Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

I got a reply to an email from Jeff. Obviously I won't post it word for word, but basically it was along the lines of 'its only early in negotiations, AFL+Tas govt need to figure out their plans together 1st, then Hawthorn come in and work out our situation once the AFL+Tas govt have a clearer resolution on the pathway forward'.

I'm hoping/assuming the issue for us that Jeff/the board needs to work out is more based around the number of games in Launceston+Tassie sponsorship. Clearly though mentioning relocation+a name change, particularly as the leader and in a public forum, is just not a nice thing for supporters to hear, regardless of whether it is or isn't a negotiation tactic, its cruel to float it as an option because it just should never be on the table in the first place.

I'd recommend emailing Jeff via: jeffk@hawthornfc.com.au as he seems willing to respond, so if you have any concerns you want to express to him, this seems a decent way to get the views of us members, to the leadership of the club.

On SM-A530F using BigFooty.com mobile app
He also followed up to another email and suggested basically 'everything goes on the table, in order to finish at the most favourable result'.
Can't say that I agree with or think it's respectful of supporters to put relocation on the table and public record...but ultimately he's the one in charge of the negotiations, so best we can do as members is encourage and contact him/the club not to do it.

Did you have an issue with that moniker during the threepeat and while collecting our cash? They brought the cup to Tassie on the celebration tour to say thx. Poor form cc.

I have no problem with them looking after the sponsors. But as far as I am aware, we at no point sold the naming rights to the football club.

We are the Hawthorn Hawks, not the Tassie Hawks.

Got it sport?

To his credit, he responded to my email. Regretably it didn’t seek to allay any of my concerns.

I honestly don’t care about tactics or negotiations - you don’t use the ******* identity of the club as a bargaining chip.

Honestly - any credible candidate who is steadfastly anti-relocation has my vote.
Thanks for posting his email.

I'm interested to see how he responds to the one I sent him...

Getting the impression your tone wasn’t quite as civil as mine?

I have just sent him a very direct email. He treats the members with utter contempt.

Tassie Hawks? Over my dead body.

I have no problem with them looking after the sponsors. But as far as I am aware, we at no point sold the naming rights to the football club.

We are the Hawthorn Hawks, not the Tassie Hawks.

Got it sport?
Tassie Hawks was a war cry. Sook. Hand the cups and cash back. Tassie home ground ad was a winner like it or not.

Really? Jeff's trying to stuff the club? Give me a break.
Trying to? No.

I just think he’s becoming more and more of a walking talking blunder as the years roll on.

Tassie Hawks was a war cry. Sook.

Bullshit dickhead.

Kennett has no right to refer to us as the Tassie Hawks. We are the Hawthorn Hawks. End of.

He also has no right to canvass relocation options. There will be a ticket put together to run him out of his job in no time if he proceeds down this path. You can be absolutely certain of that.

Bullshit dickhead.

Kennett has no right to refer to us as the Tassie Hawks. We are the Hawthorn Hawks. End of.

He also has no right to canvass relocation options. There will be a ticket put together to run him out of his job in no time if he proceeds down this path. You can be absolutely certain of that.
I'm a dickhead. Fk off. The Tassie arrangement delivered multiple flags. Jeff flogged the benefits of the Tas arrangement and justifiably so. Maybe Melbourne Hawks and zero flags would of made you happy.

Tassie Hawks was a war cry. Sook. Hand the cups and cash back. Tassie home ground ad was a winner like it or not.

Dare say the prolific talent and brilliant coaching we had in that threepeat side actually helped win those flags more than Launceston did - particularly when we never played a single grand final at York Park.

This may be a surprise, but Jeff wasn’t president

I’m more surprised that the ground we only played 4 matches at, generally while playing some of our most frustratingly bad football at due to the conditions, being the sole factor that delivered us 3 flags. Just amazing.

Our Tasmanian crowds bizarrely went down during the three peat.

So when we were drawing 55,000 plus averages to the MCG home and away games (2012-16) our Launie games dipped below 13,000

So why play more than 1/3 of our home games in a market where we are basically unloved given the stadium economics and Hawthorn crowd drawing power (since 2000) has fundementally changed?

That evidently was the basis of my email to the ‘president’

Email just sent to Jeff:

Hi Jeff,

I just read and heard about your latest comments in an interview you did with 5AA and the subsequent reporting in various news articles.
It’s after midnight, but what I heard and read, has made me incensed.
And for the first time in my life has led me to take the action of composing an email to the president of the footy club I am a member of.

As a 22 year member (unfortunately I missed one year otherwise would be a bit longer) of the HAWTHORN Hawks, and someone whom attended the Camberwell town hall on the night of the merger vote, and as a HAWTHORN member proudly voted NO.
I must say I couldn’t find your words of us being the Tasmanian Hawks more abhorrent, and quite frankly more disgusting, in the respect that you show us faithful members of the HAWTHORN Hawks.

You might want to pander to a sponsor for $$$ reason, and we hope that all you are attempting is some poorly thought out negotiation tactic to appease Peter Gutwein.
However, what I think you have clearly misjudged is the hurt that you have just inflicted on the most important aspect of any footy clubs basic survival, and that is its members.

