News Jason Castagna retires

With all due respect, I don't think it's cool to joke about kicking points when you kicked 5 behinds and 2 out on the full in a Grand Final and didn't attempt to pass any of them off.
Any other player that does that gets called selfish.

Lighten up mate. Richo kiced points from the goal square and no one calls him selfish.

Good to hear 👍

Just on that topic, I reckon we’ve been at the forefront of Australian sport, in dealing with mental health. Emma Murray, imo played a massive role in our success, her methods in dealing with stress and anxiety and not allowing your fears to cripple you mentally, got us to where we are.

Re George, it sounded like he was just spent and ready to move on. As he said in his presser, he’d given everything even before arriving at the club to become an AFL player.

It's been such a good feeling seeing, hearing and reading about how happy in their football and general life the overwhelming majority of our blokes are over the last half decade or so since Emma's contribution - the complete opposite of 90's and 00's Richmond. I used to hate how divided and at each other's throats the club and playing group so often were in those eras more than the lack of success. The present era is like a dream come true.

Whether it was mental, injury niggles, both or whatever, thought there were a few signs last year that Georgie was struggling to give that 100% attack on the footy that made him competitive, it's what made him a viable player and if that's become too hard then he's obviously made the right call for everyone.

With all due respect, I don't think it's cool to joke about kicking points when you kicked 5 behinds and 2 out on the full in a Grand Final and didn't attempt to pass any of them off.

oh yeah 100% he definitely should passed them off since the game was on the line in that nail biter that we won by… checks notes 89 points :drunk:

Dog shit performance by many, many posters in this thread. Pathetic.

The man helped deliver us three flags, and even then still retired to the sounds of constant of sniping.

I wish him all the best; the coaches have forgotten more than than the piss brained frothers on this forum have ever known about football and for a long time he was unequivocally best 22 - and when we were at our best.

Hope he enjoys retirement and finds his feet quickly.

Good Times.

Lucky it wasnt a close game but.

That burst of speed out of the middle wouldve been an all time great Grand Final goal had he nailed it.

26 seems a bit young to be retiring
Do you think he was inspired by high profile Richmond fan Ash Barty?

campaigner just wants to sink craft beer and do tattoos

has already won 3 flags i can understand deciding may as well call it quits and still having time in your 20's to try something else

George grasping 3 premiership cups. Beautiful. Compared to that Port guy Duersma, the bow and arrow bloke dropping the premiership cup in the 2020 PF against us. Someone post that here. 🤩😂

dusty-dustin-martin.gif

Bolded for those who refused to see his worth to the side.

By George, he’s gone: Why Jason Castagna was the heartbeat of the Tigers​

Michael Gleeson

Sports columnist
February 27, 2023 — 7.24pm
Save
Normal text sizeLarger text sizeVery large text size

Jason Castagna was as emblematic of the Richmond triple premiership team as Dustin Martin.
Ordinarily there is not a lot of scope for comparing Martin and Castagna as footballers, but here goes.
Dustin Martin congratulates Jason Castagna on kicking a goal in 2021.

Dustin Martin congratulates Jason Castagna on kicking a goal in 2021.CREDIT:GETTY
Martin plays as if he has never entertained the idea that there was anything he couldn’t do on the football field. Castagna played as though he understood perfectly what he couldn’t and shouldn’t do, but also knew what he was there to do.
And yet they were equally important, in their own ways, to what Richmond achieved.

Yes, with three Norm Smith medals and a Brownlow, Martin contributed more than any player to Richmond’s success, but Castagna epitomised the other half of Richmond’s game and structure.
He was the archetypal role player. He was as much a foundation of how Richmond played as dynamic players like Martin, Jack Riewoldt, Tom Lynch, Nick Vlastuin, Alex Rance and Trent Cotchin.
Castagna takes a mark against the Cats in 2021.

Castagna takes a mark against the Cats in 2021.CREDIT:GETTY
He was loved by coaches and teammates

Here's a sneaky photoshop edit as a tribute to George and that other tat not many got to see.
jc.jpg

Dog s**t performance by many, many posters in this thread. Pathetic.

The man helped deliver us three flags, and even then still retired to the sounds of constant of sniping.

I wish him all the best; the coaches have forgotten more than than the piss brained frothers on this forum have ever known about football and for a long time he was unequivocally best 22 - and when we were at our best.

Hope he enjoys retirement and finds his feet quickly.
Good post mate, and I'm convinced that most of the pathetic posters you mention, actually DON'T barrack for Richmond.

Seriously how easy is it to make a troll burner account and put any team you want up.?

He can run and take an ok grab. I was hoping he could work on goal kicking skills.
Soldo did and I reckon kmac worked on his kicking too. Field and goal.
Yeah hes a pretty good contested mark for his size, or he was. He didn't seem to do much of it last year. I don't want to knock him but something happened to his form. OK he was always a bit unreliable in front of goal but he also seemed to have lost his strengths. I wish him all the best, he is part of a Richmond dynasty. Pity he became a whipping boy.

26 seems a bit young to be retiring
Do you think he was inspired by high profile Richmond fan Ash Barty?
Got the call from Dodoro to quit cos he wouldnt be getting much of a look in at the Tigs from here on and then the Essingtons pick him up in a mid season change of heart and play him every week.

Jason, I'm as guilty as anybody for cracking the whip at times and feel like a bit of a prick for doing so.

Yet, never once did I question your determination and desire. Mate, it was just your shots at goal that underwhelmed me so often (and had me pulling my hair out).

But you are a triple premiership player with my club and every medal was well and truly deserved and you contributed splendidly to the gameplan that got us there.

I wish you well in your future endeavours, you deserve it.

Let's all show this guy some respect. Tipped his hat for the betterment of the club. Played a crucial role in 3 grandfinals. Gave it his all for his whole career.

Can't ask for much more from a limited player. Loved watching his chaos and he kept us on the edge of our seats with his kicking for goal. He was never boring to watch.

R.i.p Jason Castanga. The chaos king.

As for Castagna well done and best wishes.
Not surprised he’s mentally and probably physically cooked, talk about getting every single inch out of your ability and then some.
Sure the next phase of his life will also be a success based on his footy career work ethic.