Jack Ziebell - Centre Half Forward?

Yeah, you're a tool mate.

You're representative of the detritus that stinks up this place.

You put stuff all on the table and you go about shitcanning people.

The Foxtel banner adds contribute more to this forum than you.

I'm hoping he will become a top midfielder.

He is a real utility and I could see him playing a fair bit off half back and in the forward line early in his career. Hopefully he'll become a dominant midfielder for us that is very handy resting in the forward line.

Same goes for Cunnington who I think is the better forward.

No, for the following reasons:

-Our midfield is shit, we need him there.
-Gun midfields win flags now, not gun centre half forwards.
-While he is good overhead for his size,he simply isnt tall enough. Guys getting drafted at 192cm are getting questioned as legitimate key position prospects now. 194-199 is the range and jack isnt exactly leaping larry sengstock to compensate.
-As much as we all love the guy and Im not going to use the 'S' word, but Jack aint exactly quick or explosive, an honest medium pacer at best. At 188cm at centre half forward you would want to be quick. I would question whether he has the tank (certainly at this stage) to do lead after lead, which he would have to do at his size.

Jack's best spot will be as our centreman. His exceptional footskills, combined with his strong body,courage and footy smarts will be invaluable in that spot.

Sure he will pinch hit up forward on occasions, but suggesting he could or should be our centre half forward is crazy.

Good use of the word now... trolling for this?:

NSWToCCarey.jpg

;)

The champions of history set trends, they don't follow them.

-While he is good overhead for his size,he simply isnt tall enough. Guys getting drafted at 192cm are getting questioned as legitimate key position prospects now. 194-199 is the range and jack isnt exactly leaping larry sengstock to compensate.

Once again, this is a trend mentality. I don't buy it.

-As much as we all love the guy and Im not going to use the 'S' word, but Jack aint exactly quick or explosive, an honest medium pacer at best. At 188cm at centre half forward you would want to be quick. I would question whether he has the tank (certainly at this stage) to do lead after lead, which he would have to do at his size.

He mightn't be the quickest player around, but he is "explosive".

Jack's best spot will be as our centreman. His exceptional footskills, combined with his strong body,courage and footy smarts will be invaluable in that spot.

I find it strange that people think he is too slow and not explosive enough to play forward, yet he is somehow quick enough and explosive enough to play midfield. Weird.

Sure he will pinch hit up forward on occasions, but suggesting he could or should be our centre half forward is crazy.

We'll see.

Good use of the word now... trolling for this?:

NSWToCCarey.jpg

;)

Well, if he was still around my opinion would of course be different.

I just think with all the floading, rolling zones and millions of interchanges then unless the midfield is top draw then you are going to struggle.

Carey of today, would have a player in front, behind and to the side of him.

and I know, Carey would probabloy still beat them all but Jack Ziebell wouldnt.

Better as the 3rd tall forward than as CHF, but Warren will be playing the 3rd leading forward role and is more suited it too. Warren can run all day, is strong and quick and has sticky fingers.

Why not CHF for Jack? Well, regardless of trends in the game players fitness these days, combined with more intricate game plans and greater emphasis on loose defenders means that leaving a guy one out at CHF can no longer happen. Sure, game plans may change, but as soon as you leave JZ one out with a quality KPB he will be killed. He just isn’t big enough, strong enough or quick enough to leave one out with a quality KPB. Imagine Lake or Scarlett on him. Unfortunately Jack’s lack of pace allows bigger guys to keep up with him to create a contested marking situation that will allow the taller, stronger man to get a fist on the ball. Sure, he may get up to his top speed quickly but that is not enough. Not every pass will be laces out.

He does have great contested marking ability so I would be more than happy to see him spend time in the forward line but on a similar sized opponent. Then he will be a dangerous prospect up front as that contested marking ability and strength will come to the fore.

JZ’s greatest attributes are his contested ball winning ability, natural footballing brain and kicking skills. This is what we need in the middle more so than up front. With a midfield that wins the contested footy and provides quality delivery into the forward line our ability to score will increase significantly. I wouldn’t be surprised to see David Hale even snag a few.

JZ’s spot is on the ball.

Well, if he was still around my opinion would of course be different.

I just think with all the floading, rolling zones and millions of interchanges then unless the midfield is top draw then you are going to struggle.

Carey of today, would have a player in front, behind and to the side of him.

and I know, Carey would probabloy still beat them all but Jack Ziebell wouldnt.

We don't know what Ziebell can do yet as he's been in the system for all of 5 minutes. He could be anything judging by the brief glimpse we've seen so far so I wouldn't put limits on him just yet.

Carey showed great potential in his first couple of years but didn't take off until about three years in.

Having said that, imo I'd rather him in the guts.

Okay, you have named names, I apologise.

Unfortunately, too often there is an element around here that likes to prey on the pack mentality of the "worry faction", and sees it as some kind of big joke to expand on those fears.

I'll be interested to see what eventuates.

It still doesn't make sense to me, the kid only accepted Simmos number 7 three months ago.

It also goes against everything I have been told about the kids character.

Let's just hope he has a good season and blends in well with the team and with the other youngsters. Hopefully they play well together and bond, this would make it hard to leave if he can see that we are going in the right direction.

Unfortunately though, if he does play well, it would make it harder to keep him as the CG have cash that we don't. Hopefully it's not all about money. But if you can make 3 or 4 hundred thousand more, it might just make the decision for you.

Unfortunately though, if he does play well, it would make it harder to keep him as the CG have cash that we don't. Hopefully it's not all about money.

I can't see the Gold Coast being able to pay him any more than we can (officially), when you weigh up the shopping list they already have.

But if you can make 3 or 4 hundred thousand more, it might just make the decision for you.

That does not give anyone the excuse to behave less professionally.

It doesn't quite add up to me.

If someone were covertly planning to fly the coop it is much more likely that they would behave professionally and amiably.

Ablett Jnr would cost them a million a year I reckon or very close to it.

Keep raising that stack DR, Geelong have offered him $1.1 million already.

The word is that GC have offered junior $1.8 million p.a.

They would be nuts to offer a kid with 20-30 games $500K.

Completely bonkers.