News Jason Castagna retires

As for Castagna well done and best wishes.
Not surprised he’s mentally and probably physically cooked, talk about getting every single inch out of your ability and then some.
Sure the next phase of his life will also be a success based on his footy career work ethic.
Final year of his contract , was ousted from the team and I think he was clever enough to see that won’t get any easier , fascinating to hear that he didn’t do his off season wok and surprise surprise he pinged a hammy on return , i dips my lid to George on reaching heights most would only dream of ,,,,and he played his part , don’t anyone forget that

I dare say if GWS had a few Castagnas they'd have won about 5 flags by now
Most sense ive read on this thread , and Dimma would absolutely underline that , did you see the look on his face, he was visibly moved by Georges speech and the moment , great to see butler and Dave astbury too , goes to show how much george was valued by the group

I dare say if GWS had a few Castagnas they'd have won about 5 flags by now
GWS have had high draft picks for a long time. They rarely have to go to rookie draft when Geelong, Richmond give them high draft picks for their players.
Leon Cameron liked 3 KPFs. Dimma 2 in 2017,( I think Griffiths was injured) and 3 pressure smalls. Plus pressure style, knock the Ball on, keep it moving. No other team was playing our style.

2019 2 KPF. By the end of 2022 MRJ as the sole pressure player. George and Aarts out of the line up.

Compared to gold coast, Giants have been a raging success.. one GF appearance not bad compared to Suns zero finals.
Be interested to see Giants this year with a new coach.
I loved Leon Cameron as a player. Shame for NSW he didn't have more success.
RFC had been thereabouts. It took the failure of 2016 to get us the flag in 2017.
Benny's 10 year plan was looking like a joke. Only sacking of assistants. And a mantra of have some fun. And bring strengths to the team which supported the better players.

Looks like he was given the cold shoulder and that the club hoped he would retire.
This way we save money on the salary cap. If we had delisted him last year we would have to pay out his contract.
Give the money to Marlion Pickett who is on a low salary.
I've never seen a footballer never learn from his mistakes and get worse as his career went on.
Seeya Jase, don't let the door hit you on the way out.
200 (3).gif

GWS have had high draft picks for a long time. They rarely have to go to rookie draft when Geelong, Richmond give them high draft picks for their players.
Leon Cameron liked 3 KPFs. Dimma 2 in 2017,( I think Griffiths was injured) and 3 pressure smalls. Plus pressure style, knock the Ball on, keep it moving. No other team was playing our style.

2019 2 KPF. By the end of 2022 MRJ as the sole pressure player. George and Aarts out of the line up.

Compared to gold coast, Giants have been a raging success.. one GF appearance not bad compared to Suns zero finals.
Be interested to see Giants this year with a new coach.
I loved Leon Cameron as a player. Shame for NSW he didn't have more success.
RFC had been thereabouts. It took the failure of 2016 to get us the flag in 2017.
Benny's 10 year plan was looking like a joke. Only sacking of assistants. And a mantra of have some fun. And bring strengths to the team which supported the better players.

You completely missed my point.
GWS needed selfless, hardworking role players, content to just do their job for the team as a whole. Self sacrifice.
That’s what George brought, in spades.

GWS needed selfless, hardworking role players, content to just do their job for the team as a whole. Self sacrifice.

Not to mention taking less on his contracts to keep everybody's dream alive...while in direct contrast, GWS' so-called leaders have had the club over a barrel year after year, with their selfish, outsized mega contracts forcing desperately needed players like Taranto and Hopper out, while simultaneously preventing the club bringing anything genuinely worthwhile in the other way.

Looks like he was given the cold shoulder and that the club hoped he would retire.
This way we save money on the salary cap. If we had delisted him last year we would have to pay out his contract.
Give the money to Marlion Pickett who is on a low salary.
I've never seen a footballer never learn from his mistakes and get worse as his career went on.
Seeya Jase, don't let the door hit you on the way out.

**** this is shit form mate.

I don't watch the Giants much so I have no real idea of the depth players in their best 22.
De Boer and Mumford? Traded in players
Their New coach knows Castagna. Interestingly to see you what He does with his football. Saints picked up Butler.

