News Jason Castagna retires

Really weird decision. Even if he saw the writing on the wall in terms of getting a game this season you can't tell me that he wouldn't have found a spot on another teams list (and AFL side) in the future
I think his family has quite a successful construction business. Maybe just better off doing that and playing some club footy if you still have the itch.

Believe it or not George isn't around, please give your messages at the G
I must be retired or I would kick some snags,
Where could I be?? Believe it or not I've Retired
George Costanza Shrug GIF

Actually shocked he called it a day. Capable at the level but if you're not all in mentally it shows and clearly it did for him the last couple of years. Hope he finds the passion to play again and gets himself in the right headspace to do so. All the best to George, the chaos was fun to watch. If not going out as a 3x premiership player is a pretty bloody good career to hang your hat on :thumbsu:

Bloody hell. Not only do you all hang s**t on him constantly which may have led to this decision but when he retires, you question why he didn't do it sooner so we could have taken someone else.
Now I'm not saying that it's not a valid question but how about, as an outlandish idea, instead of potting the bloke on the way out we are a bit more supportive of a three time premiership player who could have won a Norm Smith if he kicked straight.
The guy has given his all to the RFC and should be treated with the respect he deserves on his way out.

Have a bit of class about yourselves.
Well said mate.

Really weird decision. Even if he saw the writing on the wall in terms of getting a game this season you can't tell me that he wouldn't have found a spot on another teams list (and AFL side) in the future
Not really, the hammy must be worse than the club let on and he was to sit a fair bit of time on the side-lines, knew he would have to work his arse off for selection that may not even happen.

It would be hard to have the motivation to do that, especially when you've already been part of premierships and know your currently a fringe player.

Best of luck to Jason in his retirement, thanks for the memories.

Hard not to imagine that some of the words said about him online from so called “fans” contributed to losing his passion. Shame.

Chaos was a fantastic contributor towards multiple all time great tiger sides and will be remembered fondly by the true tiger faithful. As equally exciting as he was frustrating at times lol. Kicked some massive goals.

Those of you who are saying ‘poor timing’ and implying a level of selfishness are simply incorrect.

We keyboard warriors think that returning from injury is a simple thing, and then working hard to break back into the team is simpler still. We all underestimate just how ridiculously hard it is being an AFL footballer.

Take the likes of Caddy, Lambert and Grigg. All of whom retired whilst injured. Coming back from injury requires significant effort, work, focus and most importantly desire. There’s no guarantees that even if you do you’ll get a game.

For so many, the realization of what it takes is enough to reflect and realize that maybe that effort, work, focus and desire isn’t there anymore. That can come from week 1 or; like Rance 11 months after (among other reasons).

I fully expect that the club would have indicated that it wouldn’t be able to guarantee him a contract for next year. The combination of the two may have been enough to have Castagna come to the realization the level of desire he needed just simply wasn’t there.

(There is also no guarantee that we would have picked up Narkle).

Not too many players can call themselves a premiership player. Let alone a three time premiership player. As flawed as a player as he was, you could never question the desire and effort he put in every game.

Thanks George and best of luck for what’s next.