Analysis Is Rocky the Right Man for the Job?

Is Rocky the Right Man for the Job?

• Yes

Votes: 68 28.3%
  • No

Votes: 139 57.9%
  • I'm not sure...

Votes: 33 13.8%

Yeah i agree mate i think Rocky will see the writing on the wall now and see that his career needs a reboot somewhere else. If he stays he won't be captain. Losing the captaincy would be a massive hit to a guy like Rocky. The fact that his best mates Redden and now Hanley won't be at the club - i can see him going. Just hope we can get some experience back in because we are going to be so inexperienced.

or we have the change of luck re injury that we are due, D.Beams, Christensen, Zorko, Rich, Robinson, Martin playing all the games would be tremendous.

taking out the option that the club may have already decided to move Rocky on.

this may be the last straw for Rocky as he sees it, he may be thinking it's not worth it, his thinking could be- i should just move on and have a fresh start somewhere else.

Swan did not sound very happy on 3aw, he also said Chris Fagan will be having a word to Rocky, could be an interesting discussion to be a fly on the wall.
I think the problem is that their doesn't appear to be a lot of interest around in Rocky. Whether that is money or the picks they would need to give up i dont know. Either he will have to settle for much lower pay than he is asking or he stays at the club and we settle for what ever compensation we get next year.
It appears as though for the club it may be best to move him on now, but he needs to agree to any deal and that may not happen.

Ok

I've seen and heard enough.

Whereas I was previously inclined to give Rocky the benefit of (quite considerable) doubt this latest shambles has convinced me that he not only should be relieved of the capraincy but be actively encouraged to move on elsewhwere.
That's what I have been saying.

Part of a longer chauvinistic back and forth between Tom and his profoundly unlikeable roommate.

A few female Lions members (and male for that matter) vocally expressing their displeasure about it on social media - and rightly so.
I know I'm a loooonnngggg way back on replying to this, but do people not realize that twitter is public?!? Why on earth anyone needs to have a private conversation via a public mechanism is beyond me. Create a whatsapp group if you want to have private conversations... at least then if it get's public you can blame one of your stupid mates for sharing where it shouldn't have been shared.
Surely by now Rockliff has had enough training and warnings on the use of social media.

Disclaimer: this comment doesn't at all excuse him for being a tool - but he wouldn't be the first bloke to use what he thinks is a throwaway line. Doing it in public though makes it NOT a throwaway line...

Seems his social circle is toxic to his output as a leader and gives an insight to where his head is currently.

Either go through significant personal change, or jog on to another club.

ahhhh damn it.. I am now swayed, give him the flick, not for the tweets alone but as the end of a cumulative trail of downhill progression..

I am starting to truly understand that where there is smoke, there is fire.. I apologise to all who I argued with regarding Rocky and off field behaviour, I had no idea, was just hoping he wasn't a douche..

The fracturing demise of the '3 R's' has been arguably the saddest part of the last 2 years to me, at one point they were the second coming..
With that said, my main man Dan Rich is forging a seriously good career and is still the best kick in the league, still think he has his best footy ahead..

I do hope you're right on Rich. Nothing would make me happier that for him to stick by the Lions and be the sole survivor of a tough period and see some success with the lions at the end of his career.

Just idiotic behaviour from a captain of an AFL club. It highlights a clear lack of professionalism and for a struggling club that is trying to get back on track with the goal of becoming an organisation that is renowned for it's professionalism we simply can not continue to have Rockliff as captain and perhaps not even as a player.

I don't have Twitter but can someone w Twotter please tweet Shwabby et al saying that we want to trade Rockliff out. Particularly with us having a ladies team and needing an early pick.
But prefer to keep Hanley (who really only went off rails this year when Rockliff lost His bff Redden...)

I don't have Twitter but can someone w Twotter please tweet Shwabby et al saying that we want to trade Rockliff out. Particularly with us having a ladies team and needing an early pick.
But prefer to keep Hanley (who really only went off rails this year when Rockliff lost His bff Redden...)
I prefer twatter

I know plenty of people like Tom I think. If you hang around the mid-north coast of NSW in towns like Forster and Taree you'll find them. I imagine it's a bit the same in Benalla. Small town kids all about sport, booze, sex, 'mates'. The boys never really seem to grow up. Bogans I guess.
You can't excuse them but their upbringing defines them too so you can't completely damn them I think. They probably shouldn't be captains of AFL teams.