News Jason Castagna retires

I can.

The list managers didn't think Narkle was a good pickup for us in the SSP. They demonstrated this by not picking Narkle. Narkle didn't think Richmond was the right club for him. The club offered him a spot on the VFL list and an office job. He went to Essendon instead.

Richmond now has the benefit of seeing Narkle and every other player in the VFL for the first half of the season.

George kicked the ball out of bounds, but not on the full. Our options to score are still open. Good on you Georgie.
Agree mate, plus I’m glad Georgie made the decision on his own time table and not rushed because of the train on window to sign another player

Love him or hate him Georgie was a senior listed player with a lot of experience and the coaches obviously liked his skill set and work ethic

The decision to retire would be among one of the most important ones he makes in his professional life and would have massive repercussions for both he and the rest of his family and one that shouldn’t of been rushed by anyone or any specific time table

Bloody hell. Not only do you all hang s**t on him constantly which may have led to this decision but when he retires, you question why he didn't do it sooner so we could have taken someone else.
Now I'm not saying that it's not a valid question but how about, as an outlandish idea, instead of potting the bloke on the way out we are a bit more supportive of a three time premiership player who could have won a Norm Smith if he kicked straight.
The guy has given his all to the RFC and should be treated with the respect he deserves on his way out.

Have a bit of class about yourselves.
This is not aimed at you Prodigy.
I have been reading the Tiger Big Footy forum for ages now but have been loathe to post due to some of the comments and hatred on here.
George showed more class in his career and retirement speech than many posters on here.
The pile on by keyboard warriors has been disgusting at times. Some of the same posters are now trying to deflect that they were absolute a.holes and saw it as funny that this bloke was the brunt of much shite on here.
How he held it together for so long is a credit to him and to those around him.
Before you pile on to the next victim have a think about what it would be like for you or somebody important in your life.

Bighands

Looks like he was given the cold shoulder and that the club hoped he would retire.
This way we save money on the salary cap. If we had delisted him last year we would have to pay out his contract.
Give the money to Marlion Pickett who is on a low salary.
I've never seen a footballer never learn from his mistakes and get worse as his career went on.
Seeya Jase, don't let the door hit you on the way out.

Bloody hell. Not only do you all hang s**t on him constantly which may have led to this decision but when he retires, you question why he didn't do it sooner so we could have taken someone else.
Now I'm not saying that it's not a valid question but how about, as an outlandish idea, instead of potting the bloke on the way out we are a bit more supportive of a three time premiership player who could have won a Norm Smith if he kicked straight.
The guy has given his all to the RFC and should be treated with the respect he deserves on his way out.

Have a bit of class about yourselves.

I been defending the chaos the entire time even despite people shitting on his selection every week the last 7 years or whatever it is, that's their opinion. But the - luckily only a few - that are still harshly shitting on him even in the retirement thread have gone a bit far I reckon

Looks like he was given the cold shoulder and that the club hoped he would retire.
This way we save money on the salary cap. If we had delisted him last year we would have to pay out his contract.
I've never seen a footballer never learn from his mistakes and get worse as his career went on.
Exhibit A

Stay classy

I been defending the chaos the entire time even despite people shitting on his selection every week the last 7 years or whatever it is, that's their opinion. But the - luckily only a few - that are still harshly shitting on him even in the retirement thread have gone a bit far I reckon
Says more about them tbh

Why even post such dribble
It’s one thing having a crack but to just make up an entire narrative because you didn’t specifically like him as a player is pretty poor imo

At the end of the day he was a limited player who made the most of his skill set and has played 130 games with 3 flags
That’s a career most kids could only dream of when being drafted and he was an essential part of that greatest period of time I have had as a Richmond supporter

Instead of focusing on trying to get a few extra jabs in maybe look back and celebrate those special years he was an essential part of

Agree mate, plus I’m glad Georgie made the decision on his own time table and not rushed because of the train on window to sign another player

Love him or hate him Georgie was a senior listed player with a lot of experience and the coaches obviously liked his skill set and work ethic

The decision to retire would be among one of the most important ones he makes in his professional life and would have massive repercussions for both he and the rest of his family and one that shouldn’t of been rushed by anyone or any specific time table
Especially if mental health is a factor. Nothing like big time footy but I went through a bit of crap at work a while back and they were SO patient and understanding, it made decision making a lot easier and helped ease anxiety.

