Jake Carlisle Updates

I've written more than enough on this sh.it storm already but I'll have one last crack at it. Firstly, I admire the fact that most of us on here have warmed to the real issue irking St.Kilda supporters. That is the continual bashing of our club in the mainstream media every single time something goes down. I can't remember the last time they sided with us on any issue. It must be in their freak'n DNA.

This all started out along the usual tribal lines where as supporters we'd stick up for our boys even if they turned out to be serial killers. Especially, if they started their spree at the Heraldsun Office. Murphy was a flog, Carlscum etc etc. But then as more info became available we realised we were complicit in the matter and might possibly have been the man players. I think most common sense posters on this Board realised we had slipped up and deserved to accept at least equal billing (no pun intended) in the Blame Game.

But the Purple Flog and all his cronies then entered the fray and lo and behold Murphy and Carlton had control of all the moral high ground and we have been painted as the Bad Boys Club yet again. No shared blame. Not even 10/90%. We had overstepped the mark and the Prized Flog D.B wanted an AFL Inquiry. Coming along for the ride then followed, Roos, Watson, Ralph, Caro ad nauseum. In her inimitable style, Caro turned it into a Gender issue. WTF is she going to do when she covers the AFLW and there's no guys to lambast ?

And so it has turned into a major St.Kilda bashing, run and orchestrated by the usual suspects. Now this is not to hide from the very distasteful comments directed at Murphy. Not for one bit. It is a cry for balanced reporting when clearly there were two players in the sledging game.

Finally, just some random thoughts on the matter -

1. We all know that Jake isn't the sharpest tool in the shed. But he has seemed to be making a concerted effort at remodelling his image. I find it difficult to believe that he would've just started randomly sledging Murphy. And that's not showing St.Kilda bias. I suspect (and I could be wrong) that a few sledges came his way first eg. cokehead. Now it might seem trivial to know who said what first, but I believe in this issue it is important to know. If Murphy was first to gob off then he opened himself up for retaliation and if so he should at the very least lose the moral high ground in the debate. That's not to say that it should've then been open slather to sledge him personally, just that if he's sick of being sledged then don't engage in the practice yourself. Common sense really.

2. I think it's pretty certain Murphy gave a fair bit back. Carlton seemed quite keen to let the matter drop, something I doubt would've been the case if it had been one way traffic in his direction.

3. Murphy is no doubt sick of what has gone on for some time now and clearly didn't want it made public. In that event he had several choices -
  • Suck it up and say nothing (no, he shouldn't have to)
  • Notify the umpires it was going on
  • Tell his club after the match and lodge a formal complaint
  • Confront Carlisle on the ground (when he was upright)
What did he choose to do ? In full view of spectators and cameras he gobs off at Carlisle when he is lying injured on the ground. Then do a runner, at least until Gears reacquainted Murphy's head with the Etihad turf. By his actions he drew attention to the matter and chose by his simple action to make it public. It was his call. Not Carlisle's or any other Saint's player's call. His. Purple's eyes must've lit up at the thought of what lay ahead and he probably couldn't get to his PC quickly enough to write it up. Inquiry, inquiry, inquiry....

4. The AFL have to wear the brunt of this. Instead of cutting out all vilification in one fell swoop they have chosen to do it piecemeal. Racial first, then Religion, then Sexuality. One category after another. Next up Mental Health, now Private Sexual Innuendo and so on and so on. If the AFL are fair dinkum then ban all personal sledging that is not directly related to the game. Stuff like missed shots at goal and players ducking their heads should remain fair game. I don't think even the Moral Police would object to that. Well, maybe Caro would. Anything personal from outside the game is a no no and hold the players accountable. The AFL should stop developing their vilification code on the fly.

5. I find it strange that our friends in the media are now saying that the Murphy sledging has been going on for over 12 months. Why has it remained so secretive till now ? Has Purple and co just been waiting for the opportunity to arise when St.Kilda became involved. I suspect they probably didn't really know at all and are now just wanting to sound like they were in the loop.

6. As I've posted previously, as have many others, I'm also sick of ex-players now commentators lecturing us on the modern game and how things have changed. We all know that but many of them should be the last to talk. I'd love some of their past sledgings to suddenly appear when they are busy preaching from the pulpit. Hypocrites !

Just one last note. I give props to Robbo for his article on the matter. It was hands down the best, most balanced comment made in the media to date. I'm not a fan of the guy but give credit where credit is due I suppose. Read it if you can find it (it's a subscriber's article though).

