It is now official, Nick Maxwell is an underrated Collingwood defender.

You reeeally ARE young, aren't you?

Tony Shaw was skilful? If anything, its a perfect example that Tony Shaw could be a Premiership captain without being the most skillful player in the side, so Maxwell can do it. Just like Shaw had his role in the midfield, Maxwell has his role in defence, and he is performing that role excellently.

Ow, and regarding form, you DO realise that Nick Maxwell has never been dropped in his career, correct? So why would you feel the need to worry about whether he has had form or not? He has been perfectly fine in my eyes.

I expect a captain to lead by example and not kick it out of bounds or straight to the opposition more often than not. I believe other teams see him as the weak link in pies backline and make him the loose man (except Melbourne who made Shaw as the loose man) as they know he regularly coughs the ball up. Being a loose man makes any player look so much better as you can go up as the 3rd man in a contest or get handball receives. Opposition used to do this with Rhyce Shaw and he was exactly the same as Maxwell cough it up too many times. At least we got rid of him.

If you look at our more recent previous captains prior to Maxwell. You have:

Burns
Buckley
Brown
Shaw

These guys all exuded leadership guts determination toughness as well as skills. I obviously am not in the inner sanctum so I am sure there is some reason why he was chosen as captain. My beef is more the fact that I do not think he is up to AFL standard. I have never seen any ability in his football. Being captain means that he is chosen every week no matter how bad his form is. I think he probably played he best three games not against Melbourne but prior to that.

I believe you don't understand a captains role and that you have no idea about either Shaw or Brown.
Shaw was less than highly skilled and led by sheer guts and tenacity (like Maxwell) and Brown while much better skilled than Maxy also was chosen for his guts, determination and hellish attack on the ball.
Burns skills were on a par with Maxy (maybe a few percent either way depending on the game) and he also was chosen for courage, bravery and the respect he had from the side and club, just like Maxwell.

Buckley was the only Captain in that list who was elite or the most highly skilled in the side.

If as you say, you have never seen Maxwell's ability then you have never looked past your hatred or you have never watched a game.

You reeeally ARE young, aren't you?

Tony Shaw was skilful? If anything, its a perfect example that Tony Shaw could be a Premiership captain without being the most skillful player in the side, so Maxwell can do it. Just like Shaw had his role in the midfield, Maxwell has his role in defence, and he is performing that role excellently.

Ow, and regarding form, you DO realise that Nick Maxwell has never been dropped in his career, correct? So why would you feel the need to worry about whether he has had form or not? He has been perfectly fine in my eyes.

Tony Shaw had more talent in his little finger than Maxwell has. Apparently I am the only person in the footy community who believe Maxwell is a spud. At least on the Pies big footy site anyway. Is there anybody else out there who want to join in on my criticism of maxwell. Because I do know there alot of people out there who think the same as me.

I cannot believe that the other person going me has just said that Maxwell and Burns have the same skill level OMG. You have to be kidding me. I can't believe that statement.

Anyways as I am so young I better go have my warm milk and have a nap.

Can you please do me a favour Pie eyed and start a new thread entitled Maxwell and Burns have the same skill level.

Mickaman stop talking, just stop talking

Shaw was a tenacious tackler and player but he could barely kick 35 meters mate

i dont think maxwell is a good enough captain for collingwood he hardly gets the ball in the matches scott pendlebury should be captain or dane swan maxwell isnt a good enough defender for collingwood

Tony Shaw had more talent in his little finger than Maxwell has. Apparently I am the only person in the footy community who believe Maxwell is a spud. At least on the Pies big footy site anyway. Is there anybody else out there who want to join in on my criticism of maxwell. Because I do know there alot of people out there who think the same as me.

I cannot believe that the other person going me has just said that Maxwell and Burns have the same skill level OMG. You have to be kidding me. I can't believe that statement.

Can you please do me a favour Pie eyed and start a new thread entitled Maxwell and Burns have the same skill level.

Best suggestion you've made for some time really.
Would like a little blanky for your knees and your bunny?

i dont think maxwell is a good enough captain for collingwood he hardly gets the ball in the matches scott pendlebury should be captain or dane swan maxwell isnt a good enough defender for collingwood

Duly noted.
Welcome to the board.:thumbsu:

Mickaman stop talking, just stop talking

Shaw was a tenacious tackler and player but he could barely kick 35 meters mate

It took me a long time to appreciate Tony Shaw. I used to think he was a spud like people are doing to Maxwell now. You are 100 % right about kicking - Absolutely shit kick.
However, he did have a huge heart and tried his guts out every week.
Maxwell is in a similar position. He gives 110% every week.
He is not the best or most gifted player going around, bu the is not exactly the worst either.

What you seem to miss is, no-one is under-selling Scott Burns's skill level, it is you who is under-selling Nick Maxwell's.

Your not alone just others have given up, he plays on opposition kids each week and is allowed to roam free as you have said.

