MRP / Trib. James Sicily tackle on Hugh McCluggage

How many weeks for Sicily?

As soon as F1 cars started sounding very quiet I lost interest. I loved it when they sounded like mini fighter jets and they were so loud that in the Melb GP I could hear them from 50-100kms away.
Nothing like roar of an engine and riding the clutch, especially when running late for a date.

So if they don’t want concussions, then by extension any act that risks this will inevitably be outlawed. They are that fearful of litigation that this is the only logical outcome.

So that will end the speccy and potentially other elements of the sport.

Is that what we want?
Jordan Lewis had a concussion that took multiple weeks to recover from ina. marking contest. May as well get rid of those too.

At the end of the day, it makes no difference to our season. I've got no concern about Sic missing 3 weeks as a Hawthorn related outcome.

I worry over where this is going.

It's worth asking why the ground surfaces are not part of the problem. The F1 point mentioned above is fair, they consider all factors a component and adjust. Well we have hard grounds now for optimum play and skill, why isn't that being adjusted?

Where do we stop?

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

they don't need to.
because they do other things.

AFL could be safer by banning tackles. But they don't need to. because they'll suspend players who execute and cause head knocks...like they did the bump.
The AFL made the argument that players who "elect" to bump have an alternative, ie to tackle. What will they say now, "if you elect to tackle and a player falls and bumps his head, you're out"? What alternatives do players have to tackling? This wasn't a dump tackle by Sicily, I don't see what else Sicily could possible have done other than not competing in the contest. Is that what we want, players electing not to participate in the contest because they are not in a position to have 100% control of the situation? Seems an extremely sterile game they are promoting, there's already so little these days that gets supporters out of their seats (other than yelling at the umpires) and they want to homogenise the game even further?

Aussie rules is not an excuse science, it is imperfect and within the chaos accidents will happen. It's one thing to rub out violent acts and thug behaviour but if a desperate tackle like Sicily's is deemed to be worth 3 weeks then then the AFL is beyond saving.

and you'd know? I have more tolerance than you, I don't get offended by words and feel that I have to have a cry, bleet and sook...just like the AFL, jam it.
You're being disingenuous, mate. Stop having a sook yourself and edit your post properly before somebody else quotes it, ya nong.

Not sure what he could have done. I think everyone has to accept the fact that no matter what a player does on field these days, if they get unlucky with a head injury to an opponent, they could be suspended. It's purely down to luck, or lack of it.

The alternative is you try to save the game rather than kill it which is what the afls dumb strategy will do. But they have both no moral fibre and no idea.
i'm gonna argue the moral fibre comment
whilst this is 90% self preservation driven, it's the right thing. CTE is not pretty. it ends lives, whether its quality of life or life itself.

for the sake of a sport? or the shape of that sport?
the game didn't die when behind the ball snipes were outlawed, or the bump. If Hands in the back didn't kill it im not sure there's a change that can.....AFLX maybe i guess :p but ppl still lobbed up so.......

the strategy is sound. you can't just ask players to change tackling actions and hope they do it. like dissent rule, you go hard and over the top and make them change....then you loosen it a bit.

F1 is the pinnacle of car racing. a guy went through a barrier at about 250km/h, ripped his car in half and sat in a fireball for about a minute or two
the halo that some fans protested as looking ugly meant he's not dead.

This is what the AFL is doing. they don't want concussions. they don't spinal injuries. and they sure as s**t don't want anyone dying over a sport.

It won't kill the sport.
F1 is more popular than ever and crashes are far far far less prevalent or dangerous than 40 years ago.
the AFL more or less killed the bump. It is more popular now than ever.

i feel like im at work now, so forgive my well trotted out line. Yes, there is always risk, but it doesn't mean you can't always be trying to mitigate it.
F1 is more popular than ever due to Drive to Survive. Has nothing to do with the action on the track

The behaviour is changing
Id say 90% of tackles are different now.

There's gonna be collateral damage with the other 10% but its the price of change to reduce the risks concussions represent
Chasing the impossible then. In a collision sport there is always a risk of concussion. Doesn’t help that sometimes players get rewarded for leading with the head to get free kicks

outlawed only to the extent whereby you cause the head injury.
Its the bump pattern all over again. AFL said go for your life. but injure the head and too bad.

It's the tackle now.
Speccy next? maybe

AFL doesn't want concussions. And it's the right sentiment. we fans have to get onboard.