OK enough. I'm outta here. Over to the Gameday thread. Not coming back here to this one.....unless he open's his purple gob again.

Go Saints.

images-3.jpeg

Don't you ever say anything to Marc Murphy
Please don't mention an old Roo
He wants to live a lie, something about his wife
No handshakes, cant forgive you

He kneed him in his c*** n balls
Never been hit so hard before
All Jake wanted was to find his balls
We went to far but Murph wouldn't take our calls
Oh Murph, you sledged him

I've written more than enough on this sh.it storm already but I'll have one last crack at it. Firstly, I admire the fact that most of us on here have warmed to the real issue irking St.Kilda supporters. That is the continual bashing of our club in the mainstream media every single time something goes down. I can't remember the last time they sided with us on any issue. It must be in their freak'n DNA.

This all started out along the usual tribal lines where as supporters we'd stick up for our boys even if they turned out to be serial killers. Especially, if they started their spree at the Heraldsun Office. Murphy was a flog, Carlscum etc etc. But then as more info became available we realised we were complicit in the matter and might possibly have been the man players. I think most common sense posters on this Board realised we had slipped up and deserved to accept at least equal billing (no pun intended) in the Blame Game.

But the Purple Flog and all his cronies then entered the fray and lo and behold Murphy and Carlton had control of all the moral high ground and we have been painted as the Bad Boys Club yet again. No shared blame. Not even 10/90%. We had overstepped the mark and the Prized Flog D.B wanted an AFL Inquiry. Coming along for the ride then followed, Roos, Watson, Ralph, Caro ad nauseum. In her inimitable style, Caro turned it into a Gender issue. WTF is she going to do when she covers the AFLW and there's no guys to lambast ?

And so it has turned into a major St.Kilda bashing, run and orchestrated by the usual suspects. Now this is not to hide from the very distasteful comments directed at Murphy. Not for one bit. It is a cry for balanced reporting when clearly there were two players in the sledging game.

1. We all know that Jake isn't the sharpest tool in the shed. But he has seemed to be making a concerted effort at remodelling his image. I find it difficult to believe that he would've just started randomly sledging Murphy. And that's not showing St.Kilda bias. I suspect (and I could be wrong) that a few sledges came his way first eg. cokehead. Now it might seem trivial to know who said what first, but I believe in this issue it is important to know. If Murphy was first to gob off then he opened himself up for retaliation and if so he should at the very least lose the moral high ground in the debate. That's not to say that it should've then been open slather to sledge him personally, just that if he's sick of being sledged then don't engage in the practice yourself. Common sense really.

2. I think it's pretty certain Murphy gave a fair bit back. Carlton seemed quite keen to let the matter drop, something I doubt would've been the case if it had been one way traffic in his direction.

3. Murphy is no doubt sick of what has gone on for some time now and clearly didn't want it made public. In that event he had several choices -
What did he choose to do ? In full view of spectators and cameras he gobs off at Carlisle when he is lying injured on the ground. Then do a runner, at least until Gears reacquainted Murphy's head with the Etihad turf. By his actions he drew attention to the matter and chose by his simple action to make it public. It was his call. Not Carlisle's or any other Saint's player's call. His. Purple's eyes must've lit up at the thought of what lay ahead and he probably couldn't get to his PC quickly enough to write it up. Inquiry, inquiry, inquiry....

4. The AFL have to wear the brunt of this. Instead of cutting out all vilification in one fell swoop they have chosen to do it piecemeal. Racial first, then Religion, then Sexuality. One category after another. Next up Mental Health, now Private Sexual Innuendo and so on and so on. If the AFL are fair dinkum then ban all personal sledging that is not directly related to the game. Stuff like missed shots at goal and players ducking their heads should remain fair game. I don't think even the Moral Police would object to that. Well, maybe Caro would. Anything personal from outside the game is a no no and hold the players accountable. The AFL should stop developing their vilification code on the fly.

5. I find it strange that our friends in the media are now saying that the Murphy sledging has been going on for over 12 months. Why has it remained so secretive till now ? Has Purple and co just been waiting for the opportunity to arise when St.Kilda became involved. I suspect they probably didn't really know at all and are now just wanting to sound like they were in the loop.

6. As I've posted previously, as have many others, I'm also sick of ex-players now commentators lecturing us on the modern game and how things have changed. We all know that but many of them should be the last to talk. I'd love some of their past sledgings to suddenly appear when they are busy preaching from the pulpit. Hypocrites !

