Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

Usual participants in this forum know of my opinion of the Kennett regime. The Kennett supporters will say here we go again.

All power to Gowers and Silk. I know their campaigns and some of the people who are working for them. They are all good Hawthorn people with the right intention, an intention to rid the Kennett influence and his yes people. Slowly but surely.

Sam has been aware of their existence and intent for some time now. They are not interested in changing his appointment, indeed the contrary.

The Gowers camp have made moves that deflect from the BS this is purely politically derived to get Kennett and only Kennett.

Both camps will come together to offer an alternative to Kennett and his crony Board, the Board that refuses to take any responsibility for the mess we find ourselves in both on and off the field.

I believe, they will focus on replacing Tasmania with a new fleet of sponsors, diverting our unhealthy reliance on poker machine income, getting Dingley concluded without attacking one of the hands that feed it, repair relations to a sensible and respectful level with HQ, and adequately resourcing (both financially and with the necessary people) our footy dept for the rebuild fight we are up against.

Usual participants in this forum know of my opinion of the Kennett regime. The Kennett supporters will say here we go again.

All power to Gowers and Silk. I know their campaigns and some of the people who are working for them. They are all good Hawthorn people with the right intention, an intention to rid the Kennett influence and his yes people. Slowly but surely.

Sam has been aware of their existence and intent for some time now. They are not interested in changing his appointment, indeed the contrary.

The Gowers camp have made moves that deflect from the BS this is purely politically derived to get Kennett and only Kennett.

Both camps will come together to offer an alternative to Kennett and his crony Board, the Board that refuses to take any responsibility for the mess we find ourselves in both on and off the field.

I believe, they will focus on replacing Tasmania with a new fleet of sponsors, diverting our unhealthy reliance on poker machine income, getting Dingley concluded without attacking one of the hands that feed it, repair relations to a sensible and respectful level with HQ, and adequately resourcing (both financially and with the necessary people) our footy dept for the rebuild fight we are up against.
This literally ticks every key box I'm hoping the club can take care of going forward. Nice to know we have leaders out there (though not necessarily within the club right now) who are also cognizant of the issues the club needs to deal with re. Tassie, Pokies, major Sponsor, AFL and Govt relations, Dingley etc.

Exactly the agenda I would support.
About Hawthorn, for Hawthorn, and no stupid side issues more likely to divide than unite the Club.
Lets go.

It is difficult to reconcile your comments about the club being a mess on and off the field when the HFC remains one of the strong financially independent clubs in the AFL. During these current times, this is a resounding tick for me when reviewing the off field performance of the club and board. Given the last few years of on-field performance something had to be done to address the on-field performances, and whilst the manner in which the change was done, credit is also due to the current board in recognising this and also acting on it, another tick for me for the current regime.

So how should the upcoming board nominations be considered? I’m only looking at the background and credentials of the people and what they stand for. It doesn’t matter whether you are a Kennett supporter or not, it is extremely hard to not get behind both Gowers and Silk as their credentials far surpass anything else on offer. It really should be a simple decision and transition.

It is difficult to reconcile your comments about the club being a mess on and off the field when the HFC remains one of the strong financially independent clubs in the AFL. During these current times, this is a resounding tick for me when reviewing the off field performance of the club and board. Given the last few years of on-field performance something had to be done to address the on-field performances, and whilst the manner in which the change was done, credit is also due to the current board in recognising this and also acting on it, another tick for me for the current regime.

So how should the upcoming board nominations be considered? I’m only looking at the background and credentials of the people and what they stand for. It doesn’t matter whether you are a Kennett supporter or not, it is extremely hard to not get behind both Gowers and Silk as their credentials far surpass anything else on offer. It really should be a simple decision and transition.
Although the club's balance sheet at this moment is relatively healthy it was built on the success of the threepeat era. Currently there is a shifting landscape for us and we are not being proactive. We had an opportunity to pull out of Tasmania a few years ago from the AFL but declined. Pokies, regardless of morality, will become a declining revenue maker as that population ages. And we are currently a struggling team on the field that will translate to less revenue. I'm not seeing any strategic vision from the current Board to be proactive to coming changes.

The question is will Jeff tell Simon to not run against one of them. The problem is that the majority who vote will be lazy and allow their votes to be a proxy for Jeff to keep his control over the Board.

And she’d probs thinks your rants are tiresome & boring…

Maybe if she knew you better:shrug:
It's funny - there are those that do and those that don't - happy to 'share' their expert knowledge from the sidelines without ever having the kahunas to actually stand for office themselves and put in the bloody hard work required to run a footy club. You are entitled to have a 'rant' or two when you have.

Although the club's balance sheet at this moment is relatively healthy it was built on the success of the threepeat era. Currently there is a shifting landscape for us and we are not being proactive. We had an opportunity to pull out of Tasmania a few years ago from the AFL but declined. Pokies, regardless of morality, will become a declining revenue maker as that population ages. And we are currently a struggling team on the field that will translate to less revenue. I'm not seeing any strategic vision from the current Board to be proactive to coming changes.

