January 26

Should the celebration of January 26 cease?

Whatever day it is changed to, no matter what we do, it will never satisfy Lidia Thorpe.
Lydia Thorpe is in a minority in a minority party. She’ll never form Government

Same could be said for conservative nationalists, if most of the nation agreed on a new date, say the anniversary of a treaty signing, I bet they’d still hoist the Union Jack defaced flag on January 26th.

I reckon we all won the lottery, but as a proud Aussie I hate the current Australia day vitriol and I'm not opposed to any change, it certainly wouldn't annoy me if we changed it, but if people then continue to protest about it all, then we need to give it the flick altogether...We are so well off compared to the rest of the world, I wouldn't swap my upbringing or lifestyle for anything...I'm glad you are appreciative and know how lucky we all are, sadly a lot of people have no idea.
celebrating the invasion and covering it in the flag doesn't cut it with me. if i was a first nation peep i'd be properly pissed.

Had lunch with a migrant who was given citizenship on Australia Day in 2004. She would be sad to see the date moved because it’s a reminder of the best day of her life.
Won't someone think of the migrants is this year's completely unironic conservative theme retaining keeping the status quo.

Just based on the experience of walking around my suburb (middle class mostly white and Anglo) there’s almost zero Australian flags on houses or any other indication people are “celebrating” Australia Day. Anyone else have the same impression?

There may be more tomorrow but Australia as a nation doesn’t wave its patriotic pride as much and other places. I think most people are indifferent to a date change, but if the date did change apart from the conservative nationalists there wouldn’t be much opposition and people would forget about Jan 26 quickly
It's not really the Australian thing to hang flags up like the yanks do.

If some religions can get their members to tithe 10% of their pre tax income then this initiative will be able to fleece some money as well
This sort of stuff just does more harm than good on the reconciliation path. It drowns out the more sensible stuff because the it's the stuff the media will pick up on.
99% the right will fearmonger about it to campaign against the Voice:

“If you vote Yes then eventually you’ll be forced to pay 1% of your income to Aboriginals!”
Already happening:

1 percent of people's income is rather a lot even if you earn 100k.

Had lunch with a migrant who was given citizenship on Australia Day in 2004. She would be sad to see the date moved because it’s a reminder of the best day of her life.

I think the reminder of the trauma suffered by the Indigenous population with colonisation is a little more significant than her upset the day she received a change in her legal status is no longer going to be on January 26th. I’m sure it won’t hurt her to celebrate Australia Day on a different date,

99% the right will fearmonger about it to campaign against the Voice:

“If you vote Yes then eventually you’ll be forced to pay 1% of your income to Aboriginals!”
Idiots gonna idiot.

A lot of those multicultural attendees of previous Australia Day events went probably because they thought that’s what that had to do to fit in. I noticed that while they attended the community BBQs and stuff they generally eschewed the flag attire, face painted flag tattoos and copious amounts of alcohol. That is exclusively the domain of white bogans.

If we changed the date new migrants and multicultural communities would easily fit in to the new date, for them Jan 26 means nothing.

The Bogan Anglo crowd would be having a meltdown.
Bit like straight people who go to a gay parade?

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

How are you guys celebrating? Hope you all have your Australia Day koala ordered from the butchers. We fatten up our own, it's a family tradition. We think it tastes better.

Tonight we will let the kids stay up for the countdown to midnight and fireworks, then it's up early for Australia Day presents. We've had the Australia Day tree up for a couple of weeks now, hung with cane toads and tinnies. We're going the whole hog this year, so after the presents we release the cane toads and have a good old toad hunt. When you find one, you split it open. One lucky person will find a gift certificate to the local pokies in theirs.

Then it's vegemite races, violet crumble shooting, and denial of Indigenous heritage. It's all happening at our joint.
Would have a strong flavour the koala I reckon.

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Celebrating your country's colonisation will never not be insane. I can't think of another country in the world that does that. Countries celebrate independence or unity as their national day - clearly we don't.