Just one last note. I give props to Robbo for his article on the matter. It was hands down the best, most balanced comment made in the media to date. I'm not a fan of the guy but give credit where credit is due I suppose. Read it if you can find it (it's a subscriber's article though).

OK enough. I'm outta here. Over to the Gameday thread. Not coming back here to this one.....unless he open's his purple gob again.

Go Saints.
OK, I'll bite, was there a sledging incident with Marc Murphy?

This situation is so messed up. Sledging is like the banners it's always been part of the game.

Sledging isn't really a issue but using the right words when you about to give it should be worked on.

The media made a meal of it and made it seem like a really big issue.

Both clubs were fined, both spoke to each other and things were mutual.

SO LETS MOVE ON PLEASE.

Carlisle did not make his drug use public. It was sent to 'friends' who then betrayed his trust. If he wanted to make it public, he easily could have.

Again, Murphy's partner was not used as a barb, rather, it was the fact that he chose to be with said partner which leads onto;

I agree that a woman is free to do as she pleases, but a person is allowed to have their opinion on it. Regardless, the sledge pertains to the fact that Murphy decided to marry someone who would appear to have a clear agenda to date or have casual relations with AFL players. One or two would be coincidental but I'm fairly sure this was double digits.
The sledge is that Murphy is not bright enough to have realised that she is a groupie and if it wasn't him, it would've been someone else. The sledge is that the only way he got her is because he plays AFL. If anything, it's complimenting her on her ability to tie him down when I doubt any other player would fall for it.
If anything the whole point of the sledge is about Murphy's own insecurities and not really about his wife at all. If Murphy didn't care about his wife's history he wouldn't get upset about it. The worst thing about this is all the innuendo and half-truths that has been made public.

Go Saints.

Go Saints.

good report, well done

My last comment on the issue is that I can't really fathom how the sledging towards Murphy was perceived to be so foul & disgusting in the media, yet not one Carlton player stood up for Murphy throughout the game even though they were in earshot of the alleged disgusting comments all game.

It appears to me that it was all just part of the back & forth banter throughout the game & it didn't really warrant any players 'standing up' for their teammate until Marc Murphy decided to perform his drive-by sledge to an injured Carlisle, which prompted Geary into action to stand up for his mate who was not in a position or state to reply at the time. It's quite obvious with the way both clubs have wanted to move on quickly that there was foul sledging & banter going both ways.

I commend our leaders for the way they stood up for their teammate.

If anything the whole point of the sledge is about Murphy's own insecurities and not really about his wife at all. If Murphy didn't care about his wife's history he wouldn't get upset about it. The worst thing about this is all the innuendo and half-truths that has been made public.
I'm thinking the same. I think sledging doesn't come natural to him and he tried to act tough and got caught out.

If anything he needs to take some serious trash talk lessons.

For example, take the Buddy / Fisher incident... when Buddy asked chips what his thing tasted like, I would have retorted "exactly the same as when I kiss your mum on the lips".

That's how you sledge. You paying attention, Mark?

Carlton supporters are talking about respecting women - first of all look at your backyard when their own players were involved in rape case and apparently they paid them to keep their mouth shut.

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2009-08-27/new-hush-money-claims-in-afl-rape-case/1407600
That is the one of the most disgraceful things I've read about a footy club.. how is this not common knowledge?!!

It's absolutely typical of that Football club. Their history is Riddled with this sort of 'Elitist, can't be touched, above the law' mentality. They just think they can buy their way to a flag and pay there way out of trouble.
They have absolutely no integrity whatsoever.

Go Saints.

Kudos on the best written comment on this whole stupid saga!
And yes, I was also pleasantly surprised at Robbo's article in the HS today.
I'm thoroughly sick of the hysterical, hypocritical squawking of the media, each trying to outdo the other in claiming the moral high ground.

We're all monsters

http://www.theroar.com.au/2017/05/16/dockers-vow-not-to-sledge-marc-murphy/

Dockers vow not to sledge Marc Murphy

Fremantle have vowed not to direct any vicious sledging at Marc Murphy on Sunday as the Carlton AFL skipper deals with the fallout of verbal abuse from St Kilda players.
He will still cry, the weak coward sook.

Wonder what happens when he sledges Mundy about drugs or something, Dockers are just gunna take it?

Hope the crowd boos the shit out of him.

Jake Carlisle Updates