of our hardest working at a time when we have been poor.

That fact that he may have now decided that he wants to get some wins in his career and is disillusioned with whether that will happen in Brisbane within his timescale, is demonstrably and qualitatively different to a player leaving after 2 years, because they miss home.