Not to mention taking less on his contracts to keep everybody's dream alive...while in direct contrast, GWS' so-called leaders have had the club over a barrel year after year, with their selfish, outsized mega contracts forcing desperately needed players like Taranto and Hopper out, while simultaneously preventing the club bringing anything genuinely worthwhile in the other way.
I heard jack and cotch and others took pay cuts to get Lynch in. Dunno if George took a pay cut.
The difference with west sydney is it's not a destination. Hogan and Ward were the only traded players round 23 last year. So they draft well but have difficulties retaining players. And so salary cap isn't distributed perfectly. RFC have gone the 2 extremely highly paid players.
wingers like Whitfield and others are on too big a salary. Coniglio moved out of the centre a couple of years ago and played fwd. He moved back to the middle and others get squeezed out.
Karma for us as lowly rfc suffered when giants and Suns got priority draft picks for years.
We mastered rookie drafts. We continue to waste our high draft picks.
In the hindsight of 3 flags can conflate luck with genius..
I guess the "worst list to win a flag" was a compliment to the game plan of which Castagna was crucial.

I don't watch the Giants much so I have no real idea of the depth players in their best 22.
De Boer and Mumford? Traded in players
Their New coach knows Castagna. Interestingly to see you what He does with his football. Saints picked up Butler.

Reckon he's done in the AFL. Has nothing left to prove. Three flags and club life member. What else is there to achieve in footy?

I heard jack and cotch and others took pay cuts to get Lynch in. Dunno if George took a pay cut.

No pay cut, but same difference when he signed for considerably under his market value - more than once IIRC.

The difference with west sydney is it's not a destination.

True, they've certainly got their challenges compared to the established clubs, but the fact is you can never succeed when your leaders put their personal fortunes way before the club having a genuine chance at success.

Very few players achieve their absolute full market value AND also get to win a flag - GWS' leaders have effectively chosen which of the two they wanted most.

Of our players able to be traded, I doubt there's anyone on our list who couldn't get more $ somewhere else and the same could be said of all the top clubs.

Reckon he's done in the AFL. Has nothing left to prove. Three flags and club life member. What else is there to achieve in footy?
How old is He? 26 or so. Young enough to play a few more years. Peak age for a footballer.
Who knows. He might be the missing 3 flag winning role player some team is after.
Or go back to suburban footy and make a living.

Yep the new rules ****ed him. Last year he just could not find his groove due to the new rules, but to his credit Hardwick kept playing him. There were so many melts about him playing last year but it was obviously gonna be tough to get a game this year. I always thought he was great and there's a lot of shameful comments from certain Tiger supporters. I copped shit last year for calling him mercurial (which he was) but it's not my problem if people don't know what mercurial means.

No pay cut, but same difference when he signed for considerably under his market value - more than once IIRC.

True, they've certainly got their challenges compared to the established clubs, but the fact is you can never succeed when your leaders put their personal fortunes way before the club having a genuine chance at success.

Very few players achieve their absolute full market value AND also get to win a flag - GWS' leaders have effectively chosen which of the two they wanted most.

Of our players able to be traded, I doubt there's anyone on our list who couldn't get more $ somewhere else and the same could be said of all the top clubs.
receiving Salary at full Market value and not winning flags?
GWS made the grand final in 2019 after a couple of years of making finals. The only way to win a GF is to be playing in one.
Don't think anyone of the giants team played well. But they were better than 16 clubs who had their players spectators to the GF.
Giants were shocking ever since. Blaming the highest paid GWS players for the receiving the contract they are offered is precluding them from finals success.
Maybe coach Leon Cameron had something to do with it. Eventually parted company. Hopefully for interstate footy the new coach is more successful.
Re highly paid players:
How about the top highest paid players . Franklin, Sydney McGovern, Kelly West Cameron at cats, Brayshaw Freo, Dusty, Lynch, Bont, Oliver, Grundy petracca.greene, Coniglio, Kelly GWS
Brayshaw and Fyfe.
Why is Franklin up there? Huge money and didn't deliver a flag. Marketing? I know western Sydney rugby league has been strong of late that hasn't helped the giants.