When he gives away a free or thinks he should of got one he stops totally to complain to the ump meanwhile 1m away the opposition have the ball.

His kicking and decision making under pressure is bad , when not under pressure he is a solid kick.

He still doesn't know when to fly as 3rd man up or stay down and punches when he should mark.

Has never played well over a full season, his best effort is half a season of solid games and the odd good game.

Plays well against poor sides or when the team is up goes missing when he is needed or against quality.

1v1 is a poor defender.

Has a lot of weakness at AFL but doesn't matter because while MM is coach he is one of the 1st picked, and i suspect his best mate will be the same (Buckley).

Your not alone just others have given up, he plays on opposition kids each week and is allowed to roam free as you have said.

When he gives away a free or thinks he should of got one he stops totally to complain to the ump meanwhile 1m away the opposition have the ball.

His kicking and decision making under pressure is bad , when not under pressure he is a solid kick.

He still doesn't know when to fly as 3rd man up or stay down and punches when he should mark.

Has never played well over a full season, his best effort is half a season of solid games and the odd good game.

Plays well against poor sides or when the team is up goes missing when he is needed or against quality.

1v1 is a poor defender.

Has a lot of weakness at AFL but doesn't matter because while MM is coach he is one of the 1st picked, and i suspect his best mate will be the same (Buckley).
I reckon you watch Maxwell's game with special glasses on.
All defenders are going to make errors of judgment. Maxwell's personal form has been very good since taking over the Captaincy and two games he has been outstanding. He is getting better every week.
As a Captain he has not put a foot wrong yet.
Sure he has a whinge on occasion but as the Captain, he is allowed to.
He will and has limited his post decision talks to umpires.

I love how all of a sudden Buck's and Malthouse are best buddies.
What happened to the massive rift between them? :rolleyes:

I reckon you watch Maxwell's game with special glasses on.
All defenders are going to make errors of judgment. Maxwell's personal form has been very good since taking over the Captaincy and two games he has been outstanding. He is getting better every week.
As a Captain he has not put a foot wrong yet.
Sure he has a whinge on occasion but as the Captain, he is allowed to.
He will and has limited his post decision talks to umpires.

I love how all of a sudden Buck's and Malthouse are best buddies.
What happened to the massive rift between them? :rolleyes:
i think he meant bucks and maxwell

I actually thought it read like that, but thought it would be impossible that he could be already questioning the wisdom of his still yet to be even considered preferred replacement for Malty.:p

I don't know how you could hold two totally different, contrary, opinions of the same person?:rolleyes:

1v1 is a poor defender.

I think that reasonably explained it. I agree MM does rate that quality over ability as he explained on footy classified. Buckley loves him more than MM too.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Just on another topic I think MM will be extended at least for another year or 2. I still believe Bucks is too raw and needs to at least be an assistant coach somewhere else before he comes back. Preferably not Richmond as that team is inept and destroy coaches careers.

Ow how the tide has turned.

I was watching the Port game, and I came to the realisation that if we didn't have Maxwell in our backline, we'd well and trully suffer. As has always been the case with him, that I've always pointed out, when we're down, and not covering our men properly, he plays pretty bad, but when the structure is in order, he absolutely kills it.

He adds so much grunt, toughness and direction to a young, inexperienced defence and is a great leader all round on the ground. He has been in remarkable form over the last month, since that St Kilda game, and would definitely have to be in the top 10 for the Copeland at the moment.

I know we shouldn't be praising every single player after a couple of wins, but I think that Maxwell really deserves it and has been doing very well, and is in career-best form at the moment.

Agree? Disagree?

Bump :)

Was bloody good tonight. Could have claims to being best on.

Love our defense atm, don't get much love from the media, but they are well and truly a very good unit.

Was bloody good tonight. Could have claims to being best on.

Love our defense atm, don't get much love from the media, but they are well and truly a very good unit.

His opponent nearly won the dogs the game Hahn 3.3, his last shot was spoilt by his own team mate on the line would of put the dogs up by 5.
On that I wouldn't give him bog but he was top 5 - 6 for us.

Top 5

Didak
Swan
Davis
Shaw
Maxwell

Harry O just misses.

In our top 5 players week in week out now.

Credit to him, he is thriving under the pressure of captaincy, where as maybe a Pendlebury would have buckled under the pressure.

I'm glad Maxwell wears the black & white because every time he runs back with the flight of the ball (which is about 3-5 times a game) it makes me proud.

Pendles, Dids, Leon, Medhurst, JA.

Thats just some from our team.

Yeah, and Maxwell is also a good shot at goal. Your point?

There aren't any players in the AFL that consistently produce the goods by foot under pressure. Maxwell's disposal is underrated, hes actually very good. Look at how many contested possessions hes had lately and his disposal efficiency and you'll see hes actually very good under pressure.

It is now official, Nick Maxwell is an underrated Collingwood defender.