The question is will Jeff tell Simon to not run against one of them. The problem is that the majority who vote will be lazy and allow their votes to be a proxy for Jeff to keep his control over the Board.
Kind of ironic in that both Kennetts (boards) strategy for Tassi and pokies mirror Clarksons failed flag strategy in that both were short term solutions to long term problems.

In saying that we have dingley and other plans, but we arnt going on radio to talk about it publicly yet

Can members please take particular note of Yardies’s point about proxy voting.

At an AGM it’s not just a matter of people voting with their hands in the air. The president controls a huge number of proxy votes where the members simply authorise the president to vote on their behalf. Therefore Kennett, by taking advantage of this proxy authority, will control a large portion of the vote and will vote in his 2 favoured nominees. To ensure that Silk and Gowers get elected (and this is fundamentally crucial if we want some clear thinking independent board members, with the necessary expertise, who will definitely not cow-tow to Kennett), there has to be a large majority of members voting in Silk and Gowers. The appropriate boxes on the voting form sent out by the club before the AGM must be ticked and sent back to the club before the AGM. If that doesn’t happen, then the 2 people who Kennett is trying to second to the board will have the numbers to be elected, even before the AGM occurs.

Kind of ironic in that both Kennetts (boards) strategy for Tassi and pokies mirror Clarksons failed flag strategy in that both were short term solutions to long term problems.

In saying that we have dingley and other plans, but we arnt going on radio to talk about it publicly yet
I just wish he didn't go on radio at all.......

Can members please take particluar note of Yardies’s point about proxy voting.

At an AGM it’s not just a matter of people voting with their hands in the air. The president controls a huge number of proxy votes where the members simply authorise the president to vote on their behalf. Therefore Kennett, by taking advantage of this proxy authority, will control a large portion of the vote and will vote in his 2 favoured nominees. To ensure that Silk and Gowers get elected (and this is fundamentally crucial if we want some clear thinking independent board members, with the necessary expertise, who will definitely not cow-tow to Kennett), there has to be a large majority of members voting in Silk and Gowers. The appropriate boxes on the voting form sent out by the club before the AGM must be ticked and sent back to the club before the AGM. If that doesn’t happen, then the 2 people who Kennett is trying to second to the board will have the numbers to be elected, even before the AGM occurs.
Just so everyone knows I'm complicit in how we've ended up by always ignoring the mail around proxy votes.

But it is time to stand up and be counted.

I agree. Can I also suggest it is just not this Board that has provided the financial performance you allude to.
That said, the revenue streams need to be adjusted. We have got to pivot from Tasmania, we have got to pivot from poker machine reliance, we have got to stop kicking the State Govt and the AFL in the guts at every opportunity. All factors the current President has shown a reluctance to do.

if you do not believe this is not a Kennett Board, then the Silk and Gowers push would not exist in the first place.

I will say - I do feel sympathy for Simon Taylor - always the bridesmaid it seems for a thoroughly decent chap.

I just wish he didn't go on radio at all.......
The current Board also had mechanisms at its disposal to limit the AC “quick fix”. I fully support Dingley, it is a project both necessary and of great vision. Hard to go on radio when the President continually attacks the State Govt for other reasons. As I have said on numerous occasions, I would be saying the same if the President was a former ALP Premier attacking a LNP State Govt. it would not be in the best interests of the HFC.

We do not need any former politicians of any colour.

I agree. Can I also suggest it is just not this Board that has provided the financial performance you allude to.
That said, the revenue streams need to be adjusted. We have got to pivot from Tasmania, we have got to pivot from poker machine reliance, we have got to stop kicking the State Govt and the AFL in the guts at every opportunity. All factors the current President has shown a reluctance to do.

if you do not believe this is not a Kennett Board, then the Silk and Gowers push would not exist in the first place.
yes competely agree with that. This is a relatively new board and they cannot be given all the credit towards our financial stability, all I am meaning is they are due some. It is time to address the very issues you refer to and getting some fresh eyes on this of the caliber of silk and gowers is a no brainer, time to get on board!

Can we just clarify something…

A drovers dog could run Hawthorn to significant profit.

And even with the Covid challenges all AFL clubs have dramatically reduced their cost bases and adjusted to the post Covid normal.

We are still the most successful club since 1925, and during the AFL era, with a massive support and membership base in Melbourne’s east and south eastern suburbs

I’m not sure what Kennett capitalising on the blood, sweat and tears of Ian Dicker has to do with that?

Kennett is however accountable to Hawthorn’s terrible relationship with the Victorian State Government (despite the deputy premier being a patron of the club and a potential future president), our relationship with the AFL, our lack of movement in Tasmania, transparency on Dingley and of course the Clarkson debacle.

But hey appointing Simon Taylor to the board and renewing Justin Reeves as CEO is just gravy :drunk:

If action was needed to remove the previous president, recent issues suggest this one should be removed also.

the excuse that there’s no one else willing is now moot.

That removal was relatively smooth was it not? No reason this couldn’t be. Jeff himself is big on people going when it’s time to go, the renewal

Maybe this will change his mind about Pokies.

"Poker machine software company Atlas Gaming, which Hawthorn President Jeff Kennett is a major shareholder in, has called in administrators."

A lot easier said than done, but I'm very interested to hear the plan that they come up with.

Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.