I think it's reaching a critical mass anyway. The previous government were happy to try and bully councils around citizenship ceremonies - but once businesses and sporting organisations are tacitly boycotting it becomes an inevitability.

I could see Australia Day being moved ahead of the next election as a quick and easy thing you can do to try and brush past what is going to be a difficult Voice referendum. The LNP will go play culture wars with themselves on Sky AD, but not many people near the centre will care or even notice.

I think the reminder of the trauma suffered by the Indigenous population with colonisation is a little more significant than her upset the day she received a change in her legal status is no longer going to be on January 26th. I’m sure it won’t hurt her to celebrate Australia Day on a different date,

Yeah she can go jump.. how dare she be worried or celebrate something that actually happened to her in her lifetime …

I remember when patriotism was un-Australian.

Yeah me too. The current incarnation that started under Howard is sickening. You’d think “patriots” would be fighting for our own head of state and flag, the post Howard patriotism is to vigorously defend symbols of Britain.

All part of the plan to turn us into mini America

Celebrating your country's colonisation will never not be insane. I can't think of another country in the world that does that. Countries celebrate independence or unity as their national day - clearly we don't.

Let’s see what other nations have as their national day:

USA: Signing of the document that declared themselves an independent nation.

New Zealand: Signing of the treaty to make peace with their indigenous population.

Canada: creation of federal Canadian nation from colonies

Germany: day of reunification

France: start of the French Revolution

Italy: establishment of the Republic

Australia: day the British set up a prison camp, after the first attempt a few days earlier failed, with people convicted of petty theft and sheep stealing, when the word “Australia” wasn’t even first used for another 20 years.

1674644672737.png

Every other nation is independence, unification, emporer/king or revolution related.

Ours is the founding of a petty prison colony. We are an international anomaly.

How embarrassing

Let’s see what other nations have as their national day:

USA: Signing of the document that declared themselves an independent nation.

New Zealand: Signing of the treaty to make peace with their indigenous population.

Canada: creation of federal Canadian nation from colonies

Germany: day of reunification

France: start of the French Revolution

Italy: establishment of the Republic

Australia: day the British set up a prison camp, after the first attempt a few days earlier failed, with people convicted of petty theft and sheep stealing.

View attachment 1593643

Every other nation is independence, unification, emporer/king or revolution related.

Ours is the founding of a petty prison colony. We are an international anomaly.

How embarrassing

I love that Greenland are like "****, we've got sun for a few hours, everyone take the day off!"

Unbelievable.

We should make it a double day off. We can have Jan 25 as a day of mourning for the "Pre-Australia" people. Because it was obviously the last time "those" people were happy. Nothing bad happened before then.

Then we can have Jan 26, where all of you can revel in "I Hate Australia" Day.

We can make it a double celebration because we can also do what all of you would much prefer to do and celebrate Indian Republic day.

Hopeless.

Yeah she can go jump.. how dare she be worried or celebrate something that actually happened to her in her lifetime …
She can still celebrate it if the date is changed, January 26th will still come around each year

Aren't we the only country that never signed a treaty with the indigenous population?

Let it move, put it on a Friday or a Monday, Aussies care more about that than they do about the "day".

I mean it’s obvious just to get rid of it. It’s offensive to some while being of absolutely zero benefit to anybody else (relative to any other public holiday).

The day in itself means next to nothing, it wasn’t the discovery of Australia, it wasn’t the discovery of Australia by Europeans, it wasn’t the founding of Australia as a nation. As I understand it it was basically no big deal til the “bicentenary” when everybody had a party and decided we should do it every year. That was only 35 years ago.

It took off in the era of widespread ignorance regarding First Nations issues, which I think probably lasted til about 2010. Since then (in my estimation anyway) people have become much more aware. Shaking off the remnants of last powerful and popular LNP government probably has a bit to do with it (the Abbott / Turnbull / Morrison circus was never very powerful or popular).

It’ll obviously change some time soon-ish.