Jake Carlisle Updates

If its true whats the issue? if its a lie it depends on what is said. As I said that is at least about the player. Why should Murphy wife even be involved. Surely our players are smart enough to think of something against Murphy himself. San I ask if this isn't an issue then why all the publicity and why the apology? And don't give me its because they hate us.

Ok.

Pressure pressure pressure. Looks like the right thing to do. Just like saying sorry in the tribunal to a bloke you've belted after he had given you cheap shots all day. Do you mean it no does the tribunal want to hear it yes do you want to no.

I remember i sledge in particular when i was 19 years old.

I was dating a netballer who played for the opposition club, probably my 10th game in the 1s and their fullback gave it to me.

Does Sarah still do that thing with her #€£=&÷
Does sarah still like &$€=7$
Ect ect. You get the point.

I played a stinker and needless to say me and Sarah didn't work out lol

Pity, she sounds interesting.

Been lurking for absolutely forever, but listening to Caroline Wilson on footy classified made me so frustrated I had to come and make an account to rant.
How is it that every week she finds something to be offended about? Caro mate, howcome Murphy can come out of this on a pedestal while you stomp Carlisle's name into the dirt?

Murphy can incite the incident by having a dig at Carlisle and that's acceptable because 'It was already in the media' But if he has a dig back it's suddenly unacceptable because the sledge involves his wife? Either both are unacceptable or neither are and it's bullshit that Carlisle is hung out to dry because of this stupid non-issue. Goddamn she is a terrible journalist.

Someone should ring SEN & correct Tim Watson saying that the tweet has not been deleted contrary to what he was saying this morning. That bloke is never right
Just ring him and ask if Dank was involved in this too.

He seems to like sticking things into people.

"Trigg was suspended for six months by the AFL at the end of the 2012 premiership season for his role in a breach of AFL salary cap laws involving key forward Kurt Tippet, who is now with the Sydney Swans."

Salary Cap breacher CEO of the Brown Baggers, giving morality lectures from the pulpit.
Good call there Joffaboy.

As I said in an earlier post...the guy is a Peanut(sorry to all peanuts for the comparisons)

Here's this bloke as their CEO....presiding over Carltons Membership Dept at the start of 2016......from memory it emerged that they had only 2...TWO...staff in the membership dept.

When that hit the media...all the usual bulls*** excuses came out.

I thought at the time...this bloke is incredibly incompetent.

His media release last night on TF sounded a little childish when it was read out.

If Murphys partner was a man, would it be labelled sexist?

Oh thats right in that case the correct labelling would be homophobic.

It was a sledge about the twats partner not her sex, but her status.

But that concept would need some thinking and analysis, something the tawdry old talking heads in the media seriously lack. Much easier to beat up the sensational.

And the MSM wonder it is dying and failing.

You must surely be going out of your way to intentionally misunderstand the issue by now...

Of course it is different to make a comment about a woman's sexual history than it is to make a similar comment about a man.

Just like it's more offensive when Adam Goodes is called an ape than when Jason Dunstall is.

It's almost as if understanding that social and cultural constructs can influence the meaning behind words. Perhaps you need to try and imagine what things were like if you weren't a middle class male. I know it's the "check your privilege" cliche, but there is truth to it.

there is a huge difference, Jake is a fool, he's brought enough attention to himself for the coke thing, and others, of course he is going to cop it, he has to live with it, why should a wife/GF/partner/family be used as a barb. that is the line, keep it on the field, between the players, if Jake didn't bloody snapchat himself doing coke then it couldn't be used against him.

surely in the 21st century, if a woman feels like sleeping around, society should be progressive enough after the last 20 years of war on racism, homophobia and religious issues that the sexual history of a woman shouldn't be used in such a fashion, her history only needs to concern 2 people, herself and her partner.

Carlisle did not make his drug use public. It was sent to 'friends' who then betrayed his trust. If he wanted to make it public, he easily could have.

Again, Murphy's partner was not used as a barb, rather, it was the fact that he chose to be with said partner which leads onto;

I agree that a woman is free to do as she pleases, but a person is allowed to have their opinion on it. Regardless, the sledge pertains to the fact that Murphy decided to marry someone who would appear to have a clear agenda to date or have casual relations with AFL players. One or two would be coincidental but I'm fairly sure this was double digits.
The sledge is that Murphy is not bright enough to have realised that she is a groupie and if it wasn't him, it would've been someone else. The sledge is that the only way he got her is because he plays AFL. If anything, it's complimenting her on her ability to tie him down when I doubt any other player would fall for it.

It's almost as if understanding that social and cultural constructs can influence the meaning behind words. Perhaps you need to try and imagine what things were like if you weren't a middle class male. I know it's the "check your privilege" cliche, but there is truth to it.
So given we are not looking at any indigenous issues here, which particular privilege wins out in this current scenario?

Is it Murphy’s priviledge in being born the son of an elite footballer thus paving his way to a lucrative AFL career at a high profile, privilege infested club?

Is it Mrs Murphy’s privilege in being born with a certain beauty that enables her to date and to marry privileged AFL footballers and to have a privileged career as an “ambassador” of any number of companies and events?

Or is it Caroline Wilson, who without distracting from her abilities and achievements as the “first lady of football” is privileged by being born into a high profile footballing family and is privileged to be a woman in an age where the AFL and media are falling over themselves trying to redress a long standing gender imbalance?

Which one is it?

Cos I doubt it’s the big dopey bogan from Craigieburn

So given we are not looking at any indigenous issues here, which particular privilege wins out in this current scenario?

