Jack Riewoldt will be the AFL's best KPF in 2012

If Darling or Cameron played in Victoria no one would be questioning either of them being talked about in the top 5 KPF's in the competition. Out of interest, how many games have you seen Darling play?
Mate you are absolutely kidding yourself. I've seen enough of darling to know he is no where near a player of jacks standing. In the future maybe, but at the moment no where near it. Jack isn't just in the top 5 for key forwards, he is number 1. Go look at his numbers before making such ridiculous calls.
Show the most effective key forward in the game the respect he deserves ;)

It's a shame that Riewoldt hasn't played any finals. Because if you add them in then Franklin moves to 227.

Even if you don't add in finals, Franklin has played 10 less games during that time.

In fact, Franklin has easily averaged more than J Riewoldt since the OP.

We can all manipulate stats for our own purposes.

Yeah, but how many votes has Franklin got in the Richmond b&f? :confused:

It was a comparison with the leading goalkickers since the OP's post. The world doesn't revolve around Buddy.

With finals:

230 Franklin
216 J.Riewoldt
186 Cloke
166 Milne
145 N.Riewoldt
136 Petrie
134 Betts
132 Podsiadly
130 Kennedy
129 Walker
128 Hawkins
126 Schulz
126 Roughead

With more goal assists than any of those players except Betts, there's a strong case to be made that Riewoldt has been the most valuable forward in the game since the OP's prediction.

I'll sleep easy tonight in the knowledge Richmond's doing well enough that people are once again feeling the need to have a dig. :thumbsu:

By 1 goal dude, come on LMFAO.

@RonTheBear put you in your place.
Didn't seem that way to me. Also, acronyms don't constitute an argument no matter how obnoxious.

Kennedy has played less games. He does though average more goals, marks, disposals and way more tackles.

Not only does he have an offensive side, he is also a defensive beast, as well as working up the ground applying pressure and impacting contests to great effect.

It's a shame that Riewoldt hasn't played any finals. Because if you add them in then Franklin moves to 227.

Even if you don't add in finals, Franklin has played 10 less games during that time.

In fact, Franklin has easily averaged more than J Riewoldt since the OP.

We can all manipulate stats for our own purposes.

Not our fault he has a dud body and is always injured. Our Jack plays through injuries

I'll never understand people's dislike and disdain of JR due to wearing his heart on his sleeve. Can't people pick-up on on a person who is extremely passionate in what they do? Hiding frustration is not a strength of any person at the footy.

His consistent form speaks for itself so to write him off over something that has 0% effect on the team is ridiculous.

Mate you are absolutely kidding yourself. I've seen enough of darling to know he is no where near a player of jacks standing. In the future maybe, but at the moment no where near it. Jack isn't just in the top 5 for key forwards, he is number 1. Go look at his numbers before making such ridiculous calls.
Show the most effective key forward in the game the respect he deserves ;)

You need to read the rest of the thread. I rate Jack. I already said I was playing Devil's Advocate, and I don't think there's anything ridiculous about an argument being made for Darling being a top 5 forward... If he played for a Victorian club he'd be being talked up as a top 5 forward by supporters of whichever club he played for, without a doubt. In the same way that if Wingard played for Collingwood (for example) people would consider him a lock for AA, instead of an outside chance. Out of interest, how many of Darling's 50 or so games have you seen?

Yep except for goals, assists and score involvements then yea you are spot on they are heaps better than Riewoldt at being forwards.

But hey who gives

Doesn't Kennedy have more goals per game though? And he's averaging less time on ground I'm pretty sure. If all we're looking at is stats then it's worthwhile ensuring the same baseline is used... like minutes played.

Off you go, looks like you have a heap of stats to look up.

I'll stick to goals and assists and tackles and score involvements

You'd take Kennedy and Cameron in front of a dual Coleman Medallist, with a possibility of going for a third at the end of this year?

Only on Bigfooty.

dancefail-4.gif

Actually the West Coast guy is 100% correct, Cameron is daylight ahead as the individual option, Kennedy a true leading forward who can play a power role, and JR is an extremely elite floater.

in terms of structure, as stand alone players Kennedy and cameron clearly better

JR as a individual player is not as credentialed as a stand alone forward but his speciality is gelling with other forward lines such as another key forward. We do not see this because RFC forward line is so barren in the key forward area

A question for Richmond supporters: If you could only keep one of Riewoldt or Cotchin, who would you pick?
Really - that's verrrrrrry hard. KPF's are much harder to find than mids. But mids at Cotchin's level are very hard to find. The midfield is more important than KPFs - but that's why you have 9 or 10 of them.