Or boycott. Lets see the AFL survive with no fans in the stand or watching it at home.

Your choice:

Accept that there is risk
or
Hate the sport and change everything fun and exiting into boring and unwatchable .

i don't agree.
Just because it's sport, the workplace laws still apply. If the laws change, then fine. but i doubt they will.

i posted earlier too. its not about being risk free either
the AFL knows the risks. It can't be idle otherwise they're culpable.
i don't agree or disagree. its just how it is.
Pro sports are not your normal workplace, the comparison is just silly. It's why there are provisions in the Workers Compensation legislation to exclude sporting contestants.

Part 17

Wow! I sometimes get embarrassed by North supporters melting over nothing, but you guys are next level: Ban the tackle, Touch football, What about..., All he did was....,What would Wardlaw do?
Calling it now there will be a hawks fan boycott of the north-hawks game in round 18

Or boycott. Lets see the AFL survive with no fans in the stand or watching it at home.

Your choice:

Accept that there is risk
or
Hate the sport and change everything fun and exiting into boring and unwatchable .
that won't work. nor would it happen

1-outside hawks fans, few are gonna care
2-you get outraged, then the next round come and everyone goes

i was pissy re: merrett on sparrow. got over it. football still alive and well.

Pro sports are not your normal workplace, the comparison is just silly. It's why there are provisions in the Workers Compensation legislation to exclude sporting contestants.

Part 17

outside my area of expertise, but does injury and compensation extend out to long term health issues?

i guess my question is where does this class action stand.
It's chasing $1bn and the AFL has paid out in the past.
how does it have legs if this provision exists?

Jordan Lewis had a concussion that took multiple weeks to recover from ina. marking contest. May as well get rid of those too.

At the end of the day, it makes no difference to our season. I've got no concern about Sic missing 3 weeks as a Hawthorn related outcome.

I worry over where this is going.

It's worth asking why the ground surfaces are not part of the problem. The F1 point mentioned above is fair, they consider all factors a component and adjust. Well we have hard grounds now for optimum play and skill, why isn't that being adjusted?

Where do we stop?

Sent from my SM-A526B using Tapatalk

I wrote about the grounds being a contributing factor in another post but deleted it. It's true though, grounds aren't soft and muddy like they used to be. Why are so many players knocked out these days after hitting the ground? Happens far more frequently than prior years.

i get your point, but it doesn't work

At what point do you risk the next Buddy saying thanks, but no thanks. i'd rather live the last 50-60 years of my life healthy vs. living it up in my 20s then live with CTE for 3/4 of my life.....if i make it that long.
People will always be ready to take the chance while they can make reasonable money.

that won't work. nor would it happen

1-outside hawks fans, few are gonna care
2-you get outraged, then the next round come and everyone goes

i was pissy re: merrett on sparrow. got over it. football still alive and well.

Sport is like a flame, without fan engagement being the fuel for the sport it withers away and dies. If fans stop going and watching it on TV it'll die. As a result sites like Bigfooty will suffer because there will be no footy to talk about.

apologies to Chief, but not sure the AFL care that much about BF.

and whilst you're right, you won't find a mass boycott because Sicily got 3 weeks.
average punter doesn't care that much

outlawed only to the extent whereby you cause the head injury.
Its the bump pattern all over again. AFL said go for your life. but injure the head and too bad.

It's the tackle now.
Speccy next? maybe

AFL doesn't want concussions. And it's the right sentiment. we fans have to get onboard.

I can tell you mate, for 100% certain that once they ban players going for the speccy which results in concussing the guy in front (and it’s just a matter of time) then that is pretty much the end of the sport as we know it.

What player would even go for a hanger knowing that any misjudgement at all will result in a ban from the game? There are too many variables and no coach would instruct them to do it.

It’s one thing to say “get on board” but I don’t think there is an adequate understanding of what we are all, fans and players alike, signing up to.

Yes, we need to protect the head where it’s reasonable to do so but we are asking players to completely overhaul the way they have spent 10-20 years learning how to play the game. We also need to understand that there is an element of risk that as humans we absorb in choosing to participate. The AFL is hell-bent on making the game risk free and this is simply not possible.

In fact, in their relentless pursuit of making the game risk free it is a matter of time before a player is seriously injured because they pulled out or did not go hard enough into a contested situation for fear of the outcome.

MRP / Trib. James Sicily tackle on Hugh McCluggage