Is it Murphy’s priviledge in being born the son of an elite footballer thus paving his way to a lucrative AFL career at a high profile, privilege infested club?

Is it Mrs Murphy’s privilege in being born with a certain beauty that enables her to date and to marry privileged AFL footballers and to have a privileged career as an “ambassador” of any number of companies and events?

Or is it Caroline Wilson, who without distracting from her abilities and achievements as the “first lady of football” is privileged by being born into a high profile footballing family and is privileged to be a woman in an age where the AFL and media are falling over themselves trying to redress a long standing gender imbalance?

Which one is it?

Cos I doubt it’s the big dopey bogan from Craigieburn
Carlisile should check his privilege because he is a better sledger then Murphy

St Kilda has come out of it far worse and try as we might to defend it, once gain we are held up as a morally corrupt club, rightly or wrongly
That seems to be the situation ........and I HATE it after all the work Matt Finnis has done over the last 3 years to "re-invent" the club.

From the outside....this all looks really bad.

Perceptions tend to stick.

I was a little surprised at Richo's comments last night......it was all a little awkward when he said "we may have got in wrong"

It gave the impression that is was some type of tactic that didn't quite work out........I thought..."he'll get hammered" on those comments ...and sure enough this morning he was getting bagged from every angle(the Club too)

It was strange hearing Richo being bagged.

I keep hearing in every article or opinion piece "the St.Kilda players"..........it gives the impression most of the side were sledging......ITK's.....I think Richo said it was 2 players...Jake and another....who each dropped one only sledge...is that correct?

Once the smoke settles.....hopefully there is no hard damage done to the Club support and commercially wise.

I think the only way the dust is going to be settled is if both teams/players come out and say what was actually said on field, say sorry and shake hands and move on.

Unfortunately that's not going to happen. Therefore, what was said is always going to be pure speculation. And ultimately that's always going to reflect poorly on our footy club, whilst boosting the 'integrity' of the Carlton FC.

I'm not trying to defend what jake said, but there has to be some sort of context. And if we don't know exactly what was said, then we'll never know the context.

To clarify; why?
Well for a start a gay man has never been vilified or treated as a second class citizen....

Oh wait.....

As I said it takes a bit of thought and analysis rather than stereotype and cliche.

But hey that is Trumps world we now live in. Introspection and contemplation gives way to hype and hysterical fake news.

That seems to be the situation ........and I HATE it after all the work Matt Finnis has done over the last 3 years to "re-invent" the club.

From the outside....this all looks really bad.

Perceptions tend to stick.

I was a little surprised at Richo's comments last night......it was all a little awkward when he said "we may have got in wrong"

It gave the impression that is was some type of tactic that didn't quite work out........I thought..."he'll get hammered" on those comments ...and sure enough this morning he was getting bagged from every angle(the Club too)

It was strange hearing Richo being bagged.

I keep hearing in every article or opinion piece "the St.Kilda players"..........it gives the impression most of the side were sledging......ITK's.....I think Richo said it was 2 players...Jake and another....who each dropped one only sledge...is that correct?

Once the smoke settles.....hopefully there is no hard damage done to the Club support and commercially wise.
I see it a bit differently..
Richo is normally a very straight down the line bloke, who is not afraid to admit when he/the club/players have got it wrong.

Knowing that Richo knows what our players and their players said on the field, and Watching that interview on 360 I got the impression that he was willing for our club to cop the blame. But was disappointed that we are the only club copping the blame when things were said both ways. I got the impression (from the way he responded) that what Jake said was out of line, but not nearly as "disgusting, Vile and pornographic" as Caroline Wilson made it out to be.
And if anything Caro is the one smearing this poor girls reputation more then anyone by the use of her words in comparison to other media outlets purely saying "inappropriate"

When I first came to play rugby in Australia I had to endure some filthy sledges. From the uninformed 'black c@&t' to the uninspiring 'fuzzy f@**@t' and through to the carefully crafted 'the problem with your team is there are too many Fijians' (there was only one). But the one which probably made me feel diminished the most was directed at my partner. It made me feel like I wasn't a man if I didn't stand up for her. And I couldn't stand up for her in any meaningful way because there are consequences for hitting your opponent.

So, I don't like the gist of the sledge. I think it is designed to diminish an opponent who should be respected, for no other reason than it is the right way to behave. Being able to respect your opponent is how I have taught my children to conduct themselves in the heat of a sporting contest.

Having, said that I don't like the way that Marc Murphy acted. I think it diminishes his persona in the eyes of the world. And his many friends are out there now trying to justify the unjustifiable. If, in the midst of everything he was copping he chose to show Jake some compassion as an injured opponent, it would have been the biggest slap in the face to every St Kilda player that had engaged in the sledging, and probably would have resulted in no more sledges ever against him.

Having said all of that I like the way the club has responded. We have gotten on the front foot, and with no narrative about baiting from the Blues, we have indicated we crossed the line and we have apologised.

I think Carlisle will love his captain just a little bit more.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Been lurking for absolutely forever, but listening to Caroline Wilson on footy classified made me so frustrated I had to come and make an account to rant.
How is it that every week she finds something to be offended about? Caro mate, howcome Murphy can come out of this on a pedestal while you stomp Carlisle's name into the dirt?

Murphy can incite the incident by having a dig at Carlisle and that's acceptable because 'It was already in the media' But if he has a dig back it's suddenly unacceptable because the sledge involves his wife? Either both are unacceptable or neither are and it's bullshit that Carlisle is hung out to dry because of this stupid non-issue. Goddamn she is a terrible journalist.
Welcome.

Strong Username : Avvie correlation :thumbsu:
Cracked me up!

Jake Carlisle Updates