I think Cotchin is better, but Jack would be harder to replace. Looking at our kids coming through, we have a bit of a blank spot with up-and-coming KPFs, while we have quite a few mids (although no obvious Cotchins). It would be a team list balance exercise.

The good thing is, we'd get pretty good trade value for either. Put a gun to my head.......aaaargh......... I'll trade Nahas. Hey, you need him - he can play mid AND forward!

You need to read the rest of the thread. I rate Jack. I already said I was playing Devil's Advocate, and I don't think there's anything ridiculous about an argument being made for Darling being a top 5 forward... If he played for a Victorian club he'd be being talked up as a top 5 forward by supporters of whichever club he played for, without a doubt. In the same way that if Wingard played for Collingwood (for example) people would consider him a lock for AA, instead of an outside chance. Out of interest, how many of Darling's 50 or so games have you seen?

I hate these kind of comments. People thinking it is the old days when every team played on Saturday arvo and there is no TV coverage. This rhetorical question is just a wanky way of saying..."i don't think you have seen as much of him as me". NEWSFLASH...everyone has foxtel and is aware of how good Darling, Wingard and co are. Darling is no where near the top 5 KPF at the moment. The following are all ahead of him:

BUDDY, ROUGHEAD, RIEWOLDT, RIEWOLDT, KENNEDY, CLOKE, HAWKINS, CAMERON, PETRIE, SCHULZ

This is no slight on Darling as he is only young and will push into that bracket eventually you would expect.

Really - that's verrrrrrry hard. KPF's are much harder to find than mids. But mids at Cotchin's level are very hard to find. The midfield is more important than KPFs - but that's why you have 9 or 10 of them.

I think Cotchin is better, but Jack would be harder to replace. Looking at our kids coming through, we have a bit of a blank spot with up-and-coming KPFs, while we have quite a few mids (although no obvious Cotchins). It would be a team list balance exercise.

The good thing is, we'd get pretty good trade value for either. Put a gun to my head.......aaaargh......... I'll trade Nahas. Hey, you need him - he can play mid AND forward!

Disagree, Cotch at his level is harder to replace because you can always get another key forward although not have the decided premiership credentials JR provides.

Can't see us worrying about, Looks like Cotch and JR will be staying at Tigerland unless conned by some BS fairytale story assuming Franklin to GWS

Actually the West Coast guy is 100% correct, Cameron is daylight ahead as the individual option, Kennedy a true leading forward who can play a power role, and JR is an extremely elite floater.

in terms of structure, as stand alone players Kennedy and cameron clearly better

JR as a individual player is not as credentialed as a stand alone forward but his speciality is gelling with other forward lines such as another key forward. We do not see this because RFC forward line is so barren in the key forward area

Must be why he won those 2 Colemans as a stand alone forward.

I hate these kind of comments. People thinking it is the old days when every team played on Saturday arvo and there is no TV coverage. This rhetorical question is just a wanky way of saying..."i don't think you have seen as much of him as me". NEWSFLASH...everyone has foxtel and is aware of how good Darling, Wingard and co are. Darling is no where near the top 5 KPF at the moment. The following are all ahead of him:

BUDDY, ROUGHEAD, RIEWOLDT, RIEWOLDT, KENNEDY, CLOKE, HAWKINS, CAMERON, PETRIE, SCHULZ

This is no slight on Darling as he is only young and will push into that bracket eventually you would expect.

Daring may yet play up on a wing or HFF.

Darling will never be a power forward, doesn't mean he cannot be a great loved player though

Must be why he won those 2 Colemans as a stand alone forward.

winning a Coleman means little as it all depends on forward structures and opposition.

Franklin won a Coleman and he is a HFF although more like a FF leading , Richo played great up forward for years and he was a winger.

Just goes to show how rare elite FF are let alone CHF!!

Jack Riewoldt will be the AFL's best KPF in 2012

Write your reply...