This footy club went through the throws of a merger, and ultimately come out the other side bigger, stronger and ultimately having the most success in premiership victories of any club in the last 50 years.
The fact that you can even suggest a relocation to another state and then call ourselves the Tassie Hawks (and we don’t call ourselves the Tassie Hawks) for any reason, to me, shows that you now have a disconnect with us, the membership base.

Also the last time I checked the theme song we all sing when we win (and that includes when we win in Tasmania) goes “ We’re a happy team at HAWTHORN. We’re the mighty fighting Hawks”.
Maybe whilst cloistered up drinking chardonnay with MCC members you might be signing “We’re a happy team at Tasmania. We’re the might fighting Hawks”!

The complete contempt and disconnect you have just shown us members of this great club should have you reviewing your position as the president.
How does any president, suggest that as its leader, the best course of action is to give up, and change our history, under any circumstance?

As a Hawthorn member I would like it noted that any suggestion of us being the Tasmanian Hawks is met extreme disgust and disagreement.
I believe your comments have tarnished this club and furthermore embarrassed the members, players, coaches and all those that hold HAWTHORN close to their hearts, and made us look stupid.

If you continue to reference us as anything other than the HAWTHORN Hawks I would like to move a motion of no confidence in you, our supposed leader and president.

I am a HAWTHORN Hawk.

Why mess with supporter's heads? A president opening up the possibility of relocation is like a red rag to a bull. Doesn't he understand the impact of a statement like that on supporters? Players, coaches, administrators come and go but supporters are there for life.

Passion.
Awaken the supporter base.
If you disagree buy a Membership, if you agree buy a Membership.

Passion.
Awaken the supporter base.
If you disagree buy a Membership, if you agree buy a Membership.
My membership automatically renews.
All he has done is piss me off with passion.
A president pissing off the membership base to pander to a sponsor.
Not a wise move.

Email just sent to Jeff:

Hi Jeff,

I just read and heard about your latest comments in an interview you did with 5AA and the subsequent reporting in various news articles.
It’s after midnight, but what I heard and read, has made me incensed.
And for the first time in my life has led me to take the action of composing an email to the president of the footy club I am a member of.

As a 22 year member (unfortunately I missed one year otherwise would be a bit longer) of the HAWTHORN Hawks, and someone whom attended the Camberwell town hall on the night of the merger vote, and as a HAWTHORN member proudly voted NO.
I must say I couldn’t find your words of us being the Tasmanian Hawks more abhorrent, and quite frankly more disgusting, in the respect that you show us faithful members of the HAWTHORN Hawks.

You might want to pander to a sponsor for $$$ reason, and we hope that all you are attempting is some poorly thought out negotiation tactic to appease Peter Gutwein.
However, what I think you have clearly misjudged is the hurt that you have just inflicted on the most important aspect of any footy clubs basic survival, and that is its members.

This footy club went through the throws of a merger, and ultimately come out the other side bigger, stronger and ultimately having the most success in premiership victories of any club in the last 50 years.
The fact that you can even suggest a relocation to another state and then call ourselves the Tassie Hawks (and we don’t call ourselves the Tassie Hawks) for any reason, to me, shows that you now have a disconnect with us, the membership base.

Also the last time I checked the theme song we all sing when we win (and that includes when we win in Tasmania) goes “ We’re a happy team at HAWTHORN. We’re the mighty fighting Hawks”.
Maybe whilst cloistered up drinking chardonnay with MCC members you might be signing “We’re a happy team at Tasmania. We’re the might fighting Hawks”!

The complete contempt and disconnect you have just shown us members of this great club should have you reviewing your position as the president.
How does any president, suggest that as its leader, the best course of action is to give up, and change our history, under any circumstance?

As a Hawthorn member I would like it noted that any suggestion of us being the Tasmanian Hawks is met extreme disgust and disagreement.
I believe your comments have tarnished this club and furthermore embarrassed the members, players, coaches and all those that hold HAWTHORN close to their hearts, and made us look stupid.

If you continue to reference us as anything other than the HAWTHORN Hawks I would like to move a motion of no confidence in you, our supposed leader and president.

I am a HAWTHORN Hawk.
Really well said, expressed the sense of exasperation a lot of supporters have felt towards Jeff for his comments.

I'm a dickhead. Fk off. The Tassie arrangement delivered multiple flags. Jeff flogged the benefits of the Tas arrangement and justifiably so. Maybe Melbourne Hawks and zero flags would of made you happy.

Clarkson and an elite list of talent got us those flags Jeff.

And it’s Hawthorn Hawks you poor, simple moron.

We are Hawthorn.

Really well said, expressed the sense of exasperation a lot of supporters have felt towards Jeff for his comments.
WOW i posted earlier on the HISTORY .
JEFF playing each 1 against another ( no way will Hawks move to tassie for say $4 MIL AYR lose members/ Vic sponsors
He is trying to keep tassie as the number 1 $$$$$$$
life has changed in Tassie we now have MONA , providing 10 times the $$$$$ value that AFL do
because AFL know we are a captured market we never get a team ,Its time for us in tassie to move on
develop soccer / basketball cricket mountain bikes rowing etc etc etc etc

Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.