Oppo Camp Jaidyn Stephenson (Traded to Nth Melb. 2020)

Should This Thread Be Kept Open?

• Yes

Votes: 30 54.5%
  • No

Votes: 25 45.5%

Probably did work against him. the ball wasn't coming in fast like it was in 2018/2019, so he rarely got his hands on it. That's why they then put him up the ground, but struggled there, but that likely was from lack of fitness.

Don't discount playing in a high humidity swamp for most of the year either mate.

It suited both the 2020 grand finalists to a tee. Geelong weren't as slow in September for a change, and Richmond's "chaos ball" footy was maximised even further.

I reckon the pies, west coast & dogs were significantly DISadvantaged,

Do you reckon the pies high possession retention/slow transition through the midfield might work against him?

He's a run & gun footballer.
I think he will struggle at North.
I don't think he will hit his 1st year highs. We had every forward firing in 2018 with many kicking around 40 goals that season. That would of helped him. North??
Attitude a major issue.
Last couple of years plays 1 quarter and seems like he isn't on the ground for 3 qtrs.
Do clubs have him worked on with physical pressure? Maybe. He doesn't like it physical at all.
Averages less than 2 tackles a game past 2 seasons.

I think he will struggle at North.
I don't think he will hit his 1st year highs. We had every forward firing in 2018 with many kicking around 40 goals that season. That would of helped him. North??
Attitude a major issue.
Last couple of years plays 1 quarter and seems like he isn't on the ground for 3 qtrs.
Do clubs have him worked on with physical pressure? Maybe. He doesn't like it physical at all.
Averages less than 2 tackles a game past 2 seasons.

Fair enough. I reckon we'll have to wait & see how the new coach utilizes him.

Do you reckon the pies high possession retention/slow transition through the midfield might work against him?

I suspect he's not that clued in to game plan, system and structure. Put him in the forward 50. His leading patterns are outstanding and gets seperation with ease, he can create time and space at ground level and doesn't need much of it to execute. He's a career forward in my opinion and I think he has the potential to have a Stevie J type career.

Don't discount playing in a high humidity swamp for most of the year either mate.

It suited both the 2020 grand finalists to a tee. Geelong weren't as slow in September for a change, and Richmond's "chaos ball" footy was maximised even further.

I reckon the pies, west coast & dogs were significantly DISadvantaged,
Yeah, its a wacked out kind of year. Some teams didn't perform or kick into gear as they normally would. Lots of players didn't handle hubs well. Not everyone are footy heads. It can get to you mentally. Look at Jeremy Cameron this year. Grundy too.
The Humidity didn't help. Especially if your team is terrible in the wet.

I suspect he's not that clued in to game plan, system and structure. Put him in the forward 50 and let him kick goals.

I reckon we'll play him as the double back high half forward.

He's got to get some more muscle on his frame.

Yeah, its a wacked out kind of year. Some teams didn't perform or kick into gear as they normally would. Lots of players didn't handle hubs well. Not everyone are footy heads. It can get to you mentally. Look at Jeremy Cameron this year. Grundy too.
The Humidity didn't help. Especially if your team is terrible in the wet.

It definitely wasn't the year for high possession slick ball movement, or long kicking & marking football.

IMO, the entire year was an eyesore. Never before have I been so disinterested in the game. Throw in the the consistently appalling umpiring also,

I think we resigned Treloar for five assuming that he would want to go to Gold Coast at the end of the year to get the maximum trade value with Gold Coast. If Treloar said yes to the trade which he we predicted he would we would have pick 6 and everyone would be happy.

Yeah but he didn’t. I hope your theory is wrong because it’s an idiotic one. However the club has made a lot of idiotic moves lately so nothing would surprise me.

It definitely wasn't the year for high possession slick ball movement, or long kicking & marking football.

IMO, the entire year was an eyesore. Never before have I been so disinterested in the game. Throw in the the consistently appalling umpiring also,
The horrible interpretation of Holding the ball has worsened in 2020. That needs to be fixed.

And no, it sure was not. Probably easier to play control ball possession type in slippery conditions than fast ball movement. Players get insecure too. Its definitely a year that we shouldn't take seriously as there was too much that was not normal. Like the year itself.

Hopefully 2021 is better.