Good to hear 👍

Just on that topic, I reckon we’ve been at the forefront of Australian sport, in dealing with mental health. Emma Murray, imo played a massive role in our success, her methods in dealing with stress and anxiety and not allowing your fears to cripple you mentally, got us to where we are.

Re George, it sounded like he was just spent and ready to move on. As he said in his presser, he’d given everything even before arriving at the club to become an AFL player.

Why even post such dribble
It’s one thing having a crack but to just make up an entire narrative because you didn’t specifically like him as a player is pretty poor imo

At the end of the day he was a limited player who made the most of his skill set and has played 130 games with 3 flags
That’s a career most kids could only dream of when being drafted and he was an essential part of that greatest period of time I have had as a Richmond supporter

Instead of focusing on trying to get a few extra jabs in maybe look back and celebrate those special years he was an essential part of
I've been consistent about him for years.
He was given a great opportunity by Richmond and he was given 3 flags , he did contribute in one of those flags with an important goal.
His stats read better than I thought but he was only relevent with our chaos game when we had little depth.
The rule change by Hocking finished him as an AFL player.
I was hoping he would see what the club had given him, and retire last year , so we could save some money and open a spot.
If he had of cancelled his contract back then for the clubd benefit, he would have been remembered more fondly.
The best clubmen are players like Dusty, Marlion, Trent, Jack R and Kmac who take less money than they are worth.

He was given a great opportunity by Richmond and he was given 3 flags , he did contribute in one of those flags with an important goal.
His stats read better than I thought but he was only relevent with our chaos game when we had little depth.
I was hoping he would see what the club had given him, and retire last year , so we could save some money and open a spot.
If he had of cancelled his contract back then for the clubd benefit, he would have been remembered more fondly.
The best clubmen are players like Dusty, Marlion, Trent, Jack R and Kmac who take less money than they are worth.
If he was selfish he would've cruised through this season and getting paid in full.
But that doesn't fit your narrative.

Give it a rest mate and just take the L

You have no idea like 99% of us what goes on behind the doors of the club and you definitely don’t speak for everyone when you say he will remembered more fondly if he pulled the pin earlier

He was essential to the fabric of the gameplan that changed our fortunes and every time he put on the jumper he played his absolute guts out

B Gale literally posted an article today from the age highlighting how important he was and how he actually took unders for his contracts and never complained

Did some days I want to throttle him and curse his name?
Absolutely!
But other times he would pull off the sublime out of his ass and I couldn’t help but shake my head at what he could produce

For all we know he wanted to pull the pin last year but the club asked him to come back for the pre season and see if he found his love for the game again (exactly what they did with Dusty) but due to the injury he sustained it was the final straw that made up his mind about climbing the mountain again

His role would have demanded elite fitness too with repeat efforts. He gave his all when playing and was integral to our chaos/pressure game plan in 2017.
I was one that was calling for his head last year, I thought it was time to move on from that type of small forward, but you can’t deny the he’s given everything over the journey and was the right man for that time.

Sometimes you’ve just got to listen to those in the inner circle that see so much more than we do.

I was one that was calling for his head last year, I thought it was time to move on from that type of small forward, but you can’t deny the he’s given everything over the journey and was the right man for that time.

Sometimes you’ve just got to listen to those in the inner circle that see so much more than we do.
Yeah I think his form dropped the last couple of years for whatever reason.

Caddy ended up out of favour and spent his last year in the VFL. Graham is going to be spending time in the VFL in his last year. Same with Castagna. All on good money I think.

List management has meant Lambert and Edwards retire and a few first year players in the 22. Expensive Lynch meant players had to take a pay cut. Remember Rance and don't upset the apple cart.
I know Pickett started on the rookie list but his match payments were good. I think he was a good contract year 2.
It would have been ideal for Castagna to retire but he did have a year left. Got injured late preseason. sad about retirement but take the money and enrol in tattoo Art school or study up on Dave Navarro TV show.