I'd play him deep - lead out and then if not used get him to double back and try to get to the ball drop of high balls.

You'd definitely want him hanging out the back of the defensive press at Docklands,

Snake_Baker
I hope North gets around this kid,He is and will be something special.
And I will follow his journey as it unfolds.

The quick ball moving teams who were willing to peel off and run forward dominated in the end though. So hopefully all teams move away from the dire defensive structure and defenisve numbers at all costs philosophy.

It doesn’t work for anyone. He strength is his quickness, so space is needed.

We made the GF in 2018 playing quick, then for reasons unknown we decided to play as slow as possible so opposition can flood back and make it impossible for our midget forward line to kick a goal.

I think we resigned Treloar for five assuming that he would want to go to Gold Coast at the end of the year to get the maximum trade value with Gold Coast. If Treloar said yes to the trade which he we predicted he would we would have pick 6 and everyone would be happy.

I don't. I think even at the beginning of this year when we signed Grundy for 7 we were still in keep the list together and manage our way through the salary cap tightness, becasue we thought we'd win flags with the current list. We then aborted that strategy. I personally would have liked to see a different coach with a different game plan have a crack with our list - I'd like to see a new coach even moreso with us now looking at a mini-rebuild.

Short story about Stevo. I played golf today

The female golf pro at the club is Stevos cousin, 1st or 2nd, but knows him well. When I found out last year we talked about him. Said he is a great kid, I think the words she used is he is a lovely bogan. Fits with the picture of him and probably explains why he was challenged in the hub.

Anyway saw her today and asked what was going on with him. To my questions she said he thought all was ok post his exit interview and didn’t see it coming. Said he wanted to stay but initial impression of North is lots of young players and he is happy to go there. I asked did he muck up or get into any significant trouble. She said no. Left it at “Bucks is a bit weird”.

My impression

At end of day, despite trying, is it still that Bucks, Walsh, Pendles can’t understand the less than fully committed. Seems extraordinary we didn’t try and keep a kid who has shown a lot of elite talent even if he wasn’t very mature and needed handling. Lots of people grow up, no one who doesn’t have elite talent acquires it.

Bucks isn't as cold a man as he used to be, but it seems like he still struggles with those who aren't like him.

The quick ball moving teams who were willing to peel off and run forward dominated in the end though. So hopefully all teams move away from the dire defensive structure and defenisve numbers at all costs philosophy.
Sad to say, but I think we will be one of the last to do what you’re hoping for. After playing slow and failing for several years we switched to an aggressive game plan in 2018 and almost won a flag against all odds. We immediately abandoned that approach and went for control, which of course we couldn’t execute on — we proved (again) in 2019 that we couldn’t win playing slow. Naturally, we tried the same failed strategy in 2020 and proved it yet again. We’ll do the same again in 2021 — note that we have just thrown out three of our quickest players. We do not learn.

Did Grundy ruck differently back then.
Or was told win the tap and leave it at his legs?

Did Grundy ruck differently back then.
Or was told win the tap and leave it at his legs?
He hit it at his feet then too. But it worked because the other teams were over-committing to the ball drop and a couple of ours kept their spacing with Grundy and one other hitting the ball drop. It meant when we got it to a bloke who'd kept their spacing, we cleared it effectively.

I reckon that you would tell yourself just about anything if it helped you to sleep better at night.

I suppose the same criteria applies to Treloar & the bulldogs and Phillips & Hawthorn? I don't remember any other clubs pursuing those players, Does that "tell you a bit" about them also?

North, Hawthorn & the Bulldogs all hold lower standards than Collingwood & 14 other clubs? What a load of bullshit.
No need to get so defensive, just my take on the situation.

Its a good lesson for the playing group. I think Stevo would have been considered one of the "untouchables".

A player like Sier should feel incredibly lucky to still be on our list. There are others that fall into that category.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

I think North being the only suitor and only being willing to trade a 2nd rounder for Stevo tells you a bit.

I think the clubs are privy to information we aren’t and it was enough to scare all of them bar North off.

Not sure why I keep reading this, it's completely incorrect. Multiple clubs contacted his agent (I know for a fact hawks did). Just so late in the piece only NM had most importantly the cap space, picks